Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

RayM wrote: »
    Well, I think you're a victim.

A victim of not being very nice. :(

Don't be a label just be yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Whenever this UCD 200 stuff comes up I can't help but recall the girl / woman who posted on the facebook thread that Louise had started about the (non-existent) matter and said that as a result of it all, she was not going to go to the cinema that day. Honestly. You'd swear Larry Murphy had just been cloned or something. You would think Louise would then had the cop on to say to the girl 'Ah go the cinema ffs, yeah it's an issue, but lets not start avoiding living our lives over it' but nope.. she replied: "This. This X 1000".

If that wasn't comical enough, the irony of all ironies was that some guy then replied and laughed at the notion that the girl was no longer going to cinema because of UCD 200 and immediately was called "needle dick".. and guess who endorsed the ad hominem? The one and only and from someone who apparently is so concerned about the pressures people are under to live up to ideal body types. I'd call it hypocrisy but no doubt Louise would say she was just being "nuanced". Her knew favourite word apparently.

Reminds me of the great bastion of 'plus size positivity' and fat-shaming enemy numero uno, Amy Schumer, and how she chose to handle a male heckler.

Doesn't take much for the mask to slip on all these posturing, insincere, attention seekers, it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Whenever this UCD 200 stuff comes up I can't help but recall the girl / woman who posted on the facebook thread that Louise had started about the (non-existent) matter and said that as a result of it all, she was not going to go to the cinema that day. Honestly. You'd swear Larry Murphy had just been cloned or something. You would think Louise's would have then had the cop on to say to the girl 'Ah go the cinema ffs, yeah it's an issue, but lets not start avoiding living our lives over it' but nope.. she replied: "This. This X 1000".

Who are you to say what other people should or shouldn't get upset or depressed about?

A person deciding not to go to the cinema because they have just read about the so called UCD 200 (and would in their mind only be looking at men and wondering if they had shared images of naked girls online or not) is being irrational. Maybe if there was a breakout at Arbour Hill or something, I'd get the reluctance to head off to Cineworld, perhaps, but ffs, staying in just because some college lads have apparently shared images of their exes among themselves via fb is absurd.

As absurd as someone primal screaming in a cottage miles from nowhere on hearing the very same news re:UCD and then doubting if their granddad really did think they were the best girl after all, as he had told them so decades previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Whenever this UCD 200 stuff comes up I can't help but recall the girl / woman who posted on the facebook thread that Louise had started about the (non-existent) matter and said that as a result of it all, she was not going to go to the cinema that day. Honestly. You'd swear Larry Murphy had just been cloned or something. You would think Louise's would have then had the cop on to say to the girl 'Ah go the cinema ffs, yeah it's an issue, but lets not start avoiding living our lives over it' but nope.. she replied: "This. This X 1000".

If that wasn't comical enough, the irony of all ironies was that some guy then replied and laughed at the notion that the girl was no longer going to cinema because of UCD 200 and immediately was called "needle dick".. and guess who endorsed the ad hominem? The one and only and from someone who apparently is so concerned about the pressures people are under to live up to ideal body types. I'd call it hypocrisy but no doubt Louise would say she was just being "nuanced". Her knew favourite word apparently.

Reminds me of the great bastion of 'plus size positivity' and fat-shaming enemy numero uno, Amy Schumer, and how she chose to handle a male heckler.

Doesn't take much for the mask to slip on all these posturing, insincere, attention seekers, it would seem.

Notice how she wonders "how" every man she meets has contributed to the issue and not "if." Replace "man" with "black person" and we instantly see the how disgusting this view is.

A person deciding not to go to the cinema because they have just read about the so called UCD 200 (and would in their mind only be looking at men and wondering if they had shared images of naked girls online or not) is being irrational. Maybe if there was a breakout at Arbour Hill or something, I'd get the reluctance to head off to Cineworld, perhaps, but ffs, staying in just because some college lads have apparently shared images of their exes among themselves via fb is absurd.

As absurd as someone primal screaming in a cottage miles from nowhere on hearing the very same news re:UCD and then doubting if their granddad really did think they were the best girl after all, as he had told them so decades previously.

I read it as someone not wanting to fall into the trap of subconsciously having irrational negative thoughts about all men, on the basis of the alleged behaviour of some men. Sounds perfectly rational to be aware of and to want to avoid that kinda thing, no? And if having a duvet day is your chosen method of avoiding those kind of feelings, then so be it. What harm?

I know 'feeeeeelings' aren't cool in certain oh-so-rational quarters of the internet, but mocking people for having or expressing them is a bit shitty and unnecessary. As is this whole thread, tb perfectly h with you. A >160 page thread dedicated to bashing a journalist. Call me a snowflakey triggered cuck, but it's not very nice.

People have a right to discuss the views expressed by those in the public eye. Attempts at shutting down any form of discourse on these matters is becoming quite typical, and it's worrying.

People equally have the right to say it's all a bit unpleasant.

Of course, it's an unpleasant issue. To call the discussion unnecessary because it doesn't fall in line with your view is quite silly, however.

I read it as someone not wanting to fall into the trap of subconsciously having irrational negative thoughts about all men, on the basis of the alleged behaviour of some men. Sounds perfectly rational to be aware of and to want to avoid that kinda thing, no? And if having a duvet day is your chosen method of avoiding those kind of feelings, then so be it. What harm?

What harm? You really are that blind on this whole issue aren't you. The harm was done to the lads that were accused of sharing these photos. Her reaction, and other overly dramatic reactions like hers, resulted in people seeing these young men in a way that they did not deserve to be seen. These women's self indulgent hysteria level complaining all added to the overall reaction which resulted in the students’ union being accused of failing to deal with lad culture at the university. This is what feminists do. They cry wolf and society panders to them. Squeaky wheel gets the oil and all that.
    I know 'feeeeeelings' aren't cool in certain oh-so-rational quarters of the internet, but mocking people for having or expressing them is a bit shitty and unnecessary.

Oh don't give me that sanctimonious horseshite. I posted a video only two days ago of Wendy McElroy speaking about her rape and also about sexual violence in other parts of the world, so play that card some place else. See that's just what far left liberals like yourself do, try and suggest people that don't pander to every single crocodile tear are unfeeling and don't care. I care, about people people that deserve to be cared about. That warrant it. Like Jill Saward, the Ealing Vicarage rape victim who died a few days ago for example. Not people that are just looking for attention and to further their absurd contention (often for profit) that we live in a rape culture.
    As is this whole thread, tb perfectly h with you. A >160 page thread dedicated to bashing a journalist. Call me a snowflakey triggered cuck, but it's not very nice.

61 pages if you were doing it right and posts bashing Louise on a personal level, rather than merely attacking her views and motives, are thin on the ground. Fit you better if you actually responded to the views being expressed which are in opposition to Louise's, rather than try and misrepresent the motives and tone of the thread. As for suggesting that I may call you a 'snowflakey triggered cuck' if I like, cheers, but I'll pass. I'll save resorting to ad homien attacks for a time when I'm debating a user who's views I'm struggling to retort.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Schumer is a good example of this stuff being used cynically to shamelessly self promote on the back of invented victimhood. She's a third rate comic, but she spotted that gap in the market where plain doughy American girls like her needed a voice and she jumped in with both feet and look how well it's gone for her and her career, when far better women comedians don't get a nod. Sarah Silverman has tried to do similar to get on this current bandwagon, only to be called out on it, because she was economical with the truth. You go gurl! The subject of this thread is aiming at the same congregation of the Church of the Blessed Victim with her eye squarely aimed at the US market where this nonsense really sells(huge population = more nutters).
    Pete nailed it with the word "sanctimonious". Very common Irish trait and seen on many the subject related or no along with its constant bedfellow High Horse.

I have a giant pain in my arse with so called adults who want to be treated as such behaving like toddlers at worst, or adolescents at best. It's one of the biggest reasons I have come to be repelled by current "feminism"; it paints a picture of women as victims, weak, mewling children who need almost constant oversight, protection and promotion from society. I'm sorry, anybody, grown man or woman who needs a "duvet day" over something that never happened and certainly never happened to them, or questions if her loving grandparent secretly hated them, those people need to be pitied and treated by professionals, not promoted as normal.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I read it as someone not wanting to fall into the trap of subconsciously having irrational.....
    Maybe take a duvet day from this thread if it's upsetting you so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,823 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

ivytwine wrote: »
    Yeah you're probably right on that. Still maintain LON can afford to move out of her parents' gaff though!

The author of the Watchmen graphic novel, Alan Moore, turned down the money from the rights to the film adaptation of his books. So Constantine (aka Hellblazer), Watchmen, V for Vendetta-he got no money from it, and took his name off of the films. In total, each project would have netted him about 8 grand. He also demanded his name be taken off of the films. Hence why Watchmen and V for vendetta only carry the artists name on the film's credits.

He lives on his own, doesn't need the money from the movies. Gets his fair share of abuse from feminists tho-but then again, characters in his books tend to go through hell (male or female). Also got kicked out of school at 14...so the uni of life gave him a tougher outer shell.

Interesting the note, about the Amy Hubermans show, that John Boland, from the Irish Independent, was not a fan of the show.

Shades of the Big Bow Wow is not a good sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

The author of the Watchmen graphic novel, Alan Moore, turned down the money from the rights to the film adaptation of his books. So Constantine (aka Hellblazer), Watchmen, V for Vendetta-he got no money from it, and took his name off of the films. In total, each project would have netted him about 8 grand. He also demanded his name be taken off of the films. Hence why Watchmen and V for vendetta only carry the artists name on the film's credits.

He lives on his own, doesn't need the money from the movies. Gets his fair share of abuse from feminists tho-but then again, characters in his books tend to go through hell (male or female). Also got kicked out of school at 14...so the uni of life gave him a tougher outer shell.

Interesting the note, about the Amy Hubermans show, that John Boland, from the Irish Independent, was not a fan of the show.

Shades of the Big Bow Wow is not a good sign.

John Boland's on LON's naughty list. Even that Shouldergate thing... sigh. She could have just said "what I was wearing was irrelevant, let's focus on the very serious subject I was speaking about." And left it at that. But no it had to turn into a big old drama.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

ivytwine wrote: »
    John Boland's on LON's naughty list. Even that Shouldergate thing... sigh. She could have just said "what I was wearing was irrelevant, let's focus on the very serious subject I was speaking about." And left it at that. But no it had to turn into a big old drama.

She and her Twitter followers milked that one for all it was worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭tomthetank

Wibbs wrote: »
    If you look around at "media people", men and women, you tend to find that they end up married/cohabiting with "ordinary" people, with "ordinary" jobs, jobs that pay.

some do and some don't. my experience was that a journalist marrying another journalist or let's say a TV reporter marrying a camera man was quite likely, as it's such a headfcuk of an industry that very few people will understand or tolerate how it affects your life except for those inside it. "Office romances" are just as if not more likely to happen within newsrooms for that reason.

A print journo with a high profile and/or a large portfolio of work in national newspapers in Ireland can be on close to six figures. It's the freelancers that suffer the most, with irregular pay and often waiting months for payments to come through.

Whenever this UCD 200 stuff comes up I can't help but recall the girl / woman who posted on the facebook thread that Louise had started about the (non-existent) matter and said that as a result of it all, she was not going to go to the cinema that day. Honestly. You'd swear Larry Murphy had just been cloned or something. You would think Louise would then had the cop on to say to the girl 'Ah go the cinema ffs, yeah it's an issue, but lets not start avoiding living our lives over it' but nope.. she replied: "This. This X 1000".

I could understand someone not wanting to see Rogue One in light of Fisher's passing, but saying 'this news means I cannot go outside any more'. Victimhood, total victim hood. Dear sweet God...they are crazy.
    But I have to wonder if some of these folks are suffering from some mental health issues-if so, that would make things make sense. We already know one or two of her followers do. Others have spoken publicly about their mental health issues (Alison Spittle for example).

Oh dear god-it's really, really disheartening to see Spittle 'body shaming' a person. Especially when she spoke so openly about her own 'body shaming encounters' such as people, in public, calling her a 'fat b!tch'. But what is the difference between plublicly, on facebook, bodyshaming a person, and the 'fat' comment on the street. The only difference I can think of is that one can delete the fb comment.

The earlier mention of how 'college kids' had classes ended early and were offered counselling because of Trump winning...led to a meme image response where folks said 'hey, college kids, you guys had to go home early and get counselling cos Trump won? Well, we sat in third grade, watching the space Shuttle Columbia blow up, live, on tv...and we had to sit there, finish our classes, and didn't even get to get a no homework day'.

Oh dear God--if anything makes me want to punch a wall it's Schumer and Dunham...like dear GAWD no way would I watch any of her horrific 'comedy'. Reverse the roles, have a comic talk about his penis the whole time, and see how funny he'd be.
    Also, note how Schumer, when called 'fat', by a magazine. went on a complete and utter tirade saying 'she was normal' while meanwhile a plus sized model, Ashley Graham (stunning girl, check her out) was just like 'so what?'
    Then there is the many, many times Schumer has no problem making fun of African American figures, including Beyonce. Or creepily saying that a black basketball player should have hit on her friend, Lena Dunham, despite Dunham being very predatorial, and already having a boyfriend.
    It was absolutely disturbing behaviour, tbh. Dunham (again) apologised (but then made her red pant suit video) while Schumer has not. And then Schumer made a parody of a Beyonce video.

Schumer has been putting on a mask for so long, that it's long since slipped. I imagine her next mask will be another 'catty' one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I could understand someone not wanting to see Rogue One in light of Fisher's passing, but saying 'this news means I cannot go outside any more'. Victimhood, total victim hood. Dear sweet God...they are crazy.
    But I have to wonder if some of these folks are suffering from some mental health issues-if so, that would make things make sense. We already know one or two of her followers do. Others have spoken publicly about their mental health issues (Alison Spittle for example).

I think its a given that that is the root of all these "snowflake" types. The question is, should we be giving these people a public platform or any type of authority, seeing as their judgement is impaired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I think its a given that that is the root of all these "snowflake" types. The question is, should we be giving these people a public platform or any type of authority, seeing as their judgement is impaired?

The huge problem with today's TV and print news media outlets who due to having far to many hacks who will print any bit of rubbish without doing any proper due diligence, is that playing the victim card is a good way of getting large amounts of attention without any real downside to a career when the truth finally comes out.

What harm? You really are that blind on this whole issue aren't you. The harm was done to the lads that were accused of sharing these photos. Her reaction, and other overly dramatic reactions like hers, resulted in people seeing these young men in a way that they did not deserve to be seen. These women's self indulgent hysteria level complaining all added to the overall reaction which resulted in the students’ union being accused of failing to deal with lad culture at the university. This is what feminists do. They cry wolf and society panders to them. Squeaky wheel gets the oil and all that.

What's wrong with someone actively wanting to avoid having irrational negative thoughts about all men, based on the behaviour of some men? Is it not a good thing that someone is aware of the dangers of falling into that trap and chooses to avoid it.

I get it - you don't like feminism - but I think maybe you might be reading a lot of drama into something that just seems quite logical.

Jesus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

I thought that was Schumers whole shtick, talking about riding all round her. That heckler was a perfect straight man for her, a gift if she was fast on her feet.

Pretty weak calling him a fat fuc.

What's wrong with someone actively wanting to avoid having irrational negative thoughts about all men, based on the behaviour of some men? Is it not a good thing that someone is aware of the dangers of falling into that trap and chooses to avoid it.

I get it - you don't like feminism - but I think maybe you might be reading a lot of drama into something that just seems quite logical.

Jesus...

The problem is that having irrational negative thoughts about all men, based on a proven lie, is a completely flawed 'plan' to improve them, when there was no reason to change them. If I started going around spouting negative opinions of women, different religions, different sexualities or different races, and you tried to change me based on my negative opinions...then that would be a genuine reason to improve me. (I would never go around saying anything heinous about any of those topics-if I have a problem with an individual, it's with an individual, not with an entire group. LON I have a problem with as an individual, not as a woman).

The logic of this 'feminism' (And I believe it is a far cry from the feminism of the suffragettes, for example) is 'jump to conclusion, blame everyone, throw mud like monkeys throwing feces, and then go on a tirade againts anyone the mud sticks to.

It's vastly unhealthy.

Satriale wrote: »
    I thought that was Schumers whole shtick, talking about riding all round her. That heckler was a perfect straight man for her, a gift if she was fast on her feet.

Pretty weak calling him a fat fuc.

Yep, and from a woman who claims she's 'strong'. Except when she's confronted, then she just goes on a whole 'it's cos I'm a woman' angle.

I imagine she would have had a better come back if she could have stolen a retort from a far better comedian.

(It was disturbing as hell when she stole material from Patrice O'Neal-the poor guy was dead for just over a year-and then her comedy special used one of his jokes. That's Carlos Mencia disturbing right there).

Undoomed have made a video on Blindboy BC's comments on feminism, with a distinct call out to 'the rape culture documentary that RTE showed' aka LON's flawed so-called 'documentary'.

Don't know who the guy is, but he has an irish accent.

(Apologies, Milo does feature, as does Stefan Molyneux, but overall it's not an abhorrent video).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DURLKPOHKHU

Undoomed have made a video on Blindboy BC's comments on feminism, with a distinct call out to 'the rape culture documentary that RTE showed' aka LON's flawed so-called 'documentary'.

(Apologies, Milo does feature, as does Stefan Molyneux, but overall it's not an abhorrent video).

Good video, but Irish Accent???

Yeahh, he has an Irish accent, like, Undoomed usually presents his own videos, but the guy presenting this, Dave from computing forever, is from Dublin.
    I just googled it.

If you watch Undoomed's other videos, I believe he is American or something, so hence the 'Irish accent' comment.

Has his own channel on youtube, which is interesting.

Yeahh, he has an Irish accent, like, Undoomed usually presents his own videos, but the guy presenting this, Dave from computing forever, is from Dublin.
    I just googled it.

Well "Dave from computing forever" would easily qualify for that thread about people putting on Los Angeles accents there a few days ago. Half south dublin, half south California.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Having Milo in it makes me not want to watch it but I'll give it a bash at some point.

To be fair to Blindboy- and I'm a big Rubberbandits fan so probably biased- I think he was talking about economic feminism, the really old fashioned once-mainstream stuff about it not being a threat to masculinity if a woman earned more than you. I've been clinging to the belief that feminism can still be rescued from the third wave but each fresh outrage orgy is diminishing my belief that it can be.

You ask what is wrong with her actively avoiding having these thoughts swirling around her mind about the men she would encounter and my answer to that is: absolutely nothing, if that had been all she had done HOWEVER that was not the extent of what she did as she also went online and expressed her irrational opinions. Outrage and sanctimony are today's pitchforks. Whether my assertions that she is just crying wolf are true or not is irreverent as her, and people like her, have a negative effect on society regardless.

You're being naive. The only thing "logical" about these people's behavior is that they know their feigned upset will get them attention. Attention which they can use as leverage when attempting to manipulate the powers that be into chastising men and implementing measures which control how they interact with women.... and so, given that this is precisely what they are after, yes, in that respect what they are doing is 'logical'.

As for my not liking feminism, well, that would depend on how you define it. It's true I can't stand victim feminism, which seems to be the prevailing kind today but I do have a lot of time for feminists that have egalitarian mindsets and who have stayed steadfast to first wave feminist core beliefs, such as Camille Paglia, Hoff Sommers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Listen to the way he says ''littered'' right at the start..I think that's some kind of Dublerican accent