Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hail To The Chief (Read Mod Warning In OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

laugh wrote: »
    Hard to see the justification for flash bangs into that crowd.

Eh you try stand like the police having rocks and traffic cones fired at you what you want them to do should just baton charge the scrotes

Protest all they want but no excuse to be throwing stuff at police or damaging property

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

It's almost as if he's just saying things without thinking of the possible consequences :pac:

Easy answers with simple words.

It plays well to the disenfranchised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Sky news showing a "riot".....doesn't look like a whole lot going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Didn't he inherit a war on muslims from the previous president? It would have been great if he could have just called a truce and withdrawn all troops but it just wasn't realistic. They were too invested and had raised too much resistance. Then, of course, there was the rise of ISIS to contend with. I can't imagine there are many who thing they needed a softer hand.

he inherited iraq and afghanistan.

he didn't inherit libya , syria or ISIS though.
    he and his underlings created those sh1t-storms.

he has had no interest in interfering in somalia or yemen but there he is , bombing the fcuk out of those countries......the great lad himself - a smile,a wave , some smooth talkiing with a nobel prize under his arm and nobody questions him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,290 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gbear wrote: »
    Not a fruitful line of argument.

It wan't supposed to be a line of argument at all. Just an opinion

I would not be surprised if it was the case. All it takes is 1-2 people in a crowd to instigate a reaction from police, which in turn causes others in the crowd to react.

After everything that has happened over the last year, it's hardly beyond the realms of possibility.

Trump has even spoken about hiring 'private security details' for non-specified reasons. Why would the most protected man in the world need to do that, with no oversight from anyone?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

"Not my President!"

"Now is the time to start the fight back, and block him at every turn. Get angry, demand your representatives do something. Organise!"

"Blaming the previous guy instead of facing up to the problems, how immature"

"His fan-base are gonna be disappointed, he can't possibly meet their expectations"

"He's definitely going to get assassinated."

Fuk me, have I travelled back in time to January 2009??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fair play to the cops holding back under that kind of provocation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

You can't. It would be a logistical nightmare to work it out. So he'll insist on blanket bans of travel from certain countries into the US......

Except, some of those countries will have significant resources invested in the US economy, making that difficult to actually work.

And that's a pretty big difference from kicking out illegals. Even on illegals, I don't necessarily have much against kicking them out but it would have to be a gradual process as the 'dropkick them all out in one go' type stuff he was harping on about would do unbelievable damage to the US economy (damage only made worse when considering how much the task force he was proposing would cost).

I have my doubts about him reaching the end of his term, but the damage he does before that - socially, culturally, economically, geopolitically, and environmentally (and like a decaying tooth, that last one often can't be fixed) - is likely to be dare I say it, yuge. The only saving grace there might be his absurd levels of incompetence and unpreparedness. Seriously, they might well prove to be the best attributes of him as a president.

Sky news reporter dying from tear gas oops

Police officer being carried away injured on sky now hope the protesters are proud of themselves knobs heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

sjb25 wrote: »
    Sky news reporter dying from tear gas oops

that's a bad thing, right? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Seems to be more reporters and photographers in this "riot" than there are protestors or police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Little shítebags throwing rocks at the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Not sure why people put any stock in a word that comes out of his mouth, the inauguration speech is no different. The truth is this guy just wants to be president for the sake of being the most powerful man in the world. He's a sociopath who happened to be born into a rich family and now that's he's the conquered the world of property and reality tv, the the only logical aim is to run for public office. Obviously, not giving an ounce of a shít for public service means he was never going to start out a lowly governor or senator, it was only ever going to be a presidential bid.

The idea that he's out for anything other than feel the thrill of operating the levers of power is just laughable. All those poor fools who voted him in and going to be very pissed off over the next couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

Who has Trump deported for being a Muslim? And when did he say he would?

Oh you mean the instance where he said he would insist on Muslims undergoing background security checks before they came into America?

Well given that the German security services have said recently that they have no idea how many Jihadi's came into the country amongst the refugees, or who they are, maybe his policy is the correct one.

He didnt say background checks, he said a complete ban on Muslims entering the country. There is a video of him saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,272 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Cartouche wrote: »
    The guy has appointed 6 or 7 ex Goldman Sachs guys into his cabinet
    How exactly is that "draining the swamp" ?
    The working poor who voted him in will be disappointed I think

Depends what you mean by working poor. Its a myth that this was entirely the revolt of poor people, the further the food chain you climb, you can see Trump beat Clinton.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2016/11/08/us/politics/election-exit-polls.html?_r=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

laugh wrote: »
    Seems to be more reporters and photographers in this "riot" than there are protestors or police.

Using violence against police and property is a riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

arayess wrote: »
    he inherited iraq and afghanistan.

he didn't inherit libya , syria or ISIS though.
    he and his underlings created those sh1t-storms.

he has had no interest in interfering in somalia or yemen but there he is , bombing the fcuk out of those countries......the great lad himself - a smile,a wave , some smooth talkiing with a nobel prize under his arm and nobody questions him.

Isis were formed from groups that the US imprisioned in Iraq. They are a direct result of the Iraq war. You can't blame him for them.

Syria occurred because of risings in the country. They were sparked by food protests caused by global warming.

You can criticise his handling of them but it's not fair to say they were created by Obama.

Reddit are reporting that all references to Climate Change, as well as their LGBT section, and numerous other pages about issues facing veterans, have all been removed from the White House website.

All the while information about his wife's jewelry line have been added.

Pretty much sums things up.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Using violence against police and property is a riot.

Washington police chief saying on CNN that this is a very small isolated group throwing rocks and they are contained not a riot just gob****es

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Reddit are reporting that all references to Climate Change, as well as their LGBT section, and numerous other pages about issues facing veterans, have all been removed from the White House website.

It's already been confirmed the Obama team took those down, and will be taking down anything else associated with Obama's administration.

sjb25 wrote: »
    Washington police chief saying on CNN that this is a very small isolated group throwing rocks and they are contained not a riot just gob****es

Have you seen the TV? They are being contained by Riot Police.

Just because it's small and not involving thousands of people does not mean it's not a riot.

Hate Sky News but sometimes have no choice to watch it.

Adam Boulton's sore throat voice is terrible to listen to, should not be presenting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

It's already been confirmed the Obama team took those down, and will be taking down anything else associated with Obama's administration.

Wait, are you saying that random posters on Reddit aren't a trustworthy source of news?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

a fine speech

Obama has halved unemployment and increased the number of teenagers finishing school by 10% but Trump paints a completely different picture
    That will definitely come back to bite him

While I get that, surely it is worrying that he would not have readded his own policies regarding LGBT rights, issues facing veterans, and other ones that were simply taken down and left as dead links?

And yet it was made sure to add information about his wife's jewelry line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just visited it. There's feck all on it. Under the issues section it mentions gutting the clean water act to allow energy exploration.

https://www.whitehouse.gov/america-first-energy
    For too long, we’ve been held back by burdensome regulations on our energy industry. President Trump is committed to eliminating harmful and unnecessary policies such as the Climate Action Plan and the Waters of the U.S. rule. Lifting these restrictions will greatly help American workers, increasing wages by more than $30 billion over the next 7 years.

Sound energy policy begins with the recognition that we have vast untapped domestic energy reserves right here in America. The Trump Administration will embrace the shale oil and gas revolution to bring jobs and prosperity to millions of Americans. We must take advantage of the estimated $50 trillion in untapped shale, oil, and natural gas reserves, especially those on federal lands that the American people own. We will use the revenues from energy production to rebuild our roads, schools, bridges and public infrastructure. Less expensive energy will be a big boost to American agriculture, as well.

Nothing about climate change anywhere on the site at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

infogiver wrote: »
    Obama has halved unemployment and increased the number of teenagers finishing school by 10% but Trump paints a completely different picture
    That will definitely come back to bite him

95 % of jobs created were poorly paid part time jobs and short term contracts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

While I get that, surely it is worrying that he would not have readded his own policies regarding LGBT rights, issues facing veterans, and other ones that were simply taken down and left as dead links?

And yet it was made sure to add information about his wife's jewelry line!

Perhaps give them a chance to get out of the inauguration first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,290 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ehh, the fact is that there is no mention of those things on Trump's pages. Why is that?

lol at you lot still trying to pin blame for **** on Obama. Trump's team have had months to create their whitehouse.gov website.

So why is there no mention of those topics on it?