Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So the Guards set up a checkpoint on the M50 last night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

PhilipsR wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/in-pictures-gardai-set-up-drink-driving-checkpoint-on-countrys-busiest-road-35349030.html

Story in the Independent today.

I genuinely can't get over how downright dangerous I feel this practice was. It makes no sense at all. Why not picked some random slip roads to conduct them at rather than bringing a motorway where people are driving 100km/h to a standstill?!

Lunacy.

I'm sure it was done in a safe manner and the results show the justification in doing so surely?

"one person was arrested. Gardai also discovered five people driving with no tax on their cars."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Gardai also discovered five people driving with no tax on their cars."

Massive result for the Gardai here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

From the guards twitter account: https://twitter.com/gardatraffic?lang=en

164 drivers tested, I arrest for Drunk Driving, 5 offences of no tax & 2 cars seized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,040 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

164 drivers tested, I arrest for Drunk Driving, 5 offences of no tax & 2 cars seized.

2 cars seized, 164 arrested
    Must have been 2 really big cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

No, I think you may need really big glasses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Did the checkpoint cause much of a tailback? Is there much traffic on the M50 at 9:30 on a Friday night?

I'm sure these checkpoints are very well conducted in the line of slowing cars down from 100km/h, but do they cause much of a delay/backlog? Curious as I've never passed through one on a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They have these on the likes of the M7 regularly and they are well set up. They warn you at least 4 or 5 km back with big neon signs and cones as you approach them. By the time you get anywhere close to the actual checkpoint you're already slowed down to crawling. They don't set them up at peak times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭DeadHand

This image has surfaced of one of the traffic stops in question taking place.

Sobering stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,044 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Looks to be northbound where it merges with M1, I would think that this would be a very dangerous point to have it considering they wouldn't be pre warning cars before exit 3 otherwise they could escape at that exit so cars would be doing the full 100kph in the area before this in the 2km or less stretch that it is. 2km would only hold at max 1500 cars allowing 4 metres for each to build up over the 3 lanes.

Wonder why the lad in the Range Rover Sport was personally searched and so was his vehicle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

If they've warnings 4-5km pre checkpoint, surely that gives people a chance to avade using the exits?
    Just curious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

kay 9 wrote: »
    If they've warnings 4-5km pre checkpoint, surely that gives people a chance to avade using the exits?
    Just curious...
    Not if there's no exits to take , as was said , they set up checkpoints on motorways throughout the country and the traffic is well controlled in advance .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

jay48 wrote: »
    Not if there's no exits to take , as was said , they set up checkpoints on motorways throughout the country and the traffic is well controlled in advance .

Cheers for that, didn't read the entire link tbh. Too lazy this evening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,689 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I would say that the aim of the checkpoint was not to catch one or two people, but to make a very visible statement that they can and will put a checkpoint there, and so hope to influence those who might have thought they could break the law with impunity on the M50.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

The one person caught (who was 3 times over the limit) could've caused an accident on the M1, which you could've been involved in.

I think doing this once is enough to get the message through to certain people that drink driving on the M50 is also being monitored, and people who previously drove drunk on the M50 thinking there's no chance they'll be caught might think twice before doing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We have been through this before especially when they performed the same 'stunt' 'trick' on the M1.

This is bloody well dangerous i dont care what anyone says. The police forces in the UK dont perform these stunts because its dangerous it just doesnt happen over there but no doubt the RSA over here pressure head office to get the guards to do it here.

There is no sound reason for this tactic, they should look after taking cars off people caught with baldy tyres or excessive speeding. You know the things they do in the UK.

Alas we do things more dangerous here and half arsed.

This sort of nonsense has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Great day revenue collecting by the boys in blue

marno21 wrote: »
    The one person caught (who was 3 times over the limit) could've caused an accident on the M1, which you could've been involved in.

I think doing this once is enough to get the message through to certain people that drink driving on the M50 is also being monitored, and people who previously drove drunk on the M50 thinking there's no chance they'll be caught might think twice before doing it again.

Im sorry but no, most people drink driving either do it the morning after i.e after sleeping OR live rurally. This 9:30pm stuff on a friday does shag all but compromise road safety for thousands of vehicles.

Its optics and frankly its not sound optics its not professional there is a reason you dont see it across the water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

listermint wrote: »
    We have been through this before especially when they performed the same 'stunt' 'trick' on the M1.

This is bloody well dangerous i dont care what anyone says. The police forces in the UK dont perform these stunts because its dangerous it just doesnt happen over there but no doubt the RSA over here pressure head office to get the guards to do it here.

There is no sound reason for this tactic, they should look after taking cars off people caught with baldy tyres or excessive speeding. You know the things they do in the UK.

Police force in the UK have ANPR on the motorways so they can track cars without following! That's why you don't see it over there in the UK.

Also criminals love Irish motorways so theses checkpoints are necessary by gardai to show they will be out on motorways and act as a deterrent to criminals.

But sure look we call for our gardai to be visible and actively deter all crimes but when they do we give out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Just watched in on the rte news. A good set up..Just a pity it was the highlight of their Christmas campaign and we won't see it again for another 12 months.

Police force in the UK have ANPR on the motorways so they can track cars without following! That's why you don't see it over there in the UK.

Also criminals love Irish motorways so theses checkpoints are necessary by gardai to show they will be out on motorways and act as a deterrent to criminals.

But sure look we call for our gardai to be visible and actively deter all crimes but when they do we give out.

It wasnt done before the had anpr at all specifically for safety reasons and yes they have criminals that use the motorway network there too and also have divisional boundaries. So that chestnut doesn't work.

This ****e occurs due to political pressure nothing more and it's dangerous it should stop.

Armed response with them too, I'd say they were expecting to catch mire than drunk drivers TBH.

It wasnt done before the had anpr at all specifically for safety reasons and yes they have criminals that use the motorway network there too and also have divisional boundaries. So that chestnut doesn't work.

This ****e occurs due to political pressure nothing more and it's dangerous it should stop.

Have you been on a Irish motorways when one of theses checkpoints have happened because I have and it's a very controlled setup and it's not dangerous with all warning approaching a checkpoint on Irish motorways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Down right stupid and quite surprised members went ahead and done it. Could have easily killed someone. Motorways are no place for checkpoints or any type of stoppage they are designed for high speed.

Sure they only done one side, some rubber necker could have caused a massive accident the other side. The m50 is packed most times of the day.

Usualy pro Garda but this time, I cannot back this. Downright stupidity of the highest order. If it's a regular thing it will only be a matter of time before something serious happens.

I hope either the minister for justice or transport makes sure it is never seen again, all it takes is one person or fog or smoke and you've a massive pile up on your hands.

Only in Ireland!

Have you been on a Irish motorways when one of theses checkpoints have happened because I have and it's a very controlled setup and it's not dangerous with all warning approaching a checkpoint on Irish motorways!

No excuse for it whatsoever even road works are done on motorways with heavy planning you wonder why they have quarter of million euro vehicles with collision systems in the back.

Cones and a few guards is idiocy. Utter idiocy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭kyote00

I have personally seen a few pull-in checks on the M25, M4 and M1 in the UK over the last 10 years.

No excuse for it whatsoever even road works are done on motorways with heavy planning you wonder why they have quarter of million euro vehicles with collision systems in the back.

Cones and a few guards is idiocy. Utter idiocy

Whoosh 😠you still haven't answered a question I've asked have you been on a Irish motorway while a checkpoint is set up ??

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/01/03/man-shot-dead-police-m62-motorway-near-huddersfield-pre-planned/amp/?client=ms-android-h3g-GB

That's how UK undercover cops do it in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

My sisters boss has been driving for the last 2 years with no NCT or insurance and has yet to be caught. I told her the Guards are out in force and will eventually catch her and her response was 'Sure I only drive to work and collect the kids from school so I don't use my car much, If I get stopped I'll worry about it then' (Smiling)

The fcuking nerve of her when the likes of us pay higher premiums to cover theses asshats. I'll have last laugh when her ass is dragged to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Have you been on a Irish motorways when one of theses checkpoints have happened

This is no place for sensible questions, people are outraged, they don't know what they are talking about, but someone said it doesn't happen in the UK so how dare it happen in Ireland.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

In terms of the "risk", there's very little difference between a Garda check like this and being stopped or slowed down by an in line toll collect, and I don't see massive angst and worries that slowing from 100Kph at a toll booth is dangerous, it was clear from the RTE report on the news that this was not a couple of people running a small roadside check, it was a very carefully planned and coordinated operation. I'd not be unhappy if they were to carry out such checks on a regular basis, if it wasn't such a problem with traffic volumes, a check or two during the morning peak would probably be more productive, even more so if they were to check things like valid licence as well.

It's been clear from other media reports over the last few days that there is a hard core of drivers out there who have no intention of obeying the law relating to drink, or disqualification, so the only way to deal with that is to have a lot more checks, and at times and in places where the offenders stand a good chance of being caught, and to make the penalties for non compliance a lot stronger, including seizure of the vehicle.

I'd be even happier if the Minister was not so wishy washy about some of these issues, it's a pity that some of these roles can't be assigned to non elected officials, if they were, we might get some more active action about some of these issues, as the person responsible wouldn't be spending half their life looking at how the voters were responding to their actions.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

They don't do it in the UK. Anyone who thinks a checkpoint on a 120kmph road is sound is off their head or has this stupid gripe about tax disks and none payers.

The guards should have powers to take cars off people that are unsafe. They don't meanwhile we have this mealy mouth motorway optic checks to get the punters in. May as well be speaking to Trump supporters as this sort of optics apparently works according to comments here.

LOL. Quality stuff I suppose get the people on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I'm sure it was done in a safe manner and the results show the justification in doing so surely?

"one person was arrested. Gardai also discovered five people driving with no tax on their cars."

I'd love to the see the method statement and safety plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

There's a huge difference between being drunk and over the very low limit.

I think the journal gets half their stories from this website tbh.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-checkpoint-m50-3175430-Jan2017/

posted 30 minutes ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

I've seen this done a few times on motorways in Australia, there's nothing dangerous about it. The police would set up a 'booze bust' on a busy motorway, day or night. The first clue was a couple of police motorcycles parked up (to catch anyone doing a U turn) then a load of lights and signs gradually bringing the whole motorway to a stop and every driver was breathalised, they even had a big coach parked up on the hard shoulder and drivers who failed were put on the bus, their cars were parked up and they were taken to the station for processing. I have every faith in AGS being able to set up a similar checkpoint on our motorways.

I think the journal gets half their stories from this website tbh.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-checkpoint-m50-3175430-Jan2017/

posted 30 minutes ago.

The journal isn't the only one, print and on-line have been looking on boards for ages for there exclusives scoops!

As another poster wrote armed reponse there too this was more this just a drink driving checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Anyone who thinks a checkpoint on a 120kmph road is sound is off their head or has this stupid gripe about tax disks and none payers.

Good job they didn't do it in a 120 km/h part of the M50 so..

I've seen this done a few times on motorways in Australia, there's nothing dangerous about it. The police would set up a 'booze bust' on a busy motorway, day or night. The first clue was a couple of police motorcycles parked up (to catch anyone doing a U turn) then a load of lights and signs gradually bringing the whole motorway to a stop and every driver was breathalised, they even had a big coach parked up on the hard shoulder and drivers who failed were put on the bus, their cars were parked up and they were taken to the station for processing. I have every faith in AGS being able to set up a similar checkpoint on our motorways.

Really? must be gas doing a U Turn on the motorway in Australia. Thats news to me, i hadnt seen anywhere i could pull a U turn when i was in Perth, Cairns Brisbane or Sydney. Are these new U turn 'motorways' a new thing or ?

TallGlass wrote: »
    Down right stupid and quite surprised members went ahead and done it. Could have easily killed someone. Motorways are no place for checkpoints or any type of stoppage they are designed for high speed.

I wonder how they handle road works on motorways? And dealing with crashes?
    TallGlass wrote: »
    all it takes is one person or fog or smoke and you've a massive pile up on your hands.

I'm no expert but I'd hazard a guess the weather conditions were factored into their decision to conduct the checkpoint there and then.
    Do you honestly believe they'd have done it in fog? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

100km/ hour "motorway" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The point of these things is not just to catch people in the act of committing a crime. It's also to encourage compliance in the first case. Getting publicity for their efforts and people talking about it are part of the work too.

Given that we're talking about it on boards, I'd say it was relatively successful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭Paddy Porter

Great day revenue collecting by the boys in blue

How many of the summonses will be served though...only 50% of them actually get served in some parts according to The Indo.

Any sanctions to the person in charge ....hey! don't be stupid !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

PhilipsR wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/in-pictures-gardai-set-up-drink-driving-checkpoint-on-countrys-busiest-road-35349030.html

Story in the Independent today.

I genuinely can't get over how downright dangerous I feel this practice was. It makes no sense at all. Why not picked some random slip roads to conduct them at rather than bringing a motorway where people are driving 100km/h to a standstill?!

Lunacy.

What do you have to show that it was downright dangerous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Faith+1 wrote: »
    My sisters boss has been driving for the last 2 years with no NCT or insurance and has yet to be caught. I told her the Guards are out in force and will eventually catch her and her response was 'Sure I only drive to work and collect the kids from school so I don't use my car much, If I get stopped I'll worry about it then' (Smiling)

The fcuking nerve of her when the likes of us pay higher premiums to cover theses asshats. I'll have last laugh when her ass is dragged to court.

Report her then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭pillphil

Really? must be gas doing a U Turn on the motorway in Australia. Thats news to me, i hadnt seen anywhere i could pull a U turn when i was in Perth, Cairns Brisbane or Sydney. Are these new U turn 'motorways' a new thing or ?

Just because you shouldn't doesn't mean people won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

I got caught up in this last night and it was actually quite dangerous how everything stopped really quickly. There were some roadworks warnings signs alright for 4km ahead but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres which lead to a lot of quick stopping and hazard lights.

I sat in it for 45 minutes and didnt see one cop car - just lots and lots of traffic cones - it was hair-brained. What if you had to get to the airport for a flight or to pick someone up?

RedorDead wrote: »
    but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres which lead to a lot of quick stopping and hazard lights.

So everyone was speeding? Breaking the law?

Good job the Guards were there slowing everyone down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

ted1 wrote: »
    I'd love to the see the method statement and safety plan

There will have been one set up by the company who set up the traffic management I have done a 3 day course on Stop Go there's a specialised course on that but it would have been planned correctly, Designed and checked when set up same as someone replacing a barrier after a crash

It shows that you can be stopped anywhere a small bit of a stunt but if the guy who was 3 times over the limit went on to kill someone wasn't it a life saved

I have been through a checkpoint on the M6 very well controlled and set up and not at all dangerous

I was also stopped by customs/police check point on the motorway from Limerick to Galway

Both were very well set up and the only danger was people not following speed limits and still trying to overtake

Let them set one up on every road in the country

I dont drink drive I have tax and insurance and test so I have nothing to worry about the only thing it will cost is time

I cannot for the life of me understand why any legal driver would have an issue with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Bazzy wrote: »
    There will have been one set up by the company who set up the traffic management I have done a 3 day course on Stop Go there's a specialised course on that but it would have been planned correctly, Designed and checked when set up same as someone replacing a barrier after a crash

It shows that you can be stopped anywhere a small bit of a stunt but if the guy who was 3 times over the limit went on to kill someone wasn't it a life saved

I have been through a checkpoint on the M6 very well controlled and set up and not at all dangerous

I was also stopped by customs/police check point on the motorway from Limerick to Galway

Both were very well set up and the only danger was people not following speed limits and still trying to overtake

Let them set one up on every road in the country

I dont drink drive I have tax and insurance and test so I have nothing to worry about the only thing it will cost is time

I cannot for the life of me understand why any legal driver would have an issue with this?

Giving out about the guards is popular in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I wonder how they handle road works on motorways? And dealing with crashes?

I'm no expert but I'd hazard a guess the weather conditions were factored into their decision to conduct the checkpoint there and then.
    Do you honestly believe they'd have done it in fog? Really?

Dealing with road works, I fear for the life of the lads putting down them cones, seen it one night.

One big truck, cones, lights, people going from 100kmp+ to a near stop. Downright dangerous again if you ask me, I am surprised there haven't been more injuries.

Majority of the time, they close the section of the road if they think it's bad enough and poses enogh of a risk to life.

So weather is static, fog can dawn at any time without warning, you could have an idiot start a fire or a car or truck catch fire. Get off that high horse pal, it's out and out dangerous and you know it. In England a fireworks display went wrong and caused a massive amount of smoke to drift onto the motgerway, caused a massive pile up. Last thing you need is a checkpoint and then an accident happening at it. Can you imagine the chaos if something happened at the checkpoint?

I have no problem with checkpoints, they have a great purpose, do them safely, on exit ramps or when entering the motorway, don't do them on the pheking motorway itself. Pedestrians, shouldn't be on the motorway unless it's vital, emergency or to work on the road. Not to conduct a ****ing checkpoint.

Sorry, but no it's madness. Why can't ANPR be placed on a bridge and have 30/40 cop cars stop all the cars with ANPR hits? Much safer for everyone. And I am looking at this from a point of view of both safety of the public and AGS. All that risk for what, 4 cars and 1 drunk driver?

I wonder what your tune would be like if the title was , 'Massive Garda checkpoint on M50 causes massive pile up, 3 people killed including 1 Garda', which could be easily a headline in Ireland, where driving is awfully bad, some drivers are shocking on the M50 add in a checkpoint, an accident and you've got a serious **** storm.

Giving out about the guards is popular in this country

I'm very critical of our gardai when warranted but calling a spade, a spade these checkpoints on motorways where long overdue and welcome by fully legit drivers!