Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,893 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

The Nate Diaz thing was never a pick and never a choice, it was an injury detour.

I agree with most of your post, but not this.

The second Diaz fight was very much a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

DrPhilG wrote: »

Maybe the UFC felt obligated to offer a rematch. After all, Conor did them a solid by taking Diaz at 2 weeks notice and ensuring they made their money at the event

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

winston82 wrote: »
    Just life long Mcgregor fans. Everyone else seems to think more rationally.

so if you're not a ''lifelong mcgregor fan'' and you think more rationally mcgregor is ''just an entertainer''? jog on mate this is getting a bit sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

McGregor HAD to fight Diaz again to have any mystique or aura of greatness going forward. Imagine he was crowned Lightweight champ having never rematched and beaten Diaz?! The anti McGregor brigade would be spunkin themselves if he did it without ever beating Nate.

In my view, the Diaz rematch was the most demanding and the most ballsey fight he could have "cherry picked". It would have been an easy choice to move on from Diaz. Instead McGregor went to war over 5 rounds and his game will be forever at a higher level as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

Depp wrote: »
    so if you're not a ''lifelong mcgregor fan'' and you think more rationally mcgregor is ''just an entertainer''? jog on mate this is getting a bit sad

I just hope he agrees to defend the featherweight title before December 12th. Would be nothing worse than "the most active fighter on the roster" being stripped of his title for not competing. That would be sad I'm sure you'll agree?

look mate, you dont like mcgregor, we get it, fair play! just its a bit depressing that your only posts on the mma forum are talking sh!t and trolling mcgregor fans. If thats how you get your kicks whatever but you should just take stock of things, maybe find a hobby or something, for your own sake if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

DrPhilG wrote: »

What i meant was he never sought out Diaz in the first place. He sought out the Lightweight champion. When RDA got injured the first 2 people offered the fight were Aldo and Edgar.

By any metric he didn't pick Diaz. After the loss, yeah he went after him to try prove to himself he could beat him.

I just think it's borderline insanity for anybody to keep saying Conor is ducking Aldo/Holloway/Edgar. He beat 2 of those 3 already and let's be real, why on earth would he be afraid of Frankie when he beat a much bigger version of Frankie already i.e. Eddie.

Even more hilarious, if Conor and the UFC decide to make the Woodley super-fight, you'll still have people saying he's ducking Frankie, Aldo, Khabib.

Only when it comes to Conor is fighting a much harder opponent at a higher weight class viewed as ducking people in lower weight classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

I'm also in the group of Khabib/Ferguson/Aldo instead of Woodley/Diaz 3. In fact the latter doesn't interest me at all currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

It wasn't under the same conditions though. Diaz was out of shape. Diaz was also a number 5 lightweight and probably a number 15 ranked welterweight.

All that is well and good if you are not holding a title. He was. He chose not to take tithe defence. In fairness to Aldo, Cormier, Mighty Mouse, Jones, Couture, Liddell.... Defending their titles was the priority. That's what cemented their champion status.

And what Conor is doing is cementing his legendary status.

Everybody defends their title, some from the safety of easy divisions.
    Not many people risk their reputation going after multiple titles.

Depp wrote: »
    look mate, you dont like mcgregor, we get it, fair play! just its a bit depressing that your only posts on the mma forum are talking sh!t and trolling mcgregor fans. If thats how you get your kicks whatever but you should just take stock of things, maybe find a hobby or something, for your own sake if nothing else.

How you decipher that anyone who has an opposite opinion of you is trolling is beyond me. How do you have a conversation with someone without calling them sad or telling them to take a hobby when they see things differently to you?

Question for the McGregor fans.. Do you think he will defend the featherweight belt or do you think he should seeing as he won it nearly a year ago? Do you think he should relinquish it if not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Well, whoever he fights next I see it maybe taking place in Dublin, or at least Europe, as I just can't see him fighting in the states with the baby on the way and he's also never been in a better position to dictate that fighters come to him now.

I say Fly Tyron in and have him fight in front of his home town to become the first fighter to hold three belts simultaneously. Would be epic.

Sonnen said in that podcast that "at some size matters" but I think it's kind of deceptive how big Tyron looks. Here's a pic of the two of them together last year and seems to me that he is yet another "5ft 9" listed fighter who Conor has height advantage on and no way he looks all that bigger than him either.

CxUgGIHW8AE3Jxv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Well, whoever he fights next I see it maybe taking place in Dublin, or at least Europe, as I just can't see him fighting in the states with the baby on the way and he's also never been in a better position to dictate that fighters come to him now.

I say Fly Tyron in and have him fight in front of his home town to become the first fighter to hold three belts simultaneously. Would be epic.

Sonnen said in that podcast that "at some size matters" but I think it's kind of deceptive how big Tyron looks. Here's a pic of the two of them together last year and seems to me that he is yet another "5ft 9" listed fighter who Conor has height advantage on and no way he looks all that bigger than him either.

CxUgGIHW8AE3Jxv.jpg

Bigger head and bigger fist too.

I'm also in the group of Khabib/Ferguson/Aldo instead of Woodley/Diaz 3. In fact the latter doesn't interest me at all currently.

Woodley and Khabib are probably the easiest match-ups of the ones you listed. That's just my opinion, which many will disagree with.

The reason I'm saying it is because the one Kryptonite that Conor has is also the one thing people consistently fail to do against him - repeatedly attack his inside leg.

Denis Siver took him off his feet attacking the inside leg. Eddie Alvarez took him off his feet with the 2nd leg kick he threw.

I feel that Aldo and Ferguson would go straight for that inside leg attack and Conor would have to make adjustments and (possibly) throw in some stance switches. Nate learned to cover his guard when pressuring and the fact he's a zombie means he can walk straight forward.

Don't get me wrong, I'd fancy Conor all day long against all of those guys.

Woodley and Khabib both need to close distance rapidly to implement their game plans. Woodley is simply a bigger, better version of Alvarez. Stocky, explosive wrestler with a huge overhand. Khabib is even less dangerous on the feet but lethal if he can close the distance.

Both are favourable style match-ups for Conor. The only question mark would be if his power translates at Welterweight against Tyron. I see no reason at all it wouldn't. There's not a huge size difference between them.

I think this is great for a laugh, the americans came be so arrogant in how hey air their opinions, I'm delighted. Mark henry looks like a dickhead after that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Xvh8VRnmU0

it must burn them that he named the 2nd round and did it. He even looked as though was fed up playing with eddie and just said, eh ok lights out lads.

How you decipher that anyone who has an opposite opinion of you is trolling is beyond me. How do you have a conversation with someone without calling them sad or telling them to take a hobby when they see things differently to you?

Question for the McGregor fans.. Do you think he will defend the featherweight belt or do you think he should seeing as he won it nearly a year ago? Do you think he should relinquish it if not?

its perfectly fine to have a different opinion. its the way you post and that your only contributions to the forum are gems such as;
    Great news!!! Going to lump on Diaz now....!

#easymoney
    Do people really believe McGregor will win this even after watching the last one? My God.
    McGregor should have never been fighting for the lightweight title. 3 fights later and still no defence of the featherweight title. Should be stripped of it 3 months ago. Ridiculous him fighting Diaz for the second time and even more absurd he being the number 1 contender against Alvarez. That's the reality of things and anyone seeing this differently needs a Stockton slap. I'm not a McGregor hater. I find him quite entertaining but that's all he is, entertaining.
    Terrible match-up. McGregor will become a laughing stock when he loses. He doesn't have the tools to beat Diaz.

Oh how the times have changed.
    It's embarrassing. He's embarrassing. I don't really care how much money he makes, it doesn't make him any less of a nob.
    It looks like the pressure is creeping in. Worrying times.

I wish I was exagerating but thats literally all you post here, which makes calling gamebred a blow in all the more laughable. DO you have any opinions on the sport other than that you don't like mcgregor?

and for what its worth I think it should be aldo next, then either the winner of khabib-ferg or ferg if khabib just wants to sit out and sulk after that.

One of the Memphis Grizzlies star men, Marc Gasol, lands a 3-pointer to beat the more fancied LA Clippers last night. Busts out the McG walk and when asked about it by a reporter said "I'd like to apologise....to absolutely nobody" and walked off.

https://twitter.com/World_Wide_Wob/status/799136521286774784

Thanks, they are gems. They are also opinions.

Do you think he should relinquish the belt if he doesn't fight Aldo next?

One of his next 2 fights has to be at Featherweight. That doesn't necessarily mean Aldo. There's a fair chance Aldo will fight the winner of Pettis/Holloway. If Conor wants to keep the 145 belt he must defend it within his next 2 fights. Whether he wants to go Welterweight then FW, or FW then LW or whatever combination - it must be in the next 2 fights.

theres a bit of a pattern there though wouldn't you agree?;)

if conor fights elsewhere next I think it should be aldo-max for the unified title yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

One of his next 2 fights has to be at Featherweight. That doesn't necessarily mean Aldo. There's a fair chance Aldo will fight the winner of Pettis/Holloway. If Conor wants to keep the 145 belt he must defend it within his next 2 fights. Whether he wants to go Welterweight then FW, or FW then LW or whatever combination - it must be in the next 2 fights.

I think he's held up the FW belt enough. It should be next. His fight after next could be a good while off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

Gamebred wrote: »
    LOL

Absolutely pathetic, pack it in seriously trying to resort to ''Im an mma fan longer than you'' you havent the slightest notion how long me or anybody else on here is following or like me training martial arts.

thinly veiled " i train UFC" post

You cant be getting much training in seeing as your on this forum 24/7 it seems :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Digitalism wrote: »
    thinly veiled " i train UFC" post

You cant be getting much training in seeing as your on this forum 24/7 it seems :eek:

https://vine.co/v/56rMiBKIdvd

You've posted 6 times on the mma forum in the last 2 years, all addressing me :cool:

Get out of my net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭GK1001

Does nobody think Aldo is done? I don't think we'll ever see him back. To me it looks like he's made his decision and he strikes me as a guy who money genuinely doesn't mean all that much to. He wants to move on and I haven't seen any signs of him waivering from his current stance.

Holloway is the only fight at FW but it's up to Conor if he wants to take it. Pettis is right to go down there and try to get Conor to come back down but he probably needs to KO Holloway and talk **** after...Holloway wins that for me though

LW I'd love to see Khabib or Ferguson...probably Khabib more
    And I think Cerrone would potentially give Conor problems too and probably does the biggest numbers with all the **** talking there'd be.

Have Conor favourite in every fight among the above but they're all interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Gamebred wrote: »
    There is no end for these people, the scenes when Diaz won it made their lives, the amount of people that had turned into Nate fans having never heard of him 2 weeks previous I seen he had marching bands and all in Vegas dont remember any these fans being behind him when he was 3/1 last christmas to beat Michael Johnson,

They are morphing into Khabib fans as we speak.

So if we get Diaz 3 at 155, and Diaz beats him. Should Diaz decide to move up to 170?? Refuse a rematch stating that he's already beat him twice?? This place would explode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

So if we get Diaz 3 at 155, and Diaz beats him. Should Diaz decide to move up to 170?? Refuse a rematch stating that he's already beat him twice?? This place would explode.

Diaz wins the belt from Conor he has every right to go to 170 to become the SECOND person to hold 2 belts at once in the ufc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

mdwexford wrote: »
    And what Conor is doing is cementing his legendary status.

Everybody defends their title, some from the safety of easy divisions.
    Not many people risk their reputation going after multiple titles.

I'd say the opposite, less risk going after multiple titles and fighting at higher weights than defending your belt

BJ Penn got a title shot at Welterweight after only 2 fights at that weight class and he was 1-1 in those 2 fights at WW.

Randy Couture got an Interim title fight at Light Heavyweight in his very first appearance in the weight class.

So no one!!! Thanks for proving my point.

everlast75 wrote: »
    Maybe the UFC felt obligated to offer a rematch. After all, Conor did them a solid by taking Diaz at 2 weeks notice and ensuring they made their money at the event

So they felt obligated to give McGregor a rematch because he lost a nothing fight, but 10 year champ Aldo didn't deserve a rematch??? The logic in here is baffling!!

frankie edgar got a 145 shot for his 145 debut, bj penn fought gsp for the 170 title while still 155 champion...come up with something new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

BJ Penn made his WW debut against Matt Hughes for the belt.
    Another being Frankie Edgar going down.

I think you've been told this countless times