When should the shops start decorating for Christmas

Moan, moan, moan, people complain every year but no one ever tries to do anything about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I think mid November is reasonable, I love Christmas so much but f*ck me I HATE seeing the stuff in shops in September. Wrecks my head, it seems to be getting earlier every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Mid- November is more than ample time. Before Halloween is crass commercialism IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

8th december

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Any techies out there who could develop a 'blocked' or 'ignore' app for my radio & TV which would filter out Christmas shlte? I'd give my left nut (the good one) for it.

PM me if it's a thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

Any techies out there who could develop a 'blocked' or 'ignore' app for my radio & TV which would filter out Christmas shlte? I'd give my left nut (the good one) for it.

PM me if it's a thing

Your remote has that feature, it's called the off button. It's almost the Christmas season... what do you expect?

I have every right to watch TV in October, November & December. I would prefer not to be carpet bombed with the shlte (in my opinion) that leads up to 1 particular day out of the 365.

Christmas 'season' my great hairy hole

I have every right to watch TV in October, November & December. I would prefer not to be carpet bombed with the shlte (in my opinion) that leads up to 1 particular day out of the 365.

Christmas 'season' my great hairy hole

And advertisers have every right to sell their products, so if that's not to your liking, stop watching. If you don't like Christmas shows and movies, don't watch them. I assure you, watching television is not a right, it's a privilege.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Why don't we just stop getting outraged about this every year and not give a f**k? People spend a tonne of money on absolute rubbish every year, so of course it's a business opportunity and advertisements are going to be in our faces, but we're enabling this to happen by spending and spending and spending every year.
    I've no kids and the small family I have aren't into Christmas so I don't really contribute, but if you want it all to stop, stop buying so much rubbish ever year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

1st of December.
    This. Even sometime after Halloween would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

After Halloween, preferably December,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

After Hallowed Evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Moan, moan, moan, people complain every year but no one ever tries to do anything about it

I did - I left the country (years ago) and refuse to go back in November!

It's not just the shops - "ordinary working people" are just as bad, booking their office Christmas parties for November because they can't get anywhere in December, or they're too busy. WTF is wrong with having a party in January when most people could do with being cheered up?

Fortunately, our continental neighbours mostly keep to the old ways: Advent markets during Advent, Christmas decorations for Christmas, and Party-Party-Party from New Year to Mardi Gras! :D:cool::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

7 o clock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

15th December

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I love Christmas. I enjoy reading (and occasionally contributing to) the Christmas Forum here all year. I'll happily watch a Christmas film at any time of the year. But I wish the shops would wait until around the third week in November. I don't think they successfully sustain the Christmas magic for the length they push it to and I find most people are just jaded by it all and switch off from it until the last minute instead. I find it hard to believe the very long lead in strategy actually boosts sales but it must if they persist with it every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

It is a bit of an eye-roller seeing shops trotting out Christmas stuff in September (I'm looking at you, Boots!!) but in fairness, if you had lots of people to buy presents for, and were planning on entertaining and cooking a fair bit over the festive season etc, then it might be handier to be able to spread the cost out over two or three paycheques. The alternative is scrambling around with everybody else on the first week of December trying to buy everything before it's ripped off the shelf by other desperate shoppers trying to organise everything in the last three weeks.

Having the boxes of sweets available, some toy deals, alcohol deals etc a bit earlier (Oct or early Nov) might offset some of that cost and time-hassle, but in an ideal world I'd like to see the 'Christmas Madness' ie full-on shop decorations, TV adverts, shelves upon shelves of Christmas ware, all that stuff held off until maybe the third week of November, as mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,300 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'd say mid-to-late November is about right. Public lights and things tend to get turned on around 25th November or so.
    Red Alert wrote: »
    December 1st. But seriously, hold off the Christmas music until the week before the big day.

Most places phase in the percentage of Christmas music vs regular music. When I worked in retail it was 10% or 20% mid November, changing every week up to 100% in the last week before - or something along those lines.

And advertisers have every right to sell their products, so if that's not to your liking, stop watching. If you don't like Christmas shows and movies, don't watch them. I assure you, watching television is not a right, it's a privilege.

Hence the reason I lightheartedly asked about an app to filter it out. As for TV being a privilege, not a right, sweet jaysus, it's a just a piece of kit, no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Shops do seem to decorate for Christmas a lot more early now, way before even Halloween. Sometimes even before it comes you can feel burnt out from it all but as it gets nearer it feels quite nice to have a walk around and soak it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

When should the shops start decorating for Christmas

Mid November would be time enough . . .

Was in my local Woodies DIY store today, and they have already moved all the Halloween 'tat' to the back of the shop, to give way for the Christmas Decorations/Christmas trees etc :(

LordSutch wrote: »
    Mid November would be time enough . . .

Was in my local Woodies DIY store today, and they have already moved all the Halloween 'tat' to the back of the shop, to give way for the Christmas Decorations/Christmas trees etc :(

Halloween is in 2 days so they aren't likely to sell anymore of it

Year I know, but its still getting the festivals/seasons back to front (so that they nearly blend into each other).

Well that's my take on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

There'll always be someone who legs it in five minutes before closing time, breathless, looking for all the Halloween crap they can stuff in the boot of the car to decorate their place. Like they just realised it was happening.

Would you take all the Christmas stuff off the shelves on the 22nd December and replace it with Valentines Day tat? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    Would you take all the Christmas stuff off the shelves on the 22nd December and replace it with Valentines Day tat? ;)

No, Creme Eggs. :D
    DoozerT61 wrote:
    in fairness, if you had lots of people to buy presents for, and were planning on entertaining and cooking a fair bit over the festive season etc, then it might be handier to be able to spread the cost out over two or three paycheques.
    Are you not supposed buy stuff for the festive season unless there's tinsel and baubles in the shop? :eek: Feck! I've, been doing in wrong all these years. :rolleyes:

No, Creme Eggs. :D

Are you not supposed buy stuff for the festive season unless there's tinsel and baubles in the shop? :eek: Feck! I've, been doing in wrong all these years. :rolleyes:

I don't do Christmas shopping until Christmas pops up into the shops, it just feels weird otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

1st of December for shops and it's two weeks before Christmas at home here.