Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

How will the "premium" episodes be made available? I usually listen to them when running so i don't want to be dicking around with web pages during a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

They'll have a little bit of football on these extra pods, then it will be just filler of Rugby and GAA. Plus their unchallenged political beliefs, all for an extra €5 a month.

You seem to have it all sussed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Will definitely be signing up. Daily podcast gives them a chance to react to stuff as it happens. This is one thing that's sorely lacking when they are only releasing pods twice a week.

I've been lacking in pods at times and this will definitely fill the gap. Great for listening to when going out for a run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Will give them a go if it means I'll get to listen to Ken without Murph interrupting every 20 seconds. 5 a month for a no Murph's edition would be a bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Some hope that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

A buddy of mine was telling me about some paid for podcasts he listened to (gaming ones), he was able to add them to his podcatcher using customised RSS (using his username & password I think) - wonder if that's an option?

If they have it via website/etc, seems like a step backwards. Maybe they'll aim to have an app at some point?

They've confirmed on Twitter that it will be possible to store shows offline and listen to them, and to listen via all the normal podcast options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

€5 a month is feck all really. Only thing is I don't always get through their 4 shows a week as it is so will I even have the time to listen to the extra shows. Don't know yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

A lot of people don't even pay to watch live sport on tv these days, will they pay just to hear people chat about it?

Dots1982 wrote: »
    A lot of people don't even pay to watch live sport on tv these days, will they pay just to hear people chat about it?

Seems they will, judging by this thread.

I'm happy to pay for Netflix, Spotify, etc. Good content, at reasonable prices, is worth paying for imo.

The reason people stream sport so readily is due to the ridiculous costs involved (split across different providers, etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭brick tamland

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Some mention of it being driven by subscribers so they must have some polling element for the content. I guess football will be a big vote winner!

I think the football pods do far bigger numbers than the all sport shows so I'd imagine there will be lots of footy content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

€5 a month is feck all really. Only thing is I don't always get through their 4 shows a week as it is so will I even have the time to listen to the extra shows. Don't know yet.

Yeah I'd be in the same boat.
    The fiver per month wouldn't put me off, and the lads have given me countless hours of entertainment, but I don't know if I'd have the time to listen to all the extra shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

threein99 wrote:
    Daily podcasts where you pay a fiver for access. Calling it Second Captains World Service. They will still be doing the Monday/Thursday ones for free.

Patww79 wrote:

Think Pat is right. Free content limited to 2 on Monday. Tues - Fri is premium content

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

They'll have a little bit of football on these extra pods, then it will be just filler of Rugby and GAA. Plus their unchallenged political beliefs, all for an extra €5 a month.

Soccer is the filler between all the other sports for a lot of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Still Ill

I'll be signing up anyway. Would obviously prefer if they had found a new sponsor and the pods continued to be free, but don't mind paying a small fee for their content.
    If anyone is on the fence trying to decide whether it's worth it to them to sign up for the extra content, bear in mind that if the subscription uptake is poor, chances are there'd be no more free shows either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

I'll sign up for a month and see how it goes.
    I want a weekly hour of Donald Dumping :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I always said if I ever saw any of them out and about I'd send over a pint to them. Now I won't, but I will give them a fiver for the pods. Hope whatever app they are going to force me to use is decent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Regular guest Richie Sadlier is set to present one of the new programmes, while they have promised to announce further additions.

http://www.the42.ie/second-captains-world-service-daily-shows-subscription-3225477-Feb2017/

I can't think of any good reason for Richie presenting one of the extra shows each week. Eoin and Ken are by far their biggest draw, why dilute it with Richie? It's also another person to pay, money is going to be tight enough getting this off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I have reservations about this tbh.
    • If you don't pay, you're losing two shows a week.
    • If you don't pay, you lose out on two thirds of their content.
    • The show is heavily driven by the relationship between the lads, and injokes often develop and bed in. My concern is that listening to the Monday shows will now sound disjointed.
    • They're hugely segmenting the audience.

I would have preferred them to maintain the 4 free shows a week and introduce 3 premium shows a week, focused on long-form interviews or really niche stories. Append segments of these pods to the end of the free shows as a "Here's what you're missing!" thing.

I'm totally OK with paying for podcasts, but I much favour the Patreon model which has proven very, very successful for a tonne of creators. Make it feel like your listeners are supporting your work as opposed to buying content.

I'll subscribe for the first month and reassess. If there isn't an RSS option, I'll probably unsubscribe because if I actively have to seek out the episodes I will likely fall well behind and end up not bothering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Deedsie wrote: »
    How much of the daily podcasts will be premier league soccer though? I really dont care about that at all and dont think Ill pay to listen to it. Would be interested if it wasnt just extra premier league content.

I probably would pay if there were extra football shows - it going to be hard pleasing everybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Seems they will, judging by this thread.

I'm happy to pay for Netflix, Spotify, etc. Good content, at reasonable prices, is worth paying for imo.

The reason people stream sport so readily is due to the ridiculous costs involved (split across different providers, etc.)

I don't want to get in to a war of words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'll definitely give it a go. I've listened to them since Gilroy on Newstalk and I at least owe them for a wagon wheel pizza I won and a second captains mug I stole. If I can get it through my normal podcast app it would be great, but if not I can't see myself continuing.
    Brave move, but they're no stranger to that after walking away from newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

Worth subscribing for a month or two to try it out. The Anfield Wrap podcast has a similar model of a couple of free shows and paid shows for the rest. They seem to be doing well out of it.

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I can't think of any good reason for Richie presenting one of the extra shows each week. Eoin and Ken are by far their biggest draw, why dilute it with Richie? It's also another person to pay, money is going to be tight enough getting this off the ground.

I like Richie, he's an easy listen and has good insight into English football. He did grand when he filled in for Eoin a few weeks back, and his interview with Stevie Elliott was very good too.

I think another very obvious reason would be having him present a show will take the strain off Eoin for at least one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Will definitely be signing up. Daily podcast gives them a chance to react to stuff as it happens. This is one thing that's sorely lacking when they are only releasing pods twice a week.

I've been lacking in pods at times and this will definitely fill the gap. Great for listening to when going out for a run.

That's what I'm thinking. Being able to react to whatever happened the night before will be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The fact that only the 2 shows on Monday will be free makes me think I'll probably have to sign up. If it was 4 free shows as it currently is I'm not sure I'd have the time to listen to all the other content but just 2 free shows on one day of the week isn't enough to satisfy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

No qualms paying for this. €5 a month for 20+ hrs of content is worth it for me. I spend twice that on Netflix and might watch one or two films a month on it.

With declining ad revenues, publishers are facing a reckoning, and I'm more than happy to shell out a few quid a month to the outlets that provide high-quality, relevant content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Best of luck to them. I will not be subscribing straight away. I'll settle for the two in Monday until then.

I'll let them work out the kinks on the rest of you and wait for the rugby to die down. Maybe wait got the summer when I can't get enough GAA coverage. I assume the back catalogue will still be available to subscribers then so any standout interviews will still be there.

Someone above mentioned paetreon, but as far as I know the least you can subscribe for on there is $1 per show which would work out as multiples of €5 per month. As someone subscribed to as many podcasts as I am, I fear the trend to paid content.

Can't think of anything more boring than an international soccer podcast, the football show struggles for content during international weeks as it is.

I'd say a small % of the lads audience are arsed about LOI too, not saying that's right, just reality.