Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    He is being treated unfairly called a monster and he has not become President yet. This forum is about President Trump so Businessperson Trump you cannot compare him to his future role as the head of state of America. People are reasoning that Trump as a businessperson will behave exactly as same when he becomes President. We won't know until he is sworn in and quite frankly it will be fun to watch. I don't believe he will be as bad as everyone is talking about.

As for calling him a monster ....It is harsh I concur but his words are very much helping with that label.
    Why not stop tweeting divisive stuff and hold fire and get some substantial policy going. Its his lies dressed as the truth that will be his undoing and what I and others cannot take. He won the election now take control and stop the hissy fits

It is possible Trump just spends the presidency tweeting whatever while others get on with the work

But whaver happens it wont be Trumps fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

dudara wrote: »
    I have to disagree here.

Instead of "On the substantial issues Trump's positions won the argument" I would instead state "On the substantial issues Trump's positions won the supporters". Trump comprehensively lost 3 televised debates against his opponent due to his failure to coherently advance his arguments. Despite this though, he won his supporters.

And "The fact of the matter is the liberals, lefties, neoliberals, phoney socialists, Democrat infidels call them what you like were pushing the wrong policies in the first place" should be more accurately stated as "The fact of the matter is the liberals, lefties, neoliberals, phoney socialists, Democrat infidels call them what you like were pushing policies not palatable to voters".

Use of the word "wrong" is too definitive - we don't know yet whose policies are right or wrong. Only time will tell us that.

Well I happen to have seen him doing grand on the third debate. The allegations came up a lot and other topics were not that much discussed. Hillary flat out refused to engage with him on the issues preferring the old excuses of branding him a racist and a bigamist. When Trump said 11 million illegals were in the country and causing real disenfranchisement among the population Hillary could care less about their grievances. The same with Syria she publically went on record to claim the Syrian gvt was murdering Syrian civilians indiscriminately which is a lie. Gvt forces are indeed killing the armed terrorist Jihadi organizations but to Hillary their just Muslims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

MPFGLB wrote: »
    He is being treated unfairly called a monster and he has not become President yet.

As for calling him a monster ....It is harsh I concur but his words are very much helping with that label.

I think he'll ultimately be known for his corruption. That's the overiding impression that he's giving as he assembles his "cabinet".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Well I happen to have seen him doing grand on the third debate. The allegations came up a lot and other topics were not that much discussed. Hillary flat out refused to engage with him on the issues preferring the old excuses of branding him a racist and a bigamist. When Trump said 11 million illegals were in the country and causing real disenfranchisement among the population Hillary could care less about their grievances. The same with Syria she publically went on record to claim the Syrian gvt was murdering Syrian civilians indiscriminately which is a lie. Gvt forces are indeed killing the armed terrorist Jihadi organizations but to Hillary their just Muslims.

I missed the bit on bigamy. They were calling each other bigots though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Christy42 wrote: »
    The people calling for a recount are actually looking for evidence. They haven't said someone else needs to disprove them.

No one has said that fraud has occurred except Trump. They are saying there is incredibly circumstancial evidence that they feel is worth investigating further. Trump has said that fraud has occurred but refuses to investigate it or supply evidence.

It is almost like he is doing very different things to those asking for a recount.

Oh a retweet means he still agrees with the post.

Apparently Jill Stein will have a lot of email addresses from donations for the recount when all this is done and dusted...

RobertKK wrote: »
    Apparently Jill Stein will have a lot of email addresses from donations for the recount when all this is done and dusted...

Probably! To be honest, I have no idea where Jill Stein stands. Third party candidates tend to be the most..well...refreshingly honest (if neophytical). Until proof otherwise, I reckon she generally intended for an honest recount to ensure fairness - although probably tipped by keeping her name out there and because the Green party will be even more irrelevant in the States once the Dear Leader finishes gutting NOAA and the EPA. If you think the Democratic party are in trouble, the wave of crap looming over the Greens is big enough to blot out the sun! (Hey, a solution to global warming!)

I hope if she does run again, she's got a bit more common sense when it comes to answering questions. She gave the impression of being so desperate not to tread on toes that she was entertaining (and thus implicitly endorsing) the most ridiculous notions and concerns, including plunging arse-backwards into the vaccine debate (and she's a doctor!) and 9/11 truthers. In both cases she was being so cautious not to alienate anyone that she basically encouraged them.

Mind you, this year being what it is...if she suddenly pulled off the human skin suit to reveal Fidel Castro, I'd be...well, shocked, yes, but not, overall, any more surprised than I've been by anything else this year.

I missed the bit on bigamy. They were calling each other bigots though?

The allegations coming out to me strongly indicates labeling him a bigamist.

Not heard those allegations, so your opinion is as much a spade as any other. Who was he supposed to be bigamying with? He admitted himself that he cheated on his various wives, but I hadn't heard that he'd managed to marry any of them while still married to a previous one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭oik

Well, it's not often that someone actually comes right out and -says- that it's okay when their side does it, but not when the other side does.

I saw a lot of that when Castro died. People who claimed Trump was an authoritarian anti free speech pro torture who wants mass deportation etc etc were praising Castro like some kind of rockstar.

The left is equally if not more prone to double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The people calling for a recount are actually looking for evidence. They haven't said someone else needs to disprove them.

No one has said that fraud has occurred except Trump. They are saying there is incredibly circumstancial evidence that they feel is worth investigating further. Trump has said that fraud has occurred but refuses to investigate it or supply evidence.

It is almost like he is doing very different things to those asking for a recount.

Oh a retweet means he still agrees with the post.

Yeah true that. She's wasting everybody's time though and apart from a few tree huggers it does not reflect well on her or her party.

oik wrote: »
    I saw a lot of that when Castro died. People who claimed Trump was an authoritarian anti free speech pro torture who wants mass deportation etc etc were praising Castro like some kind of rockstar.

Can we maybe, for the sake of this thread, not do it any more in here? Can't do much about the state of the world, but we can perhaps avoid it in relatively civil conversation.

Well I don't know the content of the discussion you were having with the other poster but for my part if you think I'm imposing a double standard I would prefer you provided me an opportunity to explain before accusing me of double standards.

Too often posters don't try to fully understand another posters position before jumping in and accusing them of hypocrisy. It smacks of point scoring.

Well I don't know the content of the discussion you were having with the other poster but for my part if you think I'm imposing a double standard I would prefer you provided me an opportunity to explain before accusing me of double standards.

Too often posters don't try to fully understand another posters position before jumping in and accusing them of hypocrisy. It smacks of point scoring.

...That actually wasn't what I was saying. Sorry if it sounded like it.

Not heard those allegations, so your opinion is as much a spade as any other. Who was he supposed to be bigamying with? He admitted himself that he cheated on his various wives, but I hadn't heard that he'd managed to marry any of them while still married to a previous one!

All those women coming out claiming Trump had contact with them. You must have had you hands in your ears and your eyes closed. Clinton could not stop accusing Trump of being a serial assaulter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Christy42

Possibly. I doubt her party know enough to use them but that is a different story.

Impressively minor story for you to pick up on though what with the mass corruption in terms of the next president already taking in money in a pay to play system and the president elect going on temper tantrums.

All those women coming out claiming Trump had contact with them. You must have had you hands in your ears and your eyes closed. Clinton could not stop accusing Trump of being a serial assaulter.

Right, okay. Well, bigamy wasn't the word you were looking for then :P Don't tarnish the poor guy's name even more than it already is!

...That actually wasn't what I was saying. Sorry if it sounded like it.

No I wasn't talking about what you were saying I was just saying that in general a common tactic on this thread is to try and trap your opponent with his own hypocrisy, real or imagined. Often imagined. Not very conducive to a productive discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

What's the difference between sex and the US Presidential elections?

In sex, the decision to choose between the c*nt and the arsehole is a pleasure. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Yes I did.

My Landlady showed me a letter from the TV License crowd that stated that anyone living in the house would have to show on the balance of probability that they were not watching live TV.
    Well then you got duped. There is no onus on you to prove you weren't watching live TV - that wouldn't stand up in court. TV license letters are also addressed to the occupier, not the landlord or owner of a property.

By the way you do know that the company that does TV licensing are in no way connected to the BBC?

In case there was any doubt it will be the official potion of the Whitehouse that climate change does not exist.

https://thinkprogress.org/trump-climate-change-bunk-28c5c44cee#.vw56cijht

One can only imagine that they will deny gravity next. Hopefully they at least don't do too much damage before someone who believes in reality gets in.

Also on a separate point Trump attacks first ammendment rights. I mean I don't expect him to follow through but he has yet to act presidential in the slightest. Of course who knows what he is going to do in office. From the shock his team got at the staffing requirements he certainly was not planning on being in this position.

It also once again raises the question whether the man supposedly in charge of the country cam be trusted to lead a twitter account. It has been taken off him before.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/11/29/politics/donald-trump-flag-burning-penalty-proposal/

I think I need to spell something out. Something obvious.

Trump sends out a tweet at the start of the day. Sets the agenda.
    Media then latches on to this. Follows it for the day.
    Discussion boards then full of people who read these stories and believe it.

Repeat.

Is the penny dropping ?

Well, it's not often that someone actually comes right out and -says- that it's okay when their side does it, but not when the other side does.

+1 great post.

ebbsy wrote: »
    I think I need to spell something out. Something obvious.

Trump sends out a tweet at the start of the day. Sets the agenda.
    Media then latches on to this. Follows it for the day.
    Discussion boards then full of people who read these stories and believe it.

Repeat.

Is the penny dropping ?

I am aware of what he does. I am just confused as to why some people are not calling him out on being an absolute horrific president elect. He is corrupt. He is a liar. He has shown no plans for what he is going to do or at least they are so buried in misinformation that the public has no idea what path their glorious leader is going to go down. He has increased divisions in the country like no other and in spite of his victory speech has gone to further lengths to antagonise those who opposed him.

Near as I can see the right on this thread has devolved into "silly liberals can't see that this is all a smoke screen to screw over the country heh, heh, heh". This is generally posted without acknowledgement that they will also be losing out as well. Why are you not calling out this liar and cheater instead of applauding him for playing the media?!?

Also the media are still calling him out on corruption so he hasn't managed to keep them down yet. Even if his supporters are happy to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

The Guardian go full retard.:

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/nov/28/alt-right-online-poison-racist-bigot-sam-harris-milo-yiannopoulos-islamophobia

Like I said: more doubling down and extremism in the next few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/nov/28/alt-right-online-poison-racist-bigot-sam-harris-milo-yiannopoulos-islamophobia

Anonymous = Totally made this sh*t up so I can't put my name to it in case I have to answer for any of it.

This has to be satire :D

Ok, ok, what actually is this "alt-right" (idea for a Bob Marley parody right there....) that I've been hearing over and over? Is it because they literally can't call the gays, blacks, women, Hispanics, Asians etc etc "racist right wing white supremacists" for holding right leaning views, so had to come up with something else to dash with negative connotations and release into the public?

Because that's just kind of what I assumed...

I am aware of what he does. I am just confused as to why some people are not calling him out on being an absolute horrific president elect. He is corrupt. He is a liar. He has shown no plans for what he is going to do or at least they are so buried in misinformation that the public has no idea what path their glorious leader is going to go down. He has increased divisions in the country like no other and in spite of his victory speech has gone to further lengths to antagonise those who opposed him.

Oh I know exactly what he's like, I just know Hillary is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

This has to be satire :D

Ok, ok, what actually is this "alt-right" (idea for a Bob Marley parody right there....) that I've been hearing over and over? Is it because they literally can't call the gays, blacks, women, Hispanics, Asians etc etc "racist right wing white supremacists" for holding right leaning views, so had to come up with something else to dash with negative connotations and release into the public?

Because that's just kind of what I assumed...

My idea is that it's this broad umbrella term that includes conservatives who are sick with modern "left with the conservative nametag for the craic" politics. That's a lot of people though. It includes anyone who includes right wing views like your average Donald Trump voter, but the important thing is that it includes white supremacists, anti Semites, some of the nuttier neo-reactionaries floating about the place.

Couple of weeks ago, they released this video of this lad Richard Spenser at a conference talking about this kind of stuff. Bit of a headbanger to be honest. It's important though. The alt-right has gone viral and he's the poster lad for it.

What the media are going to do now: they are going to push anyone with any right leaning views onto, via confirmation bias, as being a member of Richard Spenser's (with Richard as the leader) group, (you are alt-right); a group of feck all people which are actually just headbangers tbh.

Stop using/identifying yourself the term alt-right if you've been using it before lads.

Oh I know exactly what he's like, I just know Hillary is worse.

She will no longer be president. Surely now you should switch to arguing Trump should be impeached.