Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Words only heard in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Presses as opposed to cupboards

Bold instead of naughty.

Piped TV .

Presses has gotten me many strange looks abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭The_Chap

Scarlet for yer ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

LordSutch wrote: »
    Large brown 'pan' . . .

Meaning a loaf of bread!

They say pan in France Spain Italy!
    In Italy it is "pane" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

One word which describes Donald Trump very well has yet to make an appearance in this thread. Of course he may just be a narcissistic sociopath but I prefer to think of him as a......

Spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Ware, used for delph.

Mostly down in the rebel county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭franer1970

My cousin who is from Donegal (same as me) used to call runners.."gutties" I never heard anyone else, ever, use that term for trainers/runners. He was an odd ball though.
    Same word used in Louth, Cavan and Monaghan.

Gutties from gutta percha, a natural rubbery substance that was formerly used for golf balls and electrical cable insulation as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭The_Chap

Jocks and mickey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

A crock as in a useless car.

formerly a Relick!

Eye tallion - pertaining to the Booted med country.

Fabellllous - wonderful

Twine - string in theory

Jant - see ride above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

contrary ....is contrary an irish derived word? it sounds irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Mine too. It's a brilliant word. Love to know the origin.

I remember hearing from an old Dublin Gaeilgeoir that it was to do with broken pottery! The pots would crack at the base etc and would be fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Mithered

Addled

Grand (in the sense of everything being o.k)

As someone has said, Bold (naughty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Feck is an old Elizabethan name for Swan meat, only feasted upon by royalty in dem olde riffle-collar days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭retweet

Penneys girl

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The_Chap wrote: »
    Scarlet for yer ma

Scarlet for your da for ridin' your ma.

Bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye

bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,519 ✭✭✭✭Alun

alf66 wrote: »
    In England you will never hear the expression "have you turned the immersion off?" as they are always turned on.
    Not true. No idea where you got that from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

^ I knew people with these old water heater things next to the sink, maybe that's what the poster's thinking of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Presses has gotten me many strange looks abroad

When I was in NY at my cousin's house, I asked her where was their hot press? She handed me an iron..
    Apparently I was looking for the airing cupboard :pac:

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,581 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The way we put words together is pretty unique too. I love the one where the guy is asking when somebody died and he gets the answer: 'Well, if he lived to next Tuesday, he'd be dead a week'. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Alun wrote: »
    Sally trees (willow).

Sallybrook=Willowbrook= Sruthán Na Saile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,959 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Not sure fortnight would be understood much outside of Ireland.

Also "this Saturday", "next Saturday" and "Saturday week"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

Alun wrote: »
    Not true. No idea where you got that from.

probably from living in England for 30 years......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭CaptainR

Rake as a unit of measurement.

Eg. "He had a rake of cans last night"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Bockety, for a bit broken or falling apart.

As in: "the wheel on that bike is fierce bockety!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kierank01

When I was in NY at my cousin's house, I asked her where was their hot press? She handed me an iron..
    Apparently I was looking for the airing cupboard :pac:

Who puts cups in the hot press?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Not sure fortnight would be understood much outside of Ireland.

Also "this Saturday", "next Saturday" and "Saturday week"
    this can go on the list, along with 50% of what is here, as things that are regularly said in the UK. "Knackered, banjaxed, rake, etc etc"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

The way we put words together is pretty unique too. I love the one where the guy is asking when somebody died and he gets the answer: 'Well, if he lived to next Tuesday, he'd be dead a week'. :)
    So when did he die? :ermm:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Kip (for a rundown/messy house or place).
    Minerals for soft drinks.
    The cut of you - when you're not looking your best. Also for a resemblance - she's the cut of her mother.
    Streel - a scruffy/slutty woman.

The -een suffix, inherited from the diminutive in Irish.
    He's a grand ladeen, lives in the houseen up the boreen with the girleen. The mother drives that red careen. They have that lovely little dogeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

So when did he die? :ermm:

Tuesday.
    - Last Tuesday?
    No, Tuesday just gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

CaptainR wrote: »
    Rake as a unit of measurement.

Eg. "He had a rake of cans last night"

Possibly from the Danish word 'raekke' meaning several, a series, a row etc.

That's my theory anyway! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

There's millions of them, we're very heavy on slang in this country. Poor craythur comes to mind.