First time at the dentist in 11 years

I have never had my teeth professionally cleaned. I didn't know it was that common!
    My dentist took a mirror and showed me the tartar building up it was mad, and my teeth are in great shape otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I win , I'm 47 havnt been to a dentist since I was 15.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I often wondered do the teeth of other primates go to bits early or does their diet ensure they don't get cavities, plaque etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭9or10

What about all the years that you're alive with nice teeth? Who wants to look at someone with messed up teeth. They won't take out healthy teeth and give you dentures.

In Liverpool - it used to be a 21st Birthday present. Have all your teeth taken out and dentures made.

Careful what you wish for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

That's scandalous. You need you teeth cleaned every 6 months my dentist says. If you do it regularly it's nothing, you barely feel anything

You mean to tell me that the person who gets paid the more you come in is recommending you come in regularly? Surely you jest.... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

This is a very Irish thing, "ah he's only codding trying to get money out of ye" never once a thought paid that perhaps they just want you to have healthy teeth and gums. Oh lord no it's all about trying to squeeze you for every penny.. frankly if I was a dentist and wanted to get your money I'd be telling you to come once a month not twice a year.

I know dentists and doctors personally. Quite a few actually. They are in it for the money. Most will tell you straight in social situations. They arent evil and will tell you how good it feels to help people, but there is a reason they charge 70 quid for GP visit and several hundred for a consultation. Some of the Dentists bills I've seen would make your head spin.

Think less Patch Adams and more Bob Kelso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

How much is an Irish dental visit these days? That's a massive factor in why I can't even remember my last visit to one

I go every 6 months over here. £16. I had to have a root canal the first year we were here, it came to ~£270 with the expensive crown (weird metal looking one would have been cheaper!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I have not been to a dentist in about 22 years. I have my first appointment with one at the end of this month here in Germany for a "Talk" first before I proceed any more.

And I am sure that there is so much plaque built up on my teeth that at this stage it is probably actually holding my teeth together rather than causing actual harm.

The problem for me is purely phobia. Total, complete, paralyzing, phobia. And intellectually I know this is stupid, but phobias are rarely an intellectual thing. Fully grown strong adults who can not bring themselves to walk within 1 meter of a tiny little spider will attest to that.

But two experiences do not help either.

The first was my first trip to a dentist at age 13 when he decided one tooth had to be pulled there and then. Before I knew it he was injecting my gum with anesthetic and I think he must have missed the mark because he appear to change direction while the needle was still in me. He just levered it around to the direction he wanted and pushed. It was excruciating in the pain it caused.

The second was when a completely different dentist also decided to pull a tooth. He just went for it. But the damn thing would not come. He literally had one foot up on the chair bracing himself he was pulling on it so hard. Despite the anesthetic it felt like my whole jaw was being ripped out of the socket and the pain of it permeated my entire skull. And in fact in the end the fecking tooth literally shattered leaving bits of tooth shooting up in the air, some of it back into my troath where I swallowed it, and half the tooth still remaining in my mouth with the roots completely intact. And his pliers thing went flying over my head at the same time nearly maiming his assistant. Who was also hot. Where DO they find these people.

So he referred me on to the dental hospital who did an xray and it turned out that A) I did not have an adult tooth under the tooth he was pulling so there was no erosion of the length of the tooth's root and B) one of the two roots was curved RIGHT around like a fish hook and not straight like roots should be so the tooth was really anchored in there and his pushing and pulling on my tooth to remove it was pretty much shredding my gums inside. So they put me under GENERAL anesthetic and performed a surgical removal.

So my phobia is compounded by these awful experiences, and the knowledge of the horror my dentist will likely express.... like in the OPs story..... at the poor condition of my mouth. But I keep trying to tell myself it will not be that bad, and sure of course dental technology is 20 years more advanced now than it was. But to say I am not looking forward to this appointment is..... about as large an understatement as I have made in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

theteal wrote: »
    How much is an Irish dental visit these days? That's a massive factor in why I can't even remember my last visit to one

I go every 6 months over here. £16. I had to have a root canal the first year we were here, it came to ~£270 with the expensive crown (weird metal looking one would have been cheaper!)

that sounds very cheap.

I go twice a year here in Germany to get them professionally cleaned, €150 each time. Had a root canal before xmas, came to just under €500 and that was without a crown.

jester77 wrote: »
    that sounds very cheap.

I go twice a year here in Germany to get them professionally cleaned, €150 each time. Had a root canal before xmas, came to just under €500 and that was without a crown.

Ah I was hoping someone else in Germany would open the thread with some knowledge and experience. If you feel it is off topic to the thread please contact me in private and let me know all you know.

Myself I have a TKK Krankenkasse insurance AND also an AXA Premium-U Dental insurance. So I am not sure how that will work. I do not really know if I can use both together, or is it always one or the other, or how much TKK actually cover.

I know from work my girlfriend got that quite often some things are 100% covered if you take the cheaper option. But, say with things like crowns and fillings, there are materials you can OPT for (because they are more visually appealing, more realistic, or last longer before you need them redone or similar) that you pay for out of your own pocket that the Dental or health Insurance refuse to cover.

I also do not know how standards or technology is much different here than back home in Ireland. I am guessing there is differences because when my girlfriend had an x-ray her dentist was able to point at her fillings and say things like "Ah yes, this one you got in Ireland, this one you clearly got in the UK........." and was able to accurately identify where each piece of work she ever had done was performed.

I also do not know how they deal with "angst patienten" in general, let alone one as extreme as me. I am hoping to be able to identify a dentist who will be able to use GENERAL anesthetic options by request, rather than simply only using them in specifically surgical contexts where local ones are merely deemed not to suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

that sounds very cheap.

NHS ftw!

theteal wrote: »

Check up and xray is free with prsi one visit/year
    I have a feeling a clean is around 50

I went a couple years ago for a check up and tooth pain, got the full works done, some kind of anti sensitivity thing for my gums and recommendation for dealing with it, walked out much better and happier without paying anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

I paid €76 for a scale and polish last week in Dublin. As far as I know check up and X-ray no longer free under PRSI. It was announced that it would be reintroduced in the budget, but discussions are still ongoing with dentists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Bambi985 wrote: »
    I do, love it in fact. love the sensation of freshly scaled and polished teeth and I always get compliments on how clean they are when I go in coz I'm fairly obsessive about the aul brushing and flossing.

Teeth are important folks, stop putting off the appointments and telling yourselves yiz are grand! there's nothing worse than poor dental hygiene or neglected teeth, they leave a lasting impression on people you meet and will cause major problems for you down the line.

That's funny because my own dentist comments that my teeth are clean when I go in too. A lot less frequently than every six months.

Going for a polish is ok, but if you have to have something worse done, like the extraction of an impacted wisdom tooth, I'm sure it is understandably much more stressful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

That's scandalous. You need you teeth cleaned every 6 months my dentist says. If you do it regularly it's nothing, you barely feel anything
    Well if the man you have to pay says you need it done then that's fine I suppose. He couldn't possibly have a vested interest in it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Glad I'm not the only one. I'm 35 and haven't been since I was 17. Even then, that was an orthodontist. I haven't seen a dentist since I was 14. Noticed some plaque buildup there a few months ago. Shifted right off with a week or two of focussed brushing.

I should probably go to the dentist, but I have no issues with my teeth. I don't go to the doctor when I feel fine.

I paid €76 for a scale and polish last week in Dublin. As far as I know check up and X-ray no longer free under PRSI. It was announced that it would be reintroduced in the budget, but discussions are still ongoing with dentists.

No way?
    Checked citizens info and it just said from march 2017 it'll be extended to self employed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

People go to the dentist without having an actual problem with their teeth???

I've been to the dentist 4 times in my life, to get fillings or a tooth removed.

Ah I was hoping someone else in Germany would open the thread with some knowledge and experience. If you feel it is off topic to the thread please contact me in private and let me know all you know.

Myself I have a TKK Krankenkasse insurance AND also an AXA Premium-U Dental insurance. So I am not sure how that will work. I do not really know if I can use both together, or is it always one or the other, or how much TKK actually cover.

I know from work my girlfriend got that quite often some things are 100% covered if you take the cheaper option. But, say with things like crowns and fillings, there are materials you can OPT for (because they are more visually appealing, more realistic, or last longer before you need them redone or similar) that you pay for out of your own pocket that the Dental or health Insurance refuse to cover.

I also do not know how standards or technology is much different here than back home in Ireland. I am guessing there is differences because when my girlfriend had an x-ray her dentist was able to point at her fillings and say things like "Ah yes, this one you got in Ireland, this one you clearly got in the UK........." and was able to accurately identify where each piece of work she ever had done was performed.

I also do not know how they deal with "angst patienten" in general, let alone one as extreme as me. I am hoping to be able to identify a dentist who will be able to use GENERAL anesthetic options by request, rather than simply only using them in specifically surgical contexts where local ones are merely deemed not to suffice.

You have the extra dental insurance, so you should have a look at what that covers, they are all different so impossible to guess. TKK would cover fillings and I am not sure but I think they might even cover one clean a year, but it would be a limited clean. The dental insurance might cover the extras of the clean. You would use both together, the dental insurance covers extra things that the public insurance does not cover.

I know my dentist has an offer for public patients where you can get 3 cleans a year for €150. As for the fillings, that is true, you would have to pay extra for the better material, but it is not that expensive. I'm not sure of the breakdown, I have private insurance so get charged more anyway. But I think it was around €100 for the better material.

I have only had good experience with dentists here, mine could tell that the Irish dentist didn't do a good job on a filling and slightly damaged the nerve, and this led to me having to get a root canal.

There is nothing to be scared about, it really is painless. If you get a filling without an anaesthetic then you will obviously feel some pain. The dentist will ask you if you want one, I usually do it without as I don't like the numb feeling I have afterwards.

But I recently got a root canal and had to get the anaesthetic and it was a totally different experience to that one I had in Ireland. But this is more likely do with time, as the last time in Ireland was 15 years ago, so procedures are better now. The one in Ireland left me with a numb jaw and droopy lip for hours after. The anaesthetic I got here was a little prick on both sides of the tooth and that was it, that prick was the only thing I felt for the whole procedure and my jaw, mouth and face were perfectly fine afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

I went in November for the first time in probably twenty years (I'm 37).

I recently got the dental plan in work, so plan on taking full advantage of that. He told me I had minor gum disease, so he recommended Full Periodontal Treatment over two visits in November and early December, same as the OP, the back of my bottom teeth still feel weird. I get that once every 3 years on the plan.

I'm also entitled to a scale and polish twice a year, so I'll be going for that in late Feb, and again in August and repeat that pattern.

I've no fillings, and have no need for any either, and that's after years of eating ****loads of Haribo.

Started using an electric toothbrush too, and one of them little in-betweeny brushes, the difference is amazing.

I drink my tea and coffee black, so do get some staining, my teeth were yellow before the treatment, so the regular polishing will help with that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I often wondered do the teeth of other primates go to bits early or does their diet ensure they don't get cavities, plaque etc.
    They wear out, but not nearly at the rate ours do, or certain populations anyway. Diet is pretty much all of it. Before the modern age dental decay in the West was mostly a rich person's problem because of their access to expensive sugary foods. In more primitive societies dental caries and crowding are very rare. Even older cavemen tended to have very good teeth.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

he anaesthetic I got here was a little prick on both sides of the tooth and that was it, that prick was the only thing I felt for the whole procedure and my jaw, mouth and face were perfectly fine afterwards.

I remember the "little prick on both sides" things too from my last times in a dentist. But they were generally to cause numbing for the "main prick" that they inserted deep into the jaw line to numb the entire half of the mouth/face.

It was the main "prick" that was excruciating ever time. It felt like the needle was being forced through bone! It was insane.

Then the procedures themselves, even the drilling for before a filling, I could "feel". But I find it impossible to describe what I was feeling. It was not "pain" as such. More like this feeling of nausea all over, coupled with a feeling like going backward and forwards between "normal" and feeling like fainting.

The only way I can describe it was the feeling my brain WAS being flooded with all kinds of signals, just not full on pain signals, and it simply did not know how to process what it was receiving so it just suffered this overall feeling of intense distress and generally sending out animal level extreme feelings of "I have GOT to get out of here" similar to panic attacks I guess.

None of it was good anyway :) suffice to say. In general people in my family genetically seem to have both a very low pain threshold and a very high anesthetic immunity. Neither of which is a good thing, but together is even worse.

My mother even recalls having her tonsils out under general anesthetic, and being paralyzed for the whole procedure unable to communicate to the doctors that she was actually awake and aware of the full pain of the full procedure. Crazy stuff :) She was even later able to embarrass the doctor by relating back to him much of the conversation he was having while working on her.

Anyway my appointment is "conversation only" I think so first step for me is to overcome my phobia in just getting myself over the threshold that first time. One step at a time. I am bad enough and phobic enough that if I can not find someone offering "sleep" possibilities to get me through, I might consider one of those many "Dental holiday packages" to countries that do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

I remember the "little prick on both sides" things too from my last times in a dentist. But they were generally to cause numbing for the "main prick" that they inserted deep into the jaw line to numb the entire half of the mouth/face.

It was the main "prick" that was excruciating ever time. It felt like the needle was being forced through bone! It was insane.

Then the procedures themselves, even the drilling for before a filling, I could "feel". But I find it impossible to describe what I was feeling. It was not "pain" as such. More like this feeling of nausea all over, coupled with a feeling like going backward and forwards between "normal" and feeling like fainting.

The only way I can describe it was the feeling my brain WAS being flooded with all kinds of signals, just not full on pain signals, and it simply did not know how to process what it was receiving so it just suffered this overall feeling of intense distress and generally sending out animal level extreme feelings of "I have GOT to get out of here" similar to panic attacks I guess.

None of it was good anyway :) suffice to say. In general people in my family genetically seem to have both a very low pain threshold and a very high anesthetic immunity. Neither of which is a good thing, but together is even worse.

My mother even recalls having her tonsils out under general anesthetic, and being paralyzed for the whole procedure unable to communicate to the doctors that she was actually awake and aware of the full pain of the full procedure. Crazy stuff :) She was even later able to embarrass the doctor by relating back to him much of the conversation he was having while working on her.

Anyway my appointment is "conversation only" I think so first step for me is to overcome my phobia in just getting myself over the threshold that first time. One step at a time. I am bad enough and phobic enough that if I can not find someone offering "sleep" possibilities to get me through, I might consider one of those many "Dental holiday packages" to countries that do.

I remember those injections from back in Ireland, one scraped my jaw bone, horrible feeling. But this time around there was nothing like that, just a little prick on each side of the jaw. You don't even feel the one on the outside, there is a slight prick on the inside and that is it.

Yeah, you will feel the movement, scraping, drilling, etc. But there is zero pain. I can't help you with the phobia, I can just reassure you that compared to even 15 years ago, it is actually very straight forward now. I am sure the dentist can help put your mind at ease. Best of luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Last time I went to a dentist for a check up I left minus 5 teeth. 2009 in Cork City centre.

I was spitting blood for a month afterwards*

(* slight exaggeration, but a long time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was bricking it too and put it off for years but when I finally did go I realised what an utter spa I had been. So much so that it got to the point where I nearly fall asleep while the dentist is working away. The cost of dental work is by far and away the most painful part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭ArKl0w

I took all mine out
    Too expensive

gramar wrote: »
    I was bricking it too and put it off for years but when I finally did go I realised what an utter spa I had been.

I would probably feel that too had it not been for the two awful experiences I had. The first one was bad enough, so bad the dentist ended by telling my brother (who had been the one tasked with taking me to the dentist as I was rather young) to go straight to the shop and buy me a large bottle of coke and a few mars bars because I was seemingly "in shock" in his words.

Dentists RECOMMENDING coke and mars bars is uncommon enough to represent just how bad it was.

But the SECOND visit, with my jaw being ripped off any my tooth essentially and effectively exploding in my mouth...... well that was just another level entirely.

But yes the THIRD visit where they surgically removed the remains of that tooth and the FISH HOOK root that caused the agony..... was a dream because it was a general anesthetic.

I remember the basic tiny prick of that..... then a few seconds of my vision acting like an old television going out of tune with a picture scrolling up and down all over the place.... and that was it.

Given the choice therefore, I am all for recreating option 3 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I win , I'm 47 havnt been to a dentist since I was 15.

Don't bet on it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I would probably feel that too had it not been for the two awful experiences I had. The first one was bad enough, so bad the dentist ended by telling my brother (who had been the one tasked with taking me to the dentist as I was rather young) to go straight to the shop and buy me a large bottle of coke and a few mars bars because I was seemingly "in shock" in his words.

Dentists RECOMMENDING coke and mars bars is uncommon enough to represent just how bad it was.

But the SECOND visit, with my jaw being ripped off any my tooth essentially and effectively exploding in my mouth...... well that was just another level entirely.

But yes the THIRD visit where they surgically removed the remains of that tooth and the FISH HOOK root that caused the agony..... was a dream because it was a general anesthetic.

I remember the basic tiny prick of that..... then a few seconds of my vision acting like an old television going out of tune with a picture scrolling up and down all over the place.... and that was it.

Given the choice therefore, I am all for recreating option 3 :)

Horrible experiences. My own reasons for putting it off were similarly unpleasant but it got to point where I just said fcuk it.

I had two wisdom teeth removed...each took about 5 seconds. He had what looked like a flat head screwdriver in his hand and I thought he was just having a look before getting down to business but no...he went straight for it. Before I had time to say 'wtf are you doing' it was out. Quick and painless. I've also had my jaw drilled and didn't feel a thing. I would suggest that if you have a few things that need doing then start with the easiest like a filling or a have them cleaned and build up some confidence before the drills and the angle grinders come out! :pac: