Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,536 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

But we need the common market to sell the fish. Stocks would be useless without it.

Not really, the majority of the pelagic fish which is by far the most important to this country is shipped outside the EU to Africa, Asia and Russia (when EU embargo wasn't there).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I was driving so haven't read thread but my god I was fuming at the mother of the 25 year old child! She should be knocking at every local business offering to do their website, facebook, twitter accounts for free to get some experience. Even look in local bars and restaurants and offer to do that for being trained as a waitress or something. Jebus Christ the mother driving her and waiting on her!! If she wants driving lessons let her save and pay for them, she's living at home, €230 would go along way towards them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

snubbleste wrote: »
    Irexit starts here and now!

We're too thick as a country to pull it off, and the politicians too cowardly and comfortable, rolling in the dough. They won't want to risk that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

My workmate is from a fishing family in Killybegs and his father + brother are fishermen.

Me: "Would you go out on the boats?"

Him: "**** that no way"

Daniel O'Donnell and his mott sitting in Daniel's car in a lovers lane in Dubbalin, not much action from Dan.

she says (coyly) ..." Daniel, I'd like you to kiss me somewhere wet and fishy smelling"

he replies (narkily) ..."you can feck off if you think I'm driving to Killybegs this hour of the night"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

snubbleste wrote: »
    The value of our fisheries is more than all the grants and aid we get for four decades.
    Turas Nua are a private company making profit from dolies - the longer they are on their books,, the more the company get.
    And the third one, I don't get. It is well-known that employers perfer foreigners for work as they may not be aware of their rights, have a lower cost of living as they can always "go home", whereas the Irish guy ahd to pay the high costs

Sorry, do you have a source or proof for this one?
    I know people working for the company, and to my knowledge they actually don't get paid as a company until the person finds work or something. Certainly not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Hitchens wrote: »
    Daniel O'Donnell and his mott sitting in Daniel's car in a lovers lane in Dubbalin, not much action from Dan.

she says (coyly) ..." Daniel, I'd like you to kiss me somewhere wet and fishy smelling"

he replies (narkily) ..."you can feck off if you think I'm driving to Killybegs this hour of the night"

Keep your phone on, the FF crew are bound to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭4Ad

Duffy better follow up with the restaurant.

Would prefer if Boucher Hayes was given his own show for consumer issues.
    The amount of naming and shaming would probably do much to improve industries. That's really the only useful thing Liveline can do.

I rarely listen to the show but I only stayed listening so I could hear the name of the restaurant so I never go there (doubtful anyway)..
    But the fishing argument was brilliant, my Father was glued to it also..Billy ya fecking gob****e, made a fool of himself, wouldn't take a job when offered on 'principle'.
    Is the show always this much fun??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Hitchens wrote: »

Contrary to popular belief a vagina in any clean or unclean state does not smell fishy and I'm speaking from experience,so to speak:p:p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Contrary to popular belief a vagina in any clean or unclean state does not smell fishy and I'm speaking from experience,so to speak:p:p:D

Some of the ones I was with certainly did.

Donal55 wrote: »
    Some of the ones I was with certainly did.

Maybe they had some eels or pollocks in it before you got there:eek:

GDY151

Irish callers to de Babestation chat line were getting through to people in Westport, I can imagine some of de filthy conversations de poor peoples would be subjected to. The ladies of Babestation will visit Westport on Thursday to "show support", whatever that will mean, Ryanair style marketing me thinks...
    “Babestation are keen to stress, and will continue to do so publicly, that when dialling a UK number, the ‘0’ should be replaced by ’00 44’.

As a show of support and recognition, Babestation, and two of their models, will be visiting Westport on 26 January at around 2pm to speak to residents and local people.

http://www.thejournal.ie/babestation-mix-up-westport-3203474-Jan2017/

Irish callers to de Babestation chat line were getting through to people in Westport, I can imagine some of de filthy conversations de poor peoples would be subjected to. The ladies of Babestation will visit Westport on Thursday to "show support", whatever that will mean, Ryanair style marketing me thinks...

Will they climb Croagh Patrick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Can ya get behind the couch. Me missus is coming down the stairs,and I can't find the remote.:)

GDY151

Will they climb Croagh Patrick?

Jaysus, just Googled them there (not safe for de workplace so to speak), put it this way their normal TV attire wouldn't be suitable for the reek in the winter months :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He will hunt down that euromillions winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I must pull out the old telescope. I can see Croagh Patrick from up the road on a fine day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

DO NOT goo-gull Blue Waffle then. I mean it - DON'T.

As for the odour......I respectfully disagree.....or should dat be dis-a-gee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

If it was me I'd go on like a shot. I'd fill a few lines of the bingo card before the bad line. And finish off with "How's de leg, Joe? Ya bo££ix.

4Ad wrote: »
    I rarely listen to the show but I only stayed listening so I could hear the name of the restaurant so I never go there (doubtful anyway)..
    But the fishing argument was brilliant, my Father was glued to it also..Billy ya fecking gob****e, made a fool of himself, wouldn't take a job when offered on 'principle'.
    Is the show always this much fun??

What? Today's show wouldn't even make the top 1000 funniest/stupidest Lahv Lahn's ever.

THERE IS NOTHING FUNNIER ON RTE THAN LAHV LAHN (accompanied by this thread in real time so to speak).

Examples:

And there's loads more.

The only time De Lahv lahn isn't funny is FunnyFryday.

GDY151

I hope it's some old farmer geezer who likes the simpler things in life, when he gets the winnings he can go down the local tractor dealers and by the top of the range Massey Ferguson.

mf8700_gallery-main.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I hope it's some old farmer geezer who likes the simpler things in life, when he gets the winnings he can go down the local tractor dealers and by the top of the range Massey Ferguson.

mf8700_gallery-main.jpg

and there'll surely be fighting then about the will . . .

Joe might be more sympathetic than we think as he has a lot in common with de Babestation girls - they're both incredibly well remunerated for answering the phone, and they both have enormous boobs so to speak.
    tumblr_inline_msq15br9n51qz4rgp.jpg

It's prob. someone in RTE. Or a politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

I won the lotto lads !!!

3 numbers ... €7.70 ... :(

I won the lotto lads !!!

3 numbers ... €7.70 ... :(

Well done! Well done!

How did dat make you feeeeel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Cllr Traynor: "John came on with an opposing view and you attacked him straight away. "

Duffy (sarcastically): "Oh did I, okay".

:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

blow up dolls don't count :p

Cllr Traynor: "John came on with an opposing view and you attacked him straight away. "

Duffy (sarcastically): "Oh did I, okay".

:mad::mad:

"Don't you be givin' me any of yer auld guff" came from that call and the absolutely hilarious "I'll calm down if you calm down" - when the only person who needed calming was de Duffmeister General. As I've oft said about Duffy, it's the tone he delivers his barbs with that say as much (if not more) about the man as his words do be do be do be do so to speak. He barked "I'll calm down if you calm down" at the Cllr., and the "Don't you be givin' me any of yer auld guff" was delivered with a snide-ness and suggested inferiority that were truly, truly disrespectful and certainly not becoming of a "professional" (:rolleyes:) experienced broadcaster. He frequently passes sarcastic comments and quips to and at those who dare to have a different opinion than his own. He cannot control his temper and the truth is there's a bit of the Ballyer Gurrier still left in him that he tries unsuccessfully to hide. He way be very wealthy, but he is a man devoid of class and basic manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭4Ad

What? Today's show wouldn't even make the top 1000 funniest/stupidest Lahv Lahn's ever.

THERE IS NOTHING FUNNIER ON RTE THAN LAHV LAHN (accompanied by this thread in real time so to speak).

Examples:

And there's loads more.

The only time De Lahv lahn isn't funny is FunnyFryday.

Was ya man still aroused while talking about the immodestly dressed women with crotchless briefs in Knock ? It sounded like he was..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Can't wait to listen to all these when I have decent internet connection!