Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v7] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

K T is not kidnapped. She's simply having an extended sleepover!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭The Parish priest

Remember a few months ago Ciaran and the ban garda had sex on the workshop table, was he not worried at the time that kt could start making noise with the food door?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Having said all that, I think it would be uncomfortable for the viewers if KT were subjected to continuous violence or sexual assault by her captor. Its a blessing for her that Ciaran isn't intending to hurt her.

Yes I do actually agree. I feel sorry for Ciaran in that he seems like a nice guy. Also think it's sweet that he obviously cares for Katie and misses his sister deeply.

But we need something to happen soon. Even if its just Ciaran battering Emmett for being such a d!ck. I'd nearly like if when Katie is released, she doesn't reveal who kidnapped her as she understands that the dissappearance of his sister has deeply hurt Ciaran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

EIREDriver wrote: »
    I'm wondering will that come back to bite him? I'm hoping (really really really hoping) that someone comes across that toolbox, needs a screwdriver, and finds Katie's passport. (Hopefully in the next few weeks).

This story better develop soon. We're in a constant loop of Katie complaining, Ciaran telling her he's working on it, Katie looking happy and content, Both enjoying each others company, Katie complaining and so on.

My prediction: Farrah will visit him and find it and he will be forced to add her to the padded room also. Then another year of putting up posters etc. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

My prediction: Farrah will visit him and find it and he will be forced to add her to the padded room also. Then another year of putting up posters etc. :D

Yeah, it is very much looking like Meeeeeeeeeeeee Daaaaaaaaaaaa will be the key to her release

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

How's farrahs tower of spar Pringles coming along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Not to mention movie nights every Friday:

large_tD3xzCvhWy3O57RWUWBuLgLx4Bk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

That would be plausible : that scenario has actually happened quite a few times in real life.

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Is Alma not just back from Chile with Jake?????

I thought Jake had to remain in Chile to get proper documents?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 46 Rhaegal

Kidnapping story being dragged out way too long.

youwould wrote: »
    It's funny because it's all so true. She also does the lesbian hand tuck a lot too.

What is the Lesbian hand tuck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭muggles

nagdefy wrote: »

All potentially good soap plot premises (apart from the last one), all turned into laughable messes, anti climaxes, unintentionally funny nonsense! (yes, even the Heather one in my opinion!)

And I am glad they did as it kept the engine running on this thread!

All potentially good soap plot premises (apart from the last one), all turned into laughable messes, anti climaxes, unintentionally funny nonsense! (yes, even the Heather one in my opinion!)

And I am glad they did as it kept the engine running on this thread!

I'm waiting for the day when you actually like a storyline in FC. You will have to stop watching it!

I have liked many a story in the past.And many a character. Put me a list of the stories you liked over the last year and a half/2 years and I will give you my opinions on same.
    And fwiw, most people on this thread (from what I see) get more out of the thread than the writing so it is not as if I am the only one in this boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

"When Heather ACTUALLY drugged her daughter Ellie to flirt with Hughie"

Don't they mean Shane?

dogcat wrote: »
    "When Heather ACTUALLY drugged her daughter Ellie to flirt with Hughie"

Don't they mean Shane?

Goes to show how "hooked" the author of the column was with the plot!! :D

It would have been better if it was "Uncle" Hughie!

I have liked many a story in the past.And many a character. Put me a list of the stories you liked over the last year and a half/2 years and I will give you my opinions on same.
    And fwiw, most people on this thread (from what I see) get more out of the thread than the writing so it is not as if I am the only one in this boat.

Ha ha youre very defensive aren't you. Well able to give a slagging, not so great at taking it I must say.

Well I loved the Heather storyline, I think she was robbed from being nominated for an award over boring, predictable old Carol. I liked the KT story up until they ruined it by making Love Hate into Katys best mate, and of course I love any scenes with Oisin in it, hes a legend.
    Heres hoping 2017 will be a decent year for storylines. Who knows though..

Ha ha youre very defensive aren't you. Well able to give a slagging, not so great at taking it I must say.

Well I loved the Heather storyline, I think she was robbed from being nominated for an award over boring, predictable old Carol. I liked the KT story up until they ruined it by making Love Hate into Katys best mate, and of course I love any scenes with Oisin in it, hes a legend.
    Heres hoping 2017 will be a decent year for storylines. Who knows though..

Not at all, I think you are picking the tone of my reply up wrong, thats all!

That is just one story more than me that you liked then! There were a couple of small nitty bitty plots over the last 24 months I liked but the "main ones" just asscend into anti climatic, inconsistent, badly paced and highly unrealistic facades.

I too like certain characters, Oisin, Bob, The Ram, Hughie, Cas, Wayne, Ray, Farrah, Emmett, Charlotte, Deco, Gripey, Cathal, even Leo and Kerri Ann, a lot of whom do have good consistent traits about them!

I just don't like how they are used in plots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

See Ciaran let himself into the O'Brian house and 10 seconds later Stripy and Emmett walk in.. FS, really, would they not have seen him? .. :confused:....

"when is the Speakeasy opening" someone asked Oisin, "soon" he says, FS they still have to get planning permission. :rolleyes:

Can you imagine in the real world how long it would take to get planning to demolish or more bizzarely convert two terraced houses in a residential area into a nightclub? You could be waiting 2 years to get permission to build an extension at the back of your gaff if a couple of begruding neighbours object. Now imagine you have a petition of local residents and business owners objecting to converting your house into a nightclub. You would never get permission. You'd be looking at over a year construction time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

I am sure by now even the most diehard fc fan would agree that the kt/ciaran storyline is a complete farce, how would you have done the storyline? I would have had cirian be fc first ever serial killer. Kt would have been just one of many missing girls he would have murdered by now.

I agree 100%. I was actually one of the staunch defenders of the storyline as I was fascinated by who was doing this and more importantly the motive- there was genuinely a few credible suspects in Cathal, Stella or maybe even a serial killer as you say. I know some people were adamant it was Ciaran from the very start and deep down I did too but for a few weeks there I was willing to think just maybe, it might be someone else. It was all going well until the reveal. That's when things went downhill fast...

Its laughable to expect the audience to believe one man was behind all of this- holding down a full time job, entertaining a girlfriend who he often spent the night with, helping this family he barely knew put up flyers all over Ireland, as well as providing his captive with 3 meals a day and all her essentials. absolutely impossible for one man to do all that, and they even contradicted each other a few times in the script re: Where Ciaran was and how often he spent watching Katy.

If they had left it at the excellent episode in November where Love Hate dropped her off but then she took his phone it would have been barely tolerable but now as you say its a joke, a farce and laughable, they have taken a great storyline and urinated all over it from a massive height. The two of them are practically a couple now and there is no sense of threat or tension in the story. Katy also seems to just accept everything he says now. Its awful and a classic example of what happens when script writers drag out a story too long.

Maybe they are doing it because they don't know how to end it, maybe they haven't a replacement storyline ready yet to back it up, maybe they hate boards.ie posters and are doing it out of spite, God only knows! All I know is I just laugh at the story these days.

Like why the F did they not just let her get away that night? Why the actual F did the writers feel she needed to go back in captivity? Do they need to work storyline around the actors rotas or the script writers rotas????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I have a feeling Paul will win out over dermat and niamh.. he always does.

I've been waiting ages for Wayne to get justice after being shafted by Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

What is the Lesbian hand tuck?

There's a (somewhat true) joke or stereotype that lesbians walk around with their hands tucked into their jeans or trouser pocket. Also true for the thumb tuck (thumb tucked into pocket).

youwould wrote: »
    There's a (somewhat true) joke or stereotype that lesbians walk around with their hands tucked into their jeans or trouser pocket. Also true for the thumb tuck (thumb tucked into pocket).

considering Lycra Laura is rarely seen out of her jogging lycra, it is rare she has a pocket to stick her hands in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

considering Lycra Laura is rarely seen out of her jogging lycra, it is rare she has a pocket to stick her hands in!

True! Even when she was managing The Helping Hand she was still wearing lycra all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Now that we have Jake and Ama, when will they give us Katy being released. It better be a good one with this long wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Ah sweet Jesus ..... another plan!

If someone had taken out a patent on the word "Plan", earning loyalties on it's use, Fair City Producers would be rightly fu$ked

Now KT uses it every scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

FFS, Niamh. This is getting ridiculously complicated. Just cut a deal with Paulio and the Plan...