(Women) 10 Round Numbers 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Bump! So who's going for the sub 35 in Raheny. HelenAnne ? No pressure :D

Well, hopefully, but who knows? I haven't broken 21 in a park run this year; we'll see next weekend if it's REALLY because of off-road courses / unfamiliar courses etc, or am I just no longer capable of running faster than 6.50 pace :(

You? Are you doing Raheny and gunning for sub 35?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Well, hopefully, but who knows? I haven't broken 21 in a park run this year; we'll see next weekend if it's REALLY because of off-road courses / unfamiliar courses etc, or am I just no longer capable of running faster than 6.50 pace :(

You? Are you doing Raheny and gunning for sub 35?

The year is only 3 weeks old !!!!

I've chosen pacing duty for Raheny. I knew I wasn't likely to be on form for a sub-35 so will hopefully help Laura_ac3 to a new PB. I think I'll have to wait til March and the Indoors to perhaps get my first entry on the table (800m).

Best of luck Sunday week (no bother to you!)

:):pac: but because of the New Year's day dispensation I've done four park runs in 2017! (St Anne's, Fr Collins, Templemore & Oldbridge) :D (Plus a cross country and a 2-miler.)

I've chosen pacing duty for Raheny. I knew I wasn't likely to be on form for a sub-35 so will hopefully help Laura_ac3 to a new PB. I think I'll have to wait til March and the Indoors to perhaps get my first entry on the table (800m).

Best of luck Sunday week (no bother to you!)

I bet you will get that 800!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

Bungy Girl ||||| |||||
    Dubgal||2:42| |11:44|19:42|| |||

Yay, thanks BG. I'm having a bit of an extended boards break this year due to paring back commitments/distractions but would like to support this thread whenever possible.

Realistically, I'll probably only get up to 10k (10mi at a push) but would like to tick every box up to that this year.

Training is going well with most indications that I am at a slightly higher starting point compared to this time last year. Most importantly, all the rehab is going well. I'd go so far to say that my current addiction to The Good Wife feeds my addiction to the rehab routine and vice versa. They are perfect partners along with the occasional help from the 4yo who likes to introduce some body weight into the mix.....

The 5k was from a parkrun this morning, I hit 3k in 11:44 so will pencil that in for now.

I also hit 2:42 for 800m in a recent 1200m TT so will pencil that in too with a view to annihilating it soon enough ;)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

Bungy Girl ||||| |||||

The 5k was from a parkrun this morning, I hit 3k in 11:44 so will pencil that in for now.

I also hit 2:42 for 800m in a recent 1200m TT so will pencil that in too with a view to annihilating it soon enough ;)

As I said earlier.....

Thanks for getting the party started DG! That is some going :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Did Irish runner paced mile on Wed. Knew I wasn't anywhere near a 6min mile of course but hadn't appreciated what a feat it is until I saw people running it! Did my own in 8:30 which is fab for me. Based on that I would be delighted to be able to nab a 45min finish in Raheny next week, but so long as I don't go over 50mins I will be happy.

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Bungy Girl ||||| |||||

Yay, thanks BG. I'm having a bit of an extended boards break this year due to paring back commitments/distractions but would like to support this thread whenever possible.

Realistically, I'll probably only get up to 10k (10mi at a push) but would like to tick every box up to that this year.

Training is going well with most indications that I am at a slightly higher starting point compared to this time last year. Most importantly, all the rehab is going well. I'd go so far to say that my current addiction to The Good Wife feeds my addiction to the rehab routine and vice versa. They are perfect partners along with the occasional help from the 4yo who likes to introduce some body weight into the mix.....

Well done! That's all brilliant! Well done on the park run time.

I don't know where the 3k mark in our 2 mile race is, but at the pace I ran 2 miles, I should have hit 3k in 11.48, so I will count that as a pencilled in one on the chart too!

21 mins in Oldbridge park run this morning. I know that's way off my best, but it's all on grass and through fields, so was happy enough. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I know I'm going to come across as a cranky ol git, nothing new there:pac: but wasn't the idea of the tables first day to get people out and try different events? Don't en route times go against the spirit of that? No doubt that someone who goes sub-20 can go sub-12 en route and no doubt you will annihilate those times DG but I feel if we go down the road of en route times, people won't be as likely to race a 3k if they can pick it up in a 5k and so on. On the mens table for instance, a guy like KC could probably knock down everything from 3k to half-marathon in one race.

Makes no difference to me but just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭The Officer

El Caballo wrote: »
    I know I'm going to come across as a cranky ol git, nothing new there:pac: but wasn't the idea of the tables first day to get people out and try different events? Don't en route times go against the spirit of that? No doubt that someone who goes sub-20 can go sub-12 en route and no doubt you will annihilate those times DG but I feel if we go down the road of en route times, people won't be as likely to race a 3k if they can pick it up in a 5k and so on. On the mens table for instance, a guy like KC could probably knock down everything from 3k to half-marathon in one race.

It's been a fair few years since I've looked at these tables but I have to agree. Things might have changed but unofficial splits counting?

El Caballo wrote: »

It's been a fair few years since I've looked at these tables but I have to agree. Things might have changed but unofficial splits counting?

To be fair, Dubgal said she was 'penciling in', which implies she's going to run an official 3k and 800m some time soon? and I didn't put mine on the table, since it was only a guess. I was just keeping the discussion about times / paces going. I see what El Caballo means about someone like Krusty being able to knock out all the times in one race -- but I certainly wouldn't be able to; my fastest 2-mile time is 12.31, the 3k time would be hard enough for me, so I was only mentioning it in an 'I ran an OK time, maybe showing I am getting nearer to some of the round numbers' spirit.

I think it's OK to chat around the times and mention why (based on other races) you think you might hit them? Otherwise it would just be a thread of tables.

To be fair, Dubgal said she was 'penciling in', which implies she's going to run an official 3k and 800m some time soon? and I didn't put mine on the table, since it was only a guess. I was just keeping the discussion about times / paces going. I see what El Caballo means about someone like Krusty being able to knock out all the times in one race -- but I certainly wouldn't be able to; my fastest 2-mile time is 12.31, the 3k time would be hard enough for me, so I was only mentioning it in an 'I ran an OK time, maybe showing I am getting nearer to some of the round numbers' spirit.

I think it's OK to chat around the times and mention why (based on other races) you think you might hit them? Otherwise it would just be a thread of tables.

Absolutely agree to discuss them but maybe the table should be populated with specific results otherwise it misses the point surely?

Yes, fair point. I think (can't find it now!) on an earlier table we said races or time trials (for the specify distance) allowed.

And back to grumpy El Caballo's point ;) This should encourage participants to engage in races over those distances, I think that would genuinely benefit the participants even if they don't hit the targets..... I'm cringing thinking of a 200m race I tried where I was using blocks for the first time, not pretty. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done DG, great to see you filling in the boxes... would you ever go and do a 3k time trial/race soon so you can have an official entry for that :D

... and Helen too of course!

Looks like SOMEONE
    HelenAnne
    has a super time to add to the table. Congratulations !!!

Looks like SOMEONE
    HelenAnne
    ThNk you!! Really wanted to talk to you and Laura and later Aoife after but a) I was with my mum and didn't want to abandon her and b) I seemed to be in some kind of flight path for ever Raheny person heading for the tea and saying hi! Wanted to hear more about Laura's fab race! Well done all of you! 33.04 for me - delighted! Will add to table later - fingers too big to do it on my phone!

Also, hi TfGR! Said hi in the crush in the corridor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Looks like SOMEONE
    HelenAnne

Saw that in the results, HelenAnne. Brilliant time!!! A race report would be nice! Even a little one!

Bungy Girl ||||| |||||
    HelenAnne ||| |||33.04| |||

I'll come back and write a bit more about the Raheny 5 after work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    Did Irish runner paced mile on Wed. Knew I wasn't anywhere near a 6min mile of course but hadn't appreciated what a feat it is until I saw people running it! Did my own in 8:30 which is fab for me. Based on that I would be delighted to be able to nab a 45min finish in Raheny next week, but so long as I don't go over 50mins I will be happy.

So I got across the finish line yesterday in 45:24 so I'm delighted with that result. Need to work on my speed now. Not sure if it's just my computer or if everybody had a horrific time trying to get their time from MyRunResults

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    So I got across the finish line yesterday in 45:24 so I'm delighted with that result. Need to work on my speed now. Not sure if it's just my computer or if everybody had a horrific time trying to get their time from MyRunResults

I couldn't look up any results from myrunresults - it just seemed to time out. (I got mine on the wall after the race, they were up on sheets of paper in the National School).

ETA: well done Bananaleaf! You ran much faster than you thought you would!

My race report is super, super long (sorry!) so if it's TOO long for this thread, a mod could move it to race reports or anywhere they wanted?

Just a warning!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Saw that in the results, HelenAnne. Brilliant time!!! A race report would be nice! Even a little one!

Ososlo, you'll be sorry you asked!!

Mods / posters, feel free to ask me to move this if it's too long.

Raheny 5 Race report:

Ok, I don’t have a log, and I never (or very rarely) write race reports – my posting is generally limited to moaning and taking issue with other posters :), but since Ososlo asked so nicely, and since this thread has been so supportive (both on the thread, and literally yesterday on the course (thanks DubGal and Aquinn & TFGR!) I’ll give it a go!

The Raheny 5 is always a goal race for me, and I think I’ve run a PB there nearly every year I’ve run it. Probably because I’m sort of a nervous, inconsistent racer and I always run much better with a bit of home support and on a familiar course. Anyway, for whatever reason, I love the Raheny 5.

It’s such a big undertaking for the club that everyone chips in and does some work at the race, and my jobs were on Sunday morning – I was taking registration for the kids’ races (all morning - manic!!! And why can’t kids say their names a bit louder! :)), and then leading out or whipping in the 400m races. It doesn’t sound like ideal race prep, but actually I like it – I love the atmosphere of the kids’ races, and it keeps my mind off being nervous). So I did my 400m duties, then stayed to watch a little friend in the 800m (Mrs Kenny G & KennyG Jr, in fact, and she did great!) and then ran back to throw off some layers and do a bit of a warm up (2 mile jog with a few ‘hello’ stops and four sets of strides). Met a club friend and we squeezed in really near what was then the front (about 4 rows back). We chatted a bit nervously, met Marthastew and exchanged ‘good lucks’ and ‘enjoys’. There were two men beside me who were discussing trying for 6.55 pace, and I considered moving up a little bit as I hoped to go a bit faster, but it was packed by then, so we stayed where we were – and then saw loads of people had squeezed in ahead of us and we were pretty far back. Never mind – there were five miles for things to shake out!

I’d told myself not to worry too much about pace / being boxed in etc until we got out onto Watermill and were heading for the Howth Road – that first bit around St Anne’s is just a test of not running into anyone / hitting a car / tripping into a pothole. So I just tried to run without weaving, my pace was about 6.30 starting off, but that was just race-start excitement. My friend and I were swopping places up until the Howth Road, but when we were corralled into the bus lane by the tape I pushed ahead a bit. I tried running near the curb and passed as many people as I could on the inside (keeping my elbows v tucked in as I am known for accidentally jostling people with my wide elbows!) I knew there was a little drag there, so I was just looking forward to coasting down the other side! Saw Killerz and his little boy at the bus stop before Sybil Hill, and he gave me a nice cheer.

I was feeling great going onto Sybil Hill, Rd and passing people. I tried not to look at my watch too much, but when I did it was saying 6.40-5, so that was OK! About here I gained on a man and as I passed him he said ‘Aren’t you [x’s] sister?’, so I was like ‘Yes!’ and he said ‘You look so like her!’ and told me his name – it was my sister’s friends husband who I have met a few times—he’s a runner and a climber and I’m trying to get him to join Raheny. But anyway, despite how good I was feeling I didn’t have time to chat, so I just grunted something I hope sounded friendly.

Pushed up the tiny drag to Mount Prospect, rolled down the slope, passed two clubmates and saw another up ahead, who I set my sights on (spoiler, it was MrDrak!) I knew my friend JF would probably be marshaling at 3 miles – he was, and he said I looked very cheerful. I passed MrDrak around there, I think, and then got a big shout out from my friend K who was Chief Park Marshall and was hobnobbing with the Gardaí as I went into the park.

I love the bit in the park. I know it so well, and also last year I caught some clubmates I’m usually behind on the out and back, so thoughts of that were buoying me up. I love running against the runners going the other direction – I love it on the dual carriageway in the mini marathon too – seeing the fast runners spurs me on on my way out, and then coming back, looking out for friends to cheer on (or nod breathlessly at) helps me too. On the return leg of the park avenue I saw our ladies captain ahead of me – she’s a lot younger than me, and a much better runner, but she’d said she wasn’t fully in training at the moment, so I thought I might as well try to get up to her and keep with her. To my surprise, I passed her at the left turn off the avenue, and then my friend (Kyomi on boards) was marshaling at the dog park and she shouted ‘Just one last uphill to the gate and then you’re on the flat to the finish’. That really focused my mind and (even though it’s a drag rather than a hill) reminded me to really use my arms and push to get that last drag behind me. Out the gate, and I was really beginning to tire, but there was so much support that there was no way I could slow down. I just thought ‘Fast feet, relax, don’t panic’ and tried to keep my pace (I was saving ‘How much do you want it?’ for the final two turns!) Just before we turned away from the park around the railings one of the coaches shouted ‘You’re scoring for the team, keep pushing’, so I tried to pick up the pace a bit. I was focusing on a woman from Carrick Aces ahead of me, but I couldn’t catch her! My husband (who incidentally has been processing his 4,500 photos of the race every waking and non-work moment since about 5pm yesterday and is still doing it!) has some photos of me coming up the final straight where I look very focused and zen, but actually I am repeatedly counting to twenty inside my head to keep myself running. I saw the clock was on 32.xx when I was at the corner, Dick Hooper gave me a nice shout out, and the I was over the line and sort of staggering about aimlessly. And then my mother (!!) said ‘Well done, you got your time!’ and I was all ‘Oh hello!!” (as I was surprised to see her), and then I staggered off to get my goody bag and my mum and I went for tea and met loads of people and everyone seemed delighted! (Sorry I didn’t get to chat more, LauraAC, Aquinn & BungyGirl!) Also, it being a local race, I met loads of people I was at school with, and it was only afterwards that I wished I hadn’t had mad wet hair and blue lips etc.
    Oh, and I was 2nd scorer on the senior team, we were 6th, so no cigar, but I was also 1st scorer on the o40 team, and we were 2nd, so I won a blender.
    33.04 chip time, which I’m really delighted with. My PB from last year was 33.35, and I really didn’t think I’d be able to match that this year.
    Thanks SO MUCH to everyone in Raheny – everyone puts in so much work and time and effort. The kids’ races alone are a huge undertaking, and marshaling nearly 4,000 runners in the 5 mile is no joke either.

Really glad everyone enjoyed it!

Hope this report doesn’t sound too bumptious; I really enjoyed every minute of it and felt I was running well. I wouldn’t really change a thing I did in it, which is unlike me! It just went well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

That's super Helen. Great racing, congrats on the pb and the scoring. Love reading about your mental tricks too

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    That's super Helen. Great racing, congrats on the pb and the scoring. Love reading about your mental tricks too

Well done you! Yours was a much better chunk off your PB than mine! Loved your report too; you sounded v focused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

Mods / posters, feel free to ask me to move this if it's too long...

... and we were 2nd, so I won a blender.

short version of run report: "played a blinder, won a blender" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well done Helen, you did look more relaxed than usual before the race, and when I spotted you on the St Anne's Avenue you were looking very strong and even like you were enjoying yourself! Fair play, great time.

eoinín wrote: »
    short version of run report: "played a blinder, won a blender" :D

Your v succinct report has got nearly as many likes as mine which took me AGES to write (unaccustomed as I am ... etc etc :))!