Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread V2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ordered a 1080 today so my Pc will be complete*

I7 5960X
    32Gb DDR4

I went all in on X99 2 years ago so now its complete, I imagined X99 would be a stopgap between Haswell and Skylake but it has turned out to be as good as if not better then Skylake and now a 6950X was released. Maybe I didnt go all in on a lame duck after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Ordered a 1080 today so my Pc will be complete*

I7 5960X
    32Gb DDR4

I went all in on X99 2 years ago so now its complete, I imagined X99 would be a stopgap between Haswell and Skylake but it has turned out to be as good as if not better then Skylake and now a 6950X was released. Maybe I didnt go all in on a lame duck after all :)

Looks like some beast of a machine. You hardly just game on it though?

umm what else would it be for?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    umm what else would it be for?

A €1000 CPU that while gaming that can be matched by a i7 6700K. People usually buy that CPU for more intensive CPU tasks like video editing 4K and up files etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Actually I would agree, I'm terrible for throwing money at my main rig, even to GTX1080 SLI, but X99 just for gaming is pretty much a case of major deminishing returns. Excellent for crunching and editing (which I do sometimes) but even for me, it wasn't worthwhile for games and work, 6700K was ideal.

A €1000 CPU that while gaming that can be matched by a i7 6700K. People usually buy that CPU for more intensive CPU tasks like video editing 4K and up files etc...

But the I7 6700k wasnt out when i got this, i had a work bonus what was either to be spent on a kitchen or a PC. I picked X99 as Skylake wasnt out.

I stand by my choice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Xenoronin

Using two different models of RAM as a test. Just threw in the new 16gb kit on top of the existing 8gb kit. G-Skill Ares + new Crucial Ballistix.
    Running Prime95 on Blend. Going for the last 30mins without everything exploding yet. Looking good so far :O
    Only difference I can see is the tRC, which I think is the refresh cycle. 33 for the G-Skill, 37 for the Crucial. Timings and speed are the same.
    I have a program which shows some other interesting information, displaying the differences between the two, which makes it easy to see why this is probably a bad idea. No harm in testing it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,971 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SickBoy

K.O.Kiki wrote: »

Is that surprising? The 680 is over 4 years old now(i think)

SickBoy wrote: »
    Is that surprising? The 680 is over 4 years old now(i think)

It's interesting because in a direct spec comparison (Transistor count, Shader count, Compute units, TMUs, Memory bandwidth) the GTX680 should win.
    http://hwbench.com/vgas/geforce-gtx-1050-ti-vs-geforce-gtx-680

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SickBoy

It's interesting because in a direct spec comparison (Transistor count, Shader count, Compute units, TMUs, Memory bandwidth) the GTX680 should win.
    http://hwbench.com/vgas/geforce-gtx-1050-ti-vs-geforce-gtx-680

Chip, Manufacturing process, Frequency, PCIe interface and Memory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I wouldn't say it's hugely surprising but it's really interesting. It's amazing to think that you can play most of the latest games at ultra for €150.

Really interesting part in that video showing the i3-6100T system - 116w draw under full load with the 1050ti! Now that's seriously impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I've still got my 3930k and a 580 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Time to retire my old Logitech G110,G910 arrived today from amazon:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Luck100

"Why your gigabit broadband lags like hell – blame Intel's chipset
    Software fix coming after Puma 6 code bug hits Virgin Media, Comcast, Arris and other boxes"

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/

I posted a query on Virgin's forum here on boards.
    http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2057678773

I'm surprised the 480 is on top for most of those. Just goes to show you should never judge a graphics card on synthetic tests like Firestrik as they would have the 1060 on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Luck100 wrote: »
    "Why your gigabit broadband lags like hell – blame Intel's chipset
    Software fix coming after Puma 6 code bug hits Virgin Media, Comcast, Arris and other boxes"

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/

I posted a query on Virgin's forum here on boards.
    http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2057678773

oh ye lucky sob's :(

question lads, I rma'd my evga ftw 1080 due to the whole vrm problem, got a new one that has been working flawlessly for the last 3 weeks. I was playing the witcher 3 last night (have been for about a week now) and suddenly i started getting artifacts until it crashed. Everytime i restarted the game this was happening within 2 minutes. So i tried fire strike and time spy and i was getting pretty much the exact same issue, artifacts and crash. Temperatures where sitting between 60-70 degrees and i had an overclock of +110 core +500 memory.

First thing i did was put my overclock back to default settings, no difference, I then installed a new nvidia driver through geforce experience, no difference there either. I then used DDU and cleaned all video drivers off of my system before installing an old driver from back in october, I also went into nvidia control panel and changed the power management setting from optimal to maximum performance. This worked, no more artifacts or crashes. I then reinstalled the new driver using DDU. Perfect no problems, even when i changed the power management setting back to optimal there was nothing.

Was this just a dodgy driver or should i be worried about the gpu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭twinsen

Sounds to me like your memory overclock was too high, hence the artifacts.
    Is it working fine now?

Yeah working grand, memory is at +500 still though. Might bring it down to be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Yeah working grand, memory is at +500 still though. Might bring it down to be safe

Damn Sean are you struggling to run on stock? :D

I have a slight problem OK :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,683 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lads, do ye rate Logical Increments at all? Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Lads, do ye rate Logical Increments at all? Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

Logical increments is pretty good for getting a general idea for how to balance a build to a budget.

It's a good companion to PCPartpicker (for pricing a build).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Getting a bit burnt out looking at various different components...

I thought that was the idea of using this forum. Unburden thy self.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,683 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I thought that was the idea of using this forum. Unburden thy self.

I intend to. However, I want to at least do some work myself, ie try and research a build before starting a thread. Anyways, the budget isn't 100% sorted just yet.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Literally have a 1080 sitting in a box beside me and installed Relivetoday.

I feel I am cheating......i waited a year for a 490!!!!! and if they announce one at the Zen thing well does anyone want to buy a 1080 :D

Relive well it works.....so theres that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Whats the experts consensus with (CPU + motherboard + RAM) bundles in general?
    Is there savings to be had or what?