If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Operation transformation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

I will walk FAL tomorrow night, good stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

don't forget your free porridge tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The Raptor wrote: »
    I have to pull you up on this. Having them wear fire safety gear and lugging a fire hose around the place is excessive. They're only three weeks in. It's far too much when they're the size that they are. They aren't fit to be doing that, not 3 weeks in.

Seriously, it's not that strenuous. Team effort. And there is no harm in putting some extra effort in at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

philstar wrote: »

Ray Darcy will have a busy morning :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

murpho999 wrote: »
    Seriously, it's not that strenuous. Team effort. And there is no harm in putting some extra effort in at times.

Try telling that to the boy that went first last night and failed and then went last yet barely made it with all his team mates helping him. Of course there was plenty added drama thrown into the mix.

philstar wrote: »

I wonder how much of that porridge will actually be eaten? People go mad when they hear of something for free but I'd imagine a lot of it will be shoved to the back of the press and subsequently end up in the bin. Just like all the walkers out while op is on and afterwards they slouch on the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I wonder how much of that porridge will actually be eaten? People go mad when they hear of something for free but I'd imagine a lot of it will be shoved to the back of the press and subsequently end up in the bin. Just like all the walkers out while op is on and afterwards they slouch on the couch.

and how are they going to stop people from going into all the outlets to claim one in each? You should have seen our work place when they used to give out free Smoothies once a week, a queue would form 30 minutes before, the canteen would be mobbed and they had to stop eventually after 2 lads fought over one!!

Personally I have porridge every morning but the 1kg Super Valu for 95 cents does me grand. Will probably be in Super tomorrow, if they have any left great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The porridge thing is a massive marketing exercise for Flahavan's, that's it.

I have porridge pretty much every morning, but I have it cold, uncooked with milk and some maple syrup or honey on it to give it some taste. I'm well overweight, I just eat it because it isn't as bad as cereals. It's also a lot cheaper.

I rellay only think it suits active people long term, at the moment I'm at a desk 4/5 days and it's not the best start to the day as I don't burn the energy off from it very quickly. The other day I'm usually on site and moving a lot, or at the weekend when I'd be very active when it's OK too.

I just think that it's a bit disingenious to be touring it as some sort of miracle food, when it isn't as it doesn't suit everybodys lifestyle every day. It's a hell of a lot better than cereals, but there's a bit more to it than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Red Kev wrote: »

I have porridge pretty much every morning, but I have it cold, uncooked with milk and some maple syrup or honey on it to give it some taste. I'm well overweight, I just eat it because it isn't as bad as cereals. It's also a lot cheaper.

I rellay only think it suits active people long term, at the moment I'm at a desk 4/5 days and it's not the best start to the day as I don't burn the energy off from it very quickly. The other day I'm usually on site and moving a lot, or at the weekend when I'd be very active when it's OK too.

I just think that it's a bit disingenious to be touring it as some sort of miracle food, when it isn't as it doesn't suit everybodys lifestyle every day. It's a hell of a lot better than cereals, but there's a bit more to it than that.

Porridge is a very healthy food that slowly releases energy. I have it every day for last 5 years and started taking it when I was trying to lose weight and it was great. Lost 20kg (3 stone) in about 7 months.

Find it very tasty when heated with milk.. Sometimes add fruit.

I think adding syrups is where your downfall may lie as that is just sugar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

murpho999 wrote: »
    Porridge is a very healthy food that slowly releases energy. I have it every day for last 5 years and started taking it when I was trying to lose weight and it was great. Lost 20kg (3 stone) in about 7 months.

Find it very tasty when heated with milk.. Sometimes add fruit.

I think adding syrups is where your downfall may lie as that is just sugar.
    I agree just an opportunity marketing ploy for Flavahans. I hate it with milk, water all the way and a natural sweetner. ALDI have cheap porridge, oats is oats no difference what brand you use as long as you stay away from the gimmicky stuff like this http://www.flahavans.ie/index.php/site-structure/main-menu/our-products/porridge-oats/convenience/flahavans-quick-oats-natural-sachets-10-x-35g/382 all you're doing is paying for convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I have been eating porridge for most of my life.
    I put fruit in it and milk, use to put sugar on it but gave that up and now I don't miss the sugar, but I never had a weight issue.
    The fruit gives the sweetness needed.

1/2 tea cup of porridge and a full cup of water/milk hardly rocket science but I see what you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I LOVE porridge - have it every morning but i cant imagine queuing up to get a small free bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Sam Kade wrote: »
    1/2 tea cup of porridge and a full cup of water/milk hardly rocket science but I see what you mean.

I just eyeball it and i'm not fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Will people actually queue to save paying 1.39e? It amazes me how little people value their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

A lot of miserable f**kers in here criticising the show. Remember the people taking part volunteered knowing there will be ups and downs, they chose to be standing there in Lycra being analysed and yes judged by the expert panel.

This isn't a case of the poor fat person standing beside all these healthy people, they put themselves there for positive reasons!!!

Clearly some people need hard lessons to change their ways and this show is not just about weight loss, it's about lifestyle changes and recognition of personal challenges everyday people face.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Will people actually queue to save paying 1.39e? It amazes me how little people value their time.
    A lot of them will probably drive 10 miles to the shop especially to get their free bag of porridge, if they stayed at home until their normal shopping day they could buy 2 bags out of the petrol they'd save.

I started eating porridge last year and went from 20st to 15 1/2...ok I ran the arse off myself and made some other dietary changes too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

It's disingenuous to tout any food as a miracle food but when it's comes to carbohydrates it's hard to beat oats. Far and away better than white potatoes, rice pasta and bread. I wouldn't forgo eating oats for fear of not 'burning it off'. Even ppl on low carb diets would still include oats in their meal plan. It's not that calorific if you eat half a bowl without too much honey or dried fruit. So if your going to cut down on carbs cut out any of the aforementioned sources but keep the oats, even if 'your not that active'.

I dislike porridge but I eat oats most mornings. It's not the taste of it I don't like its the texture which is why I take my oats with warm milk simply poured on and a few broken up walnuts, which leaves the oats with a bit of bite to them. Much quicker to prepare than porridge too as there's no cooking time.

I have to highly recommend Tesco own brand organic oats. Not because they are organic but because the oat flakes are not as fine as what you usually get, they're a bit firmer and have more flavour. Can't get enough of em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

22 years old and over 16 stone and she was eating chocolate and not sticking to the food plan, no sympathy at all for her.

Sorry to sound so harsh, but I totally agree with this. Once was ok, anyone can mess up once, but she's not arsed and it's infuriating. She has put herself out there on TV by getting involved in OT so it's surprising and frustrating for viewers to see how little she wants to change.

If I was on that expert panel I don't think I would have been able to speak to her this week

But ... I LOVE Sean - I think he's brilliant and hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,701 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

PucaMama wrote: »
    No pity from you? No surprise there anyway.

Look at how you talk about people. Heavies. These are human beings battling the most common modern addiction there is. Sugar.

Yeah whatever, you know nothing about me so less of the "no surprise there anyway" if you don't mind.

I know all about being very overweight and lost it through diet change, and exercise, not being too lazy to go out and walk like the contestant on the show who is half my age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

RobertKK wrote: »
    I think they should train with something heavier than water bottles.

Perhaps they should use bowls of porridge. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

I don't think she's a bad person either. But I do think she's lazy and wasting time and resources that would be better spent on someone who is bothered making an effort.

She's tired of being overweight she said. Well then she needs to get off her ass and work for it. The other two female contestants have children to raise on top of the whole thing and they are still managing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Bananaleaf wrote:
    She's tired of being overweight she said. Well then she needs to get off her ass and work for it. The other two female contestants have children to raise on top of the whole thing and they are still managing it.

Totally agree with this. I think she is quiet lazy as well. If i was part of that community group I would be fairly annoyed if the leader didn't turn up. Also she doesn't seem to be able resist the temptation at work which can't be easy but needs to be done if she is to loose weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭minikin

Who wants to join my campaign to make sugary fattening flap jacks with those free oats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Yeah whatever, you know nothing about me so less of the "no surprise there anyway" if you don't mind.

I know all about being very overweight and lost it through diet change, and exercise, not being too lazy to go out and walk like the contestant on the show who is half my age.

Nothing worse than people who have lost loads of weight who like to preach about others who are still overweight. Like an ex smoker.

No sign of any free porridge in our local SuperValu yesterday. Didn't get there til 1130am so maybe it was all gone?