Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm not sure if Michael Conlon is really from Norn Iron:eek:

C1zG3EnXEAEKlSN.jpg:large

Harpic(e)

It's official :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm not sure if Michael Conlon is really from Norn Iron:eek:

C1zG3EnXEAEKlSN.jpg:large

Draining the keg so they can install another harp tap there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Seahawks @ Falcons
    Texans @ Patriots
    Steelers @ Chiefs
    Packers @ Cowboys

Aaron Rodgers to defy the odds. :)

So Rory McIlroy has taken about one and a half rounds to get used to his new clubs.

https://twitter.com/EuropeanTour/status/819900178094137344

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Seahawks @ Falcons
    Texans @ Patriots
    Steelers @ Chiefs
    Packers @ Cowboys

Aaron Rodgers to defy the odds. :)

I like the Falcons pick and I think they are actually good value at 1/2 in some bookies.

Patriots will put up a cricket score against the Texans.

Steelers vs Chiefs is the toughest call, but I reckon the Chiefs could have enough.

Can't see Green Bay winning in Dallas with only Rodgers to rely on on offense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

Been re-watching breaking bad lately, God it's such a good show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

b.gud wrote: »
    Been re-watching breaking bad lately, God it's such a good show

I'm going to rewatch it myself soon. Can't wait.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Neil3030 wrote: »

Yeah, GB were not really all that impressive against the Giants, the Giants just completely imploded in a way that I can't see the Cowboys doing

I think BB's middle seasons were a bit on the weak side, however it's worth it for the final season. Brilliant series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

With Nelson essentially an invalid if he plays, I can't see them having the firepower to beat the Cowboys offense. They're going to look to really rattle Rodgers early on and put their stamp on the game.

If the Packers fall behind, I really don't think even Rodgers can drag them back into the game. The Cowboys will simply be too efficient at moving the ball and keeping the scoreboard ticking over.

Actually a 4-home-teams-win accumulator (~3/1) is a decent enough bet.

Falcons (-5)
    Pats (-15)
    Chiefs (-1.5)
    Cowboys (-5)

12/1 accumulator - I think that'll be my little punt this week.

Actually a 4-home-teams-win accumulator (~3/1) is a decent enough bet.

I took that last week. Texans was the only one I wasn't convinced on but the lack of a QB for the Raiders had me confident.

Have doubled down this week with home wins for Cowboys, Pats and Falcons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I took. As long as Neil3030 is 100% certain it will definitely come in then I've trusted him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I'm going to rewatch it myself soon. Can't wait.
    Got to rewatch it recently as the GF hadn't seen it- is arguably better the second time around
    Speaking off, Better Call Saul is back soon which is something to look forward to

Buer wrote: »
    I took that last week. Texans was the only one I wasn't convinced on but the lack of a QB for the Raiders had me confident.

Have doubled down this week with home wins for Cowboys, Pats and Falcons.

I'd love to see a GB-NE Superbowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

So Rory McIlroy has taken about one and a half rounds to get used to his new clubs.

https://twitter.com/EuropeanTour/status/819900178094137344

Has he gone back to his Scotty Cameron putter? I know he made a shit ton of money from Nike, but imagine how much more he could have won the last few years if he'd been able to play with the clubs he wanted to...

• Administrators Posts: 55,123 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Are you a golfer Zzippy?

Zzippy wrote: »
    Has he gone back to his Scotty Cameron putter? I know he made a shit ton of money from Nike, but imagine how much more he could have won the last few years if he'd been able to play with the clubs he wanted to...
    Playing with an Odyssey. I know they're owned by Callaway, but he doesn't have a deal with thme, so I assume it's by choice.

I took. As long as Neil3030 is 100% certain it will definitely come in then I've trusted him.

I hear he gives you your money back if it doesn't come in.

Start planning how to spend the money, because it will definitely happen. Actually why wait, spend the money now, and then pay it back when you win.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Don't pay, give your friendly salesperson this solid gold tip in lieu of pecuniary recompense.

awec wrote: »
    Are you a golfer Zzippy?

Not any more, used to play the odd society round. I'd win the longest drive prize and feck all else... like to follow the Irish lads to see how they're doing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Playing with an Odyssey. I know they're owned by Callaway, but he doesn't have a deal with thme, so I assume it's by choice.

I bought an Odyssey a while back with vouchers I had. 260 bleedin euro. My putting is still awful :pac:

Golf is such a rip off sport

• Administrators Posts: 55,123 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I want to get back into it this year after about 6 years out of it. Need to buy the whole works, clubs, clothes etc.

It's a great game if you can play regularly. Lived in Donegal for a while and was a member in Murvagh, cracking links course, played once/twice a week in summer and got some consistency, but if you're not playing regularly your short game especially goes to crap and it's just frustrating...

Synode wrote: »
    I bought an Odyssey a while back with vouchers I had. 260 bleedin euro. My putting is still awful :pac:

Golf is such a rip off sport
    I bought one a couple of years back and it cost me €80. There's bargains to be had if you're patient and look around.

All sports gear is expensive. However if you don't want (and usually don't need) the latest models, you'll kit yourself out quite reasonably.

I'd love to see a GB-NE Superbowl.

So you can go to bed after the first quarter? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I want to get back into it this year after about 6 years out of it. Need to buy the whole works, clubs, clothes etc.

I'm about to bin an old set of irons if you want a starter set. They must be 20 years old at this stage (they were hand me downs from my old man) but they do the job. Might save you a few quid in the short term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Good luck with that!!

You do know that most of the decent prams now are upwards on a grand. Those car seats can run into a couple of hundred quid. And don't get me started on the price of cots...