Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Sliced Pan?

• 06-10-2004 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

Hello there,

I live in the UK and have come accross many words that I thought were in the English language. A good example is a hot press, apparently this is only known as an airing cupboard in the UK. The latest is a sliced pan, does anyone know if this is a uniquely Irish word or expression as it was met with blank expressions when I used it tonight,
    any ideas?

Alanna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

I was born in Dublin and lived in London most of life, well up untill three years ago when i moved back to Ireland after my family having moving back a couple of years prior and i have only heard that expression for a loaf of bread used in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

So what do they say in England? A sliced loaf?

It is amazing how many expressions we have here, even amongst people who don't have strong country accents, that are not found in the English of other countries

simu wrote:
    So what do they say in England? A sliced loaf?

It is amazing how many expressions we have here, even amongst people who don't have strong country accents, that are not found in the English of other countries

Yeah sliced loaf/loaf of bread. Its also amazing how when you live in a different country for a short while and you manage to pick up these new sayings and expressions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

In my opinion, the phrase "a sliced pan" could have two distinct origins:

1. From the pan used to bake the bread in,
    2. From an anglicisation of "pain", the French for bread. (Although I admit that the sliced white pan is a very un-French form of bread.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Never heard of it until I lived in Ireland (from Scotland myself).

Never thought about the pain connotation although I would imagine it would be in reference to the pan used to bake it in. Although, it wouldn't be much of a pan would it, more of a cake tin type thing.

Where's that sceptre when you need him?!

oh here's another one - "delf" (bah, think I got the word wrong - it means crockery in Ireland apparently, never heard of it outside Ireland)

(Welcome to boards incidentally!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

According to two online dictionaries, delph is an abbreviation of Delftware (www.delftware.com), the blue and white pottery from the Dutch town of delft. Click here for more information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

acting the maggot - messing around
    trick-acting - messing around
    culchies - peoplefrom a rural background
    eejit - idiot or fool
    ate the face off me - give out to someone
    thats was gas - something that is very funny
    made a holy show of me - to embaress someone/thing
    im on the jax - on the toilet
    get the messages - do the shopping
    she is me mot - she is my girlfriend
    going to the pictures - going to the cinema
    scarlet - to be embarrassed

thats most of what i could think of.

oh and, I Will in me Arse - im not doing that

Well Pan means Bread in Spanish, that could have something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Getting the messages is also a Scottish saying (if not British).

Also in Scotland they say Ken for know... so I dinni ken, means.. i don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Chonaic

Ive a few:
    boyo, kip, bollocks, bolloxed, locked, fib, chipper, kniack-knack, gaff, grand (as in fine/okay), janey-mac, jaysus, ma, da, rapid, scab(as in scabby person), scutters, up the pole/stringer/duff, get your hole, shaping(as in showing off), sound, class, dodgy(as in not looking to good), gurrier,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Rredwell wrote:
    2. From an anglicisation of "pain", the French for bread. (Although I admit that the sliced white pan is a very un-French form of bread.)
    As the son of a baker, I suspect it is actually the former, although bread is baked in tins (which aren't made of tin).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Alanna wrote:
    I live in the UK and have come accross many words that I thought were in the English language. A good example is a hot press, apparently this is only known as an airing cupboard in the UK. The latest is a sliced pan

Both "hot press" and "pan" in the sense of a loaf are examples of Hiberno-English retaining words after they have died out elsewhere. Well, hot press" isn't quite this, but rather it derives from "press" in the sense of cupboard and that is an old English word that has died out in most of England (although it's still found in Yorkshire).

"Hot press" is a particularly confusing case as in many places it means a hot trouser press. If you offered to put an English guest's clothes "in the hot press" they might be very impressed that you were so equipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Wullie

I'm from Lanarkshire Scotland and bought a 'sliced pan' yesterday as well as a 'sliced plain'. we have always called it that here. Don't know what part of Scotland you are from Gordon if you have never heard of this ? The 'press' is where we have always stored our linen etc. 'Delf' is cups, plates and saucers here.

BTW I 'got my hole' last night and I hope she is not 'up the duff' :D And I 'get the messages' mostly on a friday. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭jm2k

Don't they say "trainers" for runners and "felt tip pens" for markers in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

That isn't unique to the U.K. though. I'd use both terms.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"come here till I tell you" can be met with a "huh ? I'm already here"

pane (with a long "pan-eh?" ) is Italian for bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Asking for red lemonade in your drink gets some funny looks from an English barrman!

Sliced pan! What about a sliced batch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Me and my cousins always knew it as a hot press in London grown up. But that could have also been down to having Irish parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Did the slang word gouger come from the Indian word gujar?
    They were a sort of Punjabi knacker well known during the Indian Mutiny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

One word that I've never heard ANYWHERE outside Ireland is 'yoke' [ióc] for anything that you can't be aresd [another Irish-ism] to name properly. Mind you, it seems to have been a Wickla and north thing - my dad, who was an Irish-speaker from Co. Cork, never used it in English.

He also used to say 'hanging to pieces' - as in 'his trousers were ...........'

Also 'he has the beat of ya'

'raging' - annoyed strongly.

'something fierce' - quite strongly.

'Janie!' exclamation of surprise.

tac

jm2k wrote: »
    Don't they say "trainers" for runners and "felt tip pens" for markers in the UK?

Yup.

tac

Rredwell wrote: »

I agree .2 - the words pan/pain are pronounced the same.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

"G'away ouwwa dat" is an Irish (perhaps Dublin-only?) way to say "My good man, I doubt the veracity of the statement you have made. Could you elucidate?"

tac foley wrote: »
    One word that I've never heard ANYWHERE outside Ireland is 'yoke' [ióc] for anything that you can't be aresd [another Irish-ism] to name properly. Mind you, it seems to have been a Wickla and north thing - my dad, who was an Irish-speaker from Co. Cork, never used it in English.

You mean a thingamajig, contraption, device, doodad, doohickey, gadget, gizmo, thingamabob, widget as opposed to necessarily a crossbar joining animals or something figuratively holding things together.

French has 'truc' and German has the systematic '-zeug' suffix, e.g. 'flugzeug' (aircraft) comes from 'flug' (flight) and 'zeug' (stuff/things/gear).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Don't forget doobrey and a what-you-may-call-it (Whatchamacallit?:)). Spanish also has a handy system for replacing a word you've forgotten / don't know - just use "lo de" (that of) and a related word and usually people figure out what you mean (throw in a few hand gestures for good measure).

Yakuza wrote: »
    Don't forget doobrey and a what-you-may-call-it (Whatchamacallit?:)). Spanish also has a handy system for replacing a word you've forgotten / don't know - just use "lo de" (that of) and a related word and usually people figure out what you mean (throw in a few hand gestures for good measure).

Japanese also has an 'in-fill' word/sound.......'anooooooooooooooooooooo' seems to be used everywhere as a Japanese version of 'um', or 'lo de'....

tac

Victor wrote: »
    You mean a thingamajig, contraption, device, doodad, doohickey, gadget, gizmo, thingamabob, widget as opposed to necessarily a crossbar joining animals or something figuratively holding things together.

French has 'truc' and German has the systematic '-zeug' suffix, e.g. 'flugzeug' (aircraft) comes from 'flug' (flight) and 'zeug' (stuff/things/gear).

Yups, but also in its own right as 'tool', as in 'werkzeug'. The word 'zeug' as a part-noun can also be seen in 'Zeughaus' - 'armoury'. Also in Berlin that same word is interchangeable with 'werkstatt' - 'workshop' - as a workplace, BTW, NOT a store.

As I noted earlier - Irish 'ióc'/Yoke is an catch-all nondescript word.

tac

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There's a German word 'Dingsbums' which has no real meaning apart from describing the momentarily forgotten.

Yups, but also in its own right as 'tool', as in 'werkzeug'. The word 'zeug' as a part-noun can also be seen in 'Zeughaus' - 'armoury'. Also in Berlin that same word is interchangeable with 'werkstatt' - 'workshop' - as a workplace, BTW, NOT a store.

"Werk" is a "works" (as in "iron works"), i.e. somewhere where arms can be made. Strictly speaking, in modern English usage, an armoury is somewhere where arms are kept, not made.A magazine is where you keep ammunition.

Victor wrote: »
    "Werk" is a "works" (as in "iron works"), i.e. somewhere where arms can be made. Strictly speaking, in modern English usage, an armoury is somewhere where arms are kept, not made.A magazine is where you keep ammunition.

As a former soldier, I'm well aware that an armoury is where arms are kept. However, in German, a 'Zeughaus' is what an armoury is called. A place where arms are made is correctly called a 'waffenfabrik', or certainly was when I lived next door to the former Spandau Armament Factory [Waffenfabrik Spandau] in Berlin/Spandau. It's just down the road from the Spandauer Zeughaus [Spandau Arsenal].

A well-known firearms reference book, published in German only, called Zeughaus Ueberlingen, describes in detail the collection held in the building - the Zeughaus - in that town. One of my three Swiss rifles has a tag under the buttplate, advising me that it really belongs to the Zeughaus Bern [Eigentum Berner Zeughaus - property of the Bern Arsenal], and not to me.

The word 'Waffenfabrik' also appears on numerous rifles and handguns in my possession, from Walther to Mauser and Krico.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 documental

Yakuza wrote: »

Japanese also has an 'in-fill' word/sound.......'anooooooooooooooooooooo' seems to be used everywhere as a Japanese version of 'um', or 'lo de'....

tac
    As you mention "anooo" is basically "ummm," or "errrr" -- i.e., a way to fill in space while forming a thought. This is how it's used when stretched out like that, especially at the start of a sentence, despite the actual word "ano" being similar to "that" in English.
    "Yoke," on the other hand, is used to fill in for an object you don't feel like naming, or can't, correct? Really a great word, so much better and shorter than "whatchamacallit" etc. I had no idea it came from Celtic Irish, so there ya go!
    The Spanish "lo de" sounds similar in usage to yoke.
    If you're going down the Japanese rabbit-hole, I would say "___ yatsu" would be a reasonable homologue to yoke. It's less formal than "mono"(thing) which is usually used in specific compound nouns like "wasuremono" (forgotten items) or "kudamono" (fruit).  You could say say "otousan ga tabeta yatsu" to mean "The thing that Dad ate," if you couldn't come up with the food off-hand!
    Yatsu can also be used to indicate a person, which is handy, I've found. "Wakai yatsu," meaning "the young guy/girl." Or "futotteru yatsu," being "the fat one!"
    -doc

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Seems the word "lodgement" isn't common amongst our nearest neighbours. Or at least to some scottish lads I was talking to in our Glasgow site.

Ireland has loads of mental phrases that don't logically translate. Like "as the fellah says". What fellah? How is he relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Yoke
    Very common in the West of Ireland to refer to a person or thing.

Slightly pejorative connotation if referring to a person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Hot press would usually reference the boiler of the house being in the cupboard or press where shelfs are built about it to store towels and bedding. In the UK boilers would be in a basement or attic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I think originally it was a clothes press (also in England), whereas the cup board was a shelf for cups. I suppose if it got doors it became a press in Ireland, similar to the ones for clothes, whereas in England it remained a cupboard. I am guessing a bit here but I think that is more or less on the right lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Hot press would usually reference the boiler of the house being in the cupboard or press where shelfs are built about it to store towels and bedding. In the UK boilers would be in a basement or attic.

Growing up in Dublin we always called the hot water cylinder the boiler. If you had a gas or an oil fired boiler you would not have in the hot press. The hot water cylinder was in the hot press in the living room.