Christmas Party Shenanigans

• 09-12-2016 04:18PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Piggystardust

So Folks,

Tis the season and all of that and I'm sure we all have some war stories to tell, be they about us or a work colleague. My party was last week and in a failed attempt to be classy, I opted for white wine over my usual beer or Guinness.
    BIG mistake. HUGE. Turns out I wasn't the only maniac, but I'll start the ball rolling with my shameful carry on..

Please note, I mostly remember none of this and am secretly hoping my colleagues are dirty exaggerating liars!!

1. I sat on my bosses lap, wrapped my arms around his neck and told him I loved him....repeatedly.

2. Wanted to show someone the tattoo on my upper arm but couldn't pull my dress sleeve up high enough so ripped my dress at the neck exposing both my tattoo and my t*ts.

3. Did a rendition of Tina Turner's 'What's love got to do with it' during dinner while people were trying to eat. This included hair swinging, chairs being kicked over and using my knife as a microphone.

4. Getting into a taxi with somebody already in it, sitting on top of them and refusing to get out. These were complete strangers.

I don't know which of the above is worse. One guy on my team took his shirt off and rubbed butter all over his chest and slide across the dance floor so that at least took some attention away from me. A lot of people got sick and I heard rumors of many 'sleepovers' and fights.

I go out with my friends all the time and drink and have fun. I never end up on their laps or singing into a fork.

What is it about Christmas parties that make you act like a lunatic in front of the people you least want to ever see you that way?!!

So, make me feel better guys.. can anyone top my list?!

A friend of mine got arrested twice at his Christmas party a few years ago actually, that was pretty bad.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Slut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

We had a dinner, lots of drinks and a good laugh. No shenanigans other than me and another girl mentally undressing the singer of the band with our eyes.

I've never been one to make a show of myself on nights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

When you surfaced, was your dress torn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

What is it about Christmas parties that make you act like a lunatic in front of the people you least want to ever see you that way?!!

So, make me feel better guys.. can anyone top my list?!

Want to go to a party ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Shat in pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I know of a lad who had started a job in October, was having issues in his role already and on the Xmas night out whilst walking from the restaurant to the next bar, he decided, for the craic, to kick the wing mirror off a parked car. Which, to his credit he did, in one swing. It was an unmarked Garda car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Piggystardust

looksee wrote: »
    When you surfaced, was your dress torn?

Unfortunately yes, so that much I know is true!

emeldc wrote: »
    Slut

You old romantic x

A friend of mine started a new job during the summer and was invited to work BBQ. He was asked to leave cos he was a belligerent drunken mess. Got arrested on his way home for the same reason and thrown in the drunk tank.

A few hours later, they let him out. He was on his way his home when he heard music and great craic coming from someone's back garden. He hops over the wall and starts to join in, knocking over tables and once again causing a scene.

Turns out it was the same party. Cue the Guards being called and him being arrested again! Twice from the same party, all on the same night! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Gave my room number to several bosses wives/partners while drunk at the Xmas party a few years ago and told them I would be waiting for them to join me in my hotel room...

Woke up naked in the shower with half a bottle of red wine spilled all over me and the cleaner poking me with a duster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

YUCK.

I always detested the false jollity of the Xmas works do.

Hated, hated, hated having to sit beside some moron who thought s/he was the bees knees, no getting away from it for the duration of the meal.

After enduring three of these so called "parties", I always had a cold, sore throat, sick mammy or something ever since.

Never missed it. Saw these people every day and sometimes they could be nasty fekkers too.

Such hypocrisy, all smiles and full of drink. Doesn't change them come 2 January though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

By the sounds of some of those stories I think I am glad that my employer doesnt give us Xmas Parties :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I will be having a dignified Christmas lunch at the Gresham next Wed. There will be booze but as I don't partake any more I won't be drinking. After the lunch it'll be up to everyone as to where they want to go but I won't be staying out late.

Did the whole drunken Xmas party thing when I was younger and it was meh. Pretending to like some of the fools you work with and licking up to the boss. Getting a sh*tty and pointless Kris kindle gift from a colleague. One year the girlfriend of a colleague followed me into the gents and made a major pass at me. Told her I batted for the "other team" but that only made her more eager!

I think messy work Xmas parties are on the decline. And not a bad thing too. People have been fired over the antics they got up to. Not worth the hassle!

YUCK.

Hated, hated, hated having to sit beside some moron who thought s/he was the bees knees, no getting away from it for the duration of the meal.

After enduring three of these so called "parties", I always had a cold, sore throat, sick mammy or something ever since.

Never missed it. Saw these people every day and sometimes they could be nasty fekkers too.

Such hypocrisy, all smiles and full of drink. Doesn't change them come 2 January though!

Obviously depends on the place/people you work with.

The people I work with are also my main group of friends in the city I work in and some I'd consider as good a friends as friends I've grown up with so I love the multiple Christmas parties at work and the nights out all through the year too with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I've only been to one proper christmas party for a company I worked for over 10 years ago

Free finger food
    Free bar
    anyone based down the country were put up in Jackson's Court Hotel for the night
    Fell into and out of coppers that night
    Good times

Haven't had a free drink or free bit of food for a christmas party since. The joys of the public service employee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Op sounds like right good craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I've mine tonight. Despite the odd occasion where we're roaring across the room at each other, my colleagues and I get on brilliantly. We've such a laugh in work so few drinks is great craic.

I'll be well behaved though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

My Christmas party used to be a free beer event until one Christmas 2 guys thought it would be fun to start a fight with a homeless person outside Kilmainham Gaol. Both of them ended up loosing teeth.

Our PA to the CEO is stunning. She's in her 40's but looks like Angelina Jolie. One Christmas party some lad who just joined the company decided he would try it on and to the disbelief of everyone, actually pulled her. They were snogging when the lights went up after a slow dance and once she realised everyone was looking at them, ran out of the place in embarrassment. He casually walked over his table to high fives from all the lads.

One year in Leopardstown one of our co-ops got pissed and decided he'd try and slide down the banister from one of the top enclosures to the bottom. He fell backwards and plummeted down the gap to the concrete below. We were actually convinced he was a goner, but had a very lucky landing and escaped with a split head and a sore shoulder.

I've been in the same place for a long time and could go on, but I'll leave at that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

So Folks,

Tis the season and all of that and I'm sure we all have some war stories to tell, be they about us or a work colleague. My party was last week and in a failed attempt to be classy, I opted for white wine over my usual beer or Guinness.
    BIG mistake. HUGE. Turns out I wasn't the only maniac, but I'll start the ball rolling with my shameful carry on..

Please note, I mostly remember none of this and am secretly hoping my colleagues are dirty exaggerating liars!!

1. I sat on my bosses lap, wrapped my arms around his neck and told him I loved him....repeatedly.

2. Wanted to show someone the tattoo on my upper arm but couldn't pull my dress sleeve up high enough so ripped my dress at the neck exposing both my tattoo and my t*ts.

3. Did a rendition of Tina Turner's 'What's love got to do with it' during dinner while people were trying to eat. This included hair swinging, chairs being kicked over and using my knife as a microphone.

4. Getting into a taxi with somebody already in it, sitting on top of them and refusing to get out. These were complete strangers.

And the problem is...?

You sound like a good laugh. I like party girls and you didn't do anything nasty or dangerous or disgusting.

Some people at Xmas parties do stuff that makes you cringe for them. Rag on the boss, the boss's wife, colleagues, etc. within earshot of the person, insult people, pick fights, or wet themselves or try to grope someone's partner. Sleazy **** like that.

You just sound like you have a good heart and booze, well, wine, kind of magnifies it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

OP and her mate sound like right craic. I miss going out with people like that, nowadays my mates have to be "responsible" because of their "children" and their "partners" don't like them taking "drugs".
    I'm not doing the " " right, am I?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Sounds like you enjoyed yourself and didn't go out to hurt or offend anyone.
    There was also messing all round by the sounds of things. All good in my books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Last time I got absolutely rip-roaring bolloxed with colleagues at a Christmas do we all ended up semi-naked in a jacuzzi in my then-boss's hotel room. Scarred me for life. Had to do the walk of shame back to the hotel reception in my soaked dress and ask them what room I was staying in as I couldn't remember in my drunken state.

Relatively sober affairs these days. I don't have the three-day hangovers in me anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

At my first ever Christmas party at 19 I got polluted drunk on free Guinness and Wine and puked all over myself. All was not in vain as somehow I managed to score a bird from the floor below as I mooched the face of her in front of everyone. The next Monday was awkward. Actually the next 6 years in that company were as it would always be brought up at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kellsred

Any jobs going in your company OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

YUCK.

You need new colleagues.

I've mine tomorrow night and I can't wait. Should be a great laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Many years ago the company I worked for managed to convince the finance/admin. department into believing it was fancy dress with a prize for the best costume. It was pretty funny at the time having about 10% of the people there dressed as Julius Caesar, Al Capone etc. and very well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,901 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Wait till you see the photos and videos of your carry on up on facebook. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    You need new colleagues.

I've mine tomorrow night and I can't wait. Should be a great laugh

Colleagues should ALWAYS be nice, not just at the Xmas fekkin party.

Don't like it never did, I bet a ton I am not alone with that.

But each to their own and all that! Whatever gets you through the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

My first one is this weekend. I'm thinking of bringing a bit of blow so I'll be able to hold it together better after a load of drinks and I won't make an arse of myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

YUCK.

I'm sure they loved being seated next to you as well...