Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Very easy to slate Artem for his pro-record but he's put in countless hours sparring over the years helping Conor improve. If the above is true, it's great to see Conor in the trenches with him.

Its also hard to slate Artem because he's in the UFC and we are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

When you see conor v floyd debate
    200.gif#0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

This McGregor v Mayweather talk is f'ing unbearable. Mayweather would beat the shít out of him boxing - Bareknuckle or 12 oz.

McGregor would beat the shít out of him in an MMA fight.

----

They fight in different sports. It's f'ing boring at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

for me its more like argueing that ronaldo would hold his own in a rugby match, two different sports, no doubt if conor were to catch floyd he'd be going for a nap but the chances of that happening are very slim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Of the two of them, who do ye think would fare better in the others ''world''?

Personally myself I think Conor would have a slim chance boxing against Floyd whereas Floyd would have absolutely zero chance under MMA rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I'm no fan of Mayweather, I like my boxers to hit hard and not be afraid of been hit.

But...

You are talking about the best defensive boxer I have ever seen, fought and beat the best. He isn't going to destroy you but you wont land a punch on him, he is so quick, so accurate with his jabs and counter punches. Another thing is his conditioning, he won't gas out after a couple rounds like Conor. You watch a Floyd fight and you can see he go much further than 12 rounds.

The notion of this fight is ridiculous, Corner is the best P4P striker in UFC but the level Mayweather is so far ahead of anything he has ever experienced.

He probably wouldn't knock him out but he will be eating jabs and punching air all night long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

So - if they do fight, I think conor would be thinking " I only need to hit this guy once" Which, if his power translates to 12oz gloves could be a possibility, I think if he can hit him 2 or 3 good lefts, he could finish him. but it's a big if!

Anyway my money's on Mayweather by kimora!

I'd def watch Ronaldo playing GAA.

I guess that's the crux of the issue - regardless of who wins or loses, the thing would do ridiculous numbers on PPV.

I think the fight happens in 2017. WME/IMG are all about cross-promotion and fluid content and, most importantly, taking risks. Ari Emmanuel is one of the biggest risk takers out there. Conor likes to take risks. They all like money. Co-promoting a boxing fight against Floyd would make them a fortune.

Sure we'll see. Wouldn't be surprised.

yeah coz couture and james toni was a great spectacle to watch... same would happen here where it to get into the octagon.. shocking carry on, sure why not let jerry springer referee and throw in a jelly wrestling minute between rounds.
    If anyone who likes MMA and wants to see it take off even past the mainstream and finally get accepted as a sport, then all this shyte needs to stop. Otherwise it just becomes a mockery! both boxing and MMA. either it's a sport or it's a come one come all biggest wallet outlines the terms of combat.. all this 4oz gloves and GOAT talk is chronic now.. MMA doesn't need boxing, it's overtaking it already so let it grow and let it's stars grow with it. Remember this was sneered at and joked about years ago.

this mighty mouse V superman crack is gone too far :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

What... what about kickboxing? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

I honestly do wonder if the people who think Conor could KO Floyd in a straight boxing match have seen any of his fights. Conor would most likely be swinging at air and gass out.

Like even a single round. I hope they are trolling...

I wish this topic would die.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

Gamebred wrote:
    He wouldnt win an All Ireland amatuer title never mind beat the greatest fighter of all time lads its too early for the bottle put it down.

This from a man who had Edddie Alvarez beating McGregor. You haven't a clue if the fight will happen or how it would go, same as the rest of us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

Gamebred wrote:
    Ha John absolutely burying a McGregor denier for making rubbish up absolute scenes,

Member he burried you for been so sure Conor rents his cars, you haven't a clue lad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Head Wreck wrote: »
    This from a man who had Edddie Alvarez beating McGregor. You haven't a clue if the fight will happen or how it would go, same as the rest of us.

Head Wreck wrote: »
    Member he burried you for been so sure Conor rents his cars, you haven't a clue lad

https://vine.co/v/56BjJZJbeeZ

Are still in my net little boy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

Gamebred wrote: »
    https://vine.co/v/56BjJZJbeeZ

Are still in my net little boy?

You seemed to get called out a lot for some of your ridiculous posts...

Remember you called sdtimeout a sellout?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Tinie wrote: »
    I honestly do wonder if the people who think Conor could KO Floyd in a straight boxing match have seen any of his fights. Conor would most likely be swinging at air and gass out.

Like even a single round. I hope they are trolling...

I wish this topic would die.

Owen Roddy did say in a very recent interview his opinion is Conor will fight Floyd in a boxing match. He didn't say he thinks he could win or anything but he said he expects it to happen at some stage.

I'll try not to misquote but i think Ariel asked John about it and his reply was "If it happens i'd imagine Paschal Collins woud be in the corner beside me".

It was New York Rick on the MMA Hour who said it best: "The basketball shot at the Open Workouts defines Conor McGregor. If he missed he'd have looked foolish. His form was terrible, he threw like a girl with his feet together yet he was the only fighter to take a shot and still nailed it. He wasn't afraid to embarrass himself".

It's obviously far more likely that he fights Nate or Woodley next but who knows. People are talking about it because it would be the biggest combat event of our lifetime. If 50 Cent says Floyd wants it, that's good enough for me haha :pac:

winston82 wrote: »
    You seemed to get called out a lot for some of your ridiculous posts...

Remember you called sdtimeout a sellout?

Yeah its the McGOAT deniers in my net constantly like yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rainman16

everlast75 wrote: »
    Completely agree that Floyd would unfortunately win.

As an aside, is there anything to discuss in terms of the gloves. Boxing gloves are a lot more padded. If the fight was MMA gloves, would that have even a slight effect?

Gloves won't really help Conor though. The trouble with Floyd would be landing anything on him at all. Pacquiao, Maidana, Marquez, Canelo Cotto, Some of the fastest and hardest hitting, punchers of our time. These men were all multi time champions at different weight classes, superstars in their own right but when they stepped into at ring with Mayweather, they couldn't do a thing, Floyd is greatest boxer of all time. Getting into a ring with him is like getting into a pool with Michael Phelps or a sprint track with Usain Bolt. You can try but we all know who is going to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Rainman16 wrote: »
    Gloves won't really help Conor though. The trouble with Floyd would be landing anything on him at all. Pacquiao, Maidana, Marquez, Canelo Cotto, Some of the fastest and hardest hitting, punchers of our time. These men were all multi time champions at different weight classes, superstars in their own right but when they stepped into at ring with Mayweather, they couldn't do a thing, Floyd is greatest boxer of all time. Getting into a ring with him is like getting into a pool with Michael Phelps or a sprint track with Usain Bolt. You can try but we all know who is going to win

No, he's not.

TimRiggins wrote: »
    No, he's not.

Probably best off taking this to the off topic thread please post over there who is so, thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rainman16

I'm not necessarily giving out about what Floyd did (that's a separate issue) I'm just pointing out that that in almost ten years that's the only KO or even a TKO that he has had (Ricky Hatton was in 2007 was the last one) and if he was was deserving of his reputation as the GOAT then that would not be the case.

In boxing. It's protect yourself at all times. Ortiz put his hands down, Floyd took his opportunity, nothing wrong with that. Ortiz was never going to win that fight in any case. Floyd is not a KO fighter, that's not his style, He's a boxer, In his words It's "hit and not get hit" Floyd his happy to stay 12 rounds, box defensively, keep his discipline and win rounds. Call that boring if you like, I call it a mastclass in defensive boxing, movement, using the ring and effective counter punching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

TimRiggins wrote: »
    No, he's not.

agree here, floyd is a fantastic boxer, and hes up there, but to call him the goat is ridiculous given some of the names theres been in boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I reckon he'll fight woodley next, losing that doesnt really hurt him while winning would make him the goat without a doubt.
    Its not even crazy to think it anymore and if they both want it, dana will make it happen. Him or nate next.
    I heard alvarez say ferguson or khabib arent a draw, dont think that really matters as long as conor is there. Alvarez was hardly much of a draw either.

rob316 wrote: »
    I reckon he'll fight woodley next, losing that doesnt really hurt him while winning would make him the goat without a doubt.
    Its not even crazy to think it anymore and if they both want it, dana will make it happen. Him or nate next.
    I heard alvarez say ferguson or khabib arent a draw, dont think that really matters as long as conor is there. Alvarez was hardly much of a draw either.

Nate would be a terrible choice imo purely because there's very few ways to beat him that don't involve wrecking his lead leg with kicks.

Would Conor really fancy another 25 minutes of leg kicks?

I'd much prefer to see him fight Woodley. Style is tailor-made for him. Stocky explosive wrestler with an overhand who fights a lot with his back to the cage. He's just a bigger version of Alvarez. Obviously he could KO Conor into next week if he connects clean on an overhand, that's the risk.

Not even certain who would have the advantage in the jiujitsu exchanges (if there are any). Couldn't really tell much from Woodley flow rolling with Marcelo Garcia and there's not a whole lot of straight MMA jiujitsu to watch in his back catalogue of fights.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Not a chance he is fighting at welterweight again. He'd be reamed senseless by any of the top contenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

Not a chance he is fighting at welterweight again. He'd be reamed senseless by any of the top contenders.

You're not allowed say that around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I note we're back to Conor getting smoked by everyone and anyone now Alvarez is done and dusted........pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

sonofenoch wrote:
    I note we're back to Conor getting smoked by everyone and anyone now Alvarez is done and dusted........pathetic

To be fair if people are talking about Conor fighting welterweights, like 195lbs of Woodley then it's a fair assessment in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

sonofenoch wrote: »

Alvarez is a bum, didn't you get the memo?

Interesting interview here with Mark Henry.

Cliff Notes for those who don't want to watch it:

1. Conor could beat Floyd in the first 3 rounds. Feels Conor cuts from 173 and Floyd walks around at 150 ish which people don't realise and Conor has a great chance in the opening 3 rounds (after that downhill).

2. Repeats the claim that Frankie is the perfect guy to beat Conor and that Conor ducked Frankie for 2 years. Says Team McGregor claim that Frankie doesn't deserve it because he didn't beat Aldo is stupid because MMA Maths doesn't work that way, otherwise everybody who beat Nate could beat Conor.

3. Claims he only said all that stuff about Conor and John to try get one of his guys the fight.

4. Frankie trained zero jiujitsu and zero wrestling ahead of the Stephens fight and they tried to get him to pull out but he wouldn't.