Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is music today a bit shït?

• 31-12-2016 3:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭

Not to go all "BACK IN MY DAAAAY!" but whenever I hear some of what's popular today I get a little sad.

It's all a bit shït, for one. I find it's rather repetitive, seemingly always about the same subject. And always one genre... fake voices and synth instruments. What gives?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

A bit? You are joking? The whole thing is tragic.
    I was watching TOTP2 Wham special tonight and it's sad to say that any of their bubble gum pop (sneered at at the time) is better then anything in the charts at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Depends on your taste, but there's loads of good stuff being produced that doesn't make the top 40, or top 100 for that matter. Just takes some effort to root through Nikki Minaj and Arianna Grande wannabe's singing about arse shaking.

I'd consider this to be a masterpiece of recent times.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

infogiver wrote: »
    A bit? You are joking? The whole thing is tragic.
    I was watching TOTP2 Wham special tonight and it's sad to say that any of their bubble gum pop (sneered at at the time) is better then anything in the charts at the moment.

Just had a peek at the charts for the first time in years and aside from the obvious Christmas songs I can't make out who these artists are. And such ****e song titles, "a letter to my ex"... fcuk off?
    Noveight wrote: »
    Depends on your taste, but there's loads of good stuff being produced that doesn't make the top 40, or top 100 for that matter. Just takes some effort to root through Nikki Minaj and Arianna Grande wannabe's singing about arse shaking.

I'd consider this to be a masterpiece of recent times.

It's of a slightly higher caliber but not for me. Is there no one around like years ago no? Disturbed, AC/DC, Zeppelin, etc. Have artists in that vein died off?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

It has been for the last 20 years.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Pop music today is definitely much poorer than in the past - say, 25 or 35 years ago. If you look at the charts for 1986 and 2016 the latter just doesn't compare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Yeah, it's not great, compared to classic eras. No matter the genre, music of the last fifteen years does not stand up to the classics.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

They can't take away my classics. That's all that matters.

Although I do wish that the "curse of 2016" had taken some of the ****ehounds as opposed to decent musicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I`d be right in modern pops age demographic but I just cant listen to any of that crap.
    If you compare music by decade and look at what was being produced in the 50s, 60s and 70s when: Bob Dylan was writing poetic protest songs, Johnny Cash was standing up for Native Americans and playing concerts in front of prisoners, ACDC and Led Zeppelin were defining Rock music, Motown was making stars out of Smokey Robinson and Arethera Franklin as well as a host of other talents not to mention The Beatles, The Stones etc etc etc.....
    Its completely over commercialised now. Its all about putting out a song that will be well received in night clubs by teenage girls and lads trying to get off with said teenage girls.

I`m talking about artists and singers from 50 years ago and most people will be familiar with them. I honestly cant see Nicki Minaj even being remotely talked about in 50 years. To compare the classics and legends to modern music, its the difference between a home cooked meal and a take away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

For sure and I am under 30. Music has definitely gone backwards. To have rap ''music'' and that sort of muck topping charts regularly is an absolute embarrassment to music. Any sort of an eejit is getting a grammy these days. Nicki Minaj, Jay Z, Kanye West and all those other 'musical geniuses' that helped to destroy music can seriously piss right off.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

music has changed so much over the years and the fact that there is decline what was traditionally "the album" not really good for the music industry overall.
    i am too old to to comment on "club music" of the more recent music my pick would probably "Amy" but she is sadly lost to us.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭bnt

As you get older, it's tempting to say "it's all gone a bit rubbish", and it's just as tempting for young people to say "that's what you old farts always say". But something's gone really wrong in the last 15-20 years. If you've grown up in that period, it seems to me that you've missed out on so much. I've spoken about this to younger colleagues at work, and sent some of them Spotify playlists, and they're just unable to handle it.

Part of the problem seems to be how music is consumed these days: who today actually sits in one place for 45 minutes or more, paying full attention to an album? Not having it on in the background while doing something else on the computer, or on earbuds while working out, but putting all your attention in to listening and understanding what's going on?

PS for the young folk: by "album" I mean not just a bunch of single songs thrown together on a CD or a playlist, but a series of songs that have been selected and sequenced by the artist, in such a way that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Sometimes there's an overarching concept linking them all together, but that's optional. It's an art form that is gradually dying out. There is some hope, though e.g. Beyoncé's 2016 album Lemonade is a concept album that (reviews say) takes the listener on a journey through her background and influences. I haven't listened to it, but reading about it makes me think I should - which is encouraging.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Lawless_IRE

Chainsmokers. Martin garrox. Nicky minaj. Arianna grande...its literally like playin music from squeezy rubber chickens

• Registered Users Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Not to go all "BACK IN MY DAAAAY!" but whenever I hear some of what's popular today I get a little sad.

It's all a bit shït, for one. I find it's rather repetitive, seemingly always about the same subject. And always one genre... fake voices and synth instruments. What gives?

Are threads today a bit ****?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Funnily enough I was just thinking the other night that I cannot name any song released in 2016. I have really lost interest to a huge extent after years of shyte and to think I used to live for music. I am probably a relic

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

For about 3 months this year , we were able to listen to radio stations in work, so I kept myself up to date with the current hits.

As these songs would be repeated consistently, they would actually grow on you over time. Although Justin Bieber/grand et al were kept to a minimum at my station of choice.

That privilege was then removed and I lost touch with the charts. So now I'm in the same boat, thinking the music is crap again and when I look at the biggest hitters on spotify in 2016, I recognize none of them.

Drake as the most listened to artist?? Good god, we are in trouble. Never heard of him before this and listening to his rubbish, I will not hear any of his music again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Is music today a bit shït??

In the main, YES.

There are of course glimmers of light, but most of the mainstream stuff is total pants in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's fully sh1t, nothing but whiny fcukers singing repetitive songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Wouldn't really buy the idea that good music isn't still made in a lot of genres but when you see a big 80s star passing away you realize there's a relative paucity of interesting, inventive mainstream pop these days.

That said, as somebody pointed out, maybe it's down to my age and the way I now consume music. These days, I, like most people, regulate my music environment so there's less chance of listening to chart stuff for extended periods of time and mainstream music simply doesn't have the central place in culture for young people that it once had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Autotune has killed music

It's all about demographics now anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

McGaggs wrote: »
    Are threads today a bit ****?

Not any were near as bad as what passes as music nowadays ....

Ohh has for the days of a good concept album. Instead of the ****e we get today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Music right now is good. In alsmot ever genre

Trad - kila

Irish songs - high kings

Pop - newest justin bieber. Rihanna. Beyonce. Arcade fire. Coldplay. Amy winehouse.

Power ballads - adele.

Rap - jay z lil wayne eminem

Rock - we still have rolling stones tours. Gnroses. U2 still touring.

Theres a shizton of quality music being produced. Obviously not all of it is good. But all of it never was.

There are artists and songs nowadays that will be listened to in 50 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

What gets played on the radio at the moment has never been more samey. Having said that there's plenty of great acts at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I think everyone is jumping to the wring conclusions and asking the wrong question. You should be asking: "Why is commercial radio in Ireland so irredeemably ****e?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

It's a case of there being more choice, yet with it comes increased competition with margins getting squeezed resulting in nobody taking any risks by playing generic crap.

Music right now is good. In alsmot ever genre

Pop - newest justin bieber

There are artists and songs nowadays that will be listened to in 50 years.
    **** off with yer BULL****!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Xenji wrote: »
    It has been for the last 20 years.
    Saipanne wrote: »
    Yeah, it's not great, compared to classic eras. No matter the genre, music of the last fifteen years does not stand up to the classics.

I guess the early 00s golden era of indie rock music never happened. It was all an illusion. #FakeMusic

McGaggs wrote: »
    I think everyone is jumping to the wring conclusions and asking the wrong question. You should be asking: "Why is commercial radio in Ireland so irredeemably ****e?"

And the answer is dob owns too much of the stations....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Look beyond the charts. There's loads of great music being made today.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,927 ✭✭✭dodzy

Compare this with this.......

That'll hit home.