Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Words only heard in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

Langer - Corkonian idiot

Transmoglified - Beyond locked
    Steamboats- Ditto

Luder - Kilnascullian idiot

Full as a bingo bus - stuffed after dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

My cousin who is from Donegal (same as me) used to call runners.."gutties" I never heard anyone else, ever, use that term for trainers/runners. He was an odd ball though.

Same word used in Louth, Cavan and Monaghan.

CPTM wrote: »
    Is this not used the whole time in the states?

it means a woman who loves the ride, in the state. she gives out!! seriously don't mix them up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Two words which I believe are specific to Fingal. Bunched = tired / ruined and dalk = thorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A crock as in a useless car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 246 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Flitters, as in, definition of tatters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A 'haggard' - a small enclosure on a farm/near farm sheds.

Probably falling out of use in Ireland too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Free gaff

That's class

Dense = stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,959 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Woejus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

grinder (bread, not sure if it's specific to the area I'm in : West Waterford/Tipp/Cork)

Cross as in, angry. When I was studying English back in French university, I used to spend my summers au-pairing here. I remember going back to college one year, we were asked for synonyms to "grumpy/angry" and I said : "cross". My lecturer refused to accept it, she didn't believe me when I said it was commonly used in Ireland. The bítch. Maybe it's used elsewhere actually and she was just being an ignorant bítch.

A lot of phrases really, Irish English is very poetic I think, in a folky-slangy sort of way.

look at the cut of him

I love-hate the phrase "soft day" or "soft rain". It really annoys me how inaccurate it is, and yet, it sort of makes sense in the context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Woejus

What does woejus mean? Same as "ojus"? As in "it's an ojus day"? Ie:great weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,959 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

heldel00 wrote: »
    What does woejus mean? I've heard "ojus"
    Awful. Horrendous. Terrible. That sort of thing.

I suspect your ojus is a corruption of odious, and my woejus is a combination of that and woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

osarusan wrote: »
    A 'haggard' - a small enclosure on a farm/near farm sheds.

Probably falling out of use in Ireland too.

I think it's origin is Viking/Norse. It means "hay yard" where hay and crops were kept in a place close to the house.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Awful. Horrendous. Terrible. That sort of thing.

I suspect your ojus is a corruption of odious, and my woejus is a combination of that and woeful.

Yep it is. Great word. Thus is an ojus thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Horrid - Not certain if it qualifies but don't think you'd hear it used the same way anywhere else.

"Howerya Mattie. Shockin' horrid weather altogether hah!"

Agricola wrote: »
    Horrid - Not certain if it qualifies but don't think you'd hear it used the same way anywhere else.

"Cowld" for cold. Horrid cowld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭CFlat

'Gimp' as in, I don't like the gimp on that fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Gob****e.

Fecker

Ludraman

Eejit

I will in me BLX

Gerrou a da garden

Aul one

Aul fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Agricola wrote: »

It's common in England. Horrid Henry.

Bowsy?
    Gurrier
    Sh*tehawk
    Press aka Cupboard-though a Scottish friend also says it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's common in England. Horrid Henry.

Bowsy?

That's one of the words I was racking my brains for that my dear granny used to call the reprobates that were smoking woodbines on the corner. LOL. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Margarine legs - (as in easily spread) = female with loose morals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Gawked. As in vomited everywhere..
    Gowl. He/she's an awful person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Hans_Memling

Ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

Anyone ever hear the word " beyant" meaning over there. Very often heard in Cavan and Monaghan. " He's beyant in the shed".

fornenst - right in front of you - north county Dublin

conniption - fit of disbelief encouraging angry response

Yizzer = all of your
    Shuck = ditch
    Kinat = brat (quite hard to type that as it should be pronounced)
    Nyuck = same as Kinat
    Gahalah = young girl
    Gosun = young boy (should be gasún bit not pronounced that way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

Skunnered

Hames

Aye surely.

A wheen = a few
    A rake = a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

" Bunched" is common in Cavan as well.
    Back in the 60's and 70's we all wore gutties. Usually looked like the classic Dunlop tennis shoe.
    Slibbery. A slibbery fellow would be a bit of a wheeler dealer, hard to get a commitment from, sailing fairly close to the law.

Street. A name for the small piece of farmyard outside the kitchen door.

Bad Scrant. A mild exclamation of disgust about some item. "Well bad scrant to it anyway, that's the third time that's broken"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

I'll mell ye meaning I'll knock you out or something similar. Heard it said often in fun years ago and say it often to my teenagers who think it's the joke of the century

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭happypants

Rigg-out as in an outfit/ clothes. Where did that even come from.. it makes me giggle when people say it!!