Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

So the Guards set up a checkpoint on the M50 last night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I'm sure it was done in a safe manner and the results show the justification in doing so surely?

"one person was arrested. Gardai also discovered five people driving with no tax on their cars."

I'd love to the see the method statement and safety plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

From the guards twitter account: https://twitter.com/gardatraffic?lang=en

164 drivers tested, I arrest for Drunk Driving, 5 offences of no tax & 2 cars seized.

There's a huge difference between being drunk and over the very low limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,119 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I think the journal gets half their stories from this website tbh.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-checkpoint-m50-3175430-Jan2017/

posted 30 minutes ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭billy few mates

I've seen this done a few times on motorways in Australia, there's nothing dangerous about it. The police would set up a 'booze bust' on a busy motorway, day or night. The first clue was a couple of police motorcycles parked up (to catch anyone doing a U turn) then a load of lights and signs gradually bringing the whole motorway to a stop and every driver was breathalised, they even had a big coach parked up on the hard shoulder and drivers who failed were put on the bus, their cars were parked up and they were taken to the station for processing. I have every faith in AGS being able to set up a similar checkpoint on our motorways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

listermint wrote: »
    I think the journal gets half their stories from this website tbh.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-checkpoint-m50-3175430-Jan2017/

posted 30 minutes ago.

The journal isn't the only one, print and on-line have been looking on boards for ages for there exclusives scoops!

As another poster wrote armed reponse there too this was more this just a drink driving checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,776 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Anyone who thinks a checkpoint on a 120kmph road is sound is off their head or has this stupid gripe about tax disks and none payers.

Good job they didn't do it in a 120 km/h part of the M50 so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,119 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I've seen this done a few times on motorways in Australia, there's nothing dangerous about it. The police would set up a 'booze bust' on a busy motorway, day or night. The first clue was a couple of police motorcycles parked up (to catch anyone doing a U turn) then a load of lights and signs gradually bringing the whole motorway to a stop and every driver was breathalised, they even had a big coach parked up on the hard shoulder and drivers who failed were put on the bus, their cars were parked up and they were taken to the station for processing. I have every faith in AGS being able to set up a similar checkpoint on our motorways.

Really? must be gas doing a U Turn on the motorway in Australia. Thats news to me, i hadnt seen anywhere i could pull a U turn when i was in Perth, Cairns Brisbane or Sydney. Are these new U turn 'motorways' a new thing or ?

TallGlass wrote: »
    Down right stupid and quite surprised members went ahead and done it. Could have easily killed someone. Motorways are no place for checkpoints or any type of stoppage they are designed for high speed.

I wonder how they handle road works on motorways? And dealing with crashes?
    all it takes is one person or fog or smoke and you've a massive pile up on your hands.

I'm no expert but I'd hazard a guess the weather conditions were factored into their decision to conduct the checkpoint there and then.
    Do you honestly believe they'd have done it in fog? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

100km/ hour "motorway" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,152 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

"one person was arrested. Gardai also discovered five people driving with no tax on their cars."
    Massive result for the Gardai here

The point of these things is not just to catch people in the act of committing a crime. It's also to encourage compliance in the first case. Getting publicity for their efforts and people talking about it are part of the work too.

Given that we're talking about it on boards, I'd say it was relatively successful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭Paddy Porter

Great day revenue collecting by the boys in blue

How many of the summonses will be served though...only 50% of them actually get served in some parts according to The Indo.

Any sanctions to the person in charge ....hey! don't be stupid !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

PhilipsR wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/in-pictures-gardai-set-up-drink-driving-checkpoint-on-countrys-busiest-road-35349030.html

Story in the Independent today.

I genuinely can't get over how downright dangerous I feel this practice was. It makes no sense at all. Why not picked some random slip roads to conduct them at rather than bringing a motorway where people are driving 100km/h to a standstill?!

Lunacy.

What do you have to show that it was downright dangerous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Faith+1 wrote: »
    My sisters boss has been driving for the last 2 years with no NCT or insurance and has yet to be caught. I told her the Guards are out in force and will eventually catch her and her response was 'Sure I only drive to work and collect the kids from school so I don't use my car much, If I get stopped I'll worry about it then' (Smiling)

The fcuking nerve of her when the likes of us pay higher premiums to cover theses asshats. I'll have last laugh when her ass is dragged to court.

Report her then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭pillphil

Really? must be gas doing a U Turn on the motorway in Australia. Thats news to me, i hadnt seen anywhere i could pull a U turn when i was in Perth, Cairns Brisbane or Sydney. Are these new U turn 'motorways' a new thing or ?

Just because you shouldn't doesn't mean people won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭RedorDead

I got caught up in this last night and it was actually quite dangerous how everything stopped really quickly. There were some roadworks warnings signs alright for 4km ahead but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres which lead to a lot of quick stopping and hazard lights.

I sat in it for 45 minutes and didnt see one cop car - just lots and lots of traffic cones - it was hair-brained. What if you had to get to the airport for a flight or to pick someone up?

RedorDead wrote: »
    but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres which lead to a lot of quick stopping and hazard lights.

So everyone was speeding? Breaking the law?

Good job the Guards were there slowing everyone down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

ted1 wrote: »
    I'd love to the see the method statement and safety plan

There will have been one set up by the company who set up the traffic management I have done a 3 day course on Stop Go there's a specialised course on that but it would have been planned correctly, Designed and checked when set up same as someone replacing a barrier after a crash

It shows that you can be stopped anywhere a small bit of a stunt but if the guy who was 3 times over the limit went on to kill someone wasn't it a life saved

I have been through a checkpoint on the M6 very well controlled and set up and not at all dangerous

I was also stopped by customs/police check point on the motorway from Limerick to Galway

Both were very well set up and the only danger was people not following speed limits and still trying to overtake

Let them set one up on every road in the country

I dont drink drive I have tax and insurance and test so I have nothing to worry about the only thing it will cost is time

I cannot for the life of me understand why any legal driver would have an issue with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Bazzy wrote: »
    There will have been one set up by the company who set up the traffic management I have done a 3 day course on Stop Go there's a specialised course on that but it would have been planned correctly, Designed and checked when set up same as someone replacing a barrier after a crash

It shows that you can be stopped anywhere a small bit of a stunt but if the guy who was 3 times over the limit went on to kill someone wasn't it a life saved

I have been through a checkpoint on the M6 very well controlled and set up and not at all dangerous

I was also stopped by customs/police check point on the motorway from Limerick to Galway

Both were very well set up and the only danger was people not following speed limits and still trying to overtake

Let them set one up on every road in the country

I dont drink drive I have tax and insurance and test so I have nothing to worry about the only thing it will cost is time

I cannot for the life of me understand why any legal driver would have an issue with this?

Giving out about the guards is popular in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I wonder how they handle road works on motorways? And dealing with crashes?

I'm no expert but I'd hazard a guess the weather conditions were factored into their decision to conduct the checkpoint there and then.
    Do you honestly believe they'd have done it in fog? Really?

Dealing with road works, I fear for the life of the lads putting down them cones, seen it one night.

One big truck, cones, lights, people going from 100kmp+ to a near stop. Downright dangerous again if you ask me, I am surprised there haven't been more injuries.

Majority of the time, they close the section of the road if they think it's bad enough and poses enogh of a risk to life.

So weather is static, fog can dawn at any time without warning, you could have an idiot start a fire or a car or truck catch fire. Get off that high horse pal, it's out and out dangerous and you know it. In England a fireworks display went wrong and caused a massive amount of smoke to drift onto the motgerway, caused a massive pile up. Last thing you need is a checkpoint and then an accident happening at it. Can you imagine the chaos if something happened at the checkpoint?

I have no problem with checkpoints, they have a great purpose, do them safely, on exit ramps or when entering the motorway, don't do them on the pheking motorway itself. Pedestrians, shouldn't be on the motorway unless it's vital, emergency or to work on the road. Not to conduct a ****ing checkpoint.

Sorry, but no it's madness. Why can't ANPR be placed on a bridge and have 30/40 cop cars stop all the cars with ANPR hits? Much safer for everyone. And I am looking at this from a point of view of both safety of the public and AGS. All that risk for what, 4 cars and 1 drunk driver?

I wonder what your tune would be like if the title was , 'Massive Garda checkpoint on M50 causes massive pile up, 3 people killed including 1 Garda', which could be easily a headline in Ireland, where driving is awfully bad, some drivers are shocking on the M50 add in a checkpoint, an accident and you've got a serious **** storm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

Giving out about the guards is popular in this country

I'm very critical of our gardai when warranted but calling a spade, a spade these checkpoints on motorways where long overdue and welcome by fully legit drivers!

Count me out of that one Bicky Bicky.

Dealing with road works, I fear for the life of the lads putting down them cones, seen it one night.

One big truck, cones, lights, people going from 100kmp+ to a near stop. Downright dangerous again if you ask me, I am surprised there haven't been more injuries.

Majority of the time, they close the section of the road if they think it's bad enough and poses enogh of a risk to life.

So weather is static, fog can dawn at any time without warning, you could have an idiot start a fire or a car or truck catch fire. Get off that high horse pal, it's out and out dangerous and you know it. In England a fireworks display went wrong and caused a massive amount of smoke to drift onto the motgerway, caused a massive pile up. Last thing you need is a checkpoint and then an accident happening at it. Can you imagine the chaos if something happened at the checkpoint?

I have no problem with checkpoints, they have a great purpose, do them safely, on exit ramps or when entering the motorway, don't do them on the pheking motorway itself. Pedestrians, shouldn't be on the motorway unless it's vital, emergency or to work on the road. Not to conduct a ****ing checkpoint.

Sorry, but no it's madness. Why can't ANPR be placed on a bridge and have 30/40 cop cars stop all the cars with ANPR hits? Much safer for everyone. And I am looking at this from a point of view of both safety of the public and AGS. All that risk for what, 4 cars and 1 drunk driver?

I wonder what your tune would be like if the title was , 'Massive Garda checkpoint on M50 causes massive pile up, 3 people killed including 1 Garda', which could be easily a headline in Ireland, where driving is awfully bad, some drivers are shocking on the M50 add in a checkpoint, an accident and you've got a serious **** storm.

You are clutching at straws... people starting fires? Really?
    Again I refer you to my point that the Guards would be monitoring the situation re weather/road conditions..
    Do you think they'd be like "oh, we've just set up this big check point, and someone just lit a bonfire, or this fog suddenly moved in, will we call it all off on account of safety? Don't be silly Jarlath, we're here, we're set up, and by god we're checking all these cars"

One big truck, cones, lights, people going from 100kmp+ to a near stop. Downright dangerous again if you ask me, I am surprised there haven't been more injuries

I'm not surprised. Why? Because professional staff know how to undertake such tasks in a safe orderly manner. It's not just Mick and he lads out with a few cones, it's a thoroughly thought out process executed as it is planned.

How many deaths/serious accidents have we as on Irish roads in the last 10 years due to road works/check points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

ANPR cannot detect a drunk driver or a fake cloned registration

The company who provide the Roadworks carry out a Dynamic Risk assessment which is why you see them in the 250,000 euro trucks with the crash absorbing barrier on the back the guy putting out the cones stays on the back of a truck

So if your an idiot who cannot drive past a slow moving truck you shouldn't be on the road and please god the checkpoint will sort that problem out

The cows on the motorway last week should have caused more outrage than the police doing police work

I cannot see how it was dangerous in any way shape or form

The only danger present was drivers not following the speed limits

You are clutching at straws... people starting fires? Really?
    Again I refer you to my point that the Guards would be monitoring the situation.
    Do you think they'd be like "oh, we've just set up this big check point, and someone just lit a bonfire, will we call it all off? Don't be silly Jarlath, were here, were set up, were checking all these cars"

I'm not surprised. Why? Because professional staff know how to undertake such tasks in a safe orderly manner. It's not just Mick and he lads out with a few cones, it's a thoroughly thought out process executed as it is planned.

How many deaths/serious accidents have we as on Irish roads in the last 10 years due to road works/check points?

I'm not clutching at any straws, do you want me to draw up every single thing that could have went wrong? Use your head. It's a bad idea, not the checkpoint but it's location. Do them on 5 or so exit ramps. You don't need that type of distraction driving at 100kmp+, there easily could have been an accident and a serious one. You could have 500 Garda cars with flashing lights and all it takes is one idiot doing 100 and not paying attention to cause mayhem.

All I am saying is do them on the exit ramps it's safer for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

People claiming this is dangerous, is there any evidence? Has an accident ever occurred as a result of a Garda checkpoint?

Genuinely curious because I know plenty have occurred as a result of drink driving and if one more was prevented last night then I would say it was well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭pillphil

I'm not clutching at any straws, do you want me to draw up every single thing that could have went wrong? Use your head. It's a bad idea, not the checkpoint but it's location. Do them on 5 or so exit ramps. You don't need that type of distraction driving at 100kmp+, there easily could have been an accident and a serious one. You could have 500 Garda cars with flashing lights and all it takes is one idiot doing 100 and not paying attention to cause mayhem.

All I am saying is do them on the exit ramps it's safer for everyone.

The same logic would say you shouldn't have a checkpoint anywhere outside a built up area?

Bazzy wrote: »
    ANPR cannot detect a drunk driver or a fake cloned registration

I cannot see how it was dangerous in any way shape or form

I would trust ANPR to be more accurate and quicker than a Garda checking 100s of discs and registrations, and also chances are if your drink driving, you'll more than likely have little consideration for other things like tax, NCT or insurance.

Well then I must be the only person in Ireland who thinks this was dangerous. Cause in the space of two post, I have been shot down, don't come on here complaining when there's a massive accident at one of these things.

pillphil wrote: »
    The same logic would say you shouldn't have a checkpoint anywhere outside a built up area?

Never once said that. I welcome more checkpoints of this scale, I just think there are better places to host them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

RedorDead wrote: »
    I got caught up in this last night and it was actually quite dangerous how everything stopped really quickly. There were some roadworks warnings signs alright for 4km ahead but then 1km ahead everything went from 120kph to standstill in the space of 200-250 metres which lead to a lot of quick stopping and hazard lights.

I sat in it for 45 minutes and didnt see one cop car - just lots and lots of traffic cones - it was hair-brained. What if you had to get to the airport for a flight or to pick someone up?

So far only one yourself were actually caught up in it and you admit it was dangerous.

I'm amazed at how many people are defending this.

do you want me to draw up every single thing that could have went wrong?

Please do.
    And I would bet the Guards have thought about it and mitigated against it happening.

I could be driving tomorrow and a drunk driver could crash into me and kill me and my 2 year old son.
    I could be driving tomorrow and a meteor could hit my car and kill me and my family.
    I could be driving tomorrow and the Russians could launch an ICBM my way.

Of course there's loads that could go wrong? But did anything go wrong last night? How many people were hospitalised? What qualifications in road management & police traffic management systems do you have to come to the conclusion that the check point was dangerous?