Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Would ya piss off Parlon, with yer cliched examples of Guards and Nurses. You'd swear the country was populated with over paid public servants. This lad has spent too long rubbing shoulders with the establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Would ya piss off Parlon, with yer cliched examples of Guards and Nurses. You'd swear the country was populated with over paid public servants. This lad has spent too long rubbing shoulders with the establishment.

Oh he's a hell of a lot closer than just rubbing shoulders :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

Would ya piss off Parlon
    Tom Parlon is one person on my list of "switchover" personalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

yer 1 this morning about rte outsourcing the kids tv production was pure cringe. shes been out of the place years and whining that ex staffers werent consulted on the outsourcing. rte produced ****e kids tv in the 80s and 90s coz there was no other production companies to do it, now a days the outsourced and bought in stuff is what gets the ratings for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

neris wrote: »
    yer 1 this morning about rte outsourcing the kids tv production was pure cringe. shes been out of the place years and whining that ex staffers werent consulted on the outsourcing. rte produced ****e kids tv in the 80s and 90s coz there was no other production companies to do it, now a days the outsourced and bought in stuff is what gets the ratings for them

Why would ex-staffers be consulted anyway? That absolutely beggars belief.

Who ķnows but shows you how cosseted they are in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

but where will the sons and daughters of the inmates get their big break now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Who ķnows but shows you how cosseted they are in there

Oh very true. I had to laugh at D'arcy expounding his workplace relationships theory to Usain Bolt's manager yesterday, because there is no greater exponent of it than his own RTE, a veritable snake pit of nepotism and inbreeding.

but where will the sons and daughters of the inmates get their big break now?

I'm sure Joe Duffy cam sneak his 3 in hidden in one of his chins and no one will notice so they'll be grand and most of the others have their spawn in there anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sean doing a bit of groundwork for the return of Jonathan "Rachel" here I suspect.

Mick Barry et al, still with their heads stuck firmly in the ground. High time for ordinary decent citizens to stand up and put these Me Féiners back in their box.

Mick Barry's condescending platitude towards the rural caller just makes your teeth grind. As if she can waft down to her local authority, protest outside the door and expect a free water system. What sort of f**king self serving bolloxology he comes out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Major mask slippage there from comrade Barry as regards people from rural areas who pay for water.

"Take it up with the government of the day"

That's the Looney Left in a nutshell, sh1t-stirring every gullible muppet into a frenzy and then sit back and bitch as someone else trys to sort it out.

I also note that "progressive taxation" has been replaced with "general taxation" as their method of payment.

Mick Barry et al, still with their heads stuck firmly in the ground. High time for ordinary decent citizens to stand up and put these Me Féiners back in their box.
    I only heard the first few minutes of this but I thought Sean and team performed fairly pooly in not having the figures to hand on how many people had paid the water charges - allowed Mick Barry to throw around numbers that Sean wasn't really able to dispute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

serfboard wrote: »
    I only heard the first few minutes of this but I thought Sean and team performed fairly pooly in not having the figures to hand on how many people had paid the water charges - allowed Mick Barry to throw around numbers that Sean wasn't really able to dispute.

Good call Serf.

Standard interview technique is to expect to be queried on numbers and have numbers ready if required.

That and a timeline.

Anyone who is phased by the 'how many' and 'when' questions hasn't really prepared too well.

Remember the poor Renua 'finance spokesman'

How people elect candidates like Barry always amazes me.

Standard interview technique is to expect to be queried on numbers and have numbers ready if required.

That and a timeline.

Anyone who is phased by the 'how many' and 'when' questions hasn't really prepared too well.

I actually think you're missing my point. Mick Barry did have numbers, and I don't think his numbers were false.

My point was that Sean didn't have the other numbers to oppose it.

To explain what I mean - Mick Barry gave the number who didn't pay the final bill. Ah, says Sean, but that was when people knew that charges were being suspended and so they didn't bother.

Alright says Mick - but X thousand never paid any bill at all. At this point, Sean should have been able to say, yes, but Y thousand did. However, he couldn't because he didn't have those numbers to hand.

Fair enough, you might say, it would have been the responsibility of someone from either Fine Gael or Irish Water to have those numbers - if they were on. So, why weren't they?

serfboard wrote: »
    I actually think you're missing my point. Mick Barry did have numbers, and I don't think his numbers were false.

My point was that Sean didn't have the other numbers to oppose it.

To explain what I mean - Mick Barry gave the number who didn't pay the final bill. Ah, says Sean, but that was when people knew that charges were being suspended and so they didn't bother.

Alright says Mick - but X thousand never paid any bill at all. At this point, Sean should have been able to say, yes, but Y thousand did. However, he couldn't because he didn't have those numbers to hand.

Fair enough, you might say, it would have been the responsibility of someone from either Fine Gael or Irish Water to have those numbers - if they were on. So, why weren't they?

Sorry Serf, I did indeed get your point,but didn't make that clear in the post.

The reason I referred to standard interview technique was that SEAN, not Mick should have had the numbers to rebut Barrys numbers.

In other words in these situations bothe the interviewer and the interviewee need their numbers ready or otherwise they haven't prepared well.

Hope that makes sense.

I can see how you thought I was referring to Barry.

Soz.

SEAN, not Mick should have had the numbers
    Ah OK. Agreed.

I still think they also should have had an Irish Water/FG person on to give an opposing point of view, since I presume FF are in hiding on this issue ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Mick Barry is some wreck-the-head. Gutted he's one of my TDs, he's a bloody professional politician. I like how he basically told the rural folk to suck it up, easy to see he's not relying on any of their votes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭bossdrum

I don't see what rural dwellers have to with paying for water. Most people sink their own wells, I did it myself.

Rural people knew that when they decided to live in the countryside.
    Urban dwellers were used to free water and that's why they are complaining.
    You can't compare the two.
    If you are going to treat everyone the same then should every rural house have street lighting provided outside their house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭newcavanman

bossdrum wrote: »
    I don't see what rural dwellers have to with paying for water. Most people sink their own wells, I did it myself.

Rural people knew that when they decided to live in the countryside.
    Urban dwellers were used to free water and that's why they are complaining.
    You can't compare the two.
    If you are going to treat everyone the same then should every rural house have street lighting provided outside their house?

As a rural dweller, I agree you have a point. However, if the water is to be paid for out of general taxation, then, given what's needed, then we in rural Ireland, who have paid for our own water already, will be helping to pay for the dubs water, and their buses and trains and cycle lanes etc.
    It's like everything else in this country, until it's a problem in Dublin, then it's not a problem

Alan Kelly:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

And Brendan Ogle.

Pair of ......s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

sligojoek wrote: »
    And Brendan Ogle.

I flicked over to listen to the rather more tolerable conversation about the horror in Syria over that smarmy lying little bollox.

so Kelly was on the phone outside the studio:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Kelly the snivelling bollix. Still talking get down to us. C___.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

"I'm not a hypocrite '. So he a liar And a hypocrite...

Uhmmmmm........ Lot of anger building up here, lads in the control room starting to reach for the pockets I would opine...

Ummmmm..........

Sssssshteady there Mr O.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Brendan Ogle is some pain in the neck (listening to that now via podcast). All bluster, Sean was getting quite irate... :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭Paddy Porter

Good call Serf.

That and a timeline.

Shouldn't really Brendan...the Scobies continually elect Ml.Wallace..plenty of other examples of electoral sillyness.....