Anton Savage Radio Thread [Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

how low are your standards?!

Could be worse, could be Hector, Delemare or Paula MacSweeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Cant stand Alison "How many kids have you got" Curtis. She is like the female Ray D'Arcy when it comes to talking about children. Anton is a big loss in that timeslot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I'd take any of those 3 over Curtis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

giphy.gif

Thank God for small mercies, indeed!

I don't mind Paula in the early mornings - she brings a lot more energy to the slot than most, but Delemere and Hector are just about tolerable once a week - any more than that would see me off to the High Court to complain about cruel and unusual punishment coming from my radio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

The 3 ingredients

1) Someone who's already well known and well liked by the target audience, whomever that may be

2) Someone who'll stir up a bit of controversy - a talk shown need at least an anticipation of impending controversy

3) Debateably, a lot of listeners actually like a host who they feel they know - so someone less private

Savage was the wrong choice in all 3. The general audience didn't know him very long, none of us knew him very well, and he was too nicedy nice to stir up any controversy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

argentum wrote: »
    So what do you do now.I'm 50 so Today FM don't want me as a listener even...
    I feel as if I'm too young for Radio 1
    You're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

Anton is going to be a big loss putting Curtis in there as a stop gap ensures I won't be tuning in. I cannot stand her how she is on a national broadcaster is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The 3 ingredients

1) Someone who's already well known and well liked by the target audience, whomever that may be

2) Someone who'll stir up a bit of controversy - a talk shown need at least an anticipation of impending controversy

3) Debateably, a lot of listeners actually like a host who they feel they know - so someone less private

Savage was the wrong choice in all 3. The general audience didn't know him very long, none of us knew him very well, and he was too nicedy nice to stir up any controversy.

he has been sitting in on RTE over 10 years ago and had been on Today fm on Sundays for a long time before his present show started.
    i'd argue that a lot of listeners, and definitely most of the posters on this thread couldn't care less about the private life, as long as the show is good. no one gave a crap about Ray's kids, or Alison's kids.
    the only controversy Ray could muster up is saying fck every once in a while, which is just juvenile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The 3 ingredients

What did his wife think about him leaving the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Patser wrote: »
    Ian handled the handover very professionally there. Referenced his shock at Anton going, wished him well, said Alison has tough job of stepping in and a bit of a mixed message of 'give her a bit of rope'

Didn't drag it out, but didn't ignore it.
    Ian Dempsey seemed annoyed and upset that Anton is gone, his comment "I hope today FM find whatever it is they are looking for" seemed a bit of a dig at the station. Today FM just issued a statement read by Alison Curtis saying it was the failing listeners was an issue and that there is big changes coming in 2017.

There were a few very pointed exchanges on Ian's show this morning. Now, maybe it's just me reading into things, but Paul Collins when speaking about that Dublin hurling club that won some title yesterday said "There's a good example of what can happen when everyone's going in the same direction.", which suggests to me that some of the longer term staff are not overly happy with the direction the station is moving. (Well, we knew that from Phil Cawley's comments after Friday Night 80s was cut, but it seems to be getting worse).
    During Gift Grub as well, I really felt the bit where Eamonn Dunphy was talking about singing and dancing to go viral and get views rather than doing what he's good at was a very thinly veiled dig.

Again, I might be over-analysing.
    jvan wrote: »
    What's with the 2 national music stations wanting to revamp to 'younger' listeners. What's wrong with producing radio for people in their 30's and 40's.

I'm scanning the radio at the moment and Irish radio is in a bad way

I believe the thinking is that people in their 20's and early 30's typically have more disposable income than people in late 30's and 40's. No kids, no mortgage, probably not worrying about pension, looking after their elderly parents, saving for retirement, health issues, etc.

Advertisers want an audience of people who will throw money at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Is Curtis confirmed as the long term replacement or interim?

Would like to see Joe Donnelly get the slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Is Curtis confirmed as the long term replacement or interim?

Would like to see Joe Donnelly get the slot.

Id guess it would be like Ray's departure, she'll hold on till Christmas and then the replacement will start in January

I cant see them giving it to her, her voice is grating, and the baby shtick will only last so long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

BaZmO* wrote: »
    What did his wife think about him leaving the show?
    Who cares?

Her absence from Antons broadcasting didn't make him a better or worse broadcaster.

She probably wants a private life and doesn't want to be referenced every 5 minutes on air.

And I'm very OK with that.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I believe the thinking is that people in their 20's and early 30's typically have more disposable income than people in late 30's and 40's. No kids, no mortgage, probably not worrying about pension, looking after their elderly parents, saving for retirement, health issues, etc.

Would it not depend on what they were advertising?

Who cares?

Her absence from Antons broadcasting didn't make him a better or worse broadcaster.

She probably wants a private life and doesn't want to be referenced every 5 minutes on air.

Whoosh!

It was a joke about nobody knowing whether he was married or not. Someone mentioned above that Anton perhaps needed to be more open or relatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Who cares?

I couldn't care less about it either but I imagine that Anton referencing absolutely nothing about his personal life made him less relatable to a lot of people.

I honestly didn't know he was married until finding a reference to it in an article when I googled him earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

Would it not depend on what they were advertising?
    A few shows sponsored by car manufacturers-not aimed at teens/twenty somethings surely?

Addle wrote: »
    A few shows sponsored by car manufacturers-not aimed at teens/twenty somethings surely?

Yeah that's the point, most shows are sponsored by companies supplying products that your average teenager or young twenty something wouldn't be buying new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

he has been sitting in on RTE over 10 years ago and had been on Today fm on Sundays for a long time before his present show started.
    i'd argue that a lot of listeners, and definitely most of the posters on this thread couldn't care less about the private life, as long as the show is good. no one gave a crap about Ray's kids, or Alison's kids.
    the only controversy Ray could muster up is saying fck every once in a while, which is just juvenile.

Alison is not and never will be a permanent presenter in this time slot so she's irrelevant

As for Ray, you can speak for yourself but I think a lot of people did like hearing about Ray's life - it was hardly avoidable when his other half was on air with him. Likewise, Gerry Ryan was the dominant presence on Irish radio during that timeslot for many years and when he died, all I heard from his listeners was them going on about how they felt they knew him so well coz he shared so much of him private life - so it is something that a lot of people want and it doesn't hurt anything if it's done in the right way and at the right frequency and by somebody likable.

I am well aware that Savage had a Sunday show and sat in occasionally for D'Arcy or Cooper and did a bit of TV towk for TV3 in recent years - but in comparison to D'Arcy, who I knew since I was a kid, he wasn't at all well known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

I’m sad that Anton will be leaving. I quite liked him in that slot. I used to enjoy him filling in for Matt Cooper too. It’s a shame. I don’t expect I’ll like the replacement too much as I haven’t enjoyed many of their fillers in…. Except Simon Delany. I’d like to see him get it, but I’d imagine the irregular slots suited him best.
    Neil Delamare is super annoying on the radio and while I really enjoyed Hector on tv, he’s irritating on radio. I can’t fookin stand Paula McSweeney so fingers crossed it’s not her….. Her ridiculous girlie giggle makes me want to punch her.

I’m a big Iano fan so reckon TodayFM on the alarm clock radio and maybe 2FM in the car from now on…. I dunno, I don’t know what’s out there cause I never listen to anything except Anton.

The removing of Anton from their website immediately to me, indicates that Anton quit rather than was fired. Sour grapes. If they had fired him, they’d be the ones in control/on top and wouldn’t feel the need to be so aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

There were a few very pointed exchanges on Ian's show this morning. Now, maybe it's just me reading into things, but Paul Collins when speaking about that Dublin hurling club that won some title yesterday said "There's a good example of what can happen when everyone's going in the same direction.", which suggests to me that some of the longer term staff are not overly happy with the direction the station is moving. (Well, we knew that from Phil Cawley's comments after Friday Night 80s was cut, but it seems to be getting worse).
    During Gift Grub as well, I really felt the bit where Eamonn Dunphy was talking about singing and dancing to go viral and get views rather than doing what he's good at was a very thinly veiled dig.

Again, I might be over-analysing.

The richest people in this country are all over 50 and all listen to radio 1. For stations to fall over themselves chasing the 15-34 demographic that is clearly turning its back on radio, is really quite daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

I think Ann is a researcher, not producer. Could be wrong though, s'just I thought Pam was producer.
    & AFAIK she's studying Pyschology too?

Yeah, she's a researcher but a bit of a trainee producer too I think. and yeah, studying Psychology.
    She also has a profile on here.... And if you were eagle eyed enough you could have taken part in her college research couple of years back..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Pity about Anton leaving. Was always easy-going, could interview to a very high standard and really put the fun back into a show that had it's fun sucked dry by Ray Darcy becoming a five star moan for X amount of years.

There is no doubting that regular radio listeners had a certainly familiarity to Anton but he really lacked that public recognition that could attract Joe/Mary Soap.

I'd put on house on TodayFM drafting in a "name" to replace him. I dread to say Hector and Delamare are surely front runners. I personally would love to see Neil Penderville or somebody left of centre put in. If only to put the cat amongst the pigeons. That media push for more female presenters is never too far away. Who would be in the mix if that was to be the case??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Once upon a time but now most 20/30 somethings have very little disposable income. Amazing advertisers haven't caught onto that yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Yoghurt87

crazyguy01 wrote: »
    For the lovely tweets and posts, thank you. Sincerely.

Now.. any gigs going? I'm available for weddings, Christenings, Bar Mitzvahs...

All above from the shows Twitter page which Savage must have been running himself as it also says "as there is no show is this now a personal page?" and a photo him with a bag over his shoulder hitchhiking... Does not seem too bothered....

The hitchhiking photo is taken from the Incredible Hulk 'Sad walking away' scene:

:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭thesaurus2

They really need someone the entire country can relate to for this slot. Anton was a suit wearing silver spoon merchant who likes cars and his dog. That's all we knew before and that's still all we know. Tubridy has changed his tact recently and is giving much more about himself away on air. I would never have listened to him but the endless cycle of Roz Purcell types, cook books and other sporadic, plugging-something guests and annoying slots like Eanna ni Lohna and Eoin Murphy, coupled with misery and crying truckdrivers made me switch to Tubridy and he's quite good.

Elsewhere, at that time, you have Sean O'Rourke who's a bollox, Pat Kenny who's Pat Kenny, and the Nova morning crew are fairly boring and with a new baby to talk about will get even worse, so there is a ripe chance to hire an 'every day person', someone we all know and relate to. That's probably why Hector is the favourite. I personally think he'd be great, but if they cut the show to 2 hours. But I can't see him taking it. He lives in Galway and when he got the 2fm gig I believe a provisio was that it was broadcast from Galway as he has young kids. Delamere has his touring and TV and I'd doubt if he'd be willing to put up with a 5 day 6am schedule especially when, by his own admission, he can;t even run the desk. Simon Delaney is a jobbing actor so unless the money is massive he'll be only popping up having the craic at the weekend. Alison Curtis, Joe Donnelly, Nadine 'deep breath' O'Regan, Gavan O'Reilly etc is pie in the sky. O'Reilly would be like replacing like with like...

I reckon Brendan O'Connor from the Sunday Indo/Cutting Edge will be courted, and now that Republic of Telly is gone, Kevin McGahern could be worth a bet, especially if Denis O'Brien's lackeys are trying to 'get with the kids'. He did a show somewhere last year on radio filling in for someone and he was deadly.

Tara Duggan is great and deserves her own show, and from the telly, someone like Grainne Seoige could literally come back to life with a gig like this. Alison Comyn too from UTV will be looking for a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Would actually love it if Brendan got the job. Someone mentioned another name to me this morning, Colm Hayes...*shudder*. Had actually forgotten about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

anna080 wrote: »
    Would actually love it if Brendan got the job. Someone mentioned another name to me this morning, Colm Hayes...*shudder*. Had actually forgotten about him.

Brendan O'Connor. A face made for the radio and a voice made for the deaf…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Brendan O'Connor. A face made for the radio and a voice made for the deaf…

Ah Brendan's not that bad. A lot better than all of the names that have been thrashed out here thus far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Who cares?

Whoosh!

It was a joke about nobody knowing whether he was married or not. Someone mentioned above that Anton perhaps needed to be more open or relatable.

That might have been part of Anton's 'problem' in that he didn't play the 'game' of telling everyone about his life and referencing his wife, kids, the dog, what he had for breakfast, the smell of his last poo and how he clips his toe nails, in the way almost every other radio presenter seems to do.

We get it, you have lives beyond the mic......now just entertain me by interviewing people I actually want to hear from and playing some decent music in between!