Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Definitely look at the BHAA Dunboyne 5 mile too Laura, a really fast flat course (not the same route as the 4 mile, it's run on quiet country roads with left hand turns).

Hope to see you both at the 4 miler so, fingers crossed I'll be racing that one myself!

Oh good, because your marshalling last year was a bit misleading.... :D

(500m from the finish, my eye)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

annapr wrote: »

:D:D:D what's a few hundred metres between friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Dunboyne 4 mile... i forgot about that one, count me in... think that's the last time (ever) I was faster than you in a race! Fond memories... :D

Would like to try k club too....

Believe it or not this is my aim but may be too soon so I could be cheerleading again.

That was a great session on Monday Laura, super.

aquinn wrote: »
    Believe it or not this is my aim but may be too soon so I could be cheerleading again.

That would be just fantastic :)

Maybe, unlikely to race but even just to get to the start would be exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Definitely look at the BHAA Dunboyne 5 mile too Laura, a really fast flat course (not the same route as the 4 mile, it's run on quiet country roads with left hand turns).

Hope to see you both at the 4 miler so, fingers crossed I'll be racing that one myself!

Super, good to hear. I'll have to bear that in mind!

Oh yes. I forgot that, that was a long 500m :eek:
    aquinn wrote: »

Cheers aquinn. That's brilliant. It'll be nice to have something to focus on, either this or another, to keep working towards as you build back into a routine. It's great to see you back at it.

Wednesday: 40 mins easy, 3.87 miles @ 10:20

A local loop through Artane, Killester and a few drags along the Malahide Road. I remember little detail about it to tell the truth.

Thursday: Pilates

Friday: 45 mins easy, 4.27 miles @ 10:33

Planned all week to run to work for various reasons. Went to bed after evening snowfalls not sure what I would wake up to early the next day. Obviously cold and frosty but decided to take the chance and stick to my plan in the hope it was more frost than ice. No fear of going too fast on this one as a result, not the most enjoyable run as I was constantly looking five feet ahead on the path to make sure I avoided the worst parts. I suspect many of my colleagues think I'm a lunatic. Body feeling the tough, but enjoyable, pilates course too.

Saturday: St. Anne's parkun - 29:47

Another cold morning, very chilly waiting around at the start but once we got running it was an absolutely gorgeous morning to be out for a run. Big numbers at this one and fair play to the volunteers in the cold. Lovely natter with mrsmc and PJD around the course.

Sunday: 90 mins easy, 8.47 miles @ 10:39

In keeping with my goal to mix up my training a bit, plus wanting a change from St. Anne's I roped Annapr into heading off to the Phoenix Park first thing. Much milder but a strong wind, especially noticeable on the exposed parts. Took in the usual trails but mixed it up with a section along the Liffey. Never ran along there before and it was lovely, nice to watch all the rowers out training too.

As highlighted elsewhere by Annapr we got a shout out from someone in Chapelizod. No glasses on me so couldn't see if it was definitely aimed at us or who it was. After a exchange of "do we know anyone in Chapelizod" and arriving at a conclusion of no, I figured it could be someone coming home from a late Saturday night out......in actual fact it was BungyGirl. Maybe she's taking supporting duties to new levels of dedication :D

Definitely tired by the end of this. Slightly slower pace than last week but to be expected with the stronger wind, route and the trails. Good run to get done. Devoured my scrambled eggs when I got home!

Usual cycling but no football or gym. Had an exam on Saturday so the spare time this week was taken up with that, no excuses now next week. Have a lost a bit of the December/Christmas weight so happy with that, total of 24.74 miles for the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Good to see you last night! You ZOOMED by!

We were having a pregnancy (my pal) and recovery (me) run. The dog was basically having a walk beside us - she'd be so much faster without us.

Your tempo looked speedy!

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Good to see you last night! You ZOOMED by!

We were having a pregnancy (my pal) and recovery (me) run. The dog was basically having a walk beside us - she'd be so much faster without us.

Your tempo looked speedy!

Haha, you should have seen me 30 mins later, different story :) I was just starting so probably a little too fast still finding my pace and coming off a little downhill. Sorry for being rude and not stopping but I knew a fellow runner would understand once I blurted out tempo :)

Hope you enjoyed your outing, it was a lovely evening for a run. I think I've seen that dog at parkrun before have I?

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Haha, you should have seen me 30 mins later, different story :) I was just starting so probably a little too fast still finding my pace and coming off a little downhill. Sorry for being rude and not stopping but I knew a fellow runner would understand once I blurted out tempo :)

Hope you enjoyed your outing, it was a lovely evening for a run. I think I've seen that dog at parkrun before have I?

You weren't rude at all! And yes, she (dog) does run St Anne's parkrun sometimes & she was at the Masters' xc in her green Raheny jacket too so you might have seen her there too? Even Bungy Girl would like her, she is the politest dog in the world!

2-mile race tonight in Raheny!!!

Thanks! Had football so couldn't make it. I've pencilled one of the 2 milers mid February into the plan though so might see you there. Were you there tonight, how did you get on?

Happy enough with my time (12.40 - 9 secs slower than my PB), but would like to have kept a bit closer to my two rivals who beat me (12.22 and 12.34). It was a lovely night for it and a good crowd - 59 runners.

Yes, I'm going to try to do all the rest so hopefully see you at one!

Monday: 6 miles inc 3 x 10 mins @ tempo

Monday evening, session time. Off to a tempo loop, target pace is 8:20. Great evening for a run and a session. Cold but not bitter and very little wind. Just started on the first segment and spotted HelenAnne out for her own run as I was crossing the road. Said hello and a quick shout of tempo to explain why I wasn't stopping knowing she'd understand :cool: Really tried to focus on running the right speed and checking in with the watch every so often seemed to indicate I'd dialed into the right pace once I got into it. Definitely had to work harder in the second and third set which explains the slightly quicker average on those, when I'd try and push it to stop flagging I'd overdo it slightly it seems. Seems to be a regular occurrence. Recoveries were 2 mins and a mile-ish warm up and same for cool down.

8:19, 8:14, 8:16

Tuesday: Rest

Visit to Myles to stay on top of the foot etc, couple of suggestions to work on some tightness but nothing major.

Wednesday: Football

Thursday: Pilates

Friday: 45 mins easy, 4.39 miles @ 10:15

Runmute to work. To say I was in bits on Thursday and Friday would be an understatement. First game of football in weeks followed by a tough pilates class meant my legs were in ribbons. First week back always the worst! Kept this one easy and by the end of the day the body was feeling much better.

Saturday: parkrun 29:45

Chatted around with Annapr, nice and relaxing with a dash for the finish to stretch the legs. The park was looking absolutely stunning with the winter sun and white frost cloaking the grass. Gorgeous morning for a run.

Sunday: 90 mins easy, 8.65 miles @ 10:24

Another lovely run in the winter sun. Took in some loops of the park and the seafront with a friend. Nice to have the company and apparently my longest run since before I got injured. Body felt surprisingly fresh after a night out, no better way to blow off the cobwebs. Legs tired after but in a normal way to be expected, foot is good.

22.14 miles for the week. Usual cycling but no gym work. I won't lie, I couldn't face it this week as the addition of the football seemed enough to put the body through!

Delighted for you today Laura :D:D

... brilliant to see your progress.. !!!

Delighted for you today Laura :D:D

... brilliant to see your progress.. !!!

BiIG plus 1 to this, you're absolutely flying and yes, you coulda done sub 39 #believe.

next time... let her have her sub 40 moment :D

Oops yeah of course!! Didn't mean it like that :D

Haha, that's ok, I know what you mean! Report to follow, happy out.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 4.53 miles with 20 mins @ race pace

Jigged the week around with Raheny on Sunday. With advice from wiser souls that if you can do half the distance at target pace the week before the race it's a good indicator of the day. Pushed it out from Monday to give the legs an extra rest and logistically it made sense so I could drive down to the course and run there. 1 mile warm up and then started into the race pace just on the Howth Road. The target for Sunday was sub 40 so the target for this run was 8 m/m. Short version is I found this very tough, even with the downhills. Mentally bargained myself to get to 2 miles and I could stop then, got to 2 miles and said give it another minute and see, sure it's over 17 mins now, just hang on to 20. Finished with 2.53 miles at 7:55 and could barely imagine another minute at that pace. Another mile cool down back to the car via the old route.

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 37 mins, 3.57 miles @ 10:22

Miserable night for it. Ridiculous wind that never seemed to be with me despite doing a loop, bitterly cold and never warmed up.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Parkrun 30:56

Took it easier than usual just to keep the legs ticking over. Had to keep the discipline in check to make sure I didn't get caught up at the usual pace. Picked up the pace a few times in the last kilometre just to liven up the legs.

Sunday: Raheny 5 mile

Signed up for this with my PB definitely in my sights (41:18), set in Terenure 2015 before I got injured. BG kindly offered to pace me and instantly moved the thinking from a safe PB to a sub 40 :eek: That was a target for this year but was afraid it might be a touch too soon but said feck it, worse case I blow up in the last mile or two and hobble home not on target but probably with a PB of sorts. Jingle Bells indicated it wasn't a complete project of lunacy so I hoped training since then would compensate for the downhill nature of JB. Met BG beforehand and did a mile loop warm up and did a few strides and bumped into some familiar faces beforehand. Weather was miserable but seemed promising for racing, cool but little wind and "nice" running rain. After a final loo trip we headed to the start area with a few minutes to spare. My pathological need to leave the loo trip as late as possible, combined with my natural tendency to line up near the back half of the field meant we got stuck a bit further back than BG thought was suitable. Discussed the fact the first mile would possibly be a bit slower than target but we'd have a chance to make it up later.

Off we stuttered over the start line and whilst it was busy we did manage to settle into our stride quickly enough. I have a habit of haring off so tried to match BG and listened to her when she said we got on pace. The first half mile at this pace felt easy peasy compared to Tuesday but I knew that would fade!! Felt the drag coming up to the Howth Road but knowing the area so well this didn't worry me. Heading for the turn we were literally the only people heading for the turn and not cutting the corner jumping on the footpath, including one donkey who steamrolled his way from the outside banging into BG and cutting across us. He must have ran more by doing that and didn't seem to see what the problem was. The stretch in the bus lane is the one aspect of this race I think could be improved on, I don't think it's wide enough for the numbers it has. Got a shout out from Annie and aquinn here and I missed the first mile marker around this part. Taking the turn off the Howth Road I knew the downhill was ahead. I was working hard at this stage but the breathing wasn't laboured and BG was offering plenty of encouragement and reminding me to relax. The legs felt like they were moving smoothly and as we went by the 2 mile mark I saw BG checking her watch a few times. Got a bit nervous when she didn't say anything so my first thought was crap, we must be behind. Thankfully she confirmed we were on target but had bagged a few extra seconds if I needed them, and again pointed out only if you need them :p

Went past my OH supporting along here and then my Dad as we took the corner for Mount Prospect. I was prepared for this stretch knowing there's a dip that comes back to you further down the road. Spotted kennyg here as I headed straight for him on the outside, thanks for the encouragement. We definitely seemed to be doing more of the overtaking and I was boosting my morale with reassurances that I didn't sound as bad as others nearby. This morale boost picked up my pace a couple of times with BG keeping me in check when needed!! The usual mid race wobble wasn't far off though just as we went back up the dip the legs had to work harder all of a sudden and I felt a bit light headed or something, thoughts of more at that pace seemed daunting. I know this happens to me and I can deal with it better now so just focused on getting to the third mile, to the park, and mentally breaking the race down in segments. This stretch in the park is much better than last year with the out and back slightly different, and the park a bit more broken up. BG offering support here about digging in for the out part on the avenue that it was going to be the hardest part which I was expecting myself. It didn't disappoint either, it was hard, the legs were starting to feel heavy. Spotted Redrunner but didn't shout so as to conserve my energy! Distracted myself with the shout outs to/from BG and her clubmates and watching for runners I knew on the other side, saw Murph_D looking like he was working hard but focused. Just when I felt I was really going to struggle we took the turn back down the avenue. Psychologically this was a boost as I know it's slightly downhill and it meant we were finally heading for the finish (via the long stretch, more of the park, a residential area, some roundabouts and about 14 turns around the squares near the finish :D - it's all in the mind :rolleyes:). BG was really offering me encouragement here, I think she knew I was flagging as the breathing was laboured now. Garbled out one word of "tough" as she let me know we had about 6 minutes left.

Focused on getting out of the park, then getting through the residential section listening when BG said think how great it will feel to be finished with that target achieved. Knew Annie and aquinn would be by the green so had that in mind, took the corner as tight as I could and plowed through some puddles soaking my feet and my pacer. Got some really great cheers from the supporters here and from Dubgal and TFGR was there with her balloons too. Taking the last corner I tried to pick up the pace as much as I could, and there were a group of runners ahead including one in a club vest. Had resigned myself that they were too far ahead and I was already at my max but I thought maybe I've a bit more, so pushed a bit more and they got closer, went again and got closer again, before I knew it I was going past them but one person in blue stayed just out of reach as we went over the line. Hadn't looked at my wrist all race so was blown over to see 39:12 something on the watch, as well as feeling for a moment like my bagel was about to meet the footpath. A big thank you hug and thanks to BG before we grabbed our goodie bags and started meeting up with others.

Official time was 39:13 and the splits were 7:51, 7:52, 7:54, 7:59 and 7:37 (watch had the last mile at .98). Not surprising to see the 4th mile the slowest but still on target which is good. Needless to say I'm absolutely delighted with that and a super big thanks to BG for pacing and her encouragement.

Met up with lots of happy boards and parkrun people in the hall after and a couple of drinks then. Great to see so many buzzing after some excellent performances - too many to name as I'm sure I'd forget someone. Looking forward to all the race reports. Thanks to those for the cheers and all associated with Raheny, a very enjoyable and well organised day.

17.19 miles for the week as it was a taper week. I was due a stepback anyway so it combined well. No football, no pilates and no gym consideration either to make sure it was a proper easing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super result Laura and so well deserved with your recent training block. Delighted for you a great race. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Great result, really well raced good strong finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Brilliant Laura. Tough job but it seemed as though you enjoyed it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

Brilliant result and report Laura, i loved reading it, really well done, so well paced too.

Sunday: Raheny 5 mile

Signed up for this with my PB definitely in my sights (41:18), set in Terenure 2015 before I got injured. BG kindly offered to pace me and instantly moved the thinking from a safe PB to a sub 40 :eek: That was a target for this year but was afraid it might be a touch too soon but said feck it, worse case I blow up in the last mile or two and hobble home not on target but probably with a PB of sorts. Jingle Bells indicated it wasn't a complete project of lunacy so I hoped training since then would compensate for the downhill nature of JB. Met BG beforehand and did a mile loop warm up and did a few strides and bumped into some familiar faces beforehand. Weather was miserable but seemed promising for racing, cool but little wind and "nice" running rain. After a final loo trip we headed to the start area with a few minutes to spare. My pathological need to leave the loo trip as late as possible, combined with my natural tendency to line up near the back half of the field meant we got stuck a bit further back than BG thought was suitable. Discussed the fact the first mile would possibly be a bit slower than target but we'd have a chance to make it up later.

Off we stuttered over the start line and whilst it was busy we did manage to settle into our stride quickly enough. I have a habit of haring off so tried to match BG and listened to her when she said we got on pace. The first half mile at this pace felt easy peasy compared to Tuesday but I knew that would fade!! Felt the drag coming up to the Howth Road but knowing the area so well this didn't worry me. Heading for the turn we were literally the only people heading for the turn and not cutting the corner jumping on the footpath, including one donkey who steamrolled his way from the outside banging into BG and cutting across us. He must have ran more by doing that and didn't seem to see what the problem was. The stretch in the bus lane is the one aspect of this race I think could be improved on, I don't think it's wide enough for the numbers it has. Got a shout out from Annie and aquinn here and I missed the first mile marker around this part. Taking the turn off the Howth Road I knew the downhill was ahead. I was working hard at this stage but the breathing wasn't laboured and BG was offering plenty of encouragement and reminding me to relax. The legs felt like they were moving smoothly and as we went by the 2 mile mark I saw BG checking her watch a few times. Got a bit nervous when she didn't say anything so my first thought was crap, we must be behind. Thankfully she confirmed we were on target but had bagged a few extra seconds if I needed them, and again pointed out only if you need them :p

Went past my OH supporting along here and then my Dad as we took the corner for Mount Prospect. I was prepared for this stretch knowing there's a dip that comes back to you further down the road. Spotted kennyg here as I headed straight for him on the outside, thanks for the encouragement. We definitely seemed to be doing more of the overtaking and I was boosting my morale with reassurances that I didn't sound as bad as others nearby. This morale boost picked up my pace a couple of times with BG keeping me in check when needed!! The usual mid race wobble wasn't far off though just as we went back up the dip the legs had to work harder all of a sudden and I felt a bit light headed or something, thoughts of more at that pace seemed daunting. I know this happens to me and I can deal with it better now so just focused on getting to the third mile, to the park, and mentally breaking the race down in segments. This stretch in the park is much better than last year with the out and back slightly different, and the park a bit more broken up. BG offering support here about digging in for the out part on the avenue that it was going to be the hardest part which I was expecting myself. It didn't disappoint either, it was hard, the legs were starting to feel heavy. Spotted Redrunner but didn't shout so as to conserve my energy! Distracted myself with the shout outs to/from BG and her clubmates and watching for runners I knew on the other side, saw Murph_D looking like he was working hard but focused. Just when I felt I was really going to struggle we took the turn back down the avenue. Psychologically this was a boost as I know it's slightly downhill and it meant we were finally heading for the finish (via the long stretch, more of the park, a residential area, some roundabouts and about 14 turns around the squares near the finish :D - it's all in the mind :rolleyes:). BG was really offering me encouragement here, I think she knew I was flagging as the breathing was laboured now. Garbled out one word of "tough" as she let me know we had about 6 minutes left.

Focused on getting out of the park, then getting through the residential section listening when BG said think how great it will feel to be finished with that target achieved. Knew Annie and aquinn would be by the green so had that in mind, took the corner as tight as I could and plowed through some puddles soaking my feet and my pacer. Got some really great cheers from the supporters here and from Dubgal and TFGR was there with her balloons too. Taking the last corner I tried to pick up the pace as much as I could, and there were a group of runners ahead including one in a club vest. Had resigned myself that they were too far ahead and I was already at my max but I thought maybe I've a bit more, so pushed a bit more and they got closer, went again and got closer again, before I knew it I was going past them but one person in blue stayed just out of reach as we went over the line. Hadn't looked at my wrist all race so was blown over to see 39:12 something on the watch, as well as feeling for a moment like my bagel was about to meet the footpath. A big thank you hug and thanks to BG before we grabbed our goodie bags and started meeting up with others.

Official time was 39:13 and the splits were 7:51, 7:52, 7:54, 7:59 and 7:37 (watch had the last mile at .98). Not surprising to see the 4th mile the slowest but still on target which is good. Needless to say I'm absolutely delighted with that and a super big thanks to BG for pacing and her encouragement.

Met up with lots of happy boards and parkrun people in the hall after and a couple of drinks then. Great to see so many buzzing after some excellent performances - too many to name as I'm sure I'd forget someone. Looking forward to all the race reports. Thanks to those for the cheers and all associated with Raheny, a very enjoyable and well organised day.

17.19 miles for the week as it was a taper week. I was due a stepback anyway so it combined well. No football, no pilates and no gym consideration either to make sure it was a proper easing off.

Really well done! Fantastic run. Really glad you enjoyed the day and the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Great stuff! Sorry I missed you after but I had to get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Brilliant result and so well deserved. Lovely report and a great pacer too by the sounds of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Great report, Laura! You can't have been under much pressure during the race if you remembered all that detail :p. Thanks for not mentioning 'You Got This' :o. I need to work on my motivational slogans :rolleyes::D.

Just looking at the other reports and mile 4 seems to have been the slowest split for everyone. Just something that needs to be factored in for that particular race I guess.

Congrats again on a gutsy performance, what do the calculators say now for the other distances (2m, 5k) ?

What a fantastic report Laura, well done on a super race and I'm really delighted you have your sub - 40. Fair play to BG on such brilliant pacing and advice. Thanks to her we spotted you twice also. Cheers G.

Bravo!