Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scotland vs Ireland, 4th Feb 2017, Murrayfield, 2:25, RTÉ 2

• ClanofLams wrote: »
    Paddy Jackson had a decent game. Irelands problems had little to do with him

Not only that, but the 'next best' option would've been a fair gap down in levels in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Nift wrote: »
    This is a bad day. Terrible performance. Whats wrong with what he said?

Mod post in bold means you don't question it on thread.

Cmod explaining it to you, and you've been here as long as I have, means take it to pm if there is an issue. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭moleyv

I think Best has a lot to answer for today. Pretty poor captain's performance, and as a player. Needed a bit of fire and brimstone out there today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

We were flat, Leinster or Munster might have won that match.
    As a munster fan, I was surprised how much ground Scotland were making in contact and how passive our defense was. Payne was really missed in the centre. Scannell should have come on for Best at 60. Bowe's been ordinary for a long time now.

Munster would have beaten them easily imo, but clubs have advantages such as playing together week in, week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

swiwi_ wrote:
    As an aside, what is it with a lot of posters turning on Schmidt and the lads?

You lost. It happens to all teams. It's not the end of the world.

Because of the manner.

Defense was shockingly bad in the 5m channell. Line outs were a mess. The attention to detail at the breadown was not there. Our attack was pedestrian and predictable.

He is a great coach but he did not prepare the team well today. His former boss won today, hands down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

awec wrote: »
    We lost one game, the very first game. This rubbish about England strolling to a championship and a bonus point win 7 weeks from now is just that, complete rubbish. England haven't even played a minute of rugby yet this tournament.

We have no interest in having to wade through it all on here. If you want to sit and wallow in self pity and eternal negativity on the back of one bad performance go find another forum where such miserable circle jerking is allowed.

Now, back to discussing the match with some level of objectivity please.

So we just ignore issues that have been evident for years. Whats the point in a forum so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

May as well give something new a whirl for the rest of the tournament. Time to persist with PJ for one as he's definitely good enough to start at this rate and Sexton can't stay fit at all anymore. Hoped Bowe coming on could offer some spark and he'd roll back the years. Instead he showed he can't cut it at this level anymore.

Our attack today took several steps backwards from the level of play we saw at the autumn. It was as if we were picking up from where we left off last 6 nations rather than all the good we did since. Our backline play was genuinely far better with the most patchwork of backlines against the Aussies than what we had today. Changes needed. Playing a style as creative as Warrenball won't cut it in the 6n anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

A national disgrace. Shame on them.

This is the blurb for my new book - "Seagulls, a story".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

General thoughts on a few areas:

Scrum went as expected but didn't directly lead to any points.

Our lineout looks a little predictable with the backrow we have at the moment. Do we decide to go with POM (when fit) and maybe lose something around the pitch?

I think our second row were outperformed by their opposition on the day. I'd like to see a little more from Henderson at this stage in terms of dominating a game.

Our halfbacks looked under pressure throughout much of the first half and that led to a lot of panicky play. Felt Jackson grew into the game though and I've no doubts over Murray even if he has had better days .

Henshaw was very strong carrying all day. Ringrose will have learnt a huge amount from today too. He looked a little lost in the first half but again grew into it and started showing up in defense and attack.

Back 3 were overall poor enough. Kearney carried well enough but stuff like the pass to touch aren't good enough. Earls caught out in defense a couple of times. Took his own try very well though. Zebo didn't look himself today and maybe would have had a better effect at 15.

Didn't feel our bench offered much today. It's generally a strength though.

Fair play to Scotland on the win and can see them maybe picking up 2 more wins in the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Kanrith

I'm pretty devastated after that, we could have sealed it with that lineout on their 5 metre line but knocked it on. Just so disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Paddy Jackson had a decent game. Irelands problems had little to do with him

Didn't say it was Paddy's fault, it was lost all over the field

Merely pointing out this position needs to be worked on with good back up and Joey has great potential for the long term future

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

So we just ignore issues that have been evident for years. Whats the point in a forum so?
    I've clarified this enough for you, no more. If you have a problem PM a mod as per the rules, otherwise move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Are you ok? Genuine question...

Ok? I'm bloody apoplectic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I thought Ringrose rallied defensively after a mediocre first half. Was much better in the second half, a great mentality for such a young player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Teferi wrote: »

Ah but they are a national disgrace! That Irish team from history who beat the All Blacks, Saffers and Aussies in the same year would never let something like this happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Teferi wrote: »

5 stars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

awec doesn't like wrongthink in his fiefdom

Steve wrote: »
    Mod post in bold means you don't question it on thread.

Cmod explaining it to you, and you've been here as long as I have, means take it to pm if there is an issue. :)

No ill question stuff i disagree and if that leads to a ban well ill have to deal with it. What is this Trumps amwrica. We were very poor. And it is a disaster...to say otherwise is delusional. Not blaming players myself the blame is squarely on joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

swiwi_ wrote: »

It turned last year when he got the opportunity to amend the world cup and we ended up playing like Martin Johnson's England.

Now here we are a year later, playing like Martin Johnson's England.

1 friendly win against New Zealand and suddenly the disaster and wretchedness of last year's 6 Nations has been deleted from memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

There's a difference between disagreement and whining.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,305 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Shocking performance.

Ah but they are a national disgrace! That Irish team from history who beat the All Blacks, Saffers and Aussies in the same year would never let something like this happen.

Ah give over mate. We are in competition if u dont believe this is a disaster u should have a talk with ypurself. No disgrace i agree but a complete fup up? Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Sean Kinsella

Kanrith wrote: »
    I'm pretty devastated after that, we could have sealed it with that lineout on their 5 metre line but knocked it on. Just so disappointing.

That was the moment that finally cost us the match.

We're just unreliable, when well placed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Might be a bit churlish but we're still.waiting for Henderson to really stamp his mark in our squad. I don't doubt his ability.but he hasn't put it all together yet. Outshone by Jonny Gray.

Disappointing loss, no proper go forward ball in the pack until 60 minutes in, too many errors across the pitch, and decision making was awful. the line out was terrible, timing issues lift issues and throwing issues. no spark in midfield and I say that thinking Henshaw played well but as a battering ram. Jackson grew into the game but it was too late by then. Zebo was the best of the back 3 for me overall Earls and Kearney weren't upto much but had moments, there were no real game changers on the bench. Marmion is never going to get a chance short of injury, Keatley was there as break glass in case of injury cover, and I'll not understand Bowe's selection

Scotland lived on the offside line and slowed ball down consistently and we weren't able to handle it at all. for all the possession I never felt Ireland were imposing themselves on Scotland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭aled

Because insufferable butthurts just turn up when Ireland lose to have a go.
    Thomond, I am one of those. I have to say it was a very disappointing game. At all times I expected to win this game. I do think Earls and Kearney are a waste of space. But in truth I can't blame them for losing this game. The lineout was absolutely appalling. The blend between Jackson and Murray was all over the place.

What bothers me most about this performance is not losing the game but just the clueless nature of the Irish strategy. You could replace Rob with Tiernan, you could replace Keith with Adam but in truth it would have made no difference. The team strategy sucked and Joe needs to take that on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

No ill question stuff i disagree and if that leads to a ban well ill have to deal with it. What is this Trumps amwrica. We were very poor. And it is a disaster...to say otherwise is delusional. Not blaming players myself the blame is squarely on joe.

No probs. bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

swiwi_ wrote: »

I think the problem is the Ireland team's lack of consistency. A couple of months ago we are euphoric that we manage to beat the Kiwis for the first time in our history, we ran them close in the second game, we beat the aussies and south africa on African soil, understandably there was huge anticipation that we may be on for a 6 nations title, then we stumble at the first hurdle, against a team who hadn't won their first home game since 2006.

Schmidt's Ireland has enthralled and infuriated not just over the entire time he has been in charge of the ireland setup but at the micro level even within games. How often have we seen Ireland play one half at one pace of intensity and execution only to undermine it by playing the other half of the game below par. Usually we seem to take a lead in the first half and get peared back in the second, but today it was the reverse.

We have to start seeing a solid and consistent 80 minutes from Ireland, and we have to see successive wins from Ireland in games that matter. No its not the end of the world but that point is neither here nor there, if you are trying to win a 6 nations / triple crown / grand slam you need to be beating Scotland full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

The most irritating thing is that we basically left a solid 14 points on the board when all is said and done. Went for a lineout instead of a scrum early on when we would likely have got a penalty try and a man advantage. Instead we botched the lineout, one of several. We didn't take enough advantage in general of a scrum we were completely manhandling. That's before you ever look at butchered opportunities like Heaslip's.

Best was having a stinker and should have been yanked at HT. One of his worst performances ever.

In general several blue chip performers stank the place out. If you said back in late November that Best, Kearney, Heaslip and Murray would all be dire and ultimately cost us the opening match against scotland you'd be recommended for sectioning.

This just seems to be the same old mentality issue with the national side at the end of it all. Same old infurating, inconsistent Ireland. Will it ever change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Ringrose was pretty disappointing today. Defensively he seemed to be unsure of what space he was in. Hopefully it is something he will learn from.

Thought Jackson did well but he needed to kick more. The Scots were coming up in a strong line (often offside) and we needed to turn then back on their heels.

Rory Best had his usual lineout wobbles but in truth he had only Toner to aim at. Scotland are always strong on line out defence.

Stander for his power takes the ball into contact too often. You might get over the line at pro12 level but not on days like today.

I would say we offloaded the ball about 3 or 4 times in the whole match. It becomes predictable. It is why Munster won't go far in Europe either. No creativity.

Hard to make many changes as how good are the replacements? Especially in the back 3 where you are looking at O'Halloran, Healey and maybe Adam Byrne but none of them are screaming selection either.

I would push Zebo to full back. At least he can counter some bit.

The biggest worry is the lack of good back line coaching. We didn't produce one good back line move in the entire game.

Anyway Italy up next so we should be able to get some momentum back and there will be less expectation on the team now.