Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

So this is actually a serious possibility then Vs. Mayweather?

I already knew Mayweather is a tool who'd sell his granny to ISIS to make a few dollars, but McGregor is just as bad. 2 men willing rob their fans of their hard earned cash by staging a nonsense 'contest'. Disgusting people.

Your logic appears to be that Mayweather is far too good at boxing and it'll be a one-sided, boring, embarrassing fight with Floyd hardly getting hit at all.

Which roughly describes Floyd's last 10 fights too, so you'd better be prepared to criticize Manny, Canelo and the rest of them for ripping off the fans using that logic.

It's a weird logic. It's like criticizing someone for buying a ticket to Burnley v Barcelona in a friendly and then complaining when Barcelona win 9-1. Or conversely when Burnley park the bus and scrape a miracle 0-0 draw.

I'm by no means saying Conor will be competitive but it'll still be intriguing to see how easily Floyd adapts if Conor does employ a hybrid stance and how Conor's power translates with 8oz gloves if he can even land one meaningful body shot. I imagine Floyd being as good as he is, he'll adapt effortlessly.

Either way - People watch sports to be entertained and I think it's silly to say fans have been ripped-off by an un-entertaining spectacle. You have to take the rough with the smooth, especially in combat sports. For every Lawler - Condit type Main Event that delivers big time there's always a Jon Jones v OSP lurking around the corner. You just never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭paulieeye

So this is actually a serious possibility then Vs. Mayweather?

I already knew Mayweather is a tool who'd sell his granny to ISIS to make a few dollars, but McGregor is just as bad. 2 men willing rob their fans of their hard earned cash by staging a nonsense 'contest'. Disgusting people.

Keep your disgust for something that actually matters..it's 2 lads having a fight for entertainment to liven up your otherwise humdrum existence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

just accidentally clicked onto the comments section on one of mcgregors latest instagram posts, had a scroll through, christ almighty there are some sad, sad, sad fcukers out there, its hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

darced wrote: »

"Fight me, chicken."

"13 secs"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

"DAD"

stephenl15 wrote: »
    "DAD"

this is the worst one.

lot of ''real champ defends'' bellends on there, and a worrying amount of khabib fanboy posts from obviously fake accounts :D

So no chance of Conor fighting the winner of Khabib and Tony? :(

I have no interest in the Mayweather bs, Mayweather is one of the best, if not the best boxer of all time. If Mayweather v Conor happens, I'll still watch it but I really wouldn't care, its a bs cash grab fight is all it is. I can't blame Conor for wanting to make the 100m to be fair but all it's is a cash grab.

Someone made a comparison above its like saying people are stupid for buying Barca v Burnley tickets and then complaining when Barca wins 9-1.......... Not really because Burnley can play another match in 3 days, if this Mayweather crap happens, it could be summer of 2018 when we see Conor defend a belt. That is a long time to wait as a fan, which kind of sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I'd rather if he just stuck with MMA also there are so many fights to consider.

Of course he is interested in making big bucks but he also said that Nate III would go ahead and he is interested in fighting but why not make sure that he is made for life and his family are made beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

If Conor has stated he has no interest in fighting in the octagon again until the Mayweather fight can we not just take his belt away and let the division get on with itself..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

The most interesting fights for me over the next year or so is khabib v ferguson and then conor v the winner of that bout. I have very little interest in the mcgregor v mayweather boxing match. The only way the mayweather fight can go is with conor out swinging for the fences in the first 2 rounds trying to knock mayweather out. It will be like Conor v Nate 1. Only difference is Mayweather will avoid his punches, conor will gas and mayweather will make him look silly with boxing from round 3 on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Regardless of how the fight goes down McGregor wins as soon as the first bell goes in the very first round of his fight with Mayweather. Because thats when his money will be guaranteed.

Hope he makes an absolute tonne.

Fúck Khabib. Fúck Ferguson. Fúck Dana and the UFC. And most of all fúck the begrudgers who pretend like they wouldn't be doing the exact same thing in his position.

Keep chasin the big money Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

If he really wants to make the big bucks he should transition to the adult film industry. There are plenty of people here who would pay monthly subscriptions no problem, they are so far up his ass already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I have never watched a mayweather fight, zero interesting in boxing. Last time i watched was when wayne mcccullough michael curruth nd collins were boxing haha.

Has floyds chin ever been tested or has he fought anyone that hits like mcgregor. I be betting on mcgregor he's bound to connect with a left in 12 rounds. I cant see floyd stopping conor. I just hope its not 12 rounds of conor hitting air.

Regards the belts. Yes belts i think he is champion of both divisions even though he refuses to defend. They should be taken off and maybe just use conor for super fights once a year or something. He was super active till he won the belts got what he wanted and went home with the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,209 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

How can they sanction a 49-0 fighter against an 0-0 fighter? Ridiculous :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

John_D80 wrote: »
    Regardless of how the fight goes down McGregor wins as soon as the first bell goes in the very first round of his fight with Mayweather. Because thats when his money will be guaranteed.

Fúck Khabib. Fúck Ferguson. Fúck Dana and the UFC. And most of all fúck the begrudgers who pretend like they wouldn't be doing the exact same thing in his position.

Why would your main interest be in McGregor making more money, i make no apologies for being interested in watching him fight in the UFC.

red ears wrote: »
    Why would your main interest be in McGregor making more money, i make no apologies for being interested in watching him fight in the UFC.

look at the nights in the ufc he's given us as fans already, would you honestly begrudge him a payday like this? fcuk it id like to see him back in the octagon as much as anyone but he wants to make his paper let him at it he doesnt owe me anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,408 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

6358601743153973961132630388_money-shower-460_1_2768598b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

dave1982 wrote: »
    I have never watched a mayweather fight, zero interesting in boxing. Last time i watched was when wayne mcccullough michael curruth nd collins were boxing haha.

Has floyds chin ever been tested or has he fought anyone that hits like mcgregor. I be betting on mcgregor he's bound to connect with a left in 12 rounds. I cant see floyd stopping conor. I just hope its not 12 rounds of conor hitting air.

Regards the belts. Yes belts i think he is champion of both divisions even though he refuses to defend. They should be taken off and maybe just use conor for super fights once a year or something. He was super active till he won the belts got what he wanted and went home with the ball

To answer your questions on Floyd. His chin has been tested albeit very rarely. He hasn't been knocked down or even really stunned. The biggest shots he took, he took them well.

Has he fought anywone that hits like McGregor? He hasn't fought many guys as big as McGregor. Canelo, Mosley and Hatton would probably be the closest in size. They probably all hit harder than McGregor. Canelo and Hatton didn't really land any big punches, and Mosley never had him in trouble.

Your hope that McGregor isn't hitting air for 12 rounds is the most likely outcome in my opinion. If you look at any of the highlight videos of Floyd on YouTube, most of them are showing how good he is at not getting hit, particularly is tight spaces. His head is simply never where his opponent is throwing. Although many people think it's a boring style, I find his defense to be magical to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

If Floyd wants something in Nevada he's going to get it. He gets prison time delayed so he can make them money.

http://www.espn.com/boxing/story/_/id/7432860/floyd-mayweather-jr-avoids-jail-time-june

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

So no chance of Conor fighting the winner of Khabib and Tony? :(

I have no interest in the Mayweather bs, Mayweather is one of the best, if not the best boxer of all time. If Mayweather v Conor happens, I'll still watch it but I really wouldn't care, its a bs cash grab fight is all it is. I can't blame Conor for wanting to make the 100m to be fair but all it's is a cash grab.

Someone made a comparison above its like saying people are stupid for buying Barca v Burnley tickets and then complaining when Barca wins 9-1.......... Not really because Burnley can play another match in 3 days, if this Mayweather crap happens, it could be summer of 2018 when we see Conor defend a belt. That is a long time to wait as a fan, which kind of sucks.

I'm with you. It's a silly circus contest that won't even be the slightest bit competitive. I have to laugh at people trying to legitimately analyse the matchup. It's just stalling potential great fights in the lightweight division, I'm an MMA fan I want to see him fight Khabib or Ferg ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

dave1982 wrote: »

9q8hfr.jpg

This is the hardest i've seen Mayweather get hit and the closest i've seen to him being knocked down. I think it would be safe to say Mosley hits a lot harder than McGregor.

As for 12 rounds of McGregor hitting air, i think he'd be reluctant to throw a whole lot after 3 or 4 rounds of getting countered to death. Mayweather doesn't hit hard, but he's sharp and accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Any talk on what compromise the rules are gonna be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Tommo3434343

John_D80 wrote: »

I don't think people are seriously begrudging what McGregor's doing. Of course we'd all do the same. That doesn't mean however that we can't be massively disappointed in what he's doing as spectators and fans of MMA and McGregor himself. I'd like to see him defend his belt above all else. I don't hold it against him if he doesn't and chases the Mayweather fight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭14murphy

Dtp1979 wrote: »

I really doubt there'd be any compromise. Floyd is the one with something to lose in the unlikely event Conor sparks him out or by some godly feet beats him on points. That something being his 49-0 record.I doubt he would throw anything Conors way. Why should he even I'd happily jump in a ring with Floyd with an arm tied behind my back for that money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

There's absolutely no talk of any compromise in rules.

Conor started talking ****e about boxing and called Floyd out. It will be a boxing match with boxing regulations and Floyd's choice of 8oz gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

A Mayweather / McGregor bout will finally give McGregor botherers someone they truly believe can beat his ass.....be thankful for this small mercy because so far in mma you've been winging it from fighter to fighter in hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If Conor has stated he has no interest in fighting in the octagon again until the Mayweather fight can we not just take his belt away and let the division get on with itself..?

They could, but they'd be crazy to do that.
    And Khabib and Tony would also be crazy to push for it.

Noticed that the entire time from UFC 200 to when Conor was stripped on the FW title, Jose Aldo never once called out for Conor to be stripped. Aldo knew. Tony knows, Khabib knows.
    There isn't going to be any.
    What could that possibly do?
    Conor started talking ****e about boxing and called Floyd out. It will be a boxing match with boxing regulations and Floyd's choice of 8oz gloves.

I agree it has to be a boxing match, boxing rules, etc. But it's a load of bollox if Floyd starts trying to pick the brand of gloves again.

Floyd can wear Winning or Grant or whatever pillows he wants.
    Conor should be allowed to wear what he wants. I'd imagine it will be Cleto Reyes, or the horsehair gloves by Everlast