Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

El Presidente Trump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Also, the Democrats aren't in power, as ebbsy loves to point out (ad nauseum). So why would we be focussing over-much on the Democrats when the amount of harm they can do is minimal? They do need to sort their backyard the hell out, they've got a mess as well, but right now, the GOP is the worrying one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

robindch wrote: »

With the election of DT, it's achieved its, possibly unintended, aim: a rather excellent mirror of itself - the ascension to real power of unhinged narcissist who holds science, the citizens, politicians and institutions of his own country in contempt, with a complete absence of respect for national and international law and for the constitution of the country he will pretend to govern.

You could cut and paste that (and I have) and use it to describe Merkel and a host of other liberal politicians who are the ones really to blame for that eejit Trump, they ignored Newtons third law ´every action has an equal and opposite reaction´.
    For one shining moment after his election there was a moment of pause from a few liberal commentators who considered if their dogmatic arrogance had just undone them, before the wen´t .... nah. It`s the loonies on the right that are to blame for all this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,210 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

robindch wrote:
    Not only the GOP, but the entire political system in the US is much weaker now than it has been in previous decades - for decades, the GOP has repeatedly dropped its standards to appeal to the lowest common denominator while dismissing the machinery of government itself.

Yes both are weak. Its their job to keep the president in check and they're in no position to do that job.
    robindch wrote:
    As before, one can only hope that DT and the GOP will not do what they have said or implied that they will do. And that the strength of US institutions will be sufficient to withstand the abuse to which they will shortly be subject.

He'll do whatever suits him. He could do one of two things. He'll either try to maintain control of the government for himself or he'll asset strip the government (Boris to he hilt and sell the assets to private business) to the point that it's effectively useless by he time he leaves. The idea of America being a normal democacy is in the past as far as I'm concerned.
    ebbsy wrote:
    Everybody concentrating on the Gop...What about the Democrats ?

Very weak also.
    ebbsy wrote:
    If they can't get the Sanders crowd onside the next election is a formality for Don.

I see it as a formality already. DT voters don't have any explicit expectations for him to meet. How will they know if he's made America great again? When they FEEL like America is great again. It's a load of nonsense so all he has to do is make people feel good. Jobs done. No facts required.
    robindch wrote:
    The Democrats have a real problem in that they've tried to maintain policy in the general vicinity of reality and have, so far at least, avoided descending to the same degree of filth to which the Republicans have.

Hillary gave the people politics while DT gave them reality TV. Politics is boring but feuds are compelling. The media couldn't take their spotlight off him as long as he was feuding with someone.

In lieu of boring people with politics they don't understand he'll give them reality TV feuds they can understand - trump is the good guy, China is the bad guy. Even low information voters can understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I have changed my mind re Trump. I now look forward to his presidency with real positivity and in expectance of a bright future.

That batsh*t crazy egomaniac will accomplish singlehandedly and in very short time what leftists world wide have been chiseling away at for decades.
    - The end of globalism
    - The end of capitalism as we know it
    - The end of the world order as we know it

Viva la revolucion :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    Cans you believe the arrogance of the GOP :mad: this years Christmas message from Rience Priebus compares Trump to Jesus.....the new king and we should all be celebrating. Now we know that Trumpski has a massive ego but!!!!!!:eek:

https://gop.com/rnc-message-celebrating-christmas-2016/

Obviously people are going mad

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/12/25/rncs-new-king-christmas-message-ignites-social-media-furor.html

Arrogance ? It's their entire shtick, they have a genuine religious fundamentalist part in the party that is extremely powerful.

Have people forgotten this video ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uk4c2uoOF3o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Arrogance ? It's their entire shtick, they have a genuine religious fundamentalist part in the party that is extremely powerful.

Have people forgotten this video ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uk4c2uoOF3o

Holy ****...as if his ego didnt need any more boosting they were idolising him like he was the messiah! You could see it in his eyes though he didnt give a crap what they said. Cult

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Uhm...how does that disprove anything? And why is that fake news? It's something that happened. It's interpretable in several different ways, but it's a thing that happened (you can -see- it, for heaven's sake, it was an official statement!). Therefore, it's not fake news.

Why does this need explaining? O.o

I'm inclined, by the way, to reckon that they didn't intend anything of the sort, but people are so fecking used to doing themselves up or the "other side" down, that they couldn't resist that very clumsy phrasing and then **** hit the fan. Although it's hardly hit the fan very hard. This is a vague and extremely unimportant blip.

Hm, I wonder what mischief Trump is up to to take advantage of the squabble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,172 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Yawn, another "kek, fake news!" post. You can take a look for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,172 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Hm, I wonder what mischief Trump is up to to take advantage of the squabble?

Maybe he's got another oil or Wall Street tycoon to stick into his swamp.

Why does this need explaining?

Because the actual reality of fake news hasn't sunk in for lots of people. If you were happy about Trump's win then you don't want to think the due to fake news. Instead investment noticed some trump supporters lump fake news and unfavourable news reports together.

On one hand you have Hillary running a slave ring from a pizza shop basement on the other hand you have the media claiming trump might have conflicts of interest due to his business empire. Some trump supporters lump those type of news stories together and consider it 1 all.

No matter how many times i read that message it still reads to me that priebus was saying trump is a new king. And there are countless of other people who write for a living read it the same way.

So ebbsy as other posters said its "actual" news, you mightnt like it as it puts your team as an arrogant bunch but you cant discount it.

The bigger picture here and ebbsy is confirming this, Trump is taking a play out Putins and other dictators book where they try to control the media and discredit them so people dont know what is truth or fiction. Trump does this everyday to the MSM saying they are liars etc. This is worring because all accounts this admin is going to be the most secretive admin in history. The pres corps are going to excluded and all news is going to done via Twatter or youtube. Depressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭HelenV

B_Wayne wrote: »
    That is a fact, prove that he was a Nazi collaborator if you believe it to be so.

Ps: Ann Coulter misrepresentations doesn't count.

From the horses mouth - fast forward to 8.30 and listen carefully to his own admission

http://motheofgod.com/threads/in-lost-1998-interview-an-unrepentant-george-soros-admits-he-collaborated-with-the-nazis.9900/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

No matter how many times i read that message it still reads to me that priebus was saying trump is a new king. And there are countless of other people who write for a living read it the same way.

So ebbsy as other posters said its "actual" news, you mightnt like it as it puts your team as an arrogant bunch but you cant discount it.

The bigger picture here and ebbsy is confirming this, Trump is taking a play out Putins and other dictators book where they try to control the media and discredit them so people dont know what is truth or fiction. Trump does this everyday to the MSM saying they are liars etc. This is worring because all accounts this admin is going to be the most secretive admin in history. The pres corps are going to excluded and all news is going to done via Twatter or youtube. Depressing

Trump only uses the media when he needs em. It is admittedly all a bit random.

ebbsy wrote: »

What....Trumpski is the biggest media whore this planet has ever seen! lolz

He just doesnt like it when they are mean to him boo hooo....

ebbsy wrote:

Media has an important function in a democracy. Do you see Trump circumventing the media as a good thing?

ebbsy wrote:

Media has an important function in a democracy. Do you see Trump circumventing the media as a good thing?

Well they haven't been fair to him also. It's a 2 way street.

ebbsy wrote:
    Well they haven't been fair to him also. It's a 2 way street.

Trump is not democracy. I was asking about that side in particular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Skiddylicker

Really looking forward to seeing Trump take reigns of the biggest role in the world. Despite what people think of him, if it had of been Hilary that took control the world would turn into one big safe space.
    Give the guy a chance and lets see what happens.

Really looking forward to seeing Trump take reigns of the biggest role in the world. Despite what people think of him, if it had of been Hilary that took control the world would turn into one big safe space. Give the guy a chance and lets see what happens.

He has an entire career of evidence for what he'll do once he takes power. He'll suit himself while whipping rubes (ahem, low information voters) into a frenzy about whatever is topical.

Why do you need more time? Haven't you heard much about him over the last 50 odd years?

Give the guy a chance and lets see what happens.

You give a guy a chance to open your shop in the morning or give someone a gang of lads to look after on a construction site.

You DONT give some lad a chance to take on the most important job in the world and give him the keys to a nuclear arsenal (he already wants to start a nuclear arms race) its a bit more important than that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Skiddylicker

Look at how smart the guy has been over the last 50 years too. Belittle him all you want but he has achieved more in his life that anyone on this forum ever has.
    I believe Trump will prove people wrong again just like he did at the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭HelenV

Look at how smart the guy has been over the last 50 years too. Belittle him all you want but he has achieved more in his life that anyone on this forum ever has.

Fingers x'd. I'm rooting for him and hope to God he doesn't let everyone down like the current guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Give me the equivalent of the loan he got in today's money. I will beat him, heck just by giving me that loan I should be ahead of him. Comparing people on this forum to him is lunacy. He had every advantage in the book and still went bankrupt repeatedly.

Anyone who thinks that this claim is bragging just look at the performance of the ftse and nasdaq etc. It doesn't take rocket science to make half decent money and keep up with inflation if you have a massive amount of money. Even easier if you don't mind me breaking rules like Trump has-taking from his charity foundation and not paying workers.

Of course these days every skill is linked to intellegence. Won an oscar-you must be a genius! The man is a very good salesman and got dealt an exceptionally good hand to start out with. Nothing more. If you want to prove his intellegence you are going to have offer something concrete that isn't simply he is rich.

Edit: No one answered me about him removing all ties to his businesses. A quick Google search turned up nothing past papers reporting on the December 15th promise which never happened.
    It appears to have been postponed indefinitely? Will he make at least a half hearted attempt to not look entirely corrupt?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Christy42 wrote: »
    Will he make at least a half hearted attempt to not look entirely corrupt?
    No.

The election that just keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,544 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Look at how smart the guy has been over the last 50 years too. Belittle him all you want but he has achieved more in his life that anyone on this forum ever has. I believe Trump will prove people wrong again just like he did at the election.

He's not a particularly smart man, not in my eyes, in fact I'd class him as an unintelligent, ignorant loathe. He managed to offend a large portion of society during his campaign, that's not the sign of a good leader in which encouraging social cohesion is a must in trying to rally a society to pull together. His attitude and behaviour has the potential to further divide American society, possibly causing more serious social problems in America and beyond

Look at how smart the guy has been over the last 50 years too. Belittle him all you want but he has achieved more in his life that anyone on this forum ever has. I believe Trump will prove people wrong again just like he did at the election.

Prove people wrong by continuing to be smart and look out for no.1 or prove people wrong by doing good?

Wanderer78 wrote:
    He's not a particularly smart man, not in my eyes, in fact I'd class him as an unintelligent, ignorant loathe. He managed to offend a large portion of society during his campaign, that's not the sign of a good leader in which encouraging social cohesion is a must in trying to rally a society to pull together. His attitude and behaviour has the potential to further divide American society, possibly causing more serious social problems in America and beyond

You're right but you're also missing the point completely. He's divided the nation and won support from enough of them to become president. But that's only a problem if you care about a united nation and general happiness of the people. Those things have never featured in his plans before so why would they start now?

He doesn't intend for his presidency or re-election to be defined by facts because that wouldn't suit him. His initial election didn't allow facts within an ass's roar. Instead he used divisive stunts to divide the people and whip people up into a frenzy and win the presidency.

It worked, so I wouldn't expect him to change his approach now. He'd be a fool to change now and he's not a fool.