Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda emergency response unit vs armed support unit

• 14-12-2016 6:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭colbarr

What's the difference between these two units. From what I can tell, they essentially have the same vehicles and equipment and do the same thing. Could the ERU not have just been bulked up instead of creating a new unit?

Complete novice on these matters, maybe someone more in the know on this stuff could clarify?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

colbarr wrote: »
    What's the difference between these two units. From what I can tell, they essentially have the same vehicles and equipment and do the same thing. Could the ERU not have just been bulked up instead of creating a new unit?

Complete novice on these matters, maybe someone more in the know on this stuff could clarify?

Its to create more top heavy managerial positions.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭kub

Good God, I just saw the news report on 6 One. You would think this was a whole new thing for The Gardai.

The ASU have been in all other regions in the country since, was it 2008?

The ERU being based in Dublin were seen as the lads for Dublin.

The difference is, the ASU are marked up and visible and are a deterrent.
    The ERU when they arrive at scenes are only a deterent then.
    The ERU are probably more trained up on the extreme stuff.

• The Armed Support Unit is the Regional Support Unit but based solely in the Dublin Metropolitan Region. The only difference is the name. They are below the skill levels of the Emergency Response Unit.

foreign wrote:
    The Armed Support Unit is the Regional Support Unit but based solely in the Dublin Metropolitan Region. The only difference is the name. They are below the skill levels of the Emergency Response Unit.

So it makes them a grade above their colleagues in the ASU / RSU in other units around the country because they are in the DMU, am I reading that correctly?

• kub wrote: »
    So it makes them a grade above their colleagues in the ASU / RSU in other units around the country because they are in the DMU, am I reading that correctly?

No. There have different roles. Just like the Met police have arvs and then they have the specialist firearms officers.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭leinsterjack

Will put this one to bed.

The Emergency Response Unit are the equivalent to the Met's SFO's. Mainly dealing in Terrorism and Gangland Stuff. They don't really patrol except from when things like what happened in the North Inner City happen. They are based in Dublin but deploy-able nationwide.

The Regional Support Unit (ASU is established within this division) would be the equivalent to the Met's AFO's. Dealing with 999 calls (Armed Robbery, Pistol Sighted etc). These guys are on patrol everywhere.

foreign wrote:
    No. There have different roles. Just like the Met police have arvs and then they have the specialist firearms officers.

Ah I see what you mean, the ERU are a National unit who have specialist expertise.
    The various ASU/ RSU units around the country are assigned to their specific regions.

kub wrote: »
    Ah I see what you mean, the ERU are a National unit who have specialist expertise.
    The various ASU/ RSU units around the country are assigned to their specific regions.

You have it spot on.

So in affect they are baby sitters and public funded armed body guards for criminals

If that's the spin you want to take on it.

And by the way in no way meant to be insulting in case that's how it looks.

Its just getting annoying that these guys are known dealers and murderers etc and still are allowed to walk around with the rest of us.

And by the way in no way meant to be insulting in case that's how it looks.

Its just getting annoying that these guys are known dealers and murderers etc and still are allowed to walk around with the rest of us.

Who? The Gardai?

No the Crim's they're baby sitting.

Well of course, they will need the relevant evidence to arrest people.

Remember that the main aim of having armed Gardai (RSU(ASU)/ERU) is to protect civilians over catching criminals. The job of arresting these guys is down to the Special Detective Unit.

Well of course, they will need the relevant evidence to arrest people.

Remember that the main aim of having armed Gardai (RSU(ASU)/ERU) is to protect civilians over catching criminals. The job of arresting these guys is down to the Special Detective Unit.
    Fully understand.

You get my point though.

I'm all for having the right tools and proper suitable equipment just wish they could sort the judicial system.

Fully understand.

You get my point though.

I'm all for having the right tools and proper suitable equipment just wish they could sort the judicial system.

I agree. :)

• And by the way in no way meant to be insulting in case that's how it looks.

They're not babysitting. They were planned long before the Regency attack. There is a huge amount of spin put on them as that and the resulting murders being the reason for them. The reality was the ERU were being dragged away from their primary role and the same for SDU and DDU. We needed properly trained armed response units to deal with everything from a knife robbery to a hostage situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

foreign wrote: »
    They're not babysitting. They were planned long before the Regency attack. There is a huge amount of spin put on them as that and the resulting murders being the reason for them. The reality was the ERU were being dragged away from their primary role and the same for SDU and DDU. We needed properly trained armed response units to deal with everything from a knife robbery to a hostage situation.

Should happened in 2008 when cork and limerick launched