Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    Not a dicky bird..it probably won't be until we get our sorry excuse for a programme before we hear anything concrete!

Does the left hand side of your program change for the FBD competition ?

Usually we get the same photocopied page for the whole competition.

But today it had colour advertisement on the back. That's a first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

mayo.mick wrote: »
    mayo-v-nuig-8th-january-2017-0001.jpg

mayo-v-nuig-8th-january-2017-0002.jpg

Thats a very good NUIG team on paper. I wonder if they are worth a sneaky outside bet for Sigerson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Thats a very good NUIG team on paper. I wonder if they are worth a sneaky outside bet for Sigerson.

I know it's not relevant as it's different players every year but the Galway colleges have a dismal enough recent Sigerson record, it would be nice to see it turned around and especially for Adam Gallagher - a player that has the ability to aspire to play senior football with Mayo.

Also got two more Mayo lads on the starting 15 there, Stephen Brennan who I can't say I recall seeing play before and Stephen Conroy, who is a good footballer no doubt, but is also never likely to make the step to senior intercounty, good experience for them all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

If I was a betting man which I'm not I'd be of the mind that NUIG could do quite well in the Sigerson cup,very impressive performance.

seligehgit wrote:
    If I was a betting man which I'm not I'd be of the mind that NUIG could do quite well in the Sigerson cup,very impressive performance.

Is Damien Comer the best forward in the competition this year I wonder?

TBH I'm not overly familiar with the forward talent that's on display in the Sigerson this year,I don't believe there is likely to be many better than Damian Comer,great talent.

Is Conor O Shea playing for DCU?

seligehgit wrote:
    Is Conor O Shea playing for DCU?

DIT this year I believe

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Enjoyed the game, some lovely scores, good to see some of the lads who I understand got a call last Tues to turn up for this game, you have to admire how they go stuck in.
    Some good performances, Byrne, Newcombe did very well. Thought Kirby, Reape and Nally were excellent. Irwin took some lovely scores and Dougie took his penalty very well.
    You can't be hard on any of the players there, first outing in a Mayo senior game for all bar 4 I think and some might not even have played U21 or minor.

Id certainly have a sneaky 20 on that NUIG team, Gallagher and Comer were excellent and Daly had a superb game. Very solid and fit looking team.

Very enjoyable game.

yop wrote:
    Id certainly have a sneaky 20 on that NUIG team, Gallagher and Comer were excellent and Daly had a superb game. Very solid and fit looking team.

I know I'm being negative on them but that's the worst Mayo side that's taken to the field in years. NUIG would have been disappointed if they didn't put in a good showing, difficult to judge on that game IMO. Hope I'm wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

NUIG would be a bit behind UCD,UUJ and DCU for the sigerson cup simply because they don't have as many established county seniors or have the strength in depth of those 3 colleges.

NUIG are probably the best of the rest in sigerson cup football and considering they pushed much stronger Mayo teams all the way in previous years I think they were always likely to beat a patched up Mayo team missing 27 senior panelists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

11 debutantes starting yesterday and 6 more from the bench! A record?

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/89670/mayo-monday-lunchtime-talking-points

I know I'm being negative on them but that's the worst Mayo side that's taken to the field in years. NUIG would have been disappointed if they didn't put in a good showing, difficult to judge on that game IMO. Hope I'm wrong!

I was glad to see such an inexperienced and youthful group take the field and I thought they gave a decent show of themselves given the same circumstances.In the past we have not seen youth and others get their chance.I do believe the final score was not a true reflection of NUIG's dominance of the contest.

I do think this NUIG team is superior to that of previous vintage that have run far stronger Mayo teams close.As Yop mentioned I wouldn't be inclined to be too hard on them after a gutsy show by the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭charlie1980

“You could see there by the gentleman (Rob Hennelly) that togged out and played today that spirit is very good in Mayo football. It gives great encouragement and optimism for the weeks and months ahead."

The elephant in the room will not go away Rochford?
    Hennelly and Dillon have to be be dispatched from the the Mayo panel for 2017 and the O'Sheas have to be put back in their box.You either run the show or you do not?Show weakness now and you will lose some of the panel that have their own private opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,914 ✭✭✭statto25

“You could see there by the gentleman (Rob Hennelly) that togged out and played today that spirit is very good in Mayo football. It gives great encouragement and optimism for the weeks and months ahead."

Hennelly and Dillon have to be be dispatched from the the Mayo panel for 2017 and the O'Sheas have to be put back in their box.You either run the show or you do not?Show weakness now and you will lose some of the panel that have their own private opinions.

Can you provide the source of the above quote please? Or are you just picking quotes and tailoring them to suit your pathetic agenda to wind up people on this particular forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

What in the name of god are you on about? He has credited Rob's willingness & desire to be in the fold especially after what happened. Would have been easy for a man of less character to walk away.

Maybe Hennelly & the O'Shea's have tiger-kidnapped Rochies family & that is why he is persisting with them? Give it a break

This rumoured nonsense is no good to anybody. Save it for the pub & after-mass discussion good man

statto25 wrote: »
    Can you provide the source of the above quote please? Or are you just picking quotes and tailoring them to suit your pathetic agenda to wind up people on this particular forum?

What in the name of god are you on about? He has credited Rob's willingness & desire to be in the fold especially after what happened. Would have been easy for a man of less character to walk away.

Maybe Hennelly & the O'Shea's have tiger-kidnapped Rochies family & that is why he is persisting with them? Give it a break

This rumoured nonsense is no good to anybody. Save it for the pub & after-mass discussion good man

Ah look lads?If you want sweetness and light,the John Gunnigan Mayo bog is for ye.

This is a Boards thread where a critical analysis of Mayo football is allowed and debated by adults.

Ah look lads?If you want sweetness and light,the John Gunnigan Mayo bog is for ye.

This is a Boards thread where a critical analysis of Mayo football is allowed and debated by adults

Critical analysis is based on factual information. Your speaking about rumours & nonsense

This is a Boards thread where a critical analysis of Mayo football is allowed and debated by adults

Critical analysis is based on factual information. Your speaking about rumours & nonsense

Are you saying Holmes and Connelly are liars?

No. I am saying they are out off touch with the modern game & some of their comments are ridiculous.

Okay,so ?its not rumour and nonsense?

they were out of touch with the modern game ?

A Lot of the Mayo panel won an under 21 All Ireland with them,They must have got lucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Just put him on ignore, for Christ's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

PressRun wrote: »
    Just put him on ignore, for Christ's sake.
    And PLEASE stop quoting him.

I fear for Rochford now,it's looks like he is going for the concilatory tone and thats fine when you have a united group and County but not in this instance.Heads have to roll and a certain cabal of players within this group have to be told in no uncertain terms what is required of them.

imo Rochford is going to bottle it and hope it will all work out on the night.

Craven and sad when his whole ambition should be to lead his County to win an All Ireland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Barlett

Christ Charlie you talk some about of sh1te . The year is barely two weeks old . Supporting Mayo is a bit of craic like all sport , you make it sound like an extremely important political issue. It's not.

Barlett wrote: »
    Christ Charlie you talk some about of sh1te . The year is barely two weeks old . Supporting Mayo is a bit of craic like all sport , you make it sound like an extremely important political issue. It's not.

Really? Whow I am honoured!

I would like to dedicate this recognition of the Mayo public to the John Gunnigan Mayo Bog.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I don't think there is an AI in this group of players quite honestly.

You need all your big players to show up on AI final day.

Unfortunately the high profile Breaffy contingent have a habit of going missing on AI final day. You won't win an AI when 3 or 4 players don't show up.

This Mayo team is good enough to reach AI finals on a regular basis but it just doesn't have that extra bottle or discipline to get them over the line.

Something major has to change such as sacrificing a couple of players who tend to be anonymous when it really counts.

Replace the Breaffy contingent with players of real hunger and ambition and the chances improve greatly.

Paidi O'Se was quoted as saying Kerry supporters are some f***** animals or words to that effect. What he meant was Kerry supporters demand the best and are scathing of the Kerry team if things aren't done right.

And yet Kerry's record speaks for itself - 37 All-Ireland titles.

There's a strong link between success and being able to deal with and take on board criticism. Kerry and Man Utd under Alex Ferguson / Roy Keane are two prime examples.

There is no such culture in Mayo sadly. A lot of Mayo supporters are unwilling to listen to ANY criticism of the manager or players. Even the slightest criticism is not accepted.

Mayo's record in turn speaks for itself - 3 All-Ireland titles. The last almost 70 years ago.

Maybe its time Mayo supporters turned into f****in animals too and demand the best? Maybe they too should be outraged as happens in Kerry?

Even the slightest criticism is not accepted.

Maybe its time Mayo supporters turned into f****in animals too and demand the best? Maybe they too should be outraged as happens in Kerry?

What in the name of christ have the supporters got to do with it?? The massive irony in this critique of yours Is, the players demanding a change in management was there effort at "demanding the best" & the whole reason they got rid of Noel & Pat??? Good enough for me & I go to every game, every year

The players demanding a change was bullsh*t and has been blown apart in recent weeks by the Holmes/Connelly interview.

The new management bent over backwards to accommodate the players up to a point. They tried to bring in change and improve standards.

The players reacted badly but gave no reasons why.

The Breaffy brigade were to the forefront of the discontent it seems. They should be given the boot, not their managers.

You can't have players picking the manager. It just becomes a case of players changing managers everytime there is a danger of these players being dropped from the panel.

Managers have come and go but the underperforming high profile Beaffy brigade remain. So next time they flop in a big game, will they demand the management be replaced again? I agree with Charlie. Strong management is required, not management who are beholden to senior players.