Anton Savage Radio Thread [Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭nc6000

Radio really has gone to the dogs lately.

I used to listen to Anton then switch to Newstalk for Lunchtime & Moncrief then back to The Last Word and maybe back to Newstalk for Off The Ball.

Lately I've been listening to Anton then switching off the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭nc6000

Maybe the second number from Damien Dempsey yesterday pushed him over the edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

UGH. Not happy with that news. I really liked his show. Such a ray of sunshine considering his predecessor (pardon the pun).

The whole empire is falling. Newstalk in disarray and now this.

They will obviously have a few fill ins now until January, so expect a mix of Hector, Delamere and McLoone. Hopefully the latter.

Terrible news. I often spend full days in the car and his show is the only show, across every station, that I actually look forward to.

No matter what the topics are it's usually presented in a funny and informative manner (rather than a lot of shows where it's a series of poorly thrown together one liner jokes to get a few forced laughs from the others in the sound booth).

Because I liked Anton, I used to lazily stick with Today FM for Dermot and Dave (or Louise Duffy when she was in the afternoons..) but don't generally care of any of the shows too much.

Looks like it's back to Lyric FM and podcasts for me, so. Hopefully Anton will resurface on another station swiftly enough. Genuinely enjoyed his show. His leaving will be a loss to my afternoons, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

So disappointed, tuned in whenever I could and what I missed often listened to on podcasts.
    So knowledgeable and witty. Proper talent.
    As someone above said, I'll be following wherever he goes next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'm sure mammy or daddy will find something for him on RTE or Newstalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I'm sure mammy or daddy will find something for him on RTE or Newstalk.

Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I have only just heard the news at the station on the news at 4.30

No,this is so wrong. Anton could not be any further from his predessor. He runs down himself and praises himself in equal measure so doesn't take things so seriously unless it was needed.

I don't like Delamere either as some others have said. I hope he elaborates on this,but some how I doubted.

This is bad................. That's today fm gone down for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,655 ✭✭✭baldbear

What did Anton talk about today? I listened for a bit but can't remember. :(

Maybe a female will get a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

baldbear wrote: »
    What did Anton talk about today? I listened for a bit but can't remember. :(

Maybe a female will get a shot.

Please Not Paula mac sweeney or Allison 'insert text no and Twitter handle' Curtis - agree with Anton about the music choice - lately the music is dire on today FM- used to be different than they put on most stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

No to Delamere, Delaney, Curtis, McSweeney or Duffy!

That leaves McLoone who it wouldnt suit either. I like listening to Ed Smith though! Gavin Reilly often covers for Matt Cooper, might be worth a shot?

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Not surprised really. Don't get to listen to the show anymore due to work but I happened to be in the car today and caught a bit of the show and he seemed to be dialing it in. He's more suited to the serious stuff like Matt Cooper's show. He just didn't have the warmth or the everyman appeal for a fluffy daytime show imo.

Don't think many agree with you BaZmo. In a world of mediocre to poor radio shows and presenters (ahem Newstalks new line up!) Anton stood out ....he's a natural.

Some big ego in Today FM couldn't and wouldn't back down ........their loss !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Was he on air today? Saddened by this news, I tend not to listen to the radio much these days as its all pure muck but I enjoyed listening to Anton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭siblers

toadfly wrote: »
    Actually devastated, love Anton and his show. Dread to think the drivel that will replace him.

Neil Delamare or Alison Curtis I imagine :(

siblers wrote: »

Off to Spotify if that's the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Two words : Ray Foley...

Yep probably the only person I can think of - That or Will Leahy but he has a law firm to look after during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Brendan O'Connor, Grainne Seoige or (God forbid) Hector. Or move Dermot and Dave to that slot and get rid of the talk element?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Mc Love wrote: »
    Yep probably the only person I can think of - That or Will Leahy but he has a law firm to look after during the day.

Oh Jesus, please no! In my teens I quite liked Will on the late night 2fm shows but his drivetime one years later made me want to shred my ears with a cheese grater.

Foley, on the other hand? I'd be thrilled if The King was back on national airwaves :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

If Delamare gets the gig then thats me finished with Today fm. Anytime he filled in for Anton I would tune out and find something else to listen too. I got the feeling that the last while Anton was not really happy with the direction the show was going in.. I commented in here that I felt the show had become a radio version of the TV show Loose Women. The show I felt became top heavy in too many female issues and lost its broader appeal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Oh Jaysus

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    If Delamare gets the gig then thats me finished with Today fm. Anytime he filled in for Anton I would tune out and find something else to listen too. I got the feeling that the last while Anton was not really happy with the direction the show was going in.. I commented in here that I felt the show had become a radio version of the TV show Loose Women. The show I felt became top heavy in too many female issues and lost its broader appeal...

A lot of the listeners are female though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Pudsey64

anna080 wrote: »
    Was he on air today? Saddened by this news, I tend not to listen to the radio much these days as its all pure muck but I enjoyed listening to Anton.
    He was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭madcabbage

He'd fit in nicely in the evening's on Newstalk, the void left by George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I wonder why he chose not to say goodbye on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

In typical DOB spin in things, it said earlier on the Matt cooper show that Anton's "contract is not being renewed"

DOB'S indo says "anton savage says he is leaving today fm"

Pinch of salt with all the stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Are Today FM trying to follow the 2fm business plan...if it is I would think again. I wonder what affect this will have on the others. Unlike Ray D'arcy, Anton seems to be well liked in the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Very sorry to hear this..

Himself and Matt Cooper were the only two that had me tuned in. Dermot and Dave are great at what they do too.

They will really struggle to replace Anton.. I genuinely can't put a name out there?!

If management are being as full on as it sounds, surely they have the brains not to put Neil Delamere or Hector in there. Whatever about these well known people doing a grand job on a weekend slot, it marks a bad time for radio in Ireland if they are put in here.. Today FM would also surely be shooting themselves in the foot.

Who in local / regional radio is a good fit for the slot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

heybaby wrote: »
    Two words : Ray Foley...

fcuk and off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

anna080 wrote: »
    I wonder why he chose not to say goodbye on air.

He ended todays show by saying that, he had Monday off but would be back on Tuesday.............