If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off Topic Thread V2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ordered a 1080 today so my Pc will be complete*

I7 5960X
    32Gb DDR4

I went all in on X99 2 years ago so now its complete, I imagined X99 would be a stopgap between Haswell and Skylake but it has turned out to be as good as if not better then Skylake and now a 6950X was released. Maybe I didnt go all in on a lame duck after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Ordered a 1080 today so my Pc will be complete*

I7 5960X
    32Gb DDR4

I went all in on X99 2 years ago so now its complete, I imagined X99 would be a stopgap between Haswell and Skylake but it has turned out to be as good as if not better then Skylake and now a 6950X was released. Maybe I didnt go all in on a lame duck after all :)

Looks like some beast of a machine. You hardly just game on it though?

umm what else would it be for?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    umm what else would it be for?

A €1000 CPU that while gaming that can be matched by a i7 6700K. People usually buy that CPU for more intensive CPU tasks like video editing 4K and up files etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Actually I would agree, I'm terrible for throwing money at my main rig, even to GTX1080 SLI, but X99 just for gaming is pretty much a case of major deminishing returns. Excellent for crunching and editing (which I do sometimes) but even for me, it wasn't worthwhile for games and work, 6700K was ideal.

A €1000 CPU that while gaming that can be matched by a i7 6700K. People usually buy that CPU for more intensive CPU tasks like video editing 4K and up files etc...

But the I7 6700k wasnt out when i got this, i had a work bonus what was either to be spent on a kitchen or a PC. I picked X99 as Skylake wasnt out.

I stand by my choice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Xenoronin

Using two different models of RAM as a test. Just threw in the new 16gb kit on top of the existing 8gb kit. G-Skill Ares + new Crucial Ballistix.
    Running Prime95 on Blend. Going for the last 30mins without everything exploding yet. Looking good so far :O
    Only difference I can see is the tRC, which I think is the refresh cycle. 33 for the G-Skill, 37 for the Crucial. Timings and speed are the same.
    I have a program which shows some other interesting information, displaying the differences between the two, which makes it easy to see why this is probably a bad idea. No harm in testing it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,029 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭SickBoy

K.O.Kiki wrote: »

Is that surprising? The 680 is over 4 years old now(i think)

SickBoy wrote: »
    Is that surprising? The 680 is over 4 years old now(i think)

It's interesting because in a direct spec comparison (Transistor count, Shader count, Compute units, TMUs, Memory bandwidth) the GTX680 should win.
    http://hwbench.com/vgas/geforce-gtx-1050-ti-vs-geforce-gtx-680

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭SickBoy

It's interesting because in a direct spec comparison (Transistor count, Shader count, Compute units, TMUs, Memory bandwidth) the GTX680 should win.
    http://hwbench.com/vgas/geforce-gtx-1050-ti-vs-geforce-gtx-680

Chip, Manufacturing process, Frequency, PCIe interface and Memory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I wouldn't say it's hugely surprising but it's really interesting. It's amazing to think that you can play most of the latest games at ultra for €150.

Really interesting part in that video showing the i3-6100T system - 116w draw under full load with the 1050ti! Now that's seriously impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I've still got my 3930k and a 580 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,622 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Time to retire my old Logitech G110,G910 arrived today from amazon:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Luck100

"Why your gigabit broadband lags like hell – blame Intel's chipset
    Software fix coming after Puma 6 code bug hits Virgin Media, Comcast, Arris and other boxes"

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/

I posted a query on Virgin's forum here on boards.
    http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2057678773

I'm surprised the 480 is on top for most of those. Just goes to show you should never judge a graphics card on synthetic tests like Firestrik as they would have the 1060 on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Luck100 wrote: »
    "Why your gigabit broadband lags like hell – blame Intel's chipset
    Software fix coming after Puma 6 code bug hits Virgin Media, Comcast, Arris and other boxes"

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/

I posted a query on Virgin's forum here on boards.
    http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2057678773

oh ye lucky sob's :(

question lads, I rma'd my evga ftw 1080 due to the whole vrm problem, got a new one that has been working flawlessly for the last 3 weeks. I was playing the witcher 3 last night (have been for about a week now) and suddenly i started getting artifacts until it crashed. Everytime i restarted the game this was happening within 2 minutes. So i tried fire strike and time spy and i was getting pretty much the exact same issue, artifacts and crash. Temperatures where sitting between 60-70 degrees and i had an overclock of +110 core +500 memory.

First thing i did was put my overclock back to default settings, no difference, I then installed a new nvidia driver through geforce experience, no difference there either. I then used DDU and cleaned all video drivers off of my system before installing an old driver from back in october, I also went into nvidia control panel and changed the power management setting from optimal to maximum performance. This worked, no more artifacts or crashes. I then reinstalled the new driver using DDU. Perfect no problems, even when i changed the power management setting back to optimal there was nothing.

Was this just a dodgy driver or should i be worried about the gpu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭twinsen

Sounds to me like your memory overclock was too high, hence the artifacts.
    Is it working fine now?

Yeah working grand, memory is at +500 still though. Might bring it down to be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Yeah working grand, memory is at +500 still though. Might bring it down to be safe

Damn Sean are you struggling to run on stock? :D

I have a slight problem OK :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lads, do ye rate Logical Increments at all? Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Lads, do ye rate Logical Increments at all? Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

Logical increments is pretty good for getting a general idea for how to balance a build to a budget.

It's a good companion to PCPartpicker (for pricing a build).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

I thought that was the idea of using this forum. Unburden thy self.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I thought that was the idea of using this forum. Unburden thy self.

I intend to. However, I want to at least do some work myself, ie try and research a build before starting a thread. Anyways, the budget isn't 100% sorted just yet.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Literally have a 1080 sitting in a box beside me and installed Relivetoday.

I feel I am cheating......i waited a year for a 490!!!!! and if they announce one at the Zen thing well does anyone want to buy a 1080 :D

Relive well it works.....so theres that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Whats the experts consensus with (CPU + motherboard + RAM) bundles in general?
    Is there savings to be had or what?