How do you define someone who is Irish? (multiple choice poll)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

The Falkand Islanders are British. British nationality, NI, born in a British state, British currency, British rule of law etc.

I dare you to give that little speech in a pub on the Falls road.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Brian? wrote: »
    You're not Irish if you think it's Tayto v Walkers. Walkers are Brit crisps. The debate is Tayto v King, King IMO.

Barry's is blueshirt tea. Lyons all the way.

My partner just said so too :D Kings, yes. I'm just young enough that Walkers were all over the place when I was a kid and Kings weren't that visible where I grew up at least.

The wide availability of Walkers crisps is a phenomenon I just can't understand. Tautology and King are superior crisps in every way. Why would anyone buy Walkers?

It's like Oreos. Sale bourbon visits with toothpaste in the middle. Any Jacobs biscuit is better.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 198 ✭✭NoFreeGaffs

Actually, he's Irish if that's how he sees himself. He could also legitimately claim to be Russian and take steps to get that officialised, but he's not, he's Irish (same goes for bodice ripper and indeed myself if it comes to that). Because the Irish State, that thing that's representative of all Irish citizens and can allow people to become Irish citizens or not, says so.

Someone born and raised in Russia or the UK to non Irish parents is not Irish. Let's be real here. Due to our citizenship laws, over six million Brits are "Irish" and people from South Boston who had an Irish great grandparent are also "Irish".

Except we all know that they're not really Irish and are nothing more than paper Irish. They'll never be seen as Irish by actual Irish people.

I actually feel a bit sorry for plastic paddy's. Desperate is never a good look. Probably time to change our laws and cut them off. Put them out of their misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

ScumLord wrote: »
    I have a Polish friend who goes over to the UK working during the summer where they call him the "Polish paddie" because he grew up here. He says it's hard for him to identify as Polish because he has no ties there anymore, the majority of his family are living and working in Ireland for the past 15 years.

Ok ........ :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Skommando

The Falkand Islanders are British. British nationality, NI, born in a British state, British currency, British rule of law etc.

They weren't given British passports, or British citizenship, nor were they allowed to live in Britain, until the law was changed after the Falklands war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,111 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If you are born in the Republic of Ireland, you're Irish.

If you're not born in the Republic of Ireland then you're not Irish.

Simple really.

But also wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

Article in our local paper recently about a Chinese couple who moved to Ireland some years ago. All their chidlren were born here and they gave all their kids Gaelic name and the kids are mad into the Irish Dancing, winning competitions at a high level etc. Apparently the whole family love the Irish culture and do their best to integrate.

Are the children Irish? Bit harsh to tell them they are not Irish even though their ethniticity is not associated with Ireland.

Now the chances are those kids will probably marry with "regular" Irish people so will their grandchidlren be considered Irish if they look asian?

It will be easier for the Irish born Polish to be considered Irish in a few generations than other ethnic groups as they are white and nodody will bat an eyelid. People are confusing race with Nationality. If you think someone cannot be Irish based on race, they I would think that would be racism.

Its all a bit silly really.

I am what is considered 100% Irish back to Great-Grandparents, dont know beyond that. I dont really see nationality as what defines me and dont think it is that important really. I try to avoid Irish people when overseas as dont really see the point to going overseas to spend time with people from home.

Finally a question.

If 2 people were drowning and you could only rescue one, would you rescue a friend who wasnt Irish or an Irish person who you didnt know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Article in our local paper recently about a Chinese couple who moved to Ireland some years ago. All their chidlren were born here and they gave all their kids Gaelic name and the kids are mad into the Irish Dancing, winning competitions at a high level etc. Apparently the whole family love the Irish culture and do their best to integrate.

Are the children Irish? Bit harsh to tell them they are not Irish even though their ethniticity is not associated with Ireland.

Now the chances are those kids will probably marry with "regular" Irish people so will their grandchidlren be considered Irish if they look asian?

It will be easier for the Irish born Polish to be considered Irish in a few generations than other ethnic groups as they are white and nodody will bat an eyelid. People are confusing race with Nationality. If you think someone cannot be Irish based on race, they I would think that would be racism.

I am what is considered 100% Irish back to Great-Grandparents, dont know beyond that. I dont really see nationality as what defines me and dont think it is that important really. I try to avoid Irish people when overseas as dont really see the point to going overseas to spend time with people from home.

Finally a question.

If 2 people were drowning and you could only rescue one, would you rescue a friend who wasnt Irish or an Irish person who you didnt know?

There was a thread on here with a clip where someone threw their dog at a bear to save someone and people with dogs said they wouldn't sacrifice their dog for a strangers safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Hoop Dogg

I don't think that it's racist to suggest that being Irish is associated with being white. Its just a fact of life. Ethnic Irish people have Gaelic/Norman ancestry and originate from a northern European island. Having that lineage is part of being Irish imo. Obviously there are exceptions to this though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Finally a question.

Some people on this thread seem to be confusing the fact that saying somebody is "not really Irish" as somehow racist ........ as if acknowledging a person's Chinese or Polish roots is a bad thing? :confused:
    Being Irish is no better, or worse, than being Chinese, Polish etc. ........ it's just factual.

I'd save the friend, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

It's a simple fact that you cannot be 100% American and 100% Irish.

It's hilarious when you Americans do think that you're as Irish as us natives actually from here though.

I am 100% an artist and 100% a pedant. They aren't mutually exclusive.

Sorry to be messing with your perceived purity levels.

I have an Irish parent and moved here when I was three. I am afraid you will have to take it up with your constitution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 198 ✭✭NoFreeGaffs

An Irish parent. 50%. It's simply not possible to be 100% American and 100% Irish.

Yanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Imnotthehulk

IF a person is brought up in Ireland then that person is Irish as far as I'm concerned.

However if you're born in Dublin but brought up down the country you're still a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Potatoeman wrote: »
    There was a thread on here with a clip where someone threw their dog at a bear to save someone and people with dogs said they wouldn't sacrifice their dog for a strangers safety.

Why would someone be expected to sacrifice their dog for a stranger? Don't look at me if you get yourself into a situation with a bear.

PucaMama wrote: »
    Why would someone be expected to sacrifice their dog for a stranger? Don't look at me if you get yourself into a situation with a bear.

Any human life is worth more than any dogs life. Is that controversial to you?

You'd allow someone to die because you've anthropomorphised your pet?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Any human life is worth more than any dogs life. Is that controversial to you?

You'd allow someone to die because you've anthropomorphised your pet?

Controversial? I don't understand how you jumped to that.

Wrong? Yes. You are not more important than my dog. Get over it.

I'd allow them to die because they are nothing to do with me and I'm away to safety.

How heart warming.

I won't "get over it". To place the life of a pet above the life of any human being is horrible.

You realise their are people that will risk their own safety to save a complete stranger? Never mind risking a pet.

Live your life however you want, but don't lie to yourself that it's justifiable to place the life of a dog above that of a human being.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

An Irish parent. 50%. It's simply not possible to be 100% American and 100% Irish.

Yanks!

Strange then that I don't get half a passport, half a vote, half an education.
    Did they teach you maths in school? Someone with dual nationality and parentage is not one hundred percent Irish. It's a statement of fact.

Did they teach you English at school? It's called a dual nationality, not a split nationality...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,892 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Did they teach you maths in school?

Maths and math

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

How heart warming.

I won't "get over it". To place the life of a pet above the life of any human being is horrible.

You realise their are people that will risk their own safety to save a complete stranger? Never mind risking a pet.

Live your life however you want, but don't lie to yourself that it's justifiable to place the life of a dog above that of a human being.

You should "get over it".

I love my dog. Most people are shytes.

I'd throw the bear at them to save him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

Hoop Dogg wrote: »
    IMO Someone who is 100% Irish is someone who:

- Has Irish parents, grandparents etc
    - Has an Irish surname
    - Speaks with an Irish accent
    - Someone who has spent a considerable amount of time here
    - Someone who has actively participated in Irish culture for most of their life.

Obviously their are exceptions to this

The whole idea if someone being Irish purely because they hold an Irish passport is ridiculous. Being Irish means a lot more to me than just having a piece of paper saying that I am.

- Has Irish parents, grandparents etc. Great grandparents on my mother's side 100% Irish.
    - Has an Irish surname. No, German last name.
    - Speaks with an Irish accent. I do now.
    - Someone who has spent a considerable amount of time here. Lived here 21 years
    - Someone who has actively participated in Irish culture for most of their life. Not really.

I was born in and brought up in the US but, I now have both US and Irish Citizenship. My dad is from Germany and 100% German. My mom is from the UK but, her grandparents were 100% Irish. I'd consider myself American, although when asked I just say Irish to make things easy.

My wife is 100% Irish and our children were born here but have a German last name. They have lived here all their lives, gone to school here and actively participated in Irish culture, (big into GAA)
    Wouldn't you consider them Irish? Because I do.

I think it really comes down to where you were born and brought up.

You know, as weird as some of the comments are, it's rather refreshing to be on an internet page of people are absolutely happy to say that they'd never be heroic or risk either themselves or their pets to save someone's life. In a world of internet heroes and those who just aren't sure what they'd do, at least there's people that absolutely know what they'd do! :D

Not sure I could actually fling the purring kitty who's looking up at me at the moment to a bear, even to save someone's life. She trusts me. I have a duty to her as well as being fond of her. But I'd certainly prefer to think that I'd try to help someone, even in the midst of being totally confused as to what the hell a bear was doing in this rural part of the countryside, rather than saying "your problem, bud" and getting "away to safety".

Also, I still see feelings are getting in the way of what reality is in terms of what "Irish" is. Yis can think all you like that someone with a foreign parent isn't Irish because of all those icky genetics, but the Irish State disagrees with you and its opinion is worth a lot more than any person's in this thread. Argue for a referendum if you want to be "right", until then, you just have a minority opinion. And by god, even in this post-fact era, I will argue the hell out of an actual fact rather than entertain contradictory opinions as being on an equal level to them in terms of veracity! Teach the fcuking controversy, my ass.

Sentient life is always more valuable. You're going down a very selfish road. This is the kind of selfishness that when normalised leads to people walking by and not reporting a burglary or ignoring you being dragged down a laneway at knifepoint and not calling the police. Not a cohesive society.

Well. I'm willing to entertain some academic debate as to whether that's so, what -does- make a human's life more valuable than a dog's, other than that we speaking about it are all humans and have an innate drive to protect our own species rather than another.

My gut's with you on it, but I have to give the qualifier that my gut is probably just reacting to species survival impulses. But those survival impulses is what makes a species able to co-operate too, so...

Well. I'm willing to entertain some academic debate as to whether that's so, what -does- make a human's life more valuable than a dog's, other than that we speaking about it are all humans and have an innate drive to protect our own species rather than another.

My gut's with you on it, but I have to give the qualifier that my gut is probably just reacting to species survival impulses. But those survival impulses is what makes a species able to co-operate too, so...

How would you feel if you lost a family member because someone saved their dog instead of them? Why do relations not go to your dogs funeral?

It's an animal, it can be great and loyal but it's still an animal

How would you feel if you lost a family member because someone saved their dog instead of them? Why do relations not go to your dogs funeral?

It's an animal, it can be great and loyal but it's still an animal

Oh, absolutely. I'd be pretty horrified at someone choosing to let a person die to save a dog or cat. I'm mostly noting that my reaction, whether objectively right or not (since I don't think we've ever, as a race, come to a definite, unarguable, conclusion about the worth of non-human life) is going to be absolutely tempered by my instincts as a human being.

Instincts make up a lot of our morality though, and our sense of right and wrong. That "ugh, no" instinct against incest, for instance. It's a protective instinct for the safety of the human race. On the other hand, if a couple meet, fall in love and marry and later find out they're siblings, my reaction is more empathy than disgust. And I can't find a strictly logical reason why a geneticaly related -CHILDLESS- couple should be treated as illegitimate outcasts. It's based on species instinct. Right in many cases, probably not the most important defining objective factor though.

Instinct would have me protect another human being rather than a cat (albeit, instinct would also have me protect a cat, but I'd be more likely to risk my ass against a bear for a human child than I would be for a cat.

However, it is interesting to examine an alien view that appears to go against instincts, that "my cat" is more important than "your family member". I suppose it could be considered as another form of tribalism (This is mine. This is part of my sphere of influence. Therefore it is more important to me, and it's me that's needing to do the action to sacrifice it or not) and the legitimacy of placing members of another species at or above members of your own species in critical situations. Morality and relative ethics are kinda interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Tony Cascarino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Your poll is garbage.

It doesn't make sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Skommando wrote: »

They weren't given British passports, or British citizenship, nor were they allowed to live in Britain, until the law was changed after the Falklands war.
    Wars are fought for a reason. They are British, you might not like it. So are British Unionists in NI.