Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

So..what does Ireland's Premier ManHater have to say on the subject of the Womens Marches?

Totally opposed to them myself because of the scummy celeb mouthpieces and have been told I'm not a feminist, & have Internalized Misogyny.

Gas craic.

That bloody patriarchy up to their old tricks again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

mzungu wrote: »
    That bloody patriarchy up to their old tricks again!!!

I know, I never even knew it was happening. crafty barstewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

So..what does Ireland's Premier ManHater have to say on the subject of the Womens Marches?

Totally opposed to them myself because of the scummy celeb mouthpieces and have been told I'm not a feminist, & have Internalized Misogyny.

Gas craic.

Totally opposed? Totally. So you don't support a single solitary concern or complaint they might have? Not one single issue. You're opposed to all of it? Just because of 'scummy celeb mouthpieces', and some people saying nasty things about you? That's the reason you're opposed to them?

mickstupp wrote: »
    Totally opposed? Totally. So you don't support a single solitary concern or complaint they might have? Not one single issue. You're opposed to all of it? Just because of 'scummy celeb mouthpieces', and some people saying nasty things about you? That's the reason you're opposed to them?

I couldn't say for definite whether I support any of the concerns or complaints because I have asked numerous participants and none of them gave a coherent explanation.

Most said ''it's a march for women''. That's meaningless, vacuous nonsense. I would have liked a sensible answer.

The most detailed answer was:

Objectification of women
    Rape culture
    Being told to shut up

The march is vocally supported by people like Miley Cyrus who do far more objectifying than Donald Trump ever did.

I don't believe there is a rape culture here.It's been extensively debated on Boards before and if you haven't read about it, it's worth a search.

And the last part is just psychotic and not very lucid.

There were several other very unsavoury people on the march bandwagon. I don't want to be associated with them or anything they do.

However..I'm interested..so if you want to flesh this out a bit, I'm all ears.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I know, I never even knew it was happening. crafty barstewards.
    You missed the meeting W. Thought we sent out memos to the non attendees.
    mickstupp wrote:
    The US guff? I dunno about totally opposed myself, but it smacks too much of (Mostly American) Chick Thinking(™) and just like (Again mostly American) Bro Science(™) it's usually based on eff all. Lotsa empty buzzwords, Feelz(™) rather than actual realities and narcissistic, usually woefully uninformed and lacking in irony "celebs" and other rabble rousers getting off and hoping to benefit from the public reaction. Do we really need to import that Simplistic Yank(™) stuff into the rest of the world? Plenty, if not most Americans themselves are getting tired of it

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    You missed the meeting W. Thought we sent out memos to the non attendees.

I dunno about totally opposed myself, but it smacks too much of Chick Thinking(™) and just like Bro Science(™) it's usually based on eff all. Lotsa buzzwords, Feelz(™) rather than actual realities and narcissistic, usually woefully uninformed and lacking in irony "celebs" and other rabble rousers getting off and hoping to benefit from the public reaction.

Yes there were many buzzwords and soundbites and that drives me demented. I just wanted t know what it's really ABOUT.
    And anyone I asked got rightly snitty with me. Not to mention emotional. It comes aand make the most effective and imcross as a big pack mentality gathering with no substance and I care about many things and want to effect change . Oh and pro lifers were told not to bother showing up because they're not welcome. I've always been pro choice but I don't like that attitude.

If 'Totally' is bothering you that much, Mickstupp. I'll rephrase that, I'm quite disappointed in the march and I don't like the undertones to it, and I'm concerned about athe types of spokeswomen and what they were using their platform to say. I was opposed-well, unsure and a bit concerned- before the nasty things were said to me, they just confirmed I was right in my reservations-that's not a crowd of women or feminists I belong with.

Some women said it was an anti Trump march. That makes no sense to me. Madonna et. al are far worse than Trump. I wouldn't stand in the same room as that mad cow unless I had a Taser to hand. They were saying that they want Hillary. Hillary's bad enough news for women in her own way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Yes there were many buzzwords and soundbites and that drives me demented. I just wanted t know what it's really ABOUT.
    And anyone I asked got rightly snitty with me. Not to mention emotional. It comes across as a big pack mentality gathering with no substance and I care about many things and want to effect change and make the most effective and impactful use of big opportunities for pubicity and getting a cause noticed and engaging the public and politicians. Oh and pro lifers were told not to bother showing up because they're not welcome. I've always been pro choice but I don't like that attitude.

I didn't march in Dublin because I don't see the point. There. I said it. And so many of my American friends went (IN America!) and I thought, fair play to them, it's their country. And I get solidarity, I get supporting Americans who are feeling embarrassed and worried. One American pal I'm supporting by not mentioning Trump at all because they simply don't want to talk about it anymore.

I'd gladly protest a visit by Trump to Ireland. If he touches the Paris agreement I'll be making my voice heard. But this protesting a democratic election in another country- no. America made its decision.

If anything protests should occur outside the Russian embassy.

You know who's brave? US government employees who are setting up twitter accounts to spread factual scientific information because in the new administration facts are dirt. If there is a way to support them I'm for it. They're not playing the victim although they're probably facing into a new era of McCarthyism.

The protests in Ireland smacked to me of self congratulation and virtue signalling honestly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mostly it'll be about throwing as much Deep Feelz as possible, while draping Arsebook avatars with some new currently fashionable overlay, with maybe, nay hopefully some guilt at removing the previous Rainbow/French/German/Syrian/Whatever overlay. Though I doubt it. All hail the incandescently insightless mob.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Mostly it'll be about throwing as much Deep Feelz as possible, while draping Arsebook avatars with some new currently fashionable overlay, with maybe, nay hopefully some guilt at removing the previous Rainbow/French/German/Syrian/Whatever overlay. Though I doubt it. All hail the incandescently insightless mob.

This march is about Love.

(Until you say you're not keen on the march. Then we've no love for you!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

And anyone I asked got rightly snitty with me. Not to mention emotional. It comes across as a big pack mentality gathering with no substance and I care about many things and want to effect change and make the most effective and impactful use of big opportunities for pubicity and getting a cause noticed and engaging the public and politicians. Oh and pro lifers were told not to bother showing up because they're not welcome. I've always been pro choice but I don't like that attitude.

If 'Totally' is bothering you that much, Mickstupp. I'll rephrase that, I'm quite disappointed in the march and I don't like the undertones to it, and I'm concerned about athe types of spokeswomen and what they were using their platform to say. I was opposed before the nasty things were said to me, they just confirmed I was right in my reservations-that's not a crowd of women or feminists I belong with.
    Aye, it would appear that in some quarters inclusion only stretches so far.

That said, I'm sure there was probably loads of people there who couldn't give a toss if pro-lifers showed up. I wonder was the animosity towards the pro-lifers given the go ahead by the organisers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

This march is about Love.

(Until you say you're not keen on the march. Then we've no love for you!)

I'm no fan of the pro life lobby at all, but I was very uncomfortable with pro life people being told they weren't welcome. And repeal the eighth posters at this march- which has zero to do with Trump. He hadn't even changed the rules on abortion being promoted at that point and he has no control over the 8th!

I'm beginning to think some of these people actually think we are the 51st state of America.

I didn't realise 'til now but the whole thing was making me quite stressed. I was like a pariah among some of my acquaintances.
    Just look at what it's done to my punctuation. It's gone to hell in a handcart :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Just watching that Argentinean video, where the hell are the police?

Afraid to stand against an angry mob of bare tits?

That video was the mild version. I only posted it as it was the only version with no boobs.

If you search YouTube for:

"The hypocrisy and double standard of Toxic Feminism in Argentina"

...you'll find one that shows them punching the men, kicking them, sexually assaulting them, hitting them with sticks etc etc.

ivytwine wrote: »
    I'm no fan of the pro life lobby at all, but I was very uncomfortable with pro life people being told they weren't welcome. And repeal the eighth posters at this march- which has zero to do with Trump. He hadn't even changed the rules on abortion being promoted at that point and he has no control over the 8th!

I'm beginning to think some of these people actually think we are the 51st state of America.

Did that happen here too with our pro-life lobby? I know in the US the pro-life were told they were not welcome, which was a bit strange considering it was meant to be a march for women. If they were going to start with this exclusion lark they should have just called it Women's March....for all who agree with what we think and everybody else can just stay at home.

I wouldn't subscribe to the pro-life line of thought, but they had every right to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Gas craic.

A woman called Donna Hylton was given a platform to speak at the march. Google what she was sentenced to 27 years for. Shocking beyond belief.

red ears wrote: »
    A woman called Donna Hylton was given a platform to speak at the march. Google what she was sentenced to 27 years for. Shocking beyond belief.

And Donald Trump is supposed to be the enemy of women everywhere? He looks like Mary Poppins in comparison to some of these loons.

Angela Davis was on the platform too. A big outspoken critic of the US prison system and the death penalty, although she surprisingly has little to say about the fates of political prisoners under the regimes of her best buddies in the USSR, East Germany and Cuba.

mzungu wrote: »
    Angela Davis was on the platform too. A big outspoken critic of the US prison system and the death penalty, although she surprisingly has little to say about the fates of political prisoners under the regimes of her best buddies in the USSR, East Germany and Cuba.

The spotlight from this part of the world was on America, when there are so many global problems that deserve highlighting. I can understand the American marches focusing on Donald Trump. I don't understand why ours had to.

I know I'm supposed to think he's the devil incarnate and all women should hate him. I am more bothered by other leaders and regimes and attitudes.

The spotlight from this part of the world was on America, when there are so many global problems that deserve highlighting. I can understand the American marches focusing on Donald Trump. I don't understand why ours had to.
    Ah, it seems to be that thing where we always blindly follow the yanks no matter what. Sure, it will be the Superbowl next month!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That's unbelievable. You couldn't make it up tbh.

This movement really gone off the rails into crazy territory.

I'd be genuinely worried about naive young women getting caught up in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,823 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Good argument above-I know some of her other videos are a bit controversial, but I find this interesting.

It was a demonstration of incredible mass hysteria,tbh, not a 'women's march'. I sat there looking at some of it-and I cringed. Also noticed that there were few 'pregnant' women there-the only one being a celebrity, Natalie Portman. To me, that was just cringe-the pro-lifers aren't allowed, but a possible pro-choicer who's pregnant is.
    I doubt they told any celebrity pro-lifers to sod off.

It was a ton of backhanded compliments to one another-whereas even sane folks can see that this is accomplishing absolutely nothing. These people don't have the power to change anything.
    I will admit that I admired Scarlett Johannsen's statement-that she will respect him as long as she respects her, as in women. Also, when she spoke about Planned Parenthood, she referenced how their screening program have saved her friends due to discovering pre-cancerous cells and other potential problems (no abortion stance, so again, I admired that-but it also makes one wonder why pro-lifers were not allowed there?)
    But then Madonna has to go and be mental.

The disturbing thing to me is the simple question of any march-'what are they protesting against?'-they don't have a clue. Anyone who protests or demands anything, can easily explain what it is they want. But these loons don't know. Even the 'stop rape culture' crazies can say what they are protesting.

Madonna's speech is incendiary, and just horrendous-threatening to harm an individual? Imagine a man making that statement? The Youtube downvotes are kicking the up votes butts on her video. The 'eff you if you think this protest doesn't make a difference?'-that shows clear mental weakness, tbh. I mean, ffs, if you are so offended by differing opinions, you're molly coddled, but what you really are is someone who's not even convinced of their own stance on an issue. Step down MAdonna, you crazy.
    I saw a comedian, Aziz Anzari, speak about how 'an entire gender' are protesting against Trump-yet, no, no they are not. Trump's wife was sitting next to him, Michelle Obama stayed home. Many other women were absolutely furious with the 'protest'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

It would be interesting to see how the "celebrities against trump" thing is working out in the areas the really backed Trump.
    OK we get the impression that celebrities are demigods in the US... but at what point do the rust belters or whoever start thinking "do you know what, who the F**K are you to tell me I'm deplorable, all I want is the chance to have a reasonable standard of living for an honest days work, f**k you and your celebrity friends"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 CeannairBluexx

Oh my God!

That makes Trump look like a Knight of the Round Table.

As a woman, is that meant to inspire me ?? Twisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Holland Helpful Pita

Oh my God!

Looking at some of her twitter posts, people keep bringing her past up (men and women), criticising her, surprised she hasn't created her own echo chamber, blocking "non believers" and only allowing the "3rd wave" like some of the other feminists

Good argument above-I know some of her other videos are a bit controversial, but I find this interesting.

It was a demonstration of incredible mass hysteria,tbh, not a 'women's march'. I sat there looking at some of it-and I cringed. Also noticed that there were few 'pregnant' women there-the only one being a celebrity, Natalie Portman. To me, that was just cringe-the pro-lifers aren't allowed, but a possible pro-choicer who's pregnant is.
    I doubt they told any celebrity pro-lifers to sod off.

It was a ton of backhanded compliments to one another-whereas even sane folks can see that this is accomplishing absolutely nothing. These people don't have the power to change anything.
    I will admit that I admired Scarlett Johannsen's statement-that she will respect him as long as she respects her, as in women. Also, when she spoke about Planned Parenthood, she referenced how their screening program have saved her friends due to discovering pre-cancerous cells and other potential problems (no abortion stance, so again, I admired that-but it also makes one wonder why pro-lifers were not allowed there?)
    But then Madonna has to go and be mental.

The disturbing thing to me is the simple question of any march-'what are they protesting against?'-they don't have a clue. Anyone who protests or demands anything, can easily explain what it is they want. But these loons don't know. Even the 'stop rape culture' crazies can say what they are protesting.

Madonna's speech is incendiary, and just horrendous-threatening to harm an individual? Imagine a man making that statement? The Youtube downvotes are kicking the up votes butts on her video. The 'eff you if you think this protest doesn't make a difference?'-that shows clear mental weakness, tbh. I mean, ffs, if you are so offended by differing opinions, you're molly coddled, but what you really are is someone who's not even convinced of their own stance on an issue. Step down MAdonna, you crazy.
    I saw a comedian, Aziz Anzari, speak about how 'an entire gender' are protesting against Trump-yet, no, no they are not. Trump's wife was sitting next to him, Michelle Obama stayed home. Many other women were absolutely furious with the 'protest'.

The Feminissssssssssssts I asked said Madonna's speech was fine in context.

I can't say, as I have Internalized Misogyny.

That's unbelievable. You couldn't make it up tbh.

This movement really gone off the rails into crazy territory.

I'd be genuinely worried about naive young women getting caught up in it.

I would be worried sick about any female relatives who got drawn in with those women. I know..it's my Internalized Misogyny speaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Oh my God!

The people who were against Mike Pence coming to sligo would probably throw a carnival if yer one came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Holland Helpful Pita

I would be worried sick about any female relatives who got drawn in with those women. I know..it's my Internalized Misogyny speaking.

I despise these celebrities pontificating and hijacking these events...Comes off for their own gains.....and I think, thanks to the celebrity culture we're in , a lot are believe the guff Madonna etc are coming out with....

Apparently it's controversial to say they're just a celebrity, but they are just celebrities. Many of them are also mad.