Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Hi can anyone identify or provide any information about any of the following 2 tracks, even a different mix which the same track appeared on? nobody seems to know anything about them..Im desperate to find them so if anyone can help out in any shape or form it would be most welcomed, thanks in advance :cool:

24 mins and 36 mins from the mix below by Dave McDonnell

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4Ac3n11wH8

the track on 36 minutes rings a bell but im afraid i dont know the name of either of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

jonnny68 wrote: »
    the track on 36 minutes rings a bell but im afraid i dont know the name of either of them.

thanks for listening,,,can you recall what dj or where ou heard the track been played by anychance :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

Another blast from the past. Won two tickets to this through the Clubmix page in the Star. Was a full house at the Point that night.

Orbital that night as well...

What a mix this is if yous havent already heard it worth checking out :cool:

anyone got any ideas on the tracks at 9 mins and 18 mins? thanks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5OSxo8_Hok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭francois

Don't remember if I stuck these up before, but here are some from the Creation Warehouse party on the quays, huge crowd at it.

francois wrote: »
    Don't remember if I stuck these up before, but here are some from the Creation Warehouse party on the quays, huge crowd at it.

when did this happen mate?

thanks for listening,,,can you recall what dj or where ou heard the track been played by anychance :confused:

im afraid i don't man it just sounds familiar

derra wrote: »
    Another blast from the past. Won two tickets to this through the Clubmix page in the Star. Was a full house at the Point that night.

Orbital that night as well...

i was at this what a night also on the Sunday in the Point Goldie/Meatheadz played, one of the best weekends ever for me

when did this happen mate?

About 2002 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

That third shot is amazing, really captured spirit of those gigs

These lads, or these style of parties still on the go? Was at a few in Sutton and Julianstown back in the day. Heard of a savage one out in Wicklow somewhere. Remember reading online a few years back they'd packed it in but maybe baton has been passed elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

i was at this what a night also on the Sunday in the Point Goldie/Meatheadz played, one of the best weekends ever for me

I remember that being a pretty sh1t gig tbh. Half empty and a terrible atmosphere. I guess Ireland wasn't ready for a Jungle gig of such magnitude at the time. It all felt very flat.

About 2002 I think

ah right i would have missed this, i took a break from the scene from 2000 for a few years due to serious excess in the 90's mentally and physically it was badly needed.:pac:

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I remember that being a pretty sh1t gig tbh. Half empty and a terrible atmosphere. I guess Ireland wasn't ready for a Jungle gig of such magnitude at the time. It all felt very flat.

jaysus i thought it was the opposite, i loved it that whole weekend was immense, then again unlike most ravers in Dublin i always liked Jungle from day one and still do.

I see Orbital are back as well and playing Forbidden fruit, wasn't gonna go again as it was full of kids more interested ion getting as smashed as possible instead of the music but **** me i can't miss Orbital so will defo be going on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Anyone heading to this in the Lighthouse next weekend?

Billy Mays wrote: »

Raging I can't make it, my first and last ever chance to sashay up the red carpet at a premier :D

tickets sold out gutted would have loved to have gone

Got tickets for Friday. Looking forward to it.

How was it?

It was excellent
    I was hoping at 100 minutes long it wouldn't be too dragged out but I'd nothing to worry about. The director did a brilliant job at putting it together. Hopefully it will get some sort of public release as it deserves to be seen by more than those lucky enough to have got tickets for the Lighthouse.
    Enjoyed all the contributions made by various figures involved in the scene including your good self.

After an amazing NYE WITH 808 State Flashback is back in May, resident DJ's and guests night, you know the score no overplayed anthems, underground old skool across the spectrum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=102927565#post102927565

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

Excellent video just up from Tim,Mark and Sean ahead of the Soundcrowd gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

hi anyone got any ideas on the two tracks below

20 mins from here ---> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGMQD2ZcELE

and this zippyshare link its a progressive trance uplifting track Aceberg Id'ed it before but i cant remember the name any ideas? thanks

http://www89.zippyshare.com/v/pkWQPXOy/file.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

hi anyone got any ideas on the two tracks below

20 mins from here ---> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGMQD2ZcELE

and this zippyshare link its a progressive trance uplifting track Aceberg Id'ed it before but i cant remember the name any ideas? thanks

http://www89.zippyshare.com/v/pkWQPXOy/file.html

Well if i did i cant remember it now.

aceberg wrote: »
    Well if i did i cant remember it now.

It was around 3/4 years ago the zippy link was on a mark kavanagh tape too thick unknown pleasures I have it myself just forgot the name so annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 TraxDublin

Looking for a bit of old skool tunage on the radio? Check out 107.1 FM in Dublin - Trax.

Also available on the TuneIn app. (search for Trax Dublin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭mightybashful

TraxDublin wrote: »
    Looking for a bit of old skool tunage on the radio? Check out 107.1 FM in Dublin - Trax.

Also available on the TuneIn app. (search for Trax Dublin).

I like it so far. Good how it shows the name of the songs that are playing when in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Some R&S early 90's classics