Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

A Sliced Pan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

Victor wrote: »
    "Werk" is a "works" (as in "iron works"), i.e. somewhere where arms can be made. Strictly speaking, in modern English usage, an armoury is somewhere where arms are kept, not made.A magazine is where you keep ammunition.

As a former soldier, I'm well aware that an armoury is where arms are kept. However, in German, a 'Zeughaus' is what an armoury is called. A place where arms are made is correctly called a 'waffenfabrik', or certainly was when I lived next door to the former Spandau Armament Factory [Waffenfabrik Spandau] in Berlin/Spandau. It's just down the road from the Spandauer Zeughaus [Spandau Arsenal].

A well-known firearms reference book, published in German only, called Zeughaus Ueberlingen, describes in detail the collection held in the building - the Zeughaus - in that town. One of my three Swiss rifles has a tag under the buttplate, advising me that it really belongs to the Zeughaus Bern [Eigentum Berner Zeughaus - property of the Bern Arsenal], and not to me.

The word 'Waffenfabrik' also appears on numerous rifles and handguns in my possession, from Walther to Mauser and Krico.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 documental

tac foley wrote: »
    Yakuza wrote: »
    Don't forget doobrey and a what-you-may-call-it (Whatchamacallit?:)). Spanish also has a handy system for replacing a word you've forgotten / don't know - just use "lo de" (that of) and a related word and usually people figure out what you mean (throw in a few hand gestures for good measure).

Japanese also has an 'in-fill' word/sound.......'anooooooooooooooooooooo' seems to be used everywhere as a Japanese version of 'um', or 'lo de'....

tac
    As you mention "anooo" is basically "ummm," or "errrr" -- i.e., a way to fill in space while forming a thought. This is how it's used when stretched out like that, especially at the start of a sentence, despite the actual word "ano" being similar to "that" in English.
    "Yoke," on the other hand, is used to fill in for an object you don't feel like naming, or can't, correct? Really a great word, so much better and shorter than "whatchamacallit" etc. I had no idea it came from Celtic Irish, so there ya go!
    The Spanish "lo de" sounds similar in usage to yoke.
    If you're going down the Japanese rabbit-hole, I would say "___ yatsu" would be a reasonable homologue to yoke. It's less formal than "mono"(thing) which is usually used in specific compound nouns like "wasuremono" (forgotten items) or "kudamono" (fruit).  You could say say "otousan ga tabeta yatsu" to mean "The thing that Dad ate," if you couldn't come up with the food off-hand!
    Yatsu can also be used to indicate a person, which is handy, I've found. "Wakai yatsu," meaning "the young guy/girl." Or "futotteru yatsu," being "the fat one!"
    -doc

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Seems the word "lodgement" isn't common amongst our nearest neighbours. Or at least to some scottish lads I was talking to in our Glasgow site.

Ireland has loads of mental phrases that don't logically translate. Like "as the fellah says". What fellah? How is he relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Yoke
    Very common in the West of Ireland to refer to a person or thing.

Slightly pejorative connotation if referring to a person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,479 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Hot press would usually reference the boiler of the house being in the cupboard or press where shelfs are built about it to store towels and bedding. In the UK boilers would be in a basement or attic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,228 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I think originally it was a clothes press (also in England), whereas the cup board was a shelf for cups. I suppose if it got doors it became a press in Ireland, similar to the ones for clothes, whereas in England it remained a cupboard. I am guessing a bit here but I think that is more or less on the right lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Hot press would usually reference the boiler of the house being in the cupboard or press where shelfs are built about it to store towels and bedding. In the UK boilers would be in a basement or attic.

Growing up in Dublin we always called the hot water cylinder the boiler. If you had a gas or an oil fired boiler you would not have in the hot press. The hot water cylinder was in the hot press in the living room.