Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Of the 46% that didn't vote, I wonder are there any polls of a breakdown of Democrat etc ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

ebbsy wrote: »
    Of the 46% that didn't vote, I wonder are there any polls of a breakdown of Democrat etc ?

46% isn't that high for a U.S. presidential election...it was 45.13% in 2012.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/262915/voter-turnout-in-the-us-presidential-elections/

foxtrot101 wrote: »

46% isn't that high for a U.S. presidential election...it was 45.13% in 2012.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/262915/voter-turnout-in-the-us-presidential-elections/

Thats not the question I asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Thats not the question I asked.

Well you're a charmer, aren't yeah. I thought you were implying that there was some significance to 46% figure. As for the rest, it would be just as easy for you to find the answer as it would anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Trump spent a lot more time talking about jobs than Hillary did.
    Hillary spent most of her time talking about Trump. And nobody was interested.

Minor point, but from what I saw, Trump spent most of his time talking about a) himself, b) his businesses (the amount of time he spent saying how rich he is can be included in a), c) the general awfulness of his opponents and d) how the media is horrible to him.

Jobs and the rest were generally side points or what he was technically answering while going into a to d.

Mind you, both of them spent quite a bit of time skeetering out from debate about the scandals they were both embroiled in. Their speaking styles makes it hard to compare the substance of what they both said regarding specific topics; generally, Clinton speaks more succinctly and, unless the topic is wikileaks or emails, sticks to the point. Only way to keep Trump on topic is to nail him to a wall first, and even then, you better hope the topic -is- the wall in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Well you're a charmer, aren't yeah. I thought you were implying that there was some significance to 46% figure. As for the rest, it would be just as easy for you to find the answer as it would anyone else.
    Unless they're not interested in the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Christy42 wrote: »
    Yes but Trump seems fine with Hillary breaking the law and walking now. Is this not an abandonment of what at least some of his voters wanted and he promised?

The Democrats are already crying foul that Trump even got elected. Will have to see if the FBI do go after Clinton, they are an independent agency and i'd say some of Trump's supporters will put pressure on the FBI to look into her dealings. It won't take centre stage because nobody wants the added drama of an impeachment process. We have the Mahon & Moriarty Tribunals over here which did nothing but show all the corruption. Charlie and Aherne come out looking fine and politics carried on as usual. Their is no appetite for some kind of show trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Christy42

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    The Democrats are already crying foul that Trump even got elected. Will have to see if the FBI do go after Clinton, they are an independent agency and i'd say some of Trump's supporters will put pressure on the FBI to look into her dealings. It won't take centre stage because nobody wants the added drama of an impeachment process. We have the Mahon & Moriarty Tribunals over here which did nothing but show all the corruption. Charlie and Aherne come out looking fine and politics carried on as usual. Their is no appetite for some kind of show trial.

The fbi already said they were not going to prosecute before the election. The fbi have been through it with a fine tooth comb and turned up nothing. Republicans have had years of trying to get her in jail and found nothing.

So Trump lied to the electorate. I mean he said he would and they cheered him for it. Now he no longer needs their votes he ditches his promises?
    http://nypost.com/2016/11/22/trump-wont-pursue-charges-against-clinton/

I agree it would be a terrible divisive idea but I am wondering why did he say it then and why did they all cheer what we all agree now is a terribly stupid idea to appoint a special prosecutor. Is it possible the liberals were right?

Billy86 wrote: »
    Unless they're not interested in the answer.

Well all I'm looking for is the answers why she lost, as opposed to listening to LGBT outrage etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

MPFGLB wrote: »
    We an only hope but what Trump does on the envirnoment effects the whole world and certainly your grand children and their children

And America is still the most powerful country in the World ....its foreign policy effects us all ...especially on the middle east and the impact that has on Europe. As Britain closes its doors tighter to immigrants maybe that will effect Ireland who remains part of Europe

Also Trump is not a big fan of Europe ....unless he puts that on for his buddy Farage...So Trumps US trade plans with Europe will effect Ireand

And finally if he changes tax lawas for American big business which he seems to want to do ...that may effect Irish jobs if some US multi nationals base themselves back in US ...

In global markets with layered capitalism we are all effected by what the US , China and Russia do

I heard the exact same opinion's said against GWBj & RTE also with the same reporter there giving us there bias view, GWBj policy's did not effect me or my family and ww3 did not start, the middle east has always been a powder keg ever since ww2 ended
    Laois_Man wrote: »
    You don't actually know that!

Well in that case you don't know it either or any one else here in what will happen.

What really gets me is I did see not any protests about the Chinese presidents visit or the prince from Saudi Arabia to Ireland ? Or RTE having spokespeople on night after night condemning them etc etc

Nor did i here RTE or anyone raise why our president is visiting Laos last week on an official tour when it has an appalling human rights record.

In other words all this hypocrisy in slanting presidents trumps win is just a load of begrudging bull**** cause there candidate didn't win.

Well all I'm looking for is the answers why she lost, as opposed to listening to LGBT outrage etc.

And all we're looking for is what you expect from the Trump presidency over the next four years since you were so strongly in support of him.

A number of reasons, some of which can be skewed in a few ways.

- The heartlands have been in steady decline since their heyday. There is just not the call for the major industry that there once was and, like many other first-world countries, America has focussed more on intangibles - service sector, information sector and high-end technology. Coal and steel just aren't as big as they were and are unlikely to ever be again. Farming too has had a tough time of it for ..well, probably going on ninety years now. The people there feel left behind as indeed they are.

- City vs rural; Much the same as the above, with the added issue of the city being easier and more lucrative for the state as a whole to prop up. The city is making money (mostly), while the rural regions are losing money and people. Same everywhere, really.

- Social issues; The cities have also always been at the forefront of change and ideas and ideals. Not all of them are good trends, and some of them are (or in some cases -sound- silly until you look more closely at them). However, there's a significant strata of people who have been saying, guardedly, that they really could use some help here, thanks, and any time you lot want to focus on us as well as the gays, blacks, women, latinos, Native Americans...oh, great, now you have Muslims (aren't they the ones attacking us? Why the fcuk are you putting priority on them over us when we've needed help for generations?) and transgender? And what the hell is with all these gender words anyway? And on top of all that, -you're- getting to take the piss out of -us-? Fcuking liberals.

Which, when looked at like that, isn't actually unreasonable. Now, the other things are important too (although no, I don't think we need 32 gender specific terms either), but that particular group has been marginalised.

- The recession. Sorry folks, but it was pretty much all over. But it's generally pretty accepted that people do tend to turn more insular, nationalistic and Republican during a) times of war and b) times of recession.

- The war(s) - see above!

- Taking the two prior points into consideration, I do remember at the start that it was considered the Republicans' race to lose. Democratic had a chance because the Republican line-up was, to be honest, quite awful.

- The general rise of the right-wing. See previous two points, plus that we do tend to see shifts from one end of the spectrum to the other every generation or so. It's not usually quite this extreme, but **** happens.

- Okay, now we're moving into the more controversial points and ebbsy, we've talked enough now for us both to know we're on opposite sides of -some- of these aspects :P Take what you will from it; while I shall try to be fair, how I see it will come through.

- Clinton has been unpopular whenever she's actually -run- for something. It was the same when she ran for Senate, it was the same for Sec. State. Her popularity generally increases again once she's actually there. She is not a natural public speaker and is very much not a natural crowd-pleaser. She's a policy wonk and is well-known for it. Nerds don't tend to have the public touch. That alienated people.

- Clinton has also been under investigation over the years and there's the popular idea of "no smoke without fire". Now, nothing has ever been provable against her, bar the email business which ...yeah, looks bad, but at the same time, it wasn't anything that her predecessors didn't do too, including Colin Powell and Condoleeza Rice. Pay-for-play is another one with the Clinton Foundation and again, there doesn't actually seem to be much evidence that it took place, but repeat something often enough and it sounds true. Benghazi was a particularly egregious example because she's actually -on the record- saying that something like this could happen if the Republicans don't stop screwing her office around with cutting funding for security for embassies just to mess with Obama. That she got the blame for that was actually downright unfair. Now, I'm not saying she's squeaky-clean. She's a career politician and has probably done and said some dodgy things. But so far, she does not appear to have done what was being thrown at her. But, mud sticks.

- The Democratic party very obviously favoring her over Sanders pissed off the left wing mirror of the right-wing that was following Trump. The more socialist end of the spectrum. The more so as there definitely were some shenanigans going on there, although it's still up in the air as to how much they actually affected the outcome (things were talked about, but it's hard to know how much was followed through).

- Comey. Just...Comey. I really can't say if he was doing it on purpose or not, and it may well be that he was just in a really awkward position, but by god did he jump the gun. And weakly falling back with a couple of days to go didn't clean things up.

- The Trump Aspect:
    This can be broken down into a number of points.

- Rebellion against the status quo, rebellion against the "city elites". Trump fed into that with almost everything he said and did, while also having the mystique of being extremely rich and ..uh.. "pulling himself up by the bootstraps", the American Dream (we'll ignore for a moment that he absolutely didn't, the appearance is more important than the reality right now, as it was perceptions that won and lost the election).

- The populist touch, the "straight speaker". This is one of the most bewildering aspects, given his track record with lies, but again, perception. He was willing to say what others wouldn't dream of saying...but might sometimes want to say.

- The loss of trust in the media, which leans into the Trump aspect because he encouraged it, he -stridently- encouraged it. When you're told that you can't trust the media and half the stories out there are either lies or highly partisan or don't sound very interesting, how do you pick up which is true and which are false? After a while, when it seems that everyone is bloody well lying anyway and are only out for themselves, does it even matter? May as well pick the guy speaking directly to us and damn the consequences. It can't get much worse (yes, it can!). The whole thing around the media and the dramatic change in how we get the news (internet, social media, 24/7, there must Always Be A Story, fact-checking harder, what appeals to people) deserves more than a bullet point, it deserves a research paper, so I'll leave it at that.

- Potential foreign interference, both in the case of random people on the internet from different countries pissing in the fountain of truth (yeah, I'm looking at you, Paul Horner.), potentially Assange, and probably Russia, since a lot of it did fit their methodology - slip out some true information, controversial true information for preference and soften things up for slipping out propaganda. It's a pretty old KGB trick and it consistently works!

-And yeah, a minority of arseholes who do like the guy who will help raise the white race (white, male, straight part of it anyway) and put those pesky minorities and wimmins back in their place, end “political correctness”, reverse those nasty civil rights that create more competition for the superior race/gender and bring back a golden age of something or another. They –are- a minority, albeit a loud one and they’re revelling in getting to say **** that they’ve not been allowed to say for years now. Do they represent the majority? No, they don’t. But they do exist, and Trump sees a vote as a vote as a vote and never met a vote he didn’t like. In return, they latched on to the guy who didn’t get that welcoming the votes of arseholes legitimises their positions. –That- is why the KKK were celebrating. Not because the “alt-right” won, but because Trump’s the only one that would give them the time of day.

There's probably more too, but this is already a bit of an essay and my brain's suddenly blanked. Yeah, I know the last few points will be unpopular but I’m saying it because that’s where the evidence has pointed so far to me. Barring that I generally kept the Clinton and the Trump points together regardless of effect, I see it as roughly in order of importance/effect from top to bottom, but fairly interchangeable along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

I heard the exact same opinion's said against GWBj & RTE also with the same reporter there giving us there bias view, GWBj policy's did not effect me or my family and ww3 did not start, the middle east has always been a powder keg ever since ww2 ended

Bush's invasion of Iraq has effected everyone with ISIS , bombing/killings in Paris, Tunisa , Egypt . etc...Iraq war was a direct conflict with the West in modern times...no one said it was ww3 but it effects everyone was the point as does Trumps presidency

But as long as you are ok...with yourw me fein attiude...

Seems you only want to have a go at RTE rather than look at the broader pitcure ...go ahead ... have you thought of turning off the TV ... and maybe opening a book

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

Clinton being urged by IT specialists to challenge election results..

http://www.cnn.com/2016/11/22/politics/hillary-clinton-challenge-results/index.html

I don't believe for a second that this has a chance in hell

But wouldn't it be hilarious!!!

Tinfoil hat time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Trumpy Trumpy Trumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

She lost because of the arcane Electoral College system.

She got two million more votes than trump after all, you cant ignore that.

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    Trumpy Trumpy Trumpy.

Its going to be fun four years thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

bnt wrote: »
    Are we talking about the Grace Hopper who was posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of freedom this week? The pioneering computer scientist and educator, who rose to the rank of Rear Admiral in the US Navy, who was buried with full military honours in Arlington National Cemetary, and had a warship named after her? I'm having difficulty imagining why anyone would object to the latest honour, just one of many bestowed on her during and after her lifetime. :confused:

The media really annoyed me about this! All we heard of were Tom Hanks, Robert de Niro, Robert Redford, Ellen DeGeneres, among other celebrities. Little to no mention of Grace Hopper or the other woman scientist, whose name escapes me now. If I did not happen
    to see the ceremony on TV, I would never have known about the non celebrities honoured. Guess Trump has a point about the media.
    At times they really are useless!! :mad:

MPFGLB wrote: »

Bush's invasion of Iraq has effected everyone with ISIS , bombing/killings in Paris, Tunisa , Egypt . etc...Iraq war was a direct conflict with the West in modern times...no one said it was ww3 but it effects everyone was the point as does Trumps presidency

But as long as you are ok...with yourw me fein attiude...

Seems you only want to have a go at RTE rather than look at the broader pitcure ...go ahead ... have you thought of turning off the TV ... and maybe opening a book

:rolleyes: And it seems all you are doing since you lost the democratic vote is whinge and complain here, have you tried looking at the broader picture yourself ?

Have you know idea what Obama and Clinton did in the Middle East :rolleyes: I think it's you mate that needs to open your eyes as that Clinton eyesight your looking through has you blinded.

Bush/trump is bad Clinton/Obama is good :confused::rolleyes: it's obvious you have a lot of growing up to do and maybe change the books your reading. The sheer hypocrisy on this thread is unbelievable .

US foreign policy is US foreign policy and it hasent changed in years, republican or democrat presidents .

^^^^ Did I just answer myself ?

In sum, Hillary Clinton has wrapped herself in President Obama’s foreign policy mantle to facilitate her rise to the presidency. However, that mantle and the ‘smart’ policies it purports to represent have made the world more dangerous and less free.
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/sep/5/hillary-clintons-foreign-policy-record-deserves-sc/

That was before the Election result. It's no wonder people who actually bother to broaden their minds would not vote for Clinton . She was a snake in the grass.

Its amazing the way some folks wont accept a democratic decision by the people. actually its not amazing its quite annoying.

Anyway iam outa here and I leave you all with a happy smile.

In sum, Hillary Clinton has wrapped herself in President Obama’s foreign policy mantle to facilitate her rise to the presidency. However, that mantle and the ‘smart’ policies it purports to represent have made the world more dangerous and less free.
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/sep/5/hillary-clintons-foreign-policy-record-deserves-sc/

That was before the Election result. It's no wonder people who actually bother to broaden their minds would not vote for Clinton . She was a snake in the grass.

Its amazing the way some folks wont accept a democratic decision by the people. actually its not amazing its quite annoying.

Anyway iam outa here and I leave you all with a happy smile.

You're not really giving examples there. All the things covered in the Washington Post, barring some of the numbers which I'll give the benefit of the doubt to, have been examined, rehashed and she's been cleared of any criminal acts. And I don't think most people would think the FBI or the Congressional hearings (remember, Republican ones) were on her side!

Notably, the WP at the end there absolutely ignores all the Trump issues to present him as not only -the only- alternative but actually a decent one after spending most of its bullet points blaming Clinton for the state of the entire world. She was Sec. State, for heaven's sake, not elected to be God! Of course her record needs to be examined, but it should be examined impartially and fairly.

Regarding the democratic decision, well, technically she's won the popular vote, the direct democratic vote of the people, by something like 1.6m at this stage and the count isn't finished. She lost the Electoral College, and that's how the game goes though. But out of the two candidates, which of them has proven they'll concede graciously and which said they'd only accede to the results if they won? Like...what even is the hell on that count? That particular argument, which I've seen a number of times, is one that actually reflects well on Clinton and appallingly on Trump and yet for some mad reason, Clinton gets the heat for it. O.o It's bizarre.

Look, I don't particularly want to defend her blindly. But the problem is that the accusations that keep getting thrown at her keep proving to be empty. If there's something there, it actually hasn't been found yet, or at least, it's not one of the things that consistently gets thrown at her*. I've defended some of the more spurious Trump allegations too, but the problem is that there's enough there that is actually, definitely, publicly proven (hell, most of them he admitted himself to everyone watching!)

That's one of the really frustrating things about all this, the calls to wake up and investigate properly when the stuff that is being called out to investigate -has already been investigated-.

*Or at the very least, I've not seen it yet because whatever the real problem was, it was so mired in nonsense that it was difficult to pick out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

The U.S economy has declined significantly under Obama on pretty much all counts.

Whites are scared about being taken over/swamped by mass immigration of Hispanics.

Trump is a master persuader/self marketing genius.

Hillary Clinton is a terrible candidate and is a poor persuader/poor self marketer.

Reasons 1 and 2 are the big ones. The rest is just salad dressing imo.

The U.S economy has declined significantly under Obama on pretty much all counts.
    In what sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

In what sense?

Decline in real wages and a reduction in the cost of labor, massive increases in the national debt, increase in part time retail work (driving the employment figures up) which pays less (and decreases in manufacturing jobs etc), Obamacare and rising insurance premiums nuking families, increase in Millenials getting fùcked over by student debt they can't get rid of, increase of private sector debt to gdp ratio, the decline in men for the labor force participation rate etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Christy42

In what sense?

In the sense of that is how they feel. Similarly for his second point.

Reality has not played much of a part in this election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

GWBj policy's did not effect me or my family

Yours must be about the only family in Ireland then who wasn't affected by the huge financial crash under GWB's watch that began with the Lehman Bros. & the collapse of subprime mortgage industry in the US which had a domino effect all around the world, not least here. It wasn't a coincidence that we had to give that bank guarantee less than 2 weeks after Lehman's went under you know!

When the American economy collapses, we are all affected. Even if our own house is in order. Like it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

InTheTrees wrote:
    She got two million more votes than trump after all, you cant ignore that.

It's been ignored before. Al Gore won the popular vote but Bush won the electoral colleges and became President. Thee end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Yours must be about the only family in Ireland then who wasn't affected by the huge financial crash under GWB's watch that began with the Lehman Bros. & the collapse of subprime mortgage industry in the US which had a domino effect all around the world, not least here. It wasn't a coincidence that we had to give that bank guarantee less than 2 weeks after Lehman's went under you know!

When the American economy collapses, we are all affected. Even if our own house is in order. Like it or not.

To be fair, if we're talking about the financial crash: The conditions for that already started under Bill Clinton.

Funny enough someone posted a documentary about it today on reddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Documentaries/comments/5em5fl/the_warning2009_a_documentary_revealing_how/

It goes back even further with Reaganomics.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    It's been ignored before. Al Gore won the popular vote but Bush won the electoral colleges and became President. Thee end.

You're missing the point.

Losing the popular vote follows a president. Bush's approval was in the toilet until the attacks on 9/11. He was a joke up until then.

One cant use the statement "Well the american voters decided on trump" for instance, because they actually didnt right?