Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Dots1982 wrote: »
    They didn't call their podcast that after he was smashing keys on that piano in the hotel for that wedding while on England duty. Seem to remember Ken Early taking the p*** out of him for that.

Seem to recall that it was mainly Ken, taking the piss out of the English media, for taking the piss out of Rooney for getting pissed while out...on the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Arghus wrote: »
    They didn't call their podcast that after he was smashing keys on that piano in the hotel for that wedding while on England duty. Seem to remember Ken Early taking the p*** out of him for that.

Seem to recall that it was mainly Ken taking the piss out of the English media for taking the piss out of Rooney for getting pissed while out.

Actually it was Eoin who called him "pretty stupid"

Arghus wrote: »

Seem to recall that it was mainly Ken taking the piss out of the English media for taking the piss out of Rooney for getting pissed while out.

Actually it was Eoin who called him "pretty stupid"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Murph was his irritating worst during the football show. Slowing the whole natural flow of things down while trying (and failing) to be funny. His rambling attempt on extending Ken's mildly amusing toothpaste tube/ Rooney analogy was excruciating.

Wish he'd stick to the bogball/rugby pod so I wouldn't have to endure his ****e patter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Murph was his irritating worst during the football show. Slowing the whole natural flow of things down while trying (and failing) to be funny. His rambling attempt on extending Ken's mildly amusing toothpaste tube/ Rooney analogy was excruciating.

Yeah, he was annoying the hell out of me today too, but I think things will get back to normal once Eoin settles back in and Ken goes back on the fags.

It was a sweet feeling to hear Eoin's voice back on again.

Kind of like the feeling you get from taking off a pair of uncomfortable shoes at the end of a long day. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Can we take it from Monday's SC football that you're allowed to say the f-word in a podcast but not the C-word. Or that you can say the latter if you want but you'll lose all your female listeners?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Can we take it from Monday's SC football that you're allowed to say the f-word in a podcast but not the C-word. Or that you can say the latter if you want but you'll lose all your female listeners?:p

Irrespective if they are allowed or not allowed to say the C-word, it sounds funnier when James Blunt is used instead :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,998 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

The lads are getting very political lately, I wish they'd keep their political opinions to themselves. They seem obsessed with Trump, get over it lads, he won the vote, you're not in America, move on.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    The lads are getting very political lately, I wish they'd keep their political opinions to themselves. They seem obsessed with Trump, get over it lads, he won the vote, you're not in America, move on.

you could always listen to a different podcast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

This is my favourite argument against criticising Trump, because nothing that happens in America affects the rest of the world, ever.

lawred2 wrote: »
    you could always listen to a different podcast

I could and I do but I like second captains just wish they'd leave their political views out of it.

Are they auditioning for a political second captains show on radio one?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    This is my favourite argument against criticising Trump, because nothing that happens in America affects the rest of the world, ever.

It's meant to be a sports show!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Well that's a completely different argument. I thought you were just saying they should "get over it" because they don't live in America.

My mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

I agree with this, I don't listen to the Second Captains for for political debate. Having said that if they did a political/current affair pod, it would be worth a listen as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭nc6000

I downloaded and listened to their Monday podcast and I think it was almost 22 minutes in before the got to actually discussing sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

I listen to Second Captains primarily because they're a group of intelligent funny lads in and around the same age as me.

Anyone with half a brain is fascinated and terrified by Trump. I like hearing what they have to say about it.

I think what some of ye are looking for is "banter". Maybe ye should get onto Colm Parkinson to start a podcast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Evil_g wrote: »
    I listen to Second Captains primarily because they're a group of intelligent funny lads in and around the same age as me.

Anyone with half a brain is fascinated and terrified by Trump. I like hearing what they have to say about it.

I think what some of ye are looking for is "banter". Maybe ye should get onto Colm Parkinson to start a podcast?

There's already one in existence (:eek:) - called the GAA Hour. I dip into it now and again....not as banterific as you might think, if anything he's gone from sounding like a total gobshyte on OTB to now thinking smugly he's the best broadcaster on the planet.

Anyway, re: Second Politicians - I don't mind it tbh....makes a change from the whole Pep-Jose analysis roundabout. Would actually be interesting if they got a semi-intelligent Republican on to have a proper debate rather than them constantly whinging about Trump

Cartman78 wrote: »
    There's already one in existence (:eek:) - called the GAA Hour. I dip into it now and again....not as banterific as you might think, if anything he's gone from sounding like a total gobshyte on OTB to now thinking smugly he's the best broadcaster on the planet.

Anyway, re: Second Politicians - I don't mind it tbh....makes a change from the whole Pep-Jose analysis roundabout. Would actually be interesting if they got a semi-intelligent Republican on to have a proper debate rather than them constantly whinging about Trump

a semi intelligent Republican would also be likely to whinge about Trump

The politics thing grates. They did their one off podcast on it which was grand. They appear to have closed minds to the reason people voted for Trump. Trump engaged with the states outside of New York and California and offered them hope and more than likely false promises of economic recovery. But at least he spoke their language and engaged with their concerns.

The lads go on constantly about the disgusting things Trump has said but they have never really engaged enough with the feelings of neglect that so much of the US feels. Frankly most of the US simply do not care if Trump lies through his teeth or is racially insensitive. They care about getting/keeping their jobs and being paid respect as Americans.

Hillary was too bothered partying with Katy Perry and Jay-Z to work to engage with anyone outside of the political elite mindset.

If Trump delivers on his promises to the American Heartland, not only will he be re-elected, he will have been a good president. Whether he can do it or not is the thing but the vast amount of media I've heard including Second Captains don't seem to grasp this simple truth.

Evil_g wrote: »

Anyone with half a brain is fascinated and terrified by Trump.

Out of curiousity are you (& other people) terrified by having Donald Trump as leader or are you just saying that because you hear other people saying it?

I felt bad when it happened but I was over it the next week.

Maybe people in Ireland are actually terrified but it seems, well to be frank, dumb to me that you think Trump can actually affect your life in a negative enough way to feel justified being terrified about him.

Nothing like boxing to have me reaching for the fast forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

"And now, for balance, it's over to some nit wit who thinks that giving the nuclear codes to a reality TV star with ADHD and the vocabulary of an 11 year old is the solution to some problems that may not even exist"

Well there you go, Trump related sports stories. Everybody happy? Good.

Out of curiousity are you (& other people) terrified by having Donald Trump as leader or are you just saying that because you hear other people saying it?

I felt bad when it happened but I was over it the next week.

Maybe people in Ireland are actually terrified but it seems, well to be frank, dumb to me that you think Trump can actually affect your life in a negative enough way to feel justified being terrified about him.

Frankly, yes I am.

On a minor scale, there's the possibility that his evidenced lake of control and ability to control the noise that comes out of his face will inflame an already unstable world. His "We're gunna bomb the sh*t outta 'em!" comments for example. This plays into terrorist organisations hands, and serves only to aid their propaganda. Increase of terrorist attacks due to an infuriated Middle-East, far-reaching effects for the entire planet, not just America.
    In his first week in office, he's cut $600 million worth of funding to family planning services in developing countries. This has the potential to worsen overpopulation and the spread of HIV. He's also greenlit the construction of pipelines which have massive opposition from environmental organisations, he has removed all acknowledgement of global warming from the White House website, has vowed to remove the "burden" of environment regulations and is a noted climate change denier. All far-reaching, long-term consequences for the entire planet, not just America.
    Add to that that the possibility of a trade-war with Mexico over this "wall" idiocy. A wall which will not work btw, but let's leave that out of it. If cooler heads don't prevail (on both sides) America could well be plunged back into recession. And what happens when the US is in recession? Yeah, you guessed it, far-reaching effects on every other economy which is dependent on it.
    And that's ignoring the social side of things, with a noted homophobe as vice-president and it now being totally acceptable to just be out and out racist because "I'm not PC maaaan!".

That enough reasons to be a little apprehensive about the Trump presidency for you?

Anyway, there're better places for this discussion so yeah, to get back on topic:
    Monday's football show. Christ, Murph. I normally like him, but that toothpaste stuff was excruciating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Oh Jesus will this ever end? The lecturing, the patronising,the disdain the contempt,the sanctimony. It's filling everyone's feeds across all platforms.
    If Ken's incessant political commentary continues (& it is Ken driving it) they will lose subscribers. It's not what people in the main listen for.

Oh Jesus will this ever end? The lecturing, the patronising,the disdain the contempt,the sanctimony. It's filling everyone's feeds across all platforms.
    If Ken's incessant political commentary continues (& it is Ken driving it) they will lose subscribers. It's not what people in the main listen for.

Yeah it seems like Ken can't get over the fact that his beloved crooked Hillary didn't get elected. The election was 3 months ago, let it go lads. Christ they didn't even talk about the Irish election this long.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

crooked Hillary

Sigh.

Are you sure it's not that Trump is an unimaginable tool?

Yeah it seems like Ken can't get over the fact that his beloved crooked Hillary didn't get elected. The election was 3 months ago, let it go lads. Christ they didn't even talk about the Irish election this long.

It's nothing to do with Hillary, it's all about Trump. They made it quite clear it's going continue to come up and that's fine by me. It's not live radio, you can always fast forward.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Sigh.

Are you sure it's not that Trump is an unimaginable tool?

Whatever it is I think they should leave it out of their sports show as they will lose listeners imo.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸