Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scotland vs Ireland, 4th Feb 2017, Murrayfield, 2:25, RTÉ 2

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

spiralism wrote: »

They'll be coming in already crowned and will get a bonus point win to seal the grand slam

If you continue with this nonsense you will be banned. Nobody has any interest in reading pages of doomsday rubbish. We lost one game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

And they will pump us raw in front of our own fans and president. Mickey D better get used to walk off the red carpet because that is going to be one muck filled day

They made Mary walk on the grass, the bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,556 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nift wrote: »
    Keep your head in the sand so.

Wtf has this got to do with the vitriol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

noc1980 wrote: »
    This loss is down to nothing but mentality. You need a bit of arrogance to dine at top table with the All Blacks. This Irish side talked Scotland up like they were world beaters all week. You won't find Eddie Jones and the English doing that. They'll say all week they're going to smash the Scots and they'll do just that. That going out on a limb that they are doing leaves no room for them being sound asleep like we were in the first half. They thrive in the pressure they put on themselves but we take the safer option of predicting dog fights that we inevitably get dragged in to.

I'd probably put it down to that Jackson/Heaslip penalty than intangible measurements like mentality in a one score game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Is there a case to be made for VDF starting?

I think Stander and SOB is a bit samey on attack. POM is no better. None of those lads off-load too much.

Think Ryan might find himself straight back into the 2nd row.

We see what Schmidt does in the backs I suppose he'll revert to Trimble ahead of Earls.

There is some good news: Italy is next, so the train can be put straight back onto the rails.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I don't want to single out one number but there's no justification for selecting Tommy Bowe anymore. At his age unless you're considerably better than a younger player you need to be phased out.

Was Zebo injured coming off?

I thought he looked a bit slow chasing that ball back just before he came off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

No regular posters have pointed out anomlies like Bowe selection. This is a disaster.

Read more closely. No regular poster supported it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,249 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

awec wrote: »
    We're going to need to pick up a try bonus point against Italy now.

We should expect nothing less.

I'm not convinced that France won't beat England today.

We had an awful first half, but that was partially because the Scots threw everything at us and in the 2nd half they were spent. Ireland won't win a grand slam, but our championship is still alive.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭shootermacg

We were flat, Leinster or Munster might have won that match.
    As a munster fan, I was surprised how much ground Scotland were making in contact and how passive our defense was. Payne was really missed in the centre. Scannell should have come on for Best at 60. Bowe's been ordinary for a long time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

spiralism wrote: »
    It's hardly baseless though is it? This was an absolute disaster by any account

But particularly disastrous for accounts who only appear when Ireland are struggling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

awec wrote: »
    If you continue with this nonsense you will be banned. Nobody has any interest in reading pages of doomsday rubbish. We lost one game.

This is a bad day. Terrible performance. Whats wrong with what he said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

All the talk about Joe's team and not the typical ireland style of play grating now. winning in November was brilliant but not backing it up today shows we are still not in the league of the top teams. We had a golden generation a few back and underachievied. I hope this does not happen again. Sexton will be talked about a lot and he was a massive loss so we new to work on Joey now.

But particularly disastrous for accounts who only appear when Ireland are struggling

Ib...its guys like you who are probably worse for boards. If u dont think this is a shambles and a result of poor selection tactics and form well you are delusional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Bottlers. ****ing bottlers

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Teferi wrote: »
    Jaysus. Scotland celebrating like they won the Slam. Not the mentality I would like to see if I was a Scottish fan.

In fairness they've not won their opening match in the 6N for 11 years I think.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Ib...its guys like you who are probably worse for boards. If u dont think this is a shambles and a result of poor selection tactics and form well you are delusional.

It's possible to do that without being hysterical.

Lots of things to be criticised but let's not get the pitchforks out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭swiwi_

As an aside, what is it with a lot of posters turning on Schmidt and the lads?

You lost. It happens to all teams. It's not the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Sean Kinsella

Akrasia wrote: »
    We should expect nothing less.

I'm not convinced that France won't beat England today.

We had an awful first half, but that was partially because the Scots threw everything at us and in the 2nd half they were spent. Ireland won't win a grand slam, but our championship is still alive.

I'm glad you feel that way, I don't share your confidence, unless we learn how to 1) tackle and 2) take chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Steve wrote: »
    It was a great game of Rugby, I agree.

Was hoping Joe's half time talk would do more - his strength is identifying weaknesses & holes in the opposing team. Looked like he got something at the start of the 2nd half but just wasn't enough.

It's hard to clawback such a big lead away from home. But there certainly was a vast improvement in the 2nd half. But you must also be able to identify your own weaknesses, and there certainly was a failure here, most notably the lineout.
    We have a lot to do, but there were some positives, we scored 3 tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Disastrous start and lack of composure when we took the lead. Thought the Scots were up too fast on many occasions and a small dink over the top from time to time would have kept them honest. Line out was a shambles and Best will not be pleased with his contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Because insufferable butthurts just turn up when Ireland lose to have a go.

• swiwi_ wrote: »
    As an aside, what is it with a lot of posters turning on Schmidt and the lads?

You lost. It happens to all teams. It's not the end of the world.

BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT

we EXPECTED to win.

The players are not bottlers. Listen to Horgan. Schmidt is at fault here. Our tactics would make top 14 teams blush. Our fear of the offload leads to heaslip incident. Support runner was looking for ruck not ball. Its gone beyond a joke now and that side of game is all down to Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,464 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Teferi wrote: »
    Jaysus. Scotland celebrating like they won the Slam. Not the mentality I would like to see if I was a Scottish fan.

Bit like the Ireland teams celebrations after beating New Zealand B in a friendly in Chicago.

BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT

we EXPECTED to win.

Tell him we beat the All Blacks as well, tell him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

All the talk about Joe's team and not the typical ireland style of play grating now. winning in November was brilliant but not backing it up today shows we are still not in the league of the top teams. We had a golden generation a few back and underachievied. I hope this does not happen again. Sexton will be talked about a lot and he was a massive loss so we new to work on Joey now.

Paddy Jackson had a decent game. Irelands problems had little to do with him

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We lost one game, the very first game. This rubbish about England strolling to a championship and a bonus point win 7 weeks from now is just that, complete rubbish. England haven't even played a minute of rugby yet this tournament.

We have no interest in having to wade through it all on here. If you want to sit and wallow in self pity and eternal negativity on the back of one bad performance go find another forum where such miserable circle jerking is allowed.

Now, back to discussing the match with some level of objectivity please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

A national disgrace. Shame on them.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Paddy Jackson had a decent game. Irelands problems had little to do with him

I'd agree, in fact much of our comeback in the second half was inspired by Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

A national disgrace. Shame on them.

Are you ok? Genuine question...