Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    4 yrs boy

That must be the first time you mentioned that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    That must be the first time you mentioned that :)

Titanium has less....

The bastard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Not really. He was gunned down. Proper order

Wounded, a good long spell in a cell for multiple decades rather than making another martyr

No doubt someone somewhere will campaign for his release in time due to him being innocent ando radicalised against his better judgement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No doubt someone somewhere will campaign for his release in time due to him being innocent ando radicalised against his better judgement

After Nice and the Bataclan attacks, plus the Priest beheaded up in Calvados, the tolerance for such campaigns would be low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Was on duty with a fella last night and we were watching a bit on the 91 gulf war. He turns to me and said. Jaysus sure I wasn't even born yet during that war. Way to make me feel old :(

Ha ha - ye do be flat out too Reggie... but I pose that's work for ye...
    watching documentaries on other wars on the tele ;):)

Ha ha - ye do be flat out too Reggie... but I pose that's work for ye...
    watching documentaries on other wars on the tele ;):)

Had lads with me before that fought in that war

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Had lads with me before that fought in that war

Presumably not in the Irish forces?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

At a cost of circa €100k per prisoner per year? Quietly drown the fcuker in stagnant water held in a lorry tyre on a silage pit, tie a concrete block to his ankle and overboard with him in the Atlantic.

greysides wrote: »
    Presumably not in the Irish forces?

Yep. He did 5 years in brits then 21 yrs in the PDF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Some day , I burst a 2" water main and flooded a septic tank that overflowed onto a patio downhill from the tank (they were already having trouble with that ).
    The mains stop cock was ceased so had to pipe off a fire hydrant and let the pressure off that way to repair the pipe .
    Went to get rid of the stuff I dug out and the pin that the tipper body hinges on snapped when letting it down the body slipped back about 2'and warped the ram .Alot of money lost on a simple job that I thought I'd have finished early for a friday :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Are you watching the LLS, You can imagine what i think of the first item

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Cannot stand Tubridy, have never watched LLS since he hosted. What's on? Same old Z list Irish celeb recycled yet again?
    Two parents being put through the emotional wringer, recounting how their child died?
    That's his stock in trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Bullocks wrote: »
    Some day , I burst a 2" water main and flooded a septic tank that overflowed onto a patio downhill from the tank (they were already having trouble with that ).
    The mains stop cock was ceased so had to pipe off a fire hydrant and let the pressure off that way to repair the pipe .
    Went to get rid of the stuff I dug out and the pin that the tipper body hinges on snapped when letting it down the body slipped back about 2'and warped the ram .Alot of money lost on a simple job that I thought I'd have finished early for a friday :rolleyes:

Wow. Reminds me of the old hamlet cigar ads !!
    https://youtu.be/tiHR11QqIoI

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Cannot stand Tubridy, have never watched LLS since he hosted. What's on? Same old Z list Irish celeb recycled yet again?
    Two parents being put through the emotional wringer, recounting how their child died?
    That's his stock in trade.

wouldn't be watching it only someone said it was the ienterprise show tonight,
    Might get an idea for my retirement.
    First item was a tabernacle for the garden that hold the ashes for your relatives. most here know I'm an athiest so I'm not commenting....peoples faith is important to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

rangler1 wrote: »
    First item was a tabernacle for the garden that hold the ashes for your relatives. most here know I'm an athiest so I'm not commenting....peoples faith is important to them

It's bad enough when they call unannounced but to keep them there aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

rangler1 wrote: »

An atheist? Are you (as was reportedly asked in Belfast) a protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?

just an atheist thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Was on duty with a fella last night and we were watching a bit on the 91 gulf war. He turns to me and said. Jaysus sure I wasn't even born yet during that war. Way to make me feel old :(

Met a few members of the IDF in a motorway petrol station last week. Got chatting to them. 2 of them knew of ya. ;)

Sure I'm a legend :P. Better have been good stories or heads will roll :D

It prob was about the old man that never stops talking about retiring in 4 yrs time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

_Brian wrote: »
    Wow. Reminds me of the old hamlet cigar ads !!
    https://youtu.be/tiHR11QqIoI

When I was a smoker I loved the odd hamlet :D

naughto wrote: »
    It prob was about the old man that never stops talking about retiring in 4 yrs time.

To be honest that is all lads seem to be doing this weather is talking about leaving. The morale in the forces is very low. There will be a bit of a problem in 3 to 4 years time as there was a massive recruitment in 2000ish and not so much since.

So alot of guys are leaving around the same time. For example in my unit of 70. 25 guys of all ranks are retiring over a period that starts in 2 and half years time and ends with me. So nearly 33% of my unit will be gone over 2 years

To be honest that is all lads seem to be doing this weather is talking about leaving. The morale in the forces is very low. There will be a bit of a problem in 3 to 4 years time as there was a massive recruitment in 2000ish and not so much since.

So alot of guys are leaving around the same time. For example in my unit of 70. 25 guys of all ranks are retiring over a period that starts in 2 and half years time and ends with me. So nearly 33% of my unit will be gone over 2 years
    Imagine if they changed the rules and you couldnt leave in 4 years :eek:

whelan2 wrote: »
    Imagine if they changed the rules and you couldnt leave in 4 years :eek:

Suit me. I have to leave at that time

When you hit a certain age you have to go regardless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Bad day for hurling, Hon Ballyea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Bad day for hurling, Hon Ballyea :D

Will you go? I haven't seen any live match of any description in well over a year. Today is our family day so I won't even get the rugby. The OH is in wiked form, I think I'm gone deaf. The only woman around me not causing me grief is my 2year old.

On another note, I have two very scuttery cows. Dosed with bimecten and closmectin. Sent mother into vet for something to take a dung sample and they sent out sulpha no 2 packets and no dung sample. For the weekend I'm gonna feed hay and observe and if no improvement, just call out vet.

Would I want to consider Zanil for rumen fluke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Will you go? I haven't seen any live match of any description in well over a year. Today is our family day so I won't even get the rugby. The OH is in wiked form, I think I'm gone deaf. The only woman around me not causing me grief is my 2year old.

On another note, I have two very scuttery cows. Dosed with bimecten and closmectin. Sent mother into vet for something to take a dung sample and they sent out sulpha no 2 packets and no dung sample. For the weekend I'm gonna feed hay and observe and if no improvement, just call out vet.

Would I want to consider Zanil for rumen fluke?

I was at all their games since the county semi final so no point stopping now. Tony Kelly in full flight worth the admission alone!