Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

So the Guards set up a checkpoint on the M50 last night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

TallGlass wrote: »
    I would trust ANPR to be more accurate and quicker than a Garda checking 100s of discs and registrations, and also chances are if your drink driving, you'll more than likely have little consideration for other things like tax, NCT or insurance.

Well then I must be the only person in Ireland who thinks this was dangerous. Cause in the space of two post, I have been shot down, don't come on here complaining when there's a massive accident at one of these things.

Theres a crash most days every week on the m50 for whatever reason

Going with Extreme health and safety logic the safest way to stop that from happening is to tell everyone to leave their cars at home and not use it.

That doesn't make sense

For 3 or 4 years they upgraded the m50 and the work was carried out at night time and they're was road works and cones and it was down to one lane

If you are driving too fast for the conditions you wont be able to stop safely

I am not shooting you down I respect your opinion and entitlement to it but a drunk driver is a hell of a lot more of a risk than a professionally set up check point

I accept your point about the guards checking numerous cars and missing out on stuff but they've always been fair enough with me

Last year seen a rise in road deaths

If stuff like this means someone gets home safe I welcome it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Phil.x

It was just a press release stunt, a bad one at that.

Like when they do the N3 on a Saturday at 2pm!!
    Why not do check points at rush hour when the traffic is at a complete standstill , they could even do 5 in a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

RedorDead wrote: »
    There were some roadworks warnings signs alright for 4km ahead but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres...

What's the speed limit of the M50 again? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

kyote00 wrote: »
    I have personally seen a few pull-in checks on the M25, M4 and M1 in the UK over the last 10 years.

Yes, but the key question surely is...

.... do they do it on the AUTOBAHN? ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭pillphil

Never once said that. I welcome more checkpoints of this scale, I just think there are better places to host them.

I wasn't saying you said that.
    But if it's unsafe to have checkpoints on a road with a 120kph limit, then it's unsafe to have them on a road with a 100kph limit. Which is most roads outside of built up areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pfx1942

I drove past it when Garda was setting it up yesterday.

Audio is muted as music in car was very loud and it sounds horrible when captured by dashcam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,777 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

pfx1942 wrote: »

Audio is muted as music in car was very loud and it sounds horrible when captured by dashcam.

Looks extremely well set up,

My goodness how you weren't killed is beyond me!!

BUY A LOTTO TICKET ASAP!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭satguy

164 drivers tested, I arrest for Drunk Driving, 5 offences of no tax & 2 cars seized.

That's some nights work,,, and 20+ Gardai all sent to bed with big smiles on their faces.

the "2 cars seized." must have had out of date NCT,,, Stay in bed till ten lads,, well done..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

listermint wrote: »
    We have been through this before especially when they performed the same 'stunt' 'trick' on the M1.

This is bloody well dangerous i dont care what anyone says. The police forces in the UK dont perform these stunts because its dangerous it just doesnt happen over there but no doubt the RSA over here pressure head office to get the guards to do it here.

There is no sound reason for this tactic, they should look after taking cars off people caught with baldy tyres or excessive speeding. You know the things they do in the UK.

Alas we do things more dangerous here and half arsed.

This sort of nonsense has to stop.
    What's your obsession with the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,430 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Looks extremely well set up,

My goodness how you weren't killed is beyond me!!

BUY A LOTTO TICKET ASAP!!!!!!!

But what was it like leading up to it going from 100kph to 20-30kph?

Wonder did the Gardaí have a word with the 10-15% of drivers with non working headlights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Dealing with road works, I fear for the life of the lads putting down them cones, seen it one night.

One big truck, cones, lights, people going from 100kmp+ to a near stop. Downright dangerous again if you ask me, I am surprised there haven't been more injuries.

Majority of the time, they close the section of the road if they think it's bad enough and poses enogh of a risk to life.

So weather is static, fog can dawn at any time without warning, you could have an idiot start a fire or a car or truck catch fire. Get off that high horse pal, it's out and out dangerous and you know it. In England a fireworks display went wrong and caused a massive amount of smoke to drift onto the motgerway, caused a massive pile up. Last thing you need is a checkpoint and then an accident happening at it. Can you imagine the chaos if something happened at the checkpoint?

I have no problem with checkpoints, they have a great purpose, do them safely, on exit ramps or when entering the motorway, don't do them on the pheking motorway itself. Pedestrians, shouldn't be on the motorway unless it's vital, emergency or to work on the road. Not to conduct a ****ing checkpoint.

Sorry, but no it's madness. Why can't ANPR be placed on a bridge and have 30/40 cop cars stop all the cars with ANPR hits? Much safer for everyone. And I am looking at this from a point of view of both safety of the public and AGS. All that risk for what, 4 cars and 1 drunk driver?

I wonder what your tune would be like if the title was , 'Massive Garda checkpoint on M50 causes massive pile up, 3 people killed including 1 Garda', which could be easily a headline in Ireland, where driving is awfully bad, some drivers are shocking on the M50 add in a checkpoint, an accident and you've got a serious **** storm.
    This is some load of shyte. Between your previous post that the motorway is set up for high speeds and this clutching at straws nonsense, it just looks like you have a deep contempt for the gardaí and are using this to get a dig in.

Would you be against a checkpoint on the N2 up at Carrickmacross or soemwhere? Same speed limit as where this one was carried out...

But what was it like leading up to it going from 100kph to 20-30kph

I don't know, but there were no reports of any accidents leading up to the checkpoint, so I can only assume it went to plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pfx1942

But what was it like leading up to it going from 100kph to 20-30kph?

Wonder did the Gardaí have a word with the 10-15% of drivers with non working headlights?

Lane 1 where I was, was practically empty until the cones blocked lanes 2 and 3. All cars in lanes 2 and 3 had stopped when I kept going in lane 1.

Traffic build up ahead was clearly visible and traffic signs, that lanes 1, 2 and 3 will be closed up ahead were miles before I even reached the traffic.

Overhead gantrys had messages on them, slow down, roadworks ahead and merge left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

As a dub living west of the shannon I feel this only got the air time it did because of the fact it was in Dublin

Any lives being saved via enforcement is good news

Bazzy wrote: »
    As a dub living west of the shannon I feel this only got the air time it did because of the fact it was in Dublin

Any lives being saved via enforcement is good news

Id say the air time is due to the fact it's the first time it's been done, on the only motorway in the country that handles over 1/3 of a million vehicles a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

pfx1942 wrote: »

Looking at that video, I will have to take back my previous posts to be quite honest with regards the checkpoint. Cannot argue with that video, well set up and very professional. I was basing my post on a previous video I had seen from the other side which looked a lot different.

But in all fairness some posters on this site need to chill out, people are allowed options and I see I was accused of Gardaí bashing by fullstop, which would be highly comical if you knew me and to answer your question,
    I have no problem with any checkpoints of any sort or Gardaí, if it's cars or drivers off the road that are breaking laws, they can have them where ever they like and to be honest, I would rather see more than less, just once they are safe for everyone Gardaí included.
    fullstop wrote: »
    This is some load of shyte. Between your previous post that the motorway is set up for high speeds and this clutching at straws nonsense, it just looks like you have a deep contempt for the gardaí and are using this to get a dig in.

Would you be against a checkpoint on the N2 up at Carrickmacross or soemwhere? Same speed limit as where this one was carried out...

Deep contempt :pac::pac::pac:

Also seemingly you now need a degree to comment on things on Boards.

I questioned the safety of the checkpoint based on it's location. Get told I am basically a looney tune who hasn't got a clue as I haven't got a degree who is clutching at straws (when I never even mentioned that!) and a Garda basher with a deep contempt. Stay classy boards!

Looking at that video, I will have to take back my previous posts to be quite honest with regards the checkpoint. Cannot argue with that video, well set up and very professional. I was basing my post on a previous video I had seen from the other side which looked a lot different.

But in all fairness some posters on this site need to chill out, people are allowed options and I see I was accused of Gardaí bashing by fullstop, which would be highly comical if you knew me and to answer your question,
    I have no problem with any checkpoints of any sort or Gardaí, if it's cars or drivers off the road that are breaking laws, they can have them where ever they like and to be honest, I would rather see more than less, just once they are safe for everyone Gardaí included.

Deep contempt :pac::pac::pac:

Also seemingly you now need a degree to comment on things on Boards.

I questioned the safety of the checkpoint based on it's location. Get told I am basically a looney tune who hasn't got a clue as I haven't got a degree who is clutching at straws (when I never even mentioned that!) and a Garda basher with a deep contempt. Stay classy boards!

I guess most people saw comments like the one below, and thought it incredible that someone could think that the Gardai would recklessly endanger so many lives in such a way, and felt the need to challenge such opinions, and now, based on the video evidence, and your own admission upon seeing the video evidence how safe the operation was, they were proved right.
    Down right stupid and quite surprised members went ahead and done it. Could have easily killed someone. Motorways are no place for checkpoints or any type of stoppage they are designed for high speed.

It's pretty hard not to react to a comment like that in fairness, so perhaps the lesson is understand first what has happened before throwing out wild accusations about the emergency services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

The guards are making a big deal that's it's the first time ever they have had a check point on the M50.
    If it was so safe, why haven't they done it before?

IMO not a clever idea as way too dangerous, there are miles better places for a check point along the M50.
    As already said, probably won't see another one for another year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 rizlafan

am in favour of the control on th em50.

the majority of offences are taking place up in dublin,

stick to dublin garda and leave the rest of us up to our own devices tyvm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

I think the real danger is the traffic flow in the other direction. rubber necking is a chronic issue and a checkpoint on the M50 would have been a real attraction to drivers heading the other way. Could have easily been an accident, so I would be against it tbh.

goz83 wrote: »
    I think the real danger is the traffic flow in the other direction. rubber necking is a chronic issue and a checkpoint on the M50 would have been a real attraction to drivers heading the other way. Could have easily been an accident, so I would be against it tbh.

It was barely a kilometre from the beginning of the southbound flow of the M50, so it was placed in a position with the least amount of possibility for distraction to the other carriageway. So again, good planning from AGS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

Irish people will have to get used to check points and unexpected operations on motorways as they have done in other countries which have motorways.

Just because people rubberneck on the other lanes does not mean you should have no checkpoints or slowing down of traffic when the need arises.

I have seen a planned slowdown on the m50 northbound and without knowing why, I was angry at the apparent nuisance caused by the guards in doing a three car abreast rolling road block at 20kph for 5 or 10 km or so.

A TV news item later mentioned swans had landed on the motorway from the nearby Grand Canal. You would not want to hit a swan at 100kph in a car.....

Another night a similar emergency involving trucks blocking the two outer lanes was handled by plenty of blue lights, cones and guards getting the traffic through the one remaining lane and also using the hard shoulder as a a temporary driving lane , although many inflexible drivers refused to go into the hard shoulder despite the wild gesticulations of the hapless guards to tell them it was alright to do so in this emergency situation. I have seen similar timidity and hesitation in other accident situations when the guards are trying to keep traffic flowing and avoid unnecessary and dangerous stopping and over braking in unexpected and novel situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

NCT , Insurance and Tax should be removed from checkpoints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

It's pretty hard not to react to a comment like that in fairness, so perhaps the lesson is understand first what has happened before throwing out wild accusations about the emergency services.

As I said I seen another video. This one
    https://youtu.be/F4rzQLpHxZU and from what I made of it, it looked dangerous. Garda at the end just standing in what looked to me like the middle of the road, people on opposite carriage way breaking and a massive tail back.

Out of interest. What wild accusations did I throw out about the ES? Don't remember mentioning any 'wild accusations' about the ES. I did say it looked unsafe for the Garda and could cause an accident based on the video I had seen. I changed my option when I seen the video posted here.

I personally think some posters here, yourself included have completely taking my posts up entirely the wrong way in that people think I am having a pop at the Gardaí doing there job.

Which I have entirely no problem with at all and was not the purpose or point of my posts.

GDY151

doolox wrote: »
    Irish people will have to get used to check points and unexpected operations on motorways as they have done in other countries which have motorways.

Just because people rubberneck on the other lanes does not mean you should have no checkpoints or slowing down of traffic when the need arises.

I have seen a planned slowdown on the m50 northbound and without knowing why, I was angry at the apparent nuisance caused by the guards in doing a three car abreast rolling road block at 20kph for 5 or 10 km or so.

A TV news item later mentioned swans had landed on the motorway from the nearby Grand Canal. You would not want to hit a swan at 100kph in a car.....

Another night a similar emergency involving trucks blocking the two outer lanes was handled by plenty of blue lights, cones and guards getting the traffic through the one remaining lane and also using the hard shoulder as a a temporary driving lane , although many inflexible drivers refused to go into the hard shoulder despite the wild gesticulations of the hapless guards to tell them it was alright to do so in this emergency situation. I have seen similar timidity and hesitation in other accident situations when the guards are trying to keep traffic flowing and avoid unnecessary and dangerous stopping and over braking in unexpected and novel situations.

Why do we need to get used to checkpoints on motorways, surely the plan should be to prevent dangerous drivers ever making it on to a motorway?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

The only way to detect driving under the influence of alcohol (or drugs) is to stop the vehicle to perform a test based on observation of the driver during the stop. While stopped, checking tax, licence, NCT and insurance is also appropriate, and doing so on the Motorway is as appropriate as doing the check anywhere else,

Depending on the time of day, it clearly does produce results. It's just a pity that this sort of check is not being done more often, as it's clearly the only way to get the attention of some of the drivers that otherwise wouldn't care at all about the laws that apply to them. A driver that was 3 times the limit clearly wasn't expecting to be stopped. That for me is a good result.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

GDY151

The only way to detect driving under the influence of alcohol (or drugs) is to stop the vehicle to perform a test based on observation of the driver during the stop. While stopped, checking tax, licence, NCT and insurance is also appropriate, and doing so on the Motorway is as appropriate as doing the check anywhere else,

Depending on the time of day, it clearly does produce results. It's just a pity that this sort of check is not being done more often, as it's clearly the only way to get the attention of some of the drivers that otherwise wouldn't care at all about the laws that apply to them. A driver that was 3 times the limit clearly wasn't expecting to be stopped. That for me is a good result.

I think it would be better if say if we take Dublin for example they blanket checkpointed one postcode where you blocked every single road in and out of it with mandatory alcohol checks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,160 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I've just read this thread and I now better understand some words in the context of internet forums.

"Keyboard Warrior"
    "Whataboutery"
    "Strawman arguments"
    "Bolloxology"*

Honest to goodness, it's no wonder some genuine posters back away and abandon or close their accounts. This thread could be used as a case study.

* not really a word but it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭pillphil

As I said I seen another video. This one
    https://youtu.be/F4rzQLpHxZU and from what I made of it, it looked dangerous. Garda at the end just standing in what looked to me like the middle of the road, people on opposite carriage way breaking and a massive tail back.

I think the flute crossing three lanes specifically to film the checkpoint was the most dangerous thing there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭LeakingLava

I myself was stuck in this 'checkpoint'. I admit, my car at the time had a few issues. Invalid tax disc(but already have one on the way via post), and one busted headlight(had headlights turned off but fogs on to disguise, which I believe is a bigger offense for boards users) but I did not get stopped. They flagged down the Golf in front of me which had tinted windows and was lowered. Not sure what their target was but I genuinely thought they were out to get a specific criminal profile or something. There was also a lorry that was stopped. The cars that were stopped/flagged were redirected onto lane 2-3 which had a queue of 6-8 cars each when I passed by and they were being inspected by AGS members one by one. I went into the checkpoint when they were at the early stage. Spent about 30 minutes in it. When I was on the way back southbound about a half hour later, the queue was all the way back to the N2 exit.