If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Operation transformation

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

No sign of any free porridge in our local SuperValu yesterday. Didn't get there til 1130am so maybe it was all gone?

You can buy 1kg of it for 1euro in dunnes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

it takes alot more than porridge to lose weight, it's mental toughness, and yes everyone has it !
    Have only watched one show as someone i know is friends with Sean, and fair play to him he is committed and i think will do the best out of all of them. I really think Kathyrn fake thomas is so condecending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Weight loss is physiological, how else could you explain some peoples reaction to not meeting their weight loss targets. So I miss my 2lb target this week, so my reaction is that this diet is no good and then binge on junk in front of the TV for the night, I tell all my friends how I tried so hard but the this diet sucks and there must be a better diet out there somewhere.

I've not seen the TV show talked about here but I'm sure it's the same crap as Fattest loser or Fit camp. The push to get people to lose all their excess weight in 3 or 4 months when it maybe took 5 years to put all the weight on.

Then there is the Frankenstein food industry that has built up around the diets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Weight loss is physiological, how else could you explain some peoples reaction to not meeting their weight loss targets. So I miss my 2lb target this week, so my reaction is that this diet is no good and then binge on junk in front of the TV for the night, I tell all my friends how I tried so hard but the this diet sucks and there must be a better diet out there somewhere.

I've not seen the TV show talked about here but I'm sure it's the same crap as Fattest loser or Fit camp. The push to get people to lose all their excess weight in 3 or 4 months when it maybe took 5 years to put all the weight on.

Then there is the Frankenstein food industry that has built up around the diets.

That’s the thing. OT does not do that.

No matter how many times the point is made people do not get this.

The show is about gradual healthy weight loss and changing their lifestyle by eating healthier and exercising more. It’s not a crash diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

the problem is with the word "diet".

Most diets fail because they've been set up to. They're built on this notion of willpower - if you're disciplined enough you'll be rewarded with your ideal body. If you're not you won't. So let's try to get you to lose 2 lbs a week for three/four months and then let you back out into the world on your own without any support or guidelines as to how to keep the weight off and stay fighting fit except "don't ruin your hard work whatever you do."

i've been on innumerous diets, some were of the starvation variety, others were healthy, realistic and reasonable, the type that would be approved by a dietician, but none of them worked to change my attitude, approach and life-long thinking about food and weight and how that played into how I ate. so you're down a stone in 4 weeks but left thinking, what now? You're not going to white-knuckle for the rest of your life so you "cave" and a few months later you're back at square one.

i went from a size 12 to a size 8 over the course of about two years by doing little to no exercise and by eating what I want just eating less of it and compensating by eating less the day after an indulgence. it's not about discipline- im a sugar addict and eat chocolate every day. im also particularly addicted to crappy takeaway coffees. i just eat less. if i had a big lunch today i probably wouldn't be hungry enough for a full dinner etc. self regulation. your body knows how to function at its best and how to maintain a healthy weight, the problem is most of us are obsessed with inflicting silly rules and ordering it to do things that are unnatural for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Bambi985 wrote: »
    the problem is with the word "diet".

i went from a size 12 to a size 8 over the course of about two years by doing little to no exercise and by eating what I want just eating less of it and compensating by eating less the day after an indulgence. it's not about discipline- im a sugar addict and eat chocolate every day. im also particularly addicted to crappy takeaway coffees. i just eat less. if i had a big lunch today i probably wouldn't be hungry enough for a full dinner etc. self regulation. your body knows how to function at its best and how to maintain a healthy weight, the problem is most of us are obsessed with inflicting silly rules and ordering it to do things that are unnatural for it

Eh you need willpower to eat less than you want to. Your "eat smaller portions" diet is still a diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

LLMMLL wrote: »
    Eh you need willpower to eat less than you want to. Your "eat smaller portions" diet is still a diet.

there's no diet mentality so it's not a diet. it's not peppered with "jeez i shouldn't do that or i'll get fat" or "x is good and y is bad, must not eat y". i eat whatever the hell i want (just had a jam donut with my lunch) i just have a smaller appetite from years of eating less. if i had a big blow-out meal i'd feel sick for days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Every is on a diet, simply by eating food and drinking liquid.

People should see their digestive system like the engine in a car, if you put the wrong stuff in the fuel tank, the results are not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Kathyrn Thomas should be replaced at this stage, shes on fecking everything, Turn on RTE there she is, give someone else a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    I don't think she's a bad person either. But I do think she's lazy and wasting time and resources that would be better spent on someone who is bothered making an effort.

She's tired of being overweight she said. Well then she needs to get off her ass and work for it. The other two female contestants have children to raise on top of the whole thing and they are still managing it.

She is very annoying. Complaining her mother hadn't started making dinner before she got home from work. She is in her twenties? Needs a dose of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

mloc123 wrote:
    She is very annoying. Complaining her mother hadn't started making dinner before she got home from work. She is in her twenties? Needs a dose of reality.

She is annoying and lazy. If she misses her target again this week she should be booted off the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

mloc123 wrote: »

She's not that far off 40. A mate of mine knew her growing up in Carlow and he'll be 40 this year, she's about a year or two younger than him.

EDIT: Born Jan 1st 1979, according to Wiki, so she's just turned 38.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Red Kev wrote: »
    She's not that far off 40. A mate of mine knew her growing up in Carlow and he'll be 40 this year, she's about a year or two younger than him.

EDIT: Born Jan 1st 1979, according to Wiki, so she's just turned 38.

Katherine Thomas? I assume everyone else is referring to the young Wexford leader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Katherine Thomas? I assume everyone else is referring to the young Wexford leader

Yeah, sorry for the confusion. I meant Kathryn Thomas alright. Think the others were referring to the Wexford lady alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

AnneFrank wrote: »
    it takes alot more than porridge to lose weight, it's mental toughness, and yes everyone has it !
    Have only watched one show as someone i know is friends with Sean, and fair play to him he is committed and i think will do the best out of all of them. I really think Kathyrn fake thomas is so condecending
    Is he the gay fellow? He's really putting in the effort fair dues to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Is he the gay fellow? He's really putting in the effort fair dues to him.

Remind me to refer to the other lad as the heterosexual fellow ...

jon1981 wrote: »
    Remind me to refer to the other lad as the heterosexual fellow ...
    Which one would he be :rolleyes: You're a bit sensitive, aren't you?

Deedsie wrote: »
    It's amazing to think people could actually find offence by your comment there. You complimented Seán's (the gay guy who discussed being gay on the show, don't think the other guy declared his sexual orientation) efforts and still you are wrong.

PCIZM is painful at times.
    Exactly, it seems you can't say or write anything nowadays without causing offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Is he the gay fellow? He's really putting in the effort fair dues to him.[/

That's the man, i found him really funny having banter with his mother,
    he gave up the smokes aswell so fair play to him,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

Exactly, it seems you can't say or write anything nowadays without causing offence.

That post implies that the only methods of communication are via the the written word and speech. This excludes the illiterate and those who are hearing or speech impaired. Please use communicative neutral language in future to avoid marginalising those groups.

KT was under fair pressure tonight in those very high heels, she wasn't jumping with delight at the weight loss it didn't even show her walking from her podum to the contestants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Is yer man Carl Henry gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Gwynplaine wrote: »

Can't lie straight in bed

Gwynplaine wrote: »

Careful with the gay talk, you know there are a few sensitive posters on here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,701 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Think they were very harsh on Chris, he always makes a huge effort to exercise and stick to the eating plan and exercise for him is more difficult due to the loss of his leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭prunudo

Think they were very harsh on Chris, he always makes a huge effort to exercise and stick to the eating plan and exercise for him is more difficult due to the loss of his leg.

100% agree, he only missed his target by 1/2 pound. A bottle of water back stage would push him over ffs.

Also it seems every week they have to ridicule one participant for in what in reality is not a very serious issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,154 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If we don't have the failure and shaming now we can't have tears of joy, the crying family and the life-affirming music when she inevitably hits her target!

That is after the preamble - tinkley piano music tears of regret, back story about sadness, grief, tragedy, and near apocalyptic narratives.....

Contestant says something along the lines of 'I will achieve my goal I always do things well when I set my mind to it....'

This one always baffles me you have to go on national television to set your mind to it? Why not set your mind to it before? Very easy to set your own programme and goals you do not even need to join a gym :confused:
    In can all done in nice privacy without a media spotlight. Very simply done like most others chose to do.

The programme is all just filler, when they could just list the exercises to do and foods to eat in a three 1 hour set of programmes instead

Programme 1 Nutrition

Programme 2 Portion sizes

Programme 3 Exercise plan / Exercises that should be done for those who are overweight obese

But why would you do that? The emotionally needy would not tune in or relate to that!

Instead the programme is just filled with confessional box emotional crap. The contestants are either encouraged to cry for a close up of tears. Or they make sure that they pick contestants that are emotionally weak so they will cry easily.

Which is why overly emotional males/females are preferred.

But I do not feel sorry for these attention seeking, self-absorbed, self-pitying, overly-emotional, over-weight people. Not one iota.

The tinkley music and constant emotional narratives annoy the be jayus out of me.
    Is the target market it is aimed at is mostly just as vacuous and emotionally needy?

Maybe I am just not as caring as the OP. But these people sign up for a weight loss programme which is primarily for the entertainment of the viewers. The end goal is almost an afterthought or just a happy by-product of the programme.

This programme has always annoyed me for all of these reasons. I just wish I did not tune in to see if my local gym was on it this week it a bit was filmed there. It wasn't shown this week from the bits I saw.

My main curiosity was - Would they show all that rope tied to the the swimming steps leading to the deep end? But I couldn't stomach (pardon the pun) more then five minutes of the tinkley music.

They might use the tinkley music for the swimming steps that might make me shed a tear?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I dunno. I've lost nearly 2 stone this year (through Slimming World) and my OH now wants in on the act. He's fairly overweight (maybe tipping into the obese range tbh). He's unhappy with how he looks but has never dieted before.

We sat down and watched Operation Transformation together last night (his idea) and came away buoyed and psyched up. He even picked a "leader" to follow as he has similar proportions and weighs around the same.

Also, 4lbs is not a lot to lose in your first week of dieting- I lost 4.5lbs my first week in SW and mainly lost 1-2lbs each week thereafter.