Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are men dropping out of society? - mod note in 1st post

1212223242527»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Kal El

tigger123 wrote: »
    Why is it any time a conversation starts on boards about men's fashion, the skinny jeans and scarves are whipped out?! Don't need to be wearing either to be fashionable.

Wait!! Scarves are cool again :cool:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Kal El wrote: »
    Wait!! Scarves are cool again :cool:

They were never uncool!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

tigger123 wrote: »
    Why is it any time a conversation starts on boards about men's fashion, the skinny jeans and scarves are whipped out?! Don't need to be wearing either to be fashionable.

I never said you do. I just think they look ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

eeguy wrote: »
    There's a strange uniform around my way of county or football jersey, plus bootleg faded denim, plus those weird wrangler slip on shoes we used to wear to school.

Those GAA club hoodies are a blight on this nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

People who wear gaa jerseys on holidays or to nightclubs are just scum

9/10 lads in Uni wear them. Its funny cause they finish secondary school, finally lads we can wear what we want, how about we all wear the exact same thing with different colour stripes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Kal El wrote: »
    9/10 lads in Uni wear them. Its funny cause they finish secondary school, finally lads we can wear what we want, how about we all wear the exact same thing with different colour stripes

Who says that!?

And ye it's a quick way of having something in common with someone so it makes sense. College isn't exactly the place to start flashing cash on brand name fashionable clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Hold on a ****ing minute,all through my teens and early twenties I wore jeans so tight that they could have been used as tourniquet

I have no idea what technically constitutes skinny jeans these days but I still wear my jean tight enough. Hipster poxbags be ****ed

that said yesterday I noticed some lad who obviously knew his way to the fridge wearing a pair of leggings/yoga pants as part of his overall ensemble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

One of the issues is defining what is "fashionable wear" for guys; The stuff that is usually pushed forwards as such includes garments that not only look absolutely ridiculous on a guy (yep, skinny trousers / jeans or "vegetables stranglers" as I refer to them, plus cardigans) but also exclusively fit one specific style and body type (young, very skinny folks with spindly legs).

The thing I agree is that there isn't an actual need to spend inordinate amounts of money - good for you if you can and are willing to; However, a non-gawdy, non checkered (a.k.a. the "tablecloth") coloured shirt from say Dunnes will still make a good impression as long as it fits reasonably well, is clean and, very importantly, perfectly ironed/pressed. Lots of guys going around every corner of Ireland wearing shirts directly out of the tumble drier and that often look like they were bought...ehrm...before they gave up the gym membership, or got a real passion for cake...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    look like they were bought...ehrm...before they gave up the gym membership, or got a real passion for cake...

Or ones bought a size too big, by lads still following the mammy's advice that they'll "grow into it"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

eeguy wrote: »
    Or ones bought a size too big, by lads still following the mammy's advice that they'll "grow into it"

Or it could very well be a throwback to the 80s and 90s baggy culture.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    Who says that!?

And ye it's a quick way of having something in common with someone so it makes sense. College isn't exactly the place to start flashing cash on brand name fashionable clothes.

It makes you look like a clueless sheep

A lot of young lads would get slagged by their mates if they wore something fashionable. "That's gay" they'd say.

Just look at some of the current male fashion trends. Mad stuff all together.

http://www.fashionbeans.com/2016/mens-aw16-mini-trends/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Mr Arrior

I like dressing up well but I justcwear what I like. One of my go to's are the chinos or jeans coupled with a shirt and waistcoat.

A lot of young lads would get slagged by their mates if they wore something fashionable. "That's gay" they'd say.

Just look at some of the current male fashion trends. Mad stuff all together.

http://www.fashionbeans.com/2016/mens-aw16-mini-trends/

there is not a single pair of trousers in that entire link that any straight man anywhere on this planet should wear.

I don't know why so many male fashion trends look gay.

who designs the fashion….

Ohh yeah. :D That's a good enough reason not to follow fashion trends.

http://www.cosmopolitan.com/style-beauty/fashion/news/a29528/15-menswear-fashion-trends-that-totally-freak-straight-dudes-out/

the fur coat is about the only thing even vaguely straight in that , and only if your a really rich narcissist or rapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,847 ✭✭✭Calibos

The Emperors new Clothes are fabulous dahling!! The only group I hate more than the art crowd are the fashion crowd. What planet are they on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Haha I just looked at that.

One critic describes the (I kid you not) "mandals":
    Frank: I would probably wear these, honestly. But it won't be until I'm 70 and my kids put me in a home and the arthritis is acting up so bad that I can't tie shoelaces anymore. The only person I still talk to is the nurse who comes to change the sheets every other week and my cribbage buddies, and every morning I wake up and stare at these sandals for a few minutes, thinking, The moment I put these sandals on is the moment my day begins and I shuffle about without purpose. But you know, technically, I would wear them.

Whatd wrong with bootcut jeans? Is it not either them or skinny jeans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Mr Arrior wrote: »
    Whatd wrong with bootcut jeans? Is it not either them or skinny jeans?

Both Slim fit or Straight Leg would be considered more "current" that bootcut. They're just dated.

I thought mine were straight fit but after googling it don't think they are. So therefore I was walking round wearing bootcut jeans and thinking to myself 'everyone giving out about bootcut, glad that's not what i have' :D

Haha I just looked at that.

One critic describes the (I kid you not) "mandals":

"Mankets" was another one. :)