Times you've felt old (or getting older)

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

fineso.mom wrote: »
    About an hour ago. I dropped my son to a match and stopped to talk to a little boy who used to be in the preschool I work in. He was with a few other little 5/6 yr olds. As I walked away I heard another child say to him "was that your nana? ". A little piece of me died inside. I'm about 4 yrs older than his mum. I know 5yr olds are not great with ages but...why couldn't he have said "was that your aunty?"

Awwww...please don't dwell on that. Kids that age haven't a clue! I was a volunteer for a few years in a kid's activity populated by 50 6-10 year olds. There were three volunteers..., one in her mid-40's, myself in late 30's and another girl in her early 20's. I joked once that the oldest volunteer was the boss because she was the oldest. The younger kids piped up that no way, the girl in her 20's was the oldest. The poor girl was horrified!

When I pushed them on it, they thought she must be the oldest because she was the tallest! Take heart!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Realising that you hate pubs when younger and better looking people take up spaces in pubs that were yours when you were a younger buck,some possibly only in nappies when you and your gang ruled the pubs (obnoxiously) finding it hard to deal with the noise, deciding that the point had come when a retreat to the old man's pub is nigh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Think of it this way, every day you live is a day less of your life, happy new year :D

But every day is also another day in your life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

blaze1 wrote: »
    Going bald @ 18 was bearable, but starting to find grey chest hairs and other places mid 30's is making me feel old

I once started swearing that I'd shoot myself, the moment I discovered my pubes going white.

Thankfully, nature is a wonderful thing and has even that covered :)

My gut has long since grown so f**king distended; I honestly can't remember the last time I Saw my pubes!

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Think of it this way, every day you live is a day less of your life, happy new year :D

Thanks, Sam :(

Actually; I'm chuffed as f**k! It was my birthday, last week. And ~ not being the sharpest at counting ~ I was sure it was another '0 year. However, my mate pointed out to me that I was a '9!

Dodged a f**king bullet there, so! New lease on life, me! :D

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    I feel old when trends that you were around for the first time come back again.
    Chokers being the most recent one for me.
    I think its going to hit me in a few months time when I no longer fit in the
    18-24 category on questionnaires :eek:

Wtf is a choker? A sex move? Anyway, please get out of this thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Because there wasn't one :P

He meant the euros in Sweden. Weird tournament. Ireland ballsed up big time to qualify. Had a great team and were contenders to win!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    I feel old when trends that you were around for the first time come back again.
    Chokers being the most recent one for me.
    I think its going to hit me in a few months time when I no longer fit in the
    18-24 category on questionnaires :eek:

Chokers have been aroind since the 1800's.

How fricking old are you??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

But every day is also another day in your life!

Very true, that's how an optimist would look at it where as a pessimist would see it the other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

My da says I can't grow up until he does... he is 63!

He's still only a child. ;)

Stigura wrote: »

Chokers are two smiley faces humping? Are they the dog collar things that stereotypical unruly teenage girls wear in the 90s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

Was watching a music channel all the songs fecking class enjoying all my favourite nightclub music add break I was watching mtv classics :eek: .......... ****e :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

When your childhood friend is going to be a grandmother in a few months. She probably feels older though :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I was 12 in 1994. Thanks for making me feel young :D

You're welcome!!!

73Cat wrote: »
    When your childhood friend is going to be a grandmother in a few months.

Dunno. When ye see some people, shot down in the street by their own kind. Their Lives Matter ~ apparently. And the tribute reads something like:

" Latisha. 36. Too Young, Sister! Also a loving mom and grandmom ..... "

Perhaps they breed so fast, because they're programmed to regenerate :confused:

Anyway, My name is Maximus Desmus Meridius, otherwise known as 'Stigura'. Commander of the Army of the North, General of the Felix Legions, a loyal servant to my true emperor Markus Aurelius. Father to no f**ker, husband to no f**ker and I will have nothing to do with them. In this life or the next.

Can you Feel how I care???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

When I think of my niece, who is turning 18 in a month and in her final year of high school. I was 17 when she was born & remember being at the hospital.

Also when I think of the students I taught my first year out of college. They were 12/13 years old. They're now in their late 20s, out of college, starting families. Hell, one could end up being my colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Watched The Commitments over Christmas. It's a quarter of a century old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

When I was tying my shoe laces one day and my daughter was 5/6 she said to me daddy there is a hole in the top of your head. Jaysus it was my bald spot!

She is 21 now....feel very old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

When you are shopping around online for car insurance quotes and the birth date list stops before you can get to your year of birth.

When you accidentally see yourself eg in a mirror and wonder who on earth that wrinkled old crone is.. When I first had this chromebook I was fiddling about as one does and there came a face that was so old as I had hit Camera,,then I realised that when I moved so did it... shut down fast!

BUT bliss when a man holds a door open or traffic stops to let you cross the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

28 now.

Have noticed the speed has declined in hurling. I used to have great quickness to the ball. I was known for it, scoop it up and put it over the bar before my marker knew what was happening.

These days I've teens getting there before me. It's very frustrating tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Approaching 42. I still feel quite young at heart and my 70 year old neighbour called me "young" but I got my BA degree 20 years ago and my Masters almost 19 years ago. Yikes!:eek:

Anyone under 30 who thinks they are getting old should be horsewhipped!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Approaching 42. I still feel quite young at heart and my 70 year old neighbour called me "young" but I got my BA degree 20 years ago and my Masters almost 19 years ago. Yikes!:eek:

Anyone under 30 who thinks they are getting old should be horsewhipped!:D

got mt b.a ..... lol.......would you believe well over 50 yrs ago.... I still remember Finals... Had my 21st on an exam day,,they let me keep the cards on my desk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

When freeware like Google Picasa no longer means anything anymore to the majority home users of PCs or Macbooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

valoren wrote: »
    Watched The Commitments over Christmas. It's a quarter of a century old now.

And the lead singer worked as a Dublin bus bus-conductor in the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

The day I was in the doctors surgery when my son was 2 and a little boy of about 7 calls to me

"Are you his granny ? at the top of his voice

I could have flattened him. His mother thought it was the funniest thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I had to explain to someone in work, I think he's 19 or 20, who OJ Simpson is.

Also the cold, damp weather hurts my knees.