Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Words only heard in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Alun

fussyonion wrote: »
    Immersion.
    Not unique to Ireland, what do you think they call them in England?

However, the thing the immersion lives in is called an 'airing cupboard', not a 'hot press'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

LordSutch wrote: »
    Large brown 'pan' . . .

Meaning a loaf of bread!

They say pan in France Spain Italy!

Delph.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I think it comes from French doesn't it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Moist

"Begrudgery". F*cking nation is obsessed with that word. I'm not allowed dislike U2 because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed think Michael O'Leary is an assh*le because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

Well in addition to that im not sure Brian would be too happy :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

pilly wrote: »
    I think it comes from French doesn't it?

Probably Latin originally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

But if you ask for one in Britain they will look at you funny :)

Unless you're after a frying pan.

Sally trees (willow).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Gallybander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭VonLuck

"Ah here, will ye go away"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Sorry I only know German. Suckin méinin cockin - My socks need washing in the pressure cooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Press, it's actually an old English word that's now only used in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Nagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭secman

Saying someone is a gas man, as in funny .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭sligolad1

Will ya shift my friend?

Yer wan

The oul lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Messgiz - shopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

'T'would sicken your hole'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Cat malogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Anyone ever hear the word " beyant" meaning over there. Very often heard in Cavan and Monaghan. " He's beyant in the shed".

I think you mean 'ferninst' as in against the wall. Takes in Westmeath (Mullingar and eastwards)

Also used in Mullingar, as are the following '
    'Adin' -inside
    'Adout' - outside
    'cashapookas' - inedible mushrooms
    'Russian boots' - Wellingtons

The messages, the sliced pan, the presses, the hot press, the yoke, and the quare fella, and those gobsh*tes. It's long been a puzzle to me.

When my cousin would come over from the US for summers in our grannys, he'd go back talking about sliced pans, gobsh*tes and hot presses, and his American friends thought that was him speaking Gaeilge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'm "after" doing something.

Goes back to when Irish was our predominant language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Culchie. I had to explain this one to my English friend recently. She hadn't a clue what I was talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

I'm knackered..as in tired.
    The place is black... as in packed,jammers,crowded
    Actually jammers could be another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I remember a German lad came to our secondary school on exchange. Having spent the year here he said that "it'll be grand" is the most useful piece of non-standard English he'd picked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

She has a box on her like a loose rasher counter in Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,028 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Is that not just a funny way of saying "beyond"?

Reminds of "abroad" - as in "he's abroad in the field there"

Could be.
    There's also another word used in those areas -"frenent" meaning opposite.
    His house is frenent the church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I'm "after" doing something.

If you really want to confuse an outsider just say something like "I'm after buying a large brown pan for me Sambo's" :D That would either get you beaten up or treated with total puzzlement & disgust, depending on who you said it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,436 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Runners

They're trainers/sneakers everywhere else

Also, locked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Gerup de yard awra dat