Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Jazus, shouldn't you've gone to the man with the tan about two months ago!!!!

Good luck with the return to the road

TbL

Well yes, but that would be admitting that the Mrs was right all along, and that would be giving in wouldn't it... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Good to see you getting it sorted. Corkie definitely the man to sort you (was my tutor during course paying particular attention to Tib Pos) so you are definitely in good hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Been on the injury list myself so I feel your pain. Last year was out for several months too with Achilles issue and had 5-6 dry needling sessions. That eventually sorted it in tandem with strength work.

Hope you get back on the road soon!

More catch up...

After a few more sessions with "the man with the Tan", and some more sessions of dry needling (including a needle into the right Achilles), I was 95% pain free.

The holiday just past, afforded little opportunity to run, with the daily temps topping 45c. Instead I opted for the in hotel lazy river, and plotted my come back to comparative running.

Thursday 21/07 - Easy

Headed out around St Annes park for a mostly grassy run. With all the extra weight (82.2kg - all muscle) I Felt like a barrel rolling around the paths. Spitting and wheezing for 2 miles in about 17mins. Not pretty.

Sunday 24/07 - Easy

3 miles from the house, up Howth road to Raheny, turn to Watermill, and along the sea front. More barrel rolling for 8:20ish pace.

The running come back has not been as smooth as first anticipated. I have been getting out for short (usually 3-5 miles) and very easy runs (all over 8m pace). However the pain in the right Achilles persists, (not as bad as it was some months ago), but still there none the less.

By way of a log update, I have been getting out out 3-4 times per week, with about 20 miles per week, all at easy pace, with most miles in St Annes Park on the grass. The added weight (82.6kg at last weigh in), is not helping the come back.

Im scheduled for another phsyio, this Wednesday, and hopefully that should further improve matters.

No point in dwelling on the wasted year that was 2016, but suffice it to say it finished reasonably ok. The Achilles is most mended, however there is some residual pain the day after any runs.

I did manage to complete 6-7 Park runs from early November to last Saturday. The time while not spectacular, did show signs of progress from 23:56 (early Nov) to 21:34 last week.

Also I have being running the clubs winter league 2 / 3 mile most Wednesdays. The only aim there is to keep the average paces under 7:00p/m, and finish with a kick for the last 200-300m.

Also completed the Joe Noonan club race, 6 miler before Xmas, and the Fat Turkey 10K up to Howth Hill on Dec 28th. Both good leg stretchers, with a bit of banter with the lads running them.

Just signed up to run the Raheny 5 on Jan 29th. Given that its the home club race, ill probably have a few jobs to do before the race, so have no expectations for a time, just get out and enjoy it.

If I can drop 5-6Kgs, and get some club sessions going by April, run injury free, I may have a reasonable 2017..

Lastly im officially an Old Lad, and have proudly entered the V50 category :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Good luck for 2017 and an injury free year.

Wednesday 04/01/2017 - Winter League #4 - 3 miles

Iv been making a point of running all of the winter league races this season, regardless or position or pace. More a case of getting out there and having a bit of fun, and a good leg turn over. The goal was to simple keep all of the miles under 7:00m/m.

50 others turned out for the race, with a few of my running mates from days gone by. The large bunch at the start cleaned stretched out quickly, both before and behind me. First mile in 6:50, with smart lad Christy calling a 7:50 instead. Second mile 6:58 due to a lapse in concentration, and a few house on the wade avenue lap still insisting on burning smoking coal (dodging the thick clouds across the lap). Last mile in 6:49 for a 20:42 finish for 3 miles and 20th out of 50.

Still some residual pain in Achilles, and right hip this morning, but at my age....

Just been picked to run in the Dublin Cross Country Masters team (probably the B team if my honest), still should be a fcuking pain and mud fest, bit of a laugh and some valuable experience.

I don't actually own a pair of spikes, as I'v never had the occasion to wear them. Just back from un-successfully trying to get a pair in Elverys, which now only seem to stock generic and over priced stuff.

Anyway 4 miles easy tomorrow in St Annes early doors, and a Parkrun jog on Saturday, should see me to the start line...

Friday 6th January

Out for 3 miles very easy at silly O'clock in the morning. Nice run in the dark, shower, then back to bed for a half hour before getting up again, getting the Dart to work. Nice can relaxed in work for the day.

Saturday 7th Parkrun St Annes.

Just a leg stretcher before the XC, just 5K in 25 odd minutes, ran and chatted to Des for most of the day around. Ran about 200m of the XC course to gauge the firmness. Tried again to get a pair of spikes, but nothing.

Sunday 8th - Dublin Masters XC St Anne's Park

Pretty much the whole club turned up for this one, give we were hosting the event. Went with my trusty trail shoes for the run. Turned and got my number from Dick H, who nicely asked about the Achilles. A Mile warmup with Des around the pitches, which seemed to have firmed up nicely (or so I thought).

5-6 minutes before the off at 1:30pm, we all switched to the other pitch and the start line, which was pretty much water logged. Around 275 runners at the narrow start line, and I wisely kept to the rear. Off bang on time, and a very slow start with the volume trying to negotiate the narrow route. A fair bit of barging and pushing for the first minute. After the first 200m the route did harden up, with the exception of the odd puddle or spot in the shade.

Being a pretty much permanent road runner the feeling of lost traction is still pretty new. Trying to find the best path around the worst mud is a skill in itself. The narrow route was still pretty crowded for the first lap, heard shouts of "log", and a downed tree came into view, offering a nice hurdle.

Great support from the assembled crowds, and the women that had finished their race from 1:00pm. I pushed as much as I could ( as much as my limited returned training volume would allow), but was being periodically being passed by even back markers. Mostly help position on lap 2, and tried to push the merger pace on lap 3, (around 7:40 pace), I got lapped at this point, by the leaders.

By the time the last lap came around, I was empty. The final 400m I pushed on past 2 lads of a similar vintage, but was out sprinted to the finish line by a young 40 year old...

Finished in 28:32 for position 225, with not to many finishing behind. Still a great experience, great weather, good chat with some of the club lads I haven't seen in a while, and something to be savoured in my return to running.

A bottle of bubbles with MrsDrak later in the house finished a great day...

Tuesday 10/01 - 4*1M @ 7:10pace, 2 Min off and 2M warmup.

First proper session in the great come back. As above it was one that was tried and tested before. I elongated the 2 mile warmup to a 2.3 to get past the Killester shops and the road crosses.

Mile 1 - 7.09
    Mile 2 - 7:06
    Mile 3 - 7:14 - Bad part of the coast Rd.
    Mile 4 - 7:02

Was really hanging on the last reap and just wanted it to end. Still happy getting it completed.

Wednesday 11/01 - Easy

Just 3.8 easy miles from the house to village, Called into the clubhouse, but nobody going my way (or pace), so continued on to the wade ave loop, a bit of Raheny 5 route, coast road and home.

About 3.8 miles @ 8:15 pace

Thursday 12 January - Steady

Jogged up to the clubhouse and met up with a few of the lads for a snowy and sleety 6:30pm run. The freezing condition required leggings and jumpers and coats shorts and a t-shirt. Not much banter as we all needed to concentrate on the roads ahead. Still a useful 7.5 miles in an hour for a not easy but not steady 8:05 paced run.

Saturday 14 January - Parkrun St Annes.

Massive numbers down to St Annes for the weekly run. Frosty in patches and the downhill required a easy descent.

Leinster Masters XC - Dunboyne 6K

Got a late call up for this one on Thursday from the coach. Unfortunately the M50 team was decimated due to the non running of Mick and Damo, still commet the hour commeth the man, and I duly go the call. The course in Dunboyne was best described as a rutted and muddy field, still it was mostly flat, and there was little or no wind, bar one part of the exposed course. Had a brief chat with Ian C and John D, making up a very strong M35 team, before the off.

Lined up with 250 odd other runners, and headed off at 1:15, immediately struggling to hold a position toward the rear of the field. With the few pervious junior races, the route was already muddy and footing difficult to judge. The course comprised of 2 large fields with a narrow access path joining them, and some resulting bunching at those points.

Had a few private battles with other back markers, passing a few when I pushed the pace. The support was great from the other team mates with both coaches also offering sound advice. By the 3rd lap I was finished, and just wanted to complete the race, which duly arrived a few min's later. Crossed the line in 27:12 for 7:01m/m avg for around 200th place.

The Raheny M35 wont the team gold, but due to a somebody not turning up, the M50 only fielded a 3 man team so had nothing to shoot for. Still more valuable XC experience and another outing where I ran at my current absolute limit.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1527849188

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Thursday 12 January - Steady

Jogged up to the clubhouse and met up with a few of the lads for a snowy and sleety 6:30pm run. The freezing condition required leggings and jumpers and coats shorts and a t-shirt. Not much banter as we all needed to concentrate on the roads ahead. Still a useful 7.5 miles in an hour for a not easy but not steady 8:05 paced run.

Saturday 14 January - Parkrun St Annes.

Massive numbers down to St Annes for the weekly run. Frosty in patches and the downhill required a easy descent.

Leinster Masters XC - Dunboyne 6K

Got a late call up for this one on Thursday from the coach. Unfortunately the M50 team was decimated due to the non running of Mick and Damo, still commet the hour commeth the man, and I duly go the call. The course in Dunboyne was best described as a rutted and muddy field, still it was mostly flat, and there was little or no wind, bar one part of the exposed course. Had a brief chat with Ian C and John D, making up a very strong M35 team, before the off.

Lined up with 250 odd other runners, and headed off at 1:15, immediately struggling to hold a position toward the rear of the field. With the few pervious junior races, the route was already muddy and footing difficult to judge. The course comprised of 2 large fields with a narrow access path joining them, and some resulting bunching at those points.

Had a few private battles with other back markers, passing a few when I pushed the pace. The support was great from the other team mates with both coaches also offering sound advice. By the 3rd lap I was finished, and just wanted to complete the race, which duly arrived a few min's later. Crossed the line in 27:12 for 7:01m/m avg for around 200th place.

The Raheny M35 wont the team gold, but due to a somebody not turning up, the M50 only fielded a 3 man team so had nothing to shoot for. Still more valuable XC experience and another outing where I ran at my current absolute limit.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1527849188

Yes indeed, great numbers from RS around the course. Kind of threw me a bit, in that with all the shouts you were getting, I kept thinking you were a lot closer (I finished about 10 seconds ahead) than you actually were. Best of luck with the recovery.

J.

I finished about 10 seconds ahead.
    J.

A Jesus, iv I have just of know that, I could have tried a bit harder :(

Some up coming races I'm intending to do, or already signed up for.

Date Race
    29/01/2017 Raheny 5
    12/03/2017 Ballycotton
    25/03/2017 BHAA - DCC
    17/04/2017 Battly of Clontarf 10M
    28/05/2017 Strawberry Half
    30/05/2017 BHAA - Government Services
    14/06/2017 BHAA Trinity
    09/07/2017 Clontarf Half
    23/07/2017 Fingal 10K
    13/08/2017 Rock and Roll Half
    26/08/2017 Frank Duffy
    23/09/2017 Dublin Half

Plus as many ParkRuns and local club Winter and Summer series as I can fit in.

Tuesday 17/Jan - Easy

Just 4 easy miles from the house to Wade Avenue and back along the sea front. 4 miles in 33mins.

Wednesday - Winter League Round 5

Out in town the previous day for MrsDraks Birthday, so a little tired going into this one. Around 60 turned up for round 5 of the winter league. Weather was perfect with temps around 10c and no wind. Lined too far back at the start, so some dodging to get into my pace group. Pushed on hard for the first mile, and happy to feel some added pace in the lags, that was not there before.

Passed 5-6 more over the second mile, and finished in 28th place in 13:03 for 6:31 avg for the 2 miles.

Very happy with the result and an improvement of 20seconds (10s per mile) from before Xmas for the same race.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1476001499

Thursday 19/01 - PP Steady

February 25th was the last time I ran in the PP, so nice to get back there for a lunch time run. 5.9 miles @ steady pace in around 46mins.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1532660509

Saturday 21 - Jan

Opted for a gently return to sessions, so decided that running with the club groups would be a bad idea for the next few weeks until, the Achillies is 100%.

Ran up from the house and met up with the lads @ 8, and run for a few minutes only, as they were off to Sutton cross for a easy 8 miles. I turned off at st Annes, and stopped at the start of the avenue for 5 minute to recover. Ran the small park oval for 4*540M, reps were:-

1 - 6:11
    2 - 6.16
    3 - 6.06
    4 - 6.03

Ran home after for a total of 6miles odd.

Sunday 22nd - LSR

Met with a full club complement, and my old running group from a few years ago. They were running 12 miles, but that was to much for me, so opted to hang on until I got dropped. Managed around 5 miles with them, with a bit of banter, until I had to drop out the back.

A total of 9miles in 1:12 for 7:57 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1538778284

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Can I ask why are you running your runs so fast if your Achilles is not 100%?? 9 miles@7.57, Easy run at 8.15 pace just two runs over past few posts that I've picked out plus XC races and few club races. Your Achilles ain't ever going to get 100% if you keep that up IMO, slow the easy runs down by 20-30 seconds and you might see more improvement in the injury.

Meant in a constructive way as I feel your pain on the injury front and would hate to see you suffering again.

tang1 wrote: »
    Can I ask why are you running your runs so fast if your Achilles is not 100%??

I didn't think you cared :D:D

But seriously, the injury has been getting better each week. I'm complementing the runs with 3 sessions of Gym work and stretching per week, that I don't log here. At this stage i think I'm 90% recovered...

As regards pacing, its a case of we run at a pace, that is usually steady, or the pace that is set down. If you cant maintain then you fall out the back. It call the school of hard knocks training plan... Its kind of a club thing at this stage...

Anyway, are you doing the Raheny5 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

MisterDrak wrote: »
    I didn't think you cared :D:D

But seriously, the injury has been getting better each week. I'm complementing the runs with 3 sessions of Gym work and stretching per week, that I don't log here. At this stage i think I'm 90% recovered...

As regards pacing, its a case of we run at a pace, that is usually steady, or the pace that is set down. If you cant maintain then you fall out the back. It call the school of hard knocks training plan... Its kind of a club thing at this stage...

Anyway, are you doing the Raheny5 ?

Just take her handy so!!! No, not running Raheny it's the Trim 10 mile for me the following week, hoping for decent result at that.

Tuesday 24th Jan - Easy-ish.

Cold and windy night, to cold and windy to be out running. Opted to stay off the sea front and instead a loopy loopy round around Raheny. Not much else to report. 6.6 miles in 55mins for 8:10 avg.

Wednesday 25th - Easy

No winter league as the 5, is on Sunday. So just 2.5 easy miles after the gym.

Thursday 26th - Steady

6.6 miles @ 7:50 pace, but felt faster, around the phoenix park al lunch time.

Saturday 28th - Easy

Parkrun St Annes, but I opted to just run with some of the lads, and exit when the going got tough. Managed 2 miles @ 8:10 pace, by way of prep for tomorrow.

Sunday 29th - Raheny 5

Given that it was the clubs big day, most of us were obliged to handle some of the many jobs. As I was running, I did the race numbers so I could nip out at 2:45pm get in a short warmup, that should coincide with a slacking off of demand for the race numbers. Still, standing stationary for over 2 hours is not the idea race prep, but I had no targets for the race, bar to run sub 35mins.

I duly got out of the hall with 15 minutes to spare, and did a short loop of the wade avenue 1 mile route, in the easing rain.

With the expected congestion on all saints road, with over 3,500 runners, I decided to join well up the front, (about 4 rows back). Briefly spoke to a vet at 74 years old looking for a speedy 37 minute finish.

Off we went at 3:00pm, and I ran as hard as I could, to hold position on All Saints Ave, but in a race like the Raheny 5, and 6:30 pace, only 4 rows back will only lead to one thing, being passed like crazy. Speaking of which AMK, says hello, as he “jogs” smoothly past. Just after I passed a fellow female clubmate EMac, who I have struggled to compete with on the Saturday Parkruns and winter league over the last few weeks.

The support from the onlookers was fantastic, plenty of calls of “Come on Dave” or “Come on Raheny”, with MrsDrak at the left turn for the Howth road, shouting the loudest. Luckily the road was closed off for the 10-15 minutes, which afforded plenty of space for the runners to spread across. Mile in in 6:24. I got a bit frustrated at this stage, purely down to running as hard as I dared, but still be passed intermittently.

The welcome left and immediate downhill on Sybil Hill road, offer some respite from the effort levels. Also the passing has almost stopped at this stage, saying that I was now in the correct pace group. Second mile in a slower 6:41, but I was probably running at close to my maximum effort for this distance. Another left turn on to Vernon Ave, ( again closed ), and more support shouts from the Raheny marshals, including JF, and mile 3 in 6:49. The next left turn opened up St Annes park and the short diversion around the kids adventure park, that is new to the course this year.

The avenue offered a glimpse of the lads towards the front of the race, with only a crash barrier separating us. I wonder did anyone skip across for a short cut.??? The avenue does have a small drag built in, and I felt the effort levels again rising, however given I have run so many hard efforts along here, between club sessions and old parkruns, the effort felt natural and normal at this point. Spotted FBOT01 on the far side, flying along.

EMac still behind me, and the short 3-4 second delay between “Raheny” shout said she was still within striking distance of me. This was confirmed when I rounded the final barrier, half way up the avenue, and she was a scant 10m behind me.

I again pushed the pace on the now slight downhill, happy that I was now nearing the end of the race with ¾ of a mile remaining. A few more corners remaining as we exited St Annes, and the pain and effort levels were again climbing. Emac still just behind. I vowed not to let her pass, and for the final time pushed the pace around All Saints Park. Rounding the final right turn, the timing clock read 33:31, so a sub 34 was on the cards. Tried for the big finish, but nothing remaining at all, (which is a good thing). Got a nice call out from Dick Hooper, as I crossed the line in 33:43.

The race is my absolute favourite of the year, and was my very first race back in 2006. Great support, great route (but the old route was better), and just 3 minutes to the house after.

The return to running continues…

Winter League - Round 6 - 01/02/2017

Clubs winter league and a 3 miler to boot. Still some residual tiredness from the Raheny 5 in the legs, so opted to start conservatively. Had a good battle with a "fully clothed runner" over mile 1 and 2, some shoulder to shoulder action for 10 minutes.... Eventually pulled ahead with .5 of a mile to go. Finished the 3 miles in 20:14 for a 6:38 avg.

Parkrun St-Annes - 04/02/2017

Out with the company in town until 2:30am on the Saturday morning and still smelling like a brewery, I towed the line in St Annes @ 9:30. The absolute best way to get rid of a hangover. Ran as well as I was able and finished in 22:20 for a 7:19 avg. Grand for the rest of the day until the tiredness hit me at 4pm.

Sunday - LSR.

Still some tiredness on the Sunday morning, and as a result missed getting up for the early morning lads run. Opted for a different route from the house, to the village, Donamede SC, Baldoyle, Coast road, Borrow road, and then Coast road.

Lovely route and even stopped on Borrow road to take in the sun rise over a still sea.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1563511910

9 miles in 1:09.

Tuesday 07/02 - 4*1 with 2 min off and 2 warmup.

Found this session very hard last week, so vowed to try hard this week. Opted for a slightly different route, as the wind was glowing hard, so to much "coast Road Action" could add to the hardship.

2.2 miles @ 7:52 pace by way of a warmup, then the mile splits were :-

Mile 1 - 7:14
    Mile 2 - 7:10
    Mile 3 - 7:08
    Mile 4 - 7:07

Followed by a mile and a bit @ 8m/m

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1563511920

I think that I hold back slightly with the dark nights, so home thinking that I might trip... Anyway excuse over.

Wednesday 08/02/2017 - Steady with the Club

Just 6.2 steady miles with the lads in abound 50minutes. Wind again a factor.

Thursday 09/10/2017 - 4*390.

This was originally to be a easy 5 miles, but with no club sessions scheduled for at least another month, I though it prudent to kick in a few faster passed reps.

Opted for a flat and straight spot just off causeway road, that was well lit, but just short of the 400m. The straight was important, as I feel that any sharp corners at the moment may affect the mostly cured Achilles.

Rep1 - 79sec
    Rep2 - 75sec
    Rep3 - 78sec
    Rep4 - 75sec

Finished off with a easy 1.2 miles back to the house.

Saturday - St Annes Park run.

Decided to run this hard, but a few friends calling over to us on the Friday limited the hardness of the run somewhat, with the several bottles of red consumed. Still a useful 20:56 and 30th place and 1st over 50 not a worst return for the efforts.

Bit of a gap posting as work is mad at the moment.

Sunday 11/02/2017 - Nada

Started out @ 7:55am to run up the club and meet the lads for the normal Sunday run/chat, but horrible shooting pain in the Achilles again. Pretty pissed off, as I thought this was behind me.

Still opted for a weights and stretching session in the gym instead.

Monday 12/02/17 - Easy

The foot seemed recovered during the day, so ventured out for an easy run on my own, for 6 miles @ 8:20 pace. Savage wind on the coast road.

Tuesday 13/02/2017 - Easy

Much the same as day before, 6 miles easy @ about 8m/m.

Thursday 16/02/2017 - 4*1 mile

A big work day on the Wednesday (drove to Kerry, long days work, and drove back) had me wreaked. A 4*1 was probably a poor training decision, however I have been trying to get in 1-2 session per week.

Rep1 - 7:18
    Rep2 - 7:04
    Rep3 - 7:15
    Rep4 - 7:09

The combination of strong winds on the sea front and the head not being into it explained the poor mile times. Still good to get out...

Saturday 18/02/17 - 5* 600M

StAnnes park, for some lonely reps. Again I will continue to do these on my own until I am 100% sure that Achilles is fully recovered.

All reps were around 6m/m pace, bar the last on @ 5:31pace.

31 miles for the week.

Sunday - 19/02 - LSR

Headed out about 20 minutes later than normal, with a few more twinges in the Achilles, so took the going very gingerly. Also decided to avoid the lads, for fear that I would get sucked into an unwanted steady pace with them. Handy down the Howth Road, and Left on to Lawrence's Road all around 8:00m pace. On to the Sea front and I was immediately greeted with a "Hello Dave, where were you hiding" ? from the lads... Pulled up my sock and got that head down for 3-4 miles @ 7:10ish pace. but no banter...

Monday 20/02 Steady

6.3 miles @ Steady pace (around 7:40) from the house out to Offington in Sutton, back before it was totally dark.

Wednesday - Easy

Just 7 easy miles along the coast road and home, Nothing to report.

Thursday 23/02 - See above...

Saturday - StAnnes Park run.

Was in two minds about this one before. Would the session 6*500 or the Parkrun be more beneficial ? Opted for the park run, and probably the wrong decision.

Seemingly it was pacer Saturday, with pacers at 19, 20,22,24,26,28,30, so no excuse for any missed targets. I instead had the lofty ambition of staying ahead of EMac and DesL, and run under 21.
    Ambition satisfied with a 20:41, and 28 place and 6:45pace. Mostly happy with a 15 sec improvement over parkrun 2 weeks ago.
    Must try Fr Collins and see what that looks like on a flat, if bendy course.

Sunday - LSR

Wide away from early doors, so went out before the lads, no biggie, as the wind was expected to hit in the late morning, so the earlier the better. 9.8 miles, and felt good by the end of the run.

33 miles for the week
    30 for last week
    24 for the week before...

I watched the Alex Ferguson @ the London business school documentary at the weekend, One of his strongest messages about getting the best out of training was consistency, day to day, week to week etc... Obvious really, but when Fergie says it...

Monday 27-Feb - Easy --> Steady

A run that started @easy pace then turned into a steady paced run with the lads. 5.3 miles at avg 7:31 pace.

February Monthly Summary

111 Miles ran - Still a low number, but still coming back.
    2 Parkruns - 20:56, 20:41
    1 Winter League race (2 Miles)
    4 Sessions

Wednesday 01-Mar - Winter-league 2 miles

Started with a 2 mile warmup, on the wade avenue 1 mile loop, with a few shuttles before the off. Settled into a decent pace for the first 1/2 mile. Pushed on from there making up a few places every few minutes. Got sights on JF with 400m to go, but the gap was to large to bridge. Still happy with a 12:52 for just over the 2 miles and 6:24avg.

Friday 03-03

Missed the Thursday run due to a fab meal in Howth - Boquerai, instead opted for an easy run of 5 miles on the Friday night.

Saturday 04/03 - 6*560, with 2 min off.

2.8 mile warmup and a few stretches. Decided on the now familiar StAnnes park loop. All reps around 6m/m pace, with the reps being completed in 2:05 to 2:09. After an easy jog back to the village and a coffee and sourdough for my efforts :)

Sunday - LSR.

Being very busy in work meant that I need to work on Sunday, possibly that's the reason that I couldn't sleep and decided to go into the office at 5:40am. got in a handy 4 hours, at the desk, with a McMuffin for brekie at 7:30...
    Home and out running at just after 10am, for a (all things considered) surprising pacey 10.2 miles in 1:16 about 7:34avg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Dave, are the winter leagues open to anyone or is it just Raheny Shamrocks?

Open to all comers Alan. €7 per race, run on the Road relays Circuit. Usually about 50 runners, depending on weather and other mid week races.

A decent standard usually, Ian Conroy won last weeks in 10:15. A few others would be sub 11 regulars also.

Next 2 are 1 milers, (then a 3m) with the last one (Wednesday 19th April) being the selection race for the national Road relays teams. All up on the website...

Monday 06/03 - Monday - Easy

Easy run, of 4 miles. Nothing else to report.

Tuesday 07/03 - Tuesday - Easy

Down in Kerry on business for 2 days, got the train down as I didn't fancy spending 3 1/2 hours driving, and driving wouldn't provide the opportunity to do some work anyway. Managed to get 5 miles on footpaths around Killorglin, that involved back and forth twice on the same strip, and I didn't want to risk the roads around there.

09/03 - Thursday - PP - Steady

Steady run to get the stiffness out of the legs from the train trip. 6.6 miles in 49mins for 7:32avg. Nice Day to run in the Park, some actual warmth from the sun.

11/03/2017 - Saturday - 6*560 + 2.5m warmup and Down.

Had a few pints watching the Disappointing Ireland / Wales rugby on the Friday night, so slightly de-tuned for this one. 2.7 miles warmup, to the St Annes loop. Was very sluggish on the first rep, until I caught sight of Dick Hooper on his normal Saturday morning jog, form changed immediately, arm and legs pumping.
    He had a rye smile on his face as I passed him... Guess I was not fooling anyone:mad:

Paces were :-
    Rep1 - 2:07 - 6:09 Pace
    Rep2 - 2:11 - 6:20 Pace
    Rep3 - 2:04 - 6:01 Pace
    Rep4 - 2:04 - 6:01 Pace
    Rep5 - 2:11 - 6:20 Pace
    Rep6 - 2:04 - 6:01 Pace

Followed by 2.5 miles back home.

12/03 - Sunday - LSR

LSR with the lads from the club house. Got in around 4 miles with them, but decided against the loop into town and the 3 arena, as I was still tired from the session the day before. I instead branched off at the 5 lamps, and made my way back to the sea front and home.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1618389719

13/03 - Monday - Easy

4.5 easy miles, a bit broken after the weekend.

14/03/2017 - Tuesday - Steady

Home early from off site meetings, and opted to run the day off me. 6.2 miles at steady pace around 7:30.

15/03/2017 - Winter League Round 9 - 1Mile

I Was thinking about this race all day. Have run very few single miles in race conditions, so with only 4 session weeks in the legs what could I drag this old body around in was the big question ???
    The best result in the last 2 mile winter league was 12:55, 2 6:28ish miles. So I would be happy with a 6:15ish on the night.

Warmup consisted of a 2 mile @ easy pace, followed by some high legs, and shuttles. A big crew of quality runners down for this first 1 miler, with the final 1 miler in 4 weeks being the Qualifying race for the national road relays.

Settled in on the second row and waited for the off from Pat Hooper. Unlike most races I was really syked up for this, I was on the toes and ready to go, focased on the "GO". "GO"... All of the front line literally lept forward and within 2-3 second had a 4-5 meter lead over me. I pushed as hard as I could for the first 400m, which is up a slight drag, holding on to about 20th position.

Had my sights on MK, as he is in the same age category and in with a chance of a Road relay place, so I needed to finish ahead of him. I felt like Woody from Toy story running (look it up), all form was gone, arms were all over the place, all of this conducted in the dark, with limited street light. At Half way the breathing was laboured and was that a bit of lactate beginning to make it way into the muscles ? Around this point I got past M, and pushed on as much as I could.

My heart felt like it was about to burst, making the final left turn, with 300m to go. All I could think was not to let M past, please don't let him past me... Got to the final 30m, and Christie calls out 5:35 WTF WTF... is that not 6:35? Over the line and crash into another slowing runner, and finish with a 5:49.

Bloody happy with that result, and taking M down for the first time in the league. The breathing only got back to normal after 5 minutes with a well earned slow jog around the loop.

Fingers crossed I can take another 10-15seconds off this in a months, and be in with the shot for the road relays M50 B team...