Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Words only heard in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Compo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

maudgonner wrote: »
    So when did he die? :ermm:

Tuesday.
    - Last Tuesday?
    No, Tuesday just gone.
    Let's say he died on last Tuesday. If he lived to next Tuesday he would not be dead a week on that day, in fact he would be still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Boardz Fiend

Scutters: a fierce does of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

rusty cole wrote: »
    it means a woman who loves the ride, in the state. she gives out!! seriously don't mix them up

Nope. You mean "she puts out." We only use "give out" in the USA to mean "distribute."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

Is the word "streelish" only used in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭niallb

Got directions once of an auld guy in Galway, which finished up, 'take the next right, then a left and hooray for Portumna'.
    Never heard hooray used like that before and I thought it was brilliant.
    That's excellent.
    Must be from "ar aghaidh" for straight ahead.

"Amn't I" ... or even better .... "Amn't I not" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Flange/Flanders

C*ntish, my favourite swear word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

As someone who's been living with an irish person for 10 years and living here for 4, I've been quite proud to understand almost all of these: https://www.collegetimes.com/entertainment/irish-sentences-that-make-no-sense-137702
    The problem starts when I don't know what's an irish expression and what's used world wide. So if I have an american on the phone and ask him to tell me more about that yoke yer man was talking about we'll both end up thinking there's something substantially wrong with the other guy.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

When someone asks where something is, you reply 'over there' without any gestures
    The person resonds with 'yonder' with no gestures.
    You say, 'no, beyond' and they no exactly where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

He (or she) won't do......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Sangwitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

"Begrudgery". F*cking nation is obsessed with that word. I'm not allowed dislike U2 because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed think Michael O'Leary is an assh*le because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

Every country I have been its around.. Guy in flash Car group your with Ba*tard. Hardly ever hear well he must have worked really hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Elemonator

"Grand". Go literally a short distance to the UK and nobody will know what you mean. The Irish descendants might if you are lucky ;)

"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭LushiousLips

Biro = Pen

Mockiaaa = Pretend/Made Up

Something is Retarded = Something is silly

F*ck me = I'm shocked

F*ck me Pink = I'm even more shocked

Pods = Parents

Pitch is flooded = Period

Game of Knocka = Ringing doorbells and running for your life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hut.

Used in Louth.

"How did the row start?
    "The row started when he hut me back".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,557 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Hut.

Used in Louth.

"How did the row start?
    "The row started when he hut me back".

Hee Haw.

'I was warming my hands on the hee haw'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Anyone ever hear the word " beyant" meaning over there. Very often heard in Cavan and Monaghan. " He's beyant in the shed".

He's beyant in the shed fading the baayschts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Alright horse - Clare or Galway greeting, more in the county than in the cities.

Deadly - Belfast or around Northern Ireland

You wee Nyaff! - Could be Scottish or Irish, my mother used it anyway and she is from Leitrim.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Wheeker

Wheeker = Great/Fantastic (Belfast) :D
    "Begrudgery". F*cking nation is obsessed with that word. I'm not allowed TO dislike U2 because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed TO think Michael O'Leary is an assh*le because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed TO follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

At the risk of looking like an eedjit (<<there's another one!), I'm hoping someone will enlighten me here, from up North myself, but I find it unusual that TO doesn't follow after "allowed", as above. I've noticed everyone "down South" says it & it's not a slang thing as I've seen it in newspapers also......is it old Hiberno-English grammar..:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Wheeker wrote: »
    ... but I find it unusual that TO doesn't follow after "allowed", as above. I've noticed everyone "down South" says it & it's not a slang thing as I've seen it in newspapers also......is it old Hiberno-English grammar..:confused:

I notice the absence of the word THE before studio!

Example: Joining me today 'In Studio' is ... or, during an outside TV broadcast some very cool presenter might say "and now it's back to studio" :confused:

Most peculiar to hear the absence of the word THE preceding studio, but it seems to be the norm here nowadays. A trend that has developed internally in the ROI over the last twenty/twenty five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Chancer = someone outrageously trying something on.

You don't hear anyone being called a chancer anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Catmalogen.

I was up in Mayo a few years ago and noticed 'cat' was being dropped into every second sentence. I eventually asked one of these people, what the hell does cat mean. He looked at me funny and said catmalogen.

I nearly fell off my barstool with laughter. I love Mayo people, they always crack me up with their ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭indioblack

Elemonator wrote: »
    "Grand". Go literally a short distance to the UK and nobody will know what you mean. The Irish descendants might if you are lucky ;)

"
    That would be me, then! Use it all the time - usually as thanks in a transaction or a task completed - "Grand job".
    I am slowly infecting the north-west of Wiltshire with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Not a word, but the way its said. Yeah as you breathe in, never heard anyone except an Irish person do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Trawhook - a slapper.
    (Regularly used by my granny. Don't know what sort of company she used to keep!)

muddypaws wrote: »
    Not a word, but the way its said. Yeah as you breathe in, never heard anyone except an Irish person do it.
    Wow, I thought it was a peculiarity of a given person I once talked to in co. Dublin :)

muddypaws wrote: »
    Wow, I thought it was a peculiarity of a given person I once talked to in co. Dublin :)

EDIT:  Sorry, double post,! Mods, please delete!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,111 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

EDIT:  Sorry, double post,! Mods, please delete!

Go on outta that.

As in, go on outta that and delete your own post.