Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tower Bar - Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,321 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

On the nacon revolution: Personally I find the inner buttons (M1 and M2 if you are looking at a diagram) too awkward to get to - you don't press them in as much as you do push them to the side, and I find it an awkward movement - so I've pretty much ignored them at this stage, and just go with the two outter buttons which are near perfectly placed.

I've only watched a review of the Razer(or whatever it is) one, but based on what I saw in the review:

It suffers from the same 2 button issue as the Revolution does. Two of them are behind the pad around where your hands rest in normal holding anyway - but there are two on the inside of the L1 and R1 postions - and to me it looks like they would be a little difficult or awkward to use without hitting L1 or R1 at the same time, you would have to arc your finger over or around them. It was something Hotzman (DCP) mentioned in his review.

For mapping the buttons - the Nacon controller has to be hooked up to your pc/laptop in order to change button mappings (very indepth and you can change the stick and trigger sensitivity as well - as well as creating macros for assignment; such as mapping the button inputs for a Street Figher special move to one button press). The Razer pad maps buttons on the fly, but pressing a mapping button on the controller, the button you wish to map from and the one you wish to map to - so you could change quickly in game. I don't know if stick or trigger sensitivity can be messed with via a seperate app though. I think both controllers allow multiple profiles to be stored on the pad - so on the Nacon, for example, you can store and switch (on the fly) between 4 different profiles depending on the game or character etc.

I think the Nacon is significantly cheaper than the other pad. I got mine for a little over €100 on Amazon, I think the Razer pad is €160 or €170.

I like my Nacon well enough, can't compare it properly to the Razer - but I would say I do miss my standard DS4 pad, which may just be a familiarity/muscle memory issue. I do like having the jump button available without having to leave the sticks, but you can do that with a different control layout in Destiny. I'm not sure I will spend the time (though I should having spent the money!) getting used to 3 other mappings (i'm nearly there on a second one for crouch, but not as natural as the different jump button) to take full use of what I have paid for. I would almost say a well spec'd Scuff pad might be better (I've heard there is another similar brand but have forgotten the same, battle something?) as it is a modified DS4 pad so you have all that familiar comfort and two extra paddles where you would want them. However, they are costly, and I've heard stories about the build quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭nevelator

I took the plunge with the Nacon one. Sisters dog chewed the bejaysus out of one of my controllers. Had an amazon voucher - so treated myself.
    Looked to have more configuration options than the Razer, was cheaper and the 4 additional buttons seem to be better placed.

BattleBeaver is the name of the other crowd that customises the PS4 controller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

nevelator wrote: »
    I took the plunge with the Nacon one. Sisters dog chewed the bejaysus out of one of my controllers. Dad an amazon voucher - so treated myself.
    Looked to have more configuration options than the Razer, was cheaper and the 4 additional buttons seem to be better placed.

BattleBeaver is the name of the other crowd that customises the PS4 controller.

320210-gamershood-battle-beavers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Razer ordered so should have it sometime next week.

What I'll do is order the Naicon(spelling)
    Tonight, will do a comparison of the 2 and let ye know which seems better, so gimme say this time next week for an update as long as shipping works out reasonable timewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

jcd5971 wrote: »

Tonight, will do a comparison of the 2 and let ye know which seems better, so gimme say this time next week for an update as long as shipping works out reasonable timewise.

(not sure if you're receiving my PSN Messages)

Here's the man of the hour himself :P

I wanted to post your actual story (I had assumed Conovar would do it that night you told us as i'd been drinking, clearly he has failed at reading my hints) and then the rap

Should you re-purchase a DS4 for a full and proper evaluation of all the controllers? :)

Is the vr worth it? Have a few vouchers to cash in on Amazon and GameStop to get it, once Amazon gets stock again. The tech nerd in me wants it but I'm worried it won't work in my room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Is the vr worth it? Have a few vouchers to cash in on Amazon and GameStop to get it, once Amazon gets stock again. The tech nerd in me wants it but I'm worried it won't work in my room.

Yeah it's class.

But it struggles a bit on ps4 not much but the pro is smoother you can't quite put your finger on what's better but it just is. Also it's super loud on ps4 as opposed to pro

Most games are glorified tech demos and the ones that are legit good are very short and expensive to boot.

I'd recommend getting the move peripheral as it makes some games way more easier to play. Also you'd need the camera so those two bits are around 150 on top of 450 for vr headset.

If you can afford it it's great but to be honest I use it little enough aside from Netflix.

It's class on Netflix hold ps button set screen size to medium or large and it's like having a cinema screen.

Other minus point is sickness it's noticeable on everything after awhile using it, also never ever use it hungover and if you do for the love of good god do not play drive club

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Look at Mr. Moneybags there..... extra copies of games, PSVR, both pro controllers..... Im just waiting for him to say his balls are made of gold next :pac:

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Look at Mr. Moneybags there..... extra copies of games, PSVR, both pro controllers..... Im just waiting for him to say his balls are made of gold next :pac:

There's only one Golden Balls

rs_1024x759-151002083946-1024-david-beckham-goodwill.ls.10215.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

There's only one Golden Balls

rs_1024x759-151002083946-1024-david-beckham-goodwill.ls.10215.jpg

Too right
    Golden_Balls_Coverart.png

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Got my Nacon last night, only played one game with it. Found the left stick looser compared to the DS4. The rumble, as Conovar pointed out, is pretty much useless. I like the rocker switch at the bottom, have mapped all 4 face buttons to them. Must have a proper go at it over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Any of ye lads playing Battlefield 1? I got a copy from Santa, and played a few games over the weekend.

It's a great game, very immersive graphics. I'm finding the learning curve very steep.

Any of ye lads playing Battlefield 1? I got a copy from Santa, and played a few games over the weekend.

It's a great game, very immersive graphics. I'm finding the learning curve very steep.

Too many games...... not enough time :(

Have BF1 on the Xbox tho and the campaign is brilliant :D

I've only played a bit of the campaign, which I thought was pretty good but I didn't get too much time at it.

The multiplayer campaigns are great. Very epic battles.

Each battle seems to be split into ~5 stages, where you try to defend or attack a series of towns / places of strategic importance. It's really well done. When you capture all the flags, you have to defend them until the enemy reinforcements run out, then move to the next stage.

They're pretty epic games though, you wouldn't be popping in for a 10 min game of crucible, like in Destiny.

Too many games...... not enough time :(

Indeed - only got round to starting Witcher 3 yesterday.
    Have basically not tried Doom.
    Have Cod:IW and MW ready to be started too.

Plus a load of PS Plus downloads such as Invisible Inc, Journey, This War of Mine.

Indeed - only got round to starting Witcher 3 yesterday.
    Have basically not tried Doom.
    Have Cod:IW and MW ready to be started too.

Plus a load of PS Plus downloads such as Invisible Inc, Journey, This War of Mine.

I am holding off on the witcher cos its going to be a time sink :(

I have started Doom/Battleborn/Titanfall 2 on the PS
    & COD:IW/MW Remaster/BF1/The Division/Dark Souls 2

All in the last couple of weeks and out of them the following can be applied:

Doom: Single Player is all I wanted it for and I dont mind dipping in and out of it until complete :D
    Battleborn: Co-op with the lads over the next few weeks (Great value for a fiver tbh)
    Titanfall 2: I might only really play this during happy hour (9pm) and its great for just going in for a quick match or two :D
    COD IW: I know most of you will hate it but its actually not the worst :eek: Like titanfall its good for hopping in and out for a few quick games.
    COD MW: Not a hope am I starting this anytime soon cos I will sink my entire life back into this :(
    BF1: Campaign is brilliant so I will dip in and out to finish it off and when its cheap on the PS4 I will get it for MP :)
    The Division: I have to say I am enjoying this. You need to set time aside for some of the stuff in this tho so no quick dip in and out on it :)
    Dark Souls 2: All I can say about this is WWWWWWWWWWWHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYY the fook was I was stupid to start this off :(

Getting my PvP fix from Overwatch and my PvE fix from a selection of Tomb Raider atm.

Started playing Darkest Dungeons yesterday too. Really like it so far

Oh yeah, got Battleborn yesterday and have an untouched Division installed on the PS4 for ages now. Will wait til a few are starting up a campaign playthrough and prob leave it at that.

I believe Wednesday is the observed "Battleborn day" atm.

Tuesday is OW day (cause Free loot in Arcade and get to try the new modes etc) as that resets on Tue like Destiny, I also want more tine to practice Oasis.

Titanfall 2 MP is fun, but can only see myself playing in once a week maybe. Investing my time into OW/Destiny PvP is enoigh for me atm

I'd be on for a few games of The Division, I got to Level 12 and just stopped playing...
    Would like to get into it again.

I'd be on for a few games of The Division, I got to Level 12 and just stopped playing...

We can't hear you over all the fun we're having in Overwatch tho :pac:

From what I remember Gimli/No-cal both play this but not sure about the rest :P Its only 16.99 in argos at the moment tho so I will go and pick it up :P

We can't hear you over all the fun we're having in Overwatch tho :pac:

Feck off adding more games to my list :(

LOL, I'll get back on O.W. too, I've reached 25 but too much of a scrub to go competitive.

There is a Scrub-Comp-Lobby beginning soon since Dudeeile/Conovar hit lvl25, just saying

And when I eventually get to 25 :P

There's the normal road to level 25 (takes about 10 hours) and there's the weird windy Conovar road where you end up at Rank 15 for 2 weeks despite playing :D

Yeah I am having issues with the latest update of the game, I was telling Dude about it last night. I have 56GB free (Well I now have 75gb free) but the patch still wont update for me, I remove the update and it will start again but still says I need more space so I havent played since the few days after I got the game. So getting to 25 is going to be a pain for me :(