Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I always find topping off the buckets with some boiling water from the kettle takes the sting out of the cold water.

Warm water car washing, pure luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Ryath

OSI wrote: »
    Power hose hooked up to a mixing tap, set to the high end of warm. Perfect :D

I can't find any connectors that fit my mixer taps so have to make do with with the outside tap to connect the pressure washer. At least I can have warm water in the buckets to defrost my hands. If I could connect to an inside tap I'd nearly not need the pressure washer as I have a 3 bar pump on the system that can do 540L an hour.

Hard to get the time to wash the cars properly with the short evenings. Only had time for a quick snow foam and power wash yesterday to take the worst of. They were absolutely minging with all the grit and muck on the roads. Will hopefully get time at the weekend to do a proper job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Thanks to Vectra's review on the KKD Sicoat i decided to try it out on my new purchase, i am really impressed with the finished results.

31285852896_9427fb28fa_k.jpg

31207108251_d2d384db65_k.jpg

31285853546_be0936603d_k.jpg

31285853296_c9b2b256e5_k.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Do you always enhance your photos.....you blew that A3 up to twice the size! :p

Seriously though - looking well, sweet motor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

conzy wrote: »
    Any pro tips for winter detailing? :( Rubber gloves on top of cotton gloves?

Tshirt
    two bucket method
    man yp and get stuck in.
    SBPhoto wrote: »
    Thanks to Vectra's review on the KKD Sicoat i decided to try it out on my new purchase, i am really impressed with the finished results.

Glad you like it
    I think it is amazing stuff. Car looks stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Finished the 25 today, came out very well, the Green has a massive luster to it now!

IMG_20161128_142910_zpsrxuqydhr.jpg

IMG_20161128_142921_zpszje7lmo8.jpg

IMG_20161128_142939_zpsqcvlt37z.jpg

After:

IMG_20161129_150148_zpsm9kqwgfj.jpg

IMG_20161129_150246_zpsluoimkel.jpg

IMG_20161129_150252_zpsmocnajna.jpg

IMG_20161129_150303_zps7ql70isi.jpg

IMG_20161129_150509_zpsk1voeqlq.jpg

IMG_20161129_150522_zps77irbqux.jpg

IMG_20161129_150547_zpsfal8nso8.jpg

IMG_20161129_150603_zpsiu09kemu.jpg

IMG_20161129_150539_zpszehgdw2h.jpg

Some PowerLock beadage

IMG_20161129_152514_zpsjcatlyyb.jpg

Off to do an 850R tomorrow and finish an EG8 Ferio with an SiR swap and then an E60 M5 Thursday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Nice work Norman. That Renault probably looks better now then when it rolled out of the showroom 25 years ago.

Cheers, pity I'm not old enough to have known one in a showroom :pac:

I was working on this M5 for the last day and a half, I removed the current Ceramic coating, gave it a single stage polish and coated it with Gtechniq's CSL and EXO. I used Menzerna 2200 on a Chemical guys Heavy Cut Yellow Quantum pad on a DAS6Pro+ and a Shinemate 801 for anyone interested.

IMG_20161202_223001_zpsnrq1s1gq.jpg

IMG_20161202_223009_zpszmrku8er.jpg

IMG_20161202_223021_zpss7zphtbx.jpg

IMG_20161202_223030_zpsz3jtxveq.jpg

IMG_20161202_223055_zps5obhvmxq.jpg

IMG_20161202_223106_zpswlp03v6j.jpg

IMG_20161202_223251_zpsbo6ag5mb.jpg

IMG_20161202_223254_zpsspzvdtfz.jpg

IMG_20161202_223302_zpsd2efupmm.jpg

IMG_20161202_223311_zpslzg0bhew.jpg

IMG_20161202_223343_zpsft722gsx.jpg

And tucked away to cure, looking forward to seeing it in the day!

IMG_20161202_224008_zps1ixihw6z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Nice work, thanks for sharing. Nice work area too. Would love a spin in one of those, used to be my lotto car but not even sure I could stomach running one with a lotto win!

Is the e30 getting a touch too?

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Nice work, thanks for sharing. Nice work area too. Would love a spin in one of those, used to be my lotto car but not even sure I could stomach running one with a lotto win!

Is the e30 getting a touch too?

Cheers, it's a great shed, could really do with one myself :D E30 isn't for the time being, it doesn't really see use at all. His CSL is next after Christmas and then possibly the Z4M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

That chap has a serious fleet! How many BMWs/Cars has he got? Impressive work on the M5 :)

166man wrote: »
    That chap has a serious fleet! How many BMWs/Cars has he got? Impressive work on the M5 :)

Cheers! The main ones that he drives are the CSL, M5, C43 AMG and the 750il, few other various yokes too.

I gave Robbiew's IS250 a two stage over the last two days, sealed with Powerlock, definitely one of my favorite sealants now!

IMG_20161207_195606_zpsauemongv.jpg

IMG_20161207_195634_zpshmyoj3pe.jpg

IMG_20161207_195642_zpskmzdzxmy.jpg

IMG_20161207_195708_zpsjlwqkjje.jpg

IMG_20161207_195716_zpsotn5udxf.jpg

IMG_20161206_152237_zpsnljs0hqb.jpg

IMG_20161206_172004_zpsy1tw3acr.jpg

IMG_20161206_145232_zpsldgqzekv.jpg

IMG_20161206_155232_zpsbhsyuuzq.jpg

IMG_20161207_195651_zpsrddvcp7l.jpg

IMG_20161207_115649_zpso2fxce4h.jpg

IMG_20161206_181332_zpshnlvswhx.jpg

Yes I need a new unit :pac:

Great job Norm.
    Second last pic looks class. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

Used Meg's NXT Car Wash followed by a coat of Collinite 845.

4t1ytd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Two not great photos, but I started machine polishing on the new e36 last night, came up really well, a sign of things to come!

403629.jpg

403630.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bless me detailers for I have sinned, it's been nigh 6 months since my last 'detail'. Some of ye mightn't know, but got a silver mk6 golf recently. Need to do something to it over xmas. I have p40 and butter wet wax, which won't be the best for a silver car, any ones that work well for silver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Some collinite liquid wax or fusso. They are both good waxes and shine up really well. They are durable and long lasting. I suppose you could go the extra mile a go for a ceramic coating if you don't plan frequent car washing sessions. just the occasional hose down and 2 bucket job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Collinite 845 seems to work well on my silver Focus, not that I've tried anything else :) Nice beading and shine off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

shietpilot wrote: »
    Collinite 845 seems to work well on my silver Focus, not that I've tried anything else :) Nice beading and shine off it.

How often do you reapply the 845?

I put 2 layers on my car a few months ago and use snowfoam and 2bm wash regularly. Is it alright to just put on another layer of 845 or is there other prep work to do first?

Bless me detailers for I have sinned, it's been nigh 6 months since my last 'detail'. Some of ye mightn't know, but got a silver mk6 golf recently. Need to do something to it over xmas. I have p40 and butter wet wax, which won't be the best for a silver car, any ones that work well for silver?
    Hal1 wrote: »
    Some collinite liquid wax or fusso. They are both good waxes and shine up really well. They are durable and long lasting. I suppose you could go the extra mile a go for a ceramic coating if you don't plan frequent car washing sessions. just the occasional hose down and 2 bucket job.

As above
    *45 is great on silver as is Fusso
    Ceramic is the way to go if it is going to a half yearly wash. :)
    Cheensbo wrote: »

I put 2 layers on my car a few months ago and use snowfoam and 2bm wash regularly. Is it alright to just put on another layer of 845 or is there other prep work to do first?

When I was using 845 I would inspect the paint for any tar etc every 2 months and give it a quick top.
    Did the job grand.

I have p40 and butter wet wax, which won't be the best for a silver car, any ones that work well for silver?

Erm what? Why would they not be the best for silver?

90% of the battle is down to prep work - so if you did a good decontamination / polish, anything will look well on any colour.
    Yes, there are options that will give silver that extra bit of pop, but to say either of them wont work, wouldnt be right!

Where your issue would lie, this time of year, is durability! P40 Detailer (I assume you mean, versus P40 polish), will give you maybe a month, and Butter Wet will give you maybe a month and a half to two months at a push, this time of the year....but both are designed for enhancement mostly.

Some products that look good on silver....
    Collinite 845 as already mentioned
    Bilt Hamber Finis Wax
    Jeffs Werksat Acrylic - though I dont know if its still produced
    CarPro HdyrO2 or Reload - makes the finish on light colours really pop
    KKD SiCoat
    Chemical Guys JetSeal109

And you could consider going down the route of a glaze to try improve the pop more - something CGs WhiteLight or KKD ReGloss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Curran wrote:
    Erm what? Why would they not be the best for silver?

I thought the whole idea of the likes of the butter wet wax was to make darker colour cars have that glossy glaze. If it'll have the same impact on silver, then happy days!

Butter Wax will add gloss and depth to any colour, it's more so that darker colours like black are easier to get a result out of that you would really notice!

It wont have such a dramatic effect on silver, as dark colours respond better to waxes! Its very difficult to get a wet look on light colours, and sealants then to look better as they give a sharper appearance.

The best thing you can do with silver is to make sure its decontaminated fully. Any contamination in a light coloured car will reduce its appearance. And contamination that you cant see is the biggest factor - so using a fallout remover will do wonders. Wash, de-tar, de-iron, clay, wash and dry. Then apply anything and it will look great.

Even if you were feeling lazy, skipping the claying wouldnt be a huge loss - de-tar and de-iron should bring plenty of pop back to silver! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Cheensbo wrote: »

I've only applied it once and I top it up with ODK quick detailer sometimes! It was beading very well before the quick detailer though :) I plan to reapply it every 6 months or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭xabi

Thinking of ordering some 845, the car is BMW carbon black that actually takes on a very deep blue in bright light. Would this be best to give a good deep shine? Or would something else suit better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Once you've taken the necessary preparation steps any wax can look good. Skipping over the correct wash process will create or highlight swirll marks. They are unsightly especially on darker colored cars.

There are many factors worth considering when buying protection.
    How it will enhance the paintwork
    Durability
    Beading / Sheeting
    Ease of application and buffing / removal
    Price

Collinite 845 is a fantastic all rounder.
    But would it enhance Carbon Black better than a different product? No
    Will it be more durable? It's quite durable and more durable than a wax that would be designed to give maximum enhancement
    Will it be better value? Most likely...punches above its weight.

If you wanted maximum enhancement of the colour, go with something else. If you do a good prep and apply 845 after it will look great...is it worth chasing that final 5% of enhancement?

So you see, plenty to consider! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭xabi

I'd be more after maximum enhancement even if it meant less durability. So, what do you recommend for max enhancement?