McDonalds/Other big Corporates or Supermacs?

• 06-01-2017 08:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Don't indulge in any of it that often, but over the ould Christmas period I did. While its all generally crap that tastes bloody great, I have to say that I thought Supermacs was far better. In a funny kind of way, it was more wholesome. I remember the days when you wouldn't find a Supermacs east of the Shannon and I even remember the first time I visted a Supermacs in Galway over 25 years ago. Even then it tasted better than the big global chains.

So, is Supermacs, the homegrown effort, better than the big guys of similar fast food?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 baltika2017

snackbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Supermacs is the best of the bunch,
    Chicken sandwich is pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The local chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Supermacs is sometimes much nicer than Burger King/KFC/McDonalds combined, sometimes its just awful. Horrible cold chicken and soggy chips.

But then mcdonalds and what not are much closer and more numerous than Supermacs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Bandage

Traditional Italian style family run chipper for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I don't often be in a Supermacs but when I do, I have generally thought that it was better than the other big chains. McDonalds food is like it was made to a specific set of regulations in the US, shipped to Ireland and heated up in a microwave before being served to you. Supermacs food is like it was made to a specific set of regulations in Ireland and cooked 10 minutes before you arrived. That's high praise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,293 ✭✭✭cml387

For chips, the standard Italian chipper can't be beaten.

But burgers seem better at McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

Supermacs' chips are the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭sideswipe

XsApollo wrote: »
    Supermacs is the best of the bunch,
    Chicken sangwich is pretty good.

Fyp

Supermacs' chips are the worst.

Ah no, KFC chips are the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Supermac's all the way.
    You can get proper fish and chips in a plate, or an Irish breakfast.
    In our local one you have the usual burger/chips counter, a Subs counter that also does mixed salads, Papa John's pizzas, and a coffee counter.

All in all excellent range of choice as we don't always want the same thing in my family. Plus everything is always fresh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Big tick culchies love Supermacs, I'm a fan myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Bandage wrote: »

What I find strange is when I was in Italy I didn't see one "chipper"

Can someone explain?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 baltika2017

me don't want no bigmac

eh eh eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Bandage wrote: »

If its a good one fair enough, but jaysus a lot of them have gone to absolute **** IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

You can't get nice chips in any of them. I'll stick to my local chippy when I can't be bothered to make them myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Agricola wrote: »
    I don't often be in a Supermacs but when I do, I have generally thought that it was better than the other big chains. McDonalds food is like it was made to a specific set of regulations in the US, shipped to Ireland and heated up in a microwave before being served to you. Supermacs food is like it was made to a specific set of regulations in Ireland and cooked 10 minutes before you arrived. That's high praise!

Mickie D's ship their burgers from the US.... right.... actually 1 in 5 hamburgers sold in McDonald’s across Europe is of Irish origin!
    http://www.mcdonalds.ie/iehome/food/food_quality/about_our_food/our_beef.html

That said, if given a choice, I'll pick SuperMacs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The food isn't bad in Supermacs, even get to see a few lads take a shot for the title on the odd Saturday night as well while waiting for the food to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I rather go to any local chipper over somewhere like McDonalds etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭sideswipe

What I find strange is when I was in Italy I didn't see one "chipper"

Can someone explain?

They came to Ireland from the same region of Italy (hence the quintessential chipper names) some came from restaurant backgrounds but there was little demand for Mediterranean food here many years ago, so they supplied what the market demanded and deep fat fried the **** out of everything- the rest is history.

I've always loved mcdonalds the best. I can't eat most of their food now but I still love a fudge sundae with extra fudge
    mmmm fudge
    Their chips are ok. Chipper chips with s&v the best though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

The food isn't bad in Supermacs, even get to see a few lads take a shot for the title on the odd Saturday night as well while waiting for the food to arrive.

Thats a Galway right of passage. All those years ago I found it very entertaining as I chomped on a Mightymac and chips! And I was a tourist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Supermacs is fairly decent if you're looking for chipper food. They've started to throw as much salt into their food as any of the other chains in the past few years, but the 5oz burger with a garlic and cheese chips is nice as a treat.

The idealised image of the portly mama peeling and chipping in the local Italian chipper is long gone. They had to compete on price with the Chinese and fast food chains. So they all buy their burgers, chips, sausages etc from the same nationwide distributor. Any difference in quality is down to perception, maybe the heat of the friers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Bic Mac meal with 6 nuggets and 2 tubs of sweet N sour please.
    Coke.
    Can I have extra sauce on the big mac?.
    Thanks.
    Yes, I will go large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

The Roma in Dundalk is the best chipper in the country by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Was in Supermacs in Galway after a night out recently. Grand food. Better than Mcdonalds I'd say. Both are fairly pricey though for what you're getting.

Was living in Glasnevin last year and got a Macaris a few evenings. (Few from the one beside Autobahn and few from one beside the small Tesco on way into Finglas.) Chips were always undercooked and soggy. Really over rated (all reviews online raved about the place).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭enricoh

Got that new fresh burger in supermacs recently n i was well impressed. The never frozen one the rugby lad that does be on the telly flogging . Highly recommended - Bob appetit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

So when I visit Ireland this summer, should I give Supermacs a try?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

enricoh wrote: »
    Got that new fresh burger in supermacs recently n i was well impressed. The never frozen one the rugby lad that does be on the telly flogging . Highly recommended - Bob appetit!

That's the 5oz. It's a decent burger.

So when I visit Ireland this summer, should I give Supermacs a try?

Might as well. Wouldn't wreck myself for it.