If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Newstalk Drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭gabsdot40

I'm finding Newstalk unlistenable ( if that's a word) to since the new schedule.
    The exceptions are Pat Kenny, OTB, and Tom Dunne.
    I've turned the dial to Today FM.
    Sorry NT, I was a loyal listener but it's just all a bit annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭jharr100

gabsdot40 wrote: »
    I'm finding Newstalk unlistenable ( if that's a word) to since the new schedule.
    The exceptions are Pat Kenny, OTB, and Tom Dunne.
    I've turned the dial to Today FM.
    Sorry NT, I was a loyal listener but it's just all a bit annoying.

Same here .. unlistenable .. except for Sean Moncrief and Pat Kenny. Two excellent broadcasters..
    Otb is OK too ..
    I find Williams irritating and one dimensional.
    I've moved the dial alright ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

gimmick wrote: »
    Who was she interviewing yesterday about minimum alcohol pricing? She just would not stop interrupting him. It was painful. She would ask a question, he would get a few words in and she was either shouting him down or just badgering. Really really bad interview.

Oh come on, the guy reminded me of the lobbyists in Thank You for Smoking. I don't particularly like the government proposals but he was acting like Sarah and everyone else is complete moron. She was right to question his motives.

I actually don't mind Drivetime and find it perfectly easy to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

jharr100 wrote: »
    Same here .. unlistenable .. except for Sean Moncrief and Pat Kenny. Two excellent broadcasters..
    Otb is OK too ..
    I find Williams irritating and one dimensional.
    I've moved the dial alright ..
    Paul Williams....once I heard he was in I was out......scuuumbaaags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

When commenting on that survey, McInerney says:
    "The were interviewed in their own language so there was no room for error"
    They interviewed a thousand people and fed them loaded questions that gave them the answers they were looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,739 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

When commenting on that survey, McInerney says:
    "The were interviewed in their own language so there was no room for error"
    They interviewed a thousand people and fed them loaded questions that gave them the answers they were looking for.

Was listening to it here and she (and whoever they had on the phone with her) had a good oul segment of man-bashing, and horror that some WOMEN were agreeing with some of the findings.

I rarely listen to NT since the reshuffle now anyway but she's definitely a liability IMO. Amazing how one man leaving (Yates) has turned the entire station on its head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Was listening to it here and she (and whoever they had on the phone with her) had a good oul segment of man-bashing, and horror that some WOMEN were agreeing with some of the findings.

The most ridiculous thing was when Sarah was shocked when the outlandish possibility that the woman may have done something to contribute to the argument. A friend of mine was seeing a girl who stabbed him twice after a verbal argument. I suppose that was his fault as well.

I'm sick of Newstalk's narrative that boys are all potential rapists and that all girls are made of "sugar and spice and all things nice".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

They drove me to Today FM and I can't feckin' stand Matt Cooper.

A bit OTT perhaps ???
    tommytee wrote: »
    Never thought I would actually mutter these words but
    Come back George Hook all is forgiven....

this Newstalk Drive is absolute garbage,can someone please tell Sarah McInerney to stop laughing at her jokes they are simply not funny.

Moncreiff is the only show i will be listening to.. Yes i've moved the dial alright

Nothing wrong with Georgy boy, I miss him from that slot

I find Moncrief a bit pompous to be honest.
    The most ridiculous thing was when Sarah was shocked when the outlandish possibility that the woman may have done something to contribute to the argument. A friend of mine was seeing a girl who stabbed him twice after a verbal argument. I suppose that was his fault as well.

I'm sick of Newstalk's narrative that boys are all potential rapists and that all girls are made of "sugar and spice and all things nice".

A lot of the media do this to be fair I think.

I did listen for a while to "Drive", but I am not doing so so much now, so Matt Cooper is getting more attention from me now.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 eurobillschulz

I think that the feedback is very unfair. I think it is a great show.

• Site Banned Posts: 5 Walky Talky

I think that the feedback is very unfair. I think it is a great show.

Nope it and the presenters are woeful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

jharr100 wrote:
    Same here .. unlistenable .. except for Sean Moncrief and Pat Kenny. Two excellent broadcasters...

gabsdot40 wrote:
    I'm finding Newstalk unlistenable ( if that's a word) to since the new schedule. The exceptions are Pat Kenny...

Woah. Pat Kenny? Really?!

I think he's basically the antichrist. A deluded old aristocrat who has no idea of anything that extends beyond his remit as a rich, arrogant excuse for a man. Power and pomp did a number on him when he took over from Gaybo and it snowballed to the extent that he's a walking caricature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Woah. Pat Kenny? Really?!

I think he's basically the antichrist. A deluded old aristocrat who has no idea of anything that extends beyond his remit as a rich, arrogant excuse for a man. Power and pomp did a number on him when he took over from Gaybo and it snowballed to the extent that he's a walking caricature.

It's not poor Pat who's deluded, I think.

Well he's likely not on boards inferring what people think about him at half five in the morning, but that's neither here nor there. He has a veritable army of defenders who always have a huge amount of negative to project on to me, but I've never really seen it from the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

The show is now just two far left whiners complaining about Trump.
    No balance and will lose listeners.

Well he's likely not on boards inferring what people think about him at half five in the morning, but that's neither here nor there. He has a veritable army of defenders who always have a huge amount of negative to project on to me, but I've never really seen it from the other side.

I'm afraid there are those who project a lot more negative on most things they promulgate on the various social platforms they subscribe to.

But that's another story.

I'm afraid there are those who project a lot of negative on most things they promulgate on the various social platforms they subscribe to.
    Literally still an ad hominem on me with no defence of Satan incarnate. I rest easy.

"Satan incarnate" :D

No defense needed,I'm afraid,that kinda says it all.

"Satan incarnate"
    No defense needed,I'm afraid,that kinda says it all.
    Like, do you know about the expression "ad hominem" or are you just willfully ignorant? I genuinely want to hear why Pat Kenny is Jesus incarnate to you. This is the other side, appealing to you personally to give me something, because all I currently have is a man who harassed his elderly neighbour over a field and enquired if a small boy who was a dancing enthusiast would "Black up" when he went to L.A., "put a bit of colour on your face?" ("eh... Nnnno") (they've stowed that one deep in the RTE archives, but we remember). To me, he's nothing but an "insufferable... arsehole".

But I can't help but feel that this will all go waaaay over your head.

Like, do you know about the expression "ad hominem" or are you just willfully ignorant? I genuinely want to hear why Pat Kenny is Jesus incarnate to you. This is the other side, appealing to you personally to give me something, because all I currently have is a man who harassed his elderly neighbour over a field and enquired if a small boy who was a dancing enthusiast would "Black up" when he went to L.A., "put a bit of colour on your face?" ("eh... Nnnno") (they've stowed that one deep in the RTE archives, but we remember). To me, he's nothing but an "insufferable... arsehole".

You feel correctly, I'm afraid, and low level abuse and vacuous posting is not my bag.

Everybody has opinions but trying to bully people into engaging with you by putting words into their mouths will not phase this poster.

Too experienced for that.

Now this thread is being driven off topic so let's get back on track shall we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I don't think anyone said he was "Jesus incarnate", just that they enjoyed listening to him. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Tried this show. Cant warm to it. Twice ive heard Sarah read out a text message from so and so. 'Now not so and so the junior minister' then pisses herself laughing. Chris usually responds with a weak laugh and a sort of 'yeah good one'. Chris himself is flat out telling us he's been in the Dail all day listening to a debate or was reading such and such a report before he came on air as if we're supposed to sit up and applaud him. It Needs an Ivan yates type character to give it a little kick up the arse (even tho he was full of nonsense he knew how to stir the pot). The 2 of them are probably good journos. As an on air team they dont work because theyre so alike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

tommytee wrote: »
    Never thought I would actually mutter these words but
    Come back George Hook all is forgiven....

this Newstalk Drive is absolute garbage,can someone please tell Sarah McInerney to stop laughing at her jokes they are simply not funny.

Moncreiff is the only show i will be listening to.. Yes i've moved the dial alright

What do you mean "Never though I would mutter these words"..

Hookey was the 2nd best thing Newstalk had after Ivan (I agree Moncreiff still probably tops them all, but he, thankfully is still there doing his regularish slot)

Whatever they thought about Hook, he was not boring, nor was his guests , show and the topics he dealt with. I know Hook is still doing an afternoon show (I liked the other guy from Cork) but people don't know what they are missing until those guys are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

They could do worse than bring Eamon Keane back to the station. Was always a fan of his lunchtime show.

They could do worse than being Eamon Keane back to the station. Was always a fan of his lunchtime show.

I thought Newstalk started to go downhill a bit when he left, rather abruptly.

I know some people might not have liked Marc Coleman, what whatever happened to him? Too negative? Too right wing? Good taste in music too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Sarah's latest made up word: Narcism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I cannot get over how argumentative Sarah is with all her interviewees, you can really feel the aggression she's projecting on unsuspecting guests.
    Chris is lost without Ivan to liven him up, he needs a strong personality to bounce off because he can't stand on his own two feet in that regard. I still like him though.
    Williams in the morning is awful, just a terrible presenter who doesn't seem to have a clue about any topic.
    Pat Kenny is a great, great radio presenter - whether you like him or not you can't deny it. He really gets the answers from his guests. I think he's absolutely awful on TV but he really works on radio.
    Hook is Hook, I actually listened to his show today, the first time in ages I haven't jumped at the dial to change over. He's a gobsh1te, he knows it, everyone knows it. If you listen to him you know what to expect. Not my cup of tea but whatever.
    I find Moncrieff a bit too fluffy, I wish he'd be more 'newsy' and have less of the wishy washy crap. But if it works then who am I to argue. He makes for harmless radio.
    Ivan is missed, he played the fool for Chris very well. Someone like him would be nice instead of Sarah. At least tell her to chill out a bit, she's taking it far too seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Lt Dan wrote: »
    I thought Newstalk started to go downhill a bit when he left, rather abruptly.

I know some people might not have liked Marc Coleman, what whatever happened to him? Too negative? Too right wing? Good taste in music too

Took the dog for a walk last night, had the old earphones in, and had that exact thought.

I quite like Tom Dunne in the evenings, but could do with Marc back a couple of times a week.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Took the dog for a walk last night, had the old earphones in, and had that exact thought.

I quite like Tom Dunne in the evenings, but could do with Marc back a couple of times a week.

Feck it I am going to say it, I miss Marc Coleman. Even that side kick fool of his , the doctor who was in Fine Gael. Bar the coughs and spluttering the barnies Coleman had with him and his guests was great. I use to think Tom Dunne was cool, like him on Today FM (he has not changed) but now I just find him boring . Prefer that Paul McLoone chap to Dunne.

One needs a bit of hardcore Current Affairs to annoy me in the evening once and a while, and Coleman was good for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

New expression invented by Chris there tonight - "so soon ago" (ie recently)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    New expression invented by Chris there tonight - "so soon ago" (ie recently)

Is this the new " going forward " ?